reviews for: listing #55748 - Camano Island, Washington House rental

The Orange Door Cottage on Tyee Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tyee Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $180 /nt
    $810 - $1,080 /wk
    $2,532 - $3,376 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We will return!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

elisa,
ive been busy recently but wanted to send you a message to tell you how much fun we had this year (again) at the cottage. as usual the coziness is superb; the cottage has all that is needed for a vacation rental with enough beds, seating, cooking utensils and outdoor activities for a relaxing getaway. whether in the big bed, the 2nd bedroom or even downstairs, all the sleeping arrangements are great for many people to be comfy. we really enjoyed walking the beach; as well as, the various perfect places to sit with some wine, on the deck, stoop or breakwater. you've done a great job creating a designed and comfortable cottage. both my sister and myself can tell you have an eye and talent in the design field; we too are in the industry (ID and Arch, respectively).

we entertained ourselves with beach fishing and crabbing and boating (brought our own 12' aluminum boat and easily put-in via the ramp). lucky enough to get 1 keeper crab; we did manage to put our brand new trap in too deep of water and watched it disappear into the depths...whoops. if by chance, you see a buoy exposed on a extra-low tide, please let me know. my name and address are on the buoy.

even though we were focused on outdoor activities, we did have fun with some puzzles. additionally, in this modern era, i really appreciate that you have a wifi router setup for guest use. this is especially helpful during bad weather or with teenagers or techie adults.

this year we again enjoyed cooking family meals in the kitchen and with the grill. as a griller-extraordinaire myself, my only real critique would be of the grill's power and size...it just doesn't seem to have much power to grill meats at higher temperatures or sear. it does work; it just takes a long time to cook, especially if you were to cook a whole mess of items for a big family meal. next time, i will bring my small weber charcoal grill to get that crusty outside to our grilled foods.

we look forward to many more visits in the future.
i am not a signed-up member of VacationRentals, so if you want to post my review please feel free. put me down for 5 stars!
thanks again,
greg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A big Disappointment

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

My husband and I rented this cottage for one month based on what the pictures looked like, the proximity to the water and visiting our family in the area. Those were the only thing positives of our stay. We were so disappointed in the cottage as it was so dirty even though on the surface it looked clean. There were spiders in one of the beds close to the wall. The floors and rugs looked and felt like they hadn't been thoroughly cleaned in YEARS. We didn't want to go barefooted anywhere because of the deep dirt, especially in the rugs and carpets. The bathroom shower was so small that if we dropped the soap, we'd have to open the shower door in order to lean down to get it and I weigh only 114 lbs. There were worm like critters that we had to continually sweep up because they were coming through the cracks in the walls or from the ceiling. We even had a few in the kitchen sink when we woke up to make coffee. Just because the cottage was built in the 1930's shouldn't mean that it shouldn't be structurally sound. There wasn't a plumb wall anywhere, the stairs had wide cracks between the steps, the amps in the electricity was so low that even a 100W light bulb gave light of about 25W and because there were so few wall sockets there were several extension cords use to plug in wires, which we worried about with regards to shorts and a possible fire. While we had clean linen and free long distance use of the phone, WIFI, a DW, and a frig/stove, no matter where we were in the house it felt dirty. We didn't even put our workout pads on the floors because the carpets were stained and dirty so we had to find other ways to get our exercises done. The futon couch covers are thin, worn, and dirty, as is one of the rocking chairs, which we put a sheet over because it was dirty. I would not recommend this property to anyone due to the dirt that no amount of sweeping helped. In closing, Elisa and Nancy were very nice and the view of the water was great; however, not worth the price because the entire cottage needs work inside as well as a professional and industrial cleaning to rid the house of years of dirt and wear. Also would suggest throwing out those filthy rugs. Had my family not been living on the island, we would've asked for a refund. My suggestion is find another place to rent.

Owners response: Dear future guests,
I hope you will read all our reviews before leaving, due to this guest's comments.
I don't know how to respond to the criticism, except to say that I believe the guest had high expectations and was, in turn, disappointed.
We are an old renovated fishing cottage, not plumb, and, yes, there are a few gaps between some of the paneling and the stairs; we don't pretend to be new tight construction.
We have done the best we could with what we have, and our guests all seem to love it, except for this one guest. We painted, cleaned, put in new fixtures and cabinets and designed the interior to be charming and cozy.
I wish I could say I will fix what bothered this guest, but beach cottages are known for having sand and bugs. My housekeeper is detail minded, and has been trained to pay attention to cleanliness;hen guests arrive, they find a clean cottage. The wool rag rugs are periodically taken out and shook to remove sand, but the carpets and floors have never been called "filthy".
It saddens me that one guest, with a computer, can send out such a damaging review.
I do hope you will continue reading on, to all the other glowing reviews.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A safe haven in the storm

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The Orange Door Cottage was a great spot for a mini reunion with my three boarding school best friends and my toddler daugther. The 3.5 of us came up from California to visit our friend who lives on the island. We were so excited to arrive after the long drive from Seatac. The house was bright, clean and cozy. My 2 year old daughter exclaimed "Ohh its so beautiful!" as she twirled in the living room. You can tell by the decor that Elisa has a great eye for design and style.

We got settled in and went out to dinner with our friend. Later that evening a freak storm arrived, blowing down trees and knocking out the power. Exciting! It was freezing outside so we lit some candles had a glass of wine and rode out the storm. The next door neighbors were so kind, with it being a surprisingly strong storm, they came over to check on us to make sure we felt safe. We were warm and slept soundly. The beds and linens were so comfortable! We loved having extra blankets and down comforters.

The next morning with the sun shining, our friend came over for breakfast. The kitchen worked perfectly , and we enjoyed breakfast with the amazing view of the sound. The Orange Door Cottage is so peaceful and right on the water. We sat on the front porch, watched the big fluffy clouds and water and enjoyed our visit so much.

The location is perfect, the house is utterly cute and we can't wait to return! We are looking forward to spending more time at the cottage in the future. Thank you Elisa for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: How heartwarming to read this lovely review. We have worked to create a cottage that is worthy of our guests, and are so gratified to hear we may have succeeded to some degree.
Thanks to our guests, warm memories are being made, even when we are not there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway for 5 Moms!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Five moms from Seattle needed to get out of the city....we found the PERFECT spot to do that on Tyee Beach in the Orange Door Cottage. The cottage is so cozy that we felt like we were visiting a friend. We had everything we needed to hang out, read magazines, do our toenails, walk on the beach, and even did some painting. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Magnificent Get-away Not Too Far Away

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

This house was the perfect get-away for me and my family. The home is outstanding in layout, design and location to the beach. The views are breathtaking! We cooked every meal in the house and all of the kitchen utensils required were already there. We spent hours walking the beach that is literally steps out the door. I'd recommend this house for any combination of ages. The livingroom accomodated two sets of game playing at the same time, so functional and versatile!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Orange door cottage

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

My family felt instantly like the Orange Door was our own beach vacation house, it is so comfortable and cozy..decorated like an adorable cape cod cottage. The owners have thought of everything you could need or want and provided it, with style, for you. We were surprised and happy that they accept canine guests as well, our two family dogs had a great stay. The view and beach out your front door are fabulous. We caught fish and crab, roasted marshmellows in the fire pit and took walks on the beach and through the friendly neighborhood. We highly recommend the Orange Door, we loved it there!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Orange Door Leads to Bliss and Peace!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We had a marvelous time at your cottage (even the rain could not dampen our enthusiasm).

Thanks for keeping your home in such a pristine condition. We loved the fireplace, the well-equipped and modern kitchen, the beach-related knickknacks such as the lovely lady in a bathing suit lamp (!) and the fascinating photos of swimming shots. The kids were fascinated with the lights that turned on with the 'hidden' button: just like magic! They also appreciated the neon colored Crocs provided for wee guests. The towels were surprisingly thick, the DVD and music selections were excellent, and the beds were most comfortable. The garden was maintained well; I even saw my favorite hummingbird hovering over the lovely flowers. Of course, the waterscape was just splendid.

We've been to other rentals which were woefully inadequate and below par. How lucky we were to get a chance to stay at a place that actually was truly like the pictures and descriptions!


Thanks again and hope to visit your orange door cottage once more.

From,
FLW

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

In two words

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Simply Perfect

Brian, Denise, Paige, Dayne, from Arizona

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

mother/sister/grandaughter getaway

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

It's been very inviting and relaxing here for our mother/sisters/gtandaughter get together. We've felt very much at home, enjoying your libraries of books, music, and movies, as well as your charming decor.

Thank you for sharing.

Crys, Lindsey, Merna, Deb, Jill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My favorite color

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Orange has become my new favorite color!!!

What a great place to idle.

Thank you,

Tony and Daniella

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Lovely Getaway

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My girlfriends and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Orange Door Cottage. It was the perfect retreat for an "unplugged" weekend. We enjoyed the natural wildlife, "naked" beach just down the way, and the simple vintage elegance of the little cottage. It was incredibly cozy & quiet -- exactly what we needed! I could absolutely see bringing my family back to this cottage to enjoy all it has to offer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: How satisfying to hear that the experience we so hoped to give our guests has been realized. We want them all to return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

photography

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

The cottage was SO much fun. It was absolutely perfect for what we needed (relaxation, fun spots to photograph, and some girl time). It was decorated so beautifully & I'm certain we'll be back.

My best,
Maggie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Beautiful Cottage! It was just perfect with so many cute details and lovely fluffy white towels :-)


We had a great stay.


Thank You,
Jessica

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review