reviews for: listing #55815 - Tybee Island, Georgia Condo rental

Island Jewel!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach and Racquet Club
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $260 /nt
    $1,175 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great Getaway

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

My Family and I just checked out of this unit and I must say it was very clean, loved the decor, had everything we needed from beach towels to pots/pans, and lots of sleeping space! I did have one issue with the ceiling fan in the kids room but I contacted Lisa and she got back to me fast with the number to maintenance. I would say this place was just as described. The beach and pool are both right outside your door. Though my teens preferred the south end of beach (thats where most of the activities are) we enjoyed the calmness of the section avail to us. We loved Tybee and will have no problem staying at Island Jewel again!! Thanks for making it feel like Home away from Home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay at Island Jewel

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

I'm late in submitting this, but after reading a negative review I felt the need to share our great experience last summer. This condo was clean and had everything we needed for a great vacation. We loved watching the ships coming into Savannah, along with the fishing boats that attracted dolphins every day. The views on a clear night at sunset were breathtaking! Please be aware that the "beach" in walking distance is not the Atlantic, but rather where the Savannah River meets the ocean. For us, this was perfect, because we had two toddlers with us who were scared of the waves at the "big beach" and much preferred the "little beach." The "real" beach was only a 5-minute (or less) drive away. We enjoyed the pool and also utilized the outdoor grill (just be sure to bring charcoal/lighter). My only complaint was that the wi-fi was very inconsistent, and for the most part did not work during our stay. I called the owner who offered some suggestions and also let us know we could use the wi-fi at the pool by the building next door. She told us she would send a technician over when it was still not working, but no one ever came, and she did not follow up. Honestly it was nice to have a break from technology, and since we could access the internet at the nearby pool, this was not a problem for us. If you have a baby with you you'll be happy to know there is a pack n play in the master closet (wish we had known or we wouldn't have lugged ours there!) There are also tons of beach supplies and toys for the kids! We would definitely stay here again if returning to Tybee in the future. It was a fun area to explore.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We so appreciate our vacationers taking the time to let us know their feelings about visiting our home. We agree that we adore this spot; there are many places on Tybee where we could have purchased. But, this is the one area with the great ship views, where the dolphin play off the beach (the dolphin tour boats come here), etc. There is a security gate which keeps kids with boom boxes from driving through:), there are two very nice pools, and the beach is so close and not crowded. (NO big public parking lots in the area at all.) We decided this was the only spot for us! :) We are so sorry there were wifi problems. The technician had reported it fixed, so we didn't realize follow up was needed. Malfunctions can always happen but they are attended to promptly if so. The wifi is always available at the main pool (if no malfunction.:) We thought that was handled and handled quickly. We wish we had been advised that the tech did not correct the problem prompty.
I would like to correct one understandable comment. Many people are not accustomed to islands and think they are not in the ocean if they can see other islands in view. (the lights from Hilton Head, which juts out into the ocean like Tybee does, can be GORGEOUS on clear nights.) This is indeed Atlantic Ocean beach. The Savannah River starts up at Cockspur Island. Anyone may check the Federal Colregs or NOAA and find out this is an area of the Atlantic Ocean specified as Tybee Roads. It is NOT a river. Again, it's an understandable mistake from people who might be accustomed to a mainland coast with no land in the distance. Georgia has no mainland coast anywhere...our coast is a series of islands. We so hope to host this lovely group again...very nice people that Tybee was honored to have come visit its shores.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delighted Vacationer

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Would you like to be super relaxed in a beautiful spot where the Savannah River meets the Atlantic Ocean ? And you can see the water from your balcony? Plus the pristine swimming pool beckoning you to try the water and sand beach beyond. Then look no further. We have spent some wonderful times at this well appointed and maintained condo.
The master bedroom and bath are spacious. The second bedroom with queen bed and third bedroom with bunks have their own bathroom and very comfortable. I am fussy and the condo was clean to my high standards. The property description and photos are accurate depictions of Island Jewel
We made many meals in the large and easy to use kitchen. Unless of course we dined out. The Sunday Cafe with fish tacos is my favorite place,though there are many really good places to eat on Tybee like Stingrays, and also in Savannah, a charming city with much to see and do. We saw the annual St. Patrick's Day parade in Savannah in March...quite a fun event. Brochures detailing places to go, eat, do are readily available. And kayaking to Little Tybee is an adventure we won't forget.
What's special about this place is that there are no high-rise buildings blocking the beach and view...and the natives are typically gracious and welcoming. We walk the beach a lot. Great place. I would recommend Island Jewel without reservation ! And the owner is gracious, responsive, and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not what we hoped for

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

My family and I stayed in September 2013. When we arrived I called the owner right away to tell her about the bushes grown up and we could not see the water, dirty diaper on porch and afew other things, she said she would get these handled but no one showed up. I did not mention gum on the bunk beds, duck tape on the underside of bunk beds to hold up lining, stove eye did not work and jets in tub did not work...I did tell her of the bugs we found in the bedroom. The condo was large but it did not look like the pictures. I told the person making reservations the view was improtant and we could only see a sliver of the water. The living room couch was very dirty and we put a blanket over it to sit on. I hope you post this review so others can ask more questions.

Owners response: We always welcome feedback positive or negative. Although, I would like to point out a few things regarding some of the comments. In all of our ten years we have never received any complaints from our visitors that the layout was not true to the pictures on our site. We are very careful to make sure our guests know exactly size layout etc by showing lots of pictures. As for items found in the property I had contacted the cleaning crew and they assured me that the condo was in perfect condition when they left it. Their report showed that they cleaned minor debris from the deck and one dead horseshoe crab prior to the arrival of these visitor.s We could only surmise that a prankster ( most likely from the condo porch above } threw items down from their porch. As for the view A call was put into the maintainence folks who had already scheduled a dune trimming , although I myself had been there in August and could see the water... and the last guest before these visitors had mentioned the shrimp boats are constantly out so obviously they could see the water as well. Our furniture is cleaned by a service on a regular basis; because of this colors may fade a bit.Our family visits often and we certainly would not have dirty furniture for us or anyone else. Our home like any other does have things break. The one burner on the stove that quit working is fixed. We have instructions posted on using the jet tub, since sometimes the water is turned on in the tub incorrectly and it does burn out the jets motor.OR the lack of following instructions will just result in the jets not working.We appreciate that matter being brought to our attention so any possible problem can be checked out.
We have many repeat guests, so we appreciate knowing of issues so we can address any that are legitimate. We want all new visitors as well as those who come EVERY year to have an excellent experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from July 7-14 2013 guests

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Lisa


Just returned from our Southern family vacation, of which one week was at your condo on Tybee. We certainly enjoyed our stay on Tybee, July 7 - 14. Your condo was wonderful for the 6 of us. We went to the beach twice a day and used the pool at least once a day. Loved watching the freighters go by and we had a shrimp boat that practically beached itself right off the beach every day bringing 20+ dolphins with it. What fun to watch! Being on the North end of the island is the place to be! Our Weather was wonderful. Thank you so much for providing a place for a great family get together, truly an Island Jewel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reveling a fabulous secret

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

My family has been renting this condo for years. I haven't written a review because I've been selfish - I didn't want the secret out about how great this condo is. Every time I come back there is always something improved. This last time one of the bathrooms had been repainted. My children liked the fish wallpaper but it now has a more spa feel. Great job! The kitchen is well stocked. The owner is constantly updating pots and pans. We always find everything we need in the cabinets. The washer, dryer and dish washer are a must for this vacationer. I'm traveling with kids and have to have easy access to these. The condo is very clean. We've been there all times of the years and we have never had problems with bugs.

The north side of the island is the best. It's quiet and a lot easier to swim, kayak, and fish in. We've spent hours walking, riding our bikes, and collecting seashells on the beach. Almost every night you can look out and see dolphins swim by. It's a great place for me to relax but for my children it's a great adventure. Besides the beach there are endless hours in the pool, biking on the island, playing tennis, collecting sand dollars and exploring. We always find time to venture into Savannah for a day or a fancy dinner.

We love eating at The Breakfast Club, Coco's and Wiley's BBQ. Everyone is extremely nice and welcoming.

Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Pleasure at the Island Jewel

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Our experience at the Island Jewel was very pleasureable and relaxing. The unit was clean, spacious and well equipped. My husband said he had some of the most rested sleep at the condo. The master bed was firm and did not dip in middle. The community was quiet and not crowded for the last week in May. Special touches included beach towels, a beach umbrella, sand toys, a well stocked kitchen and a relaxing deck to watch the ships. We were a little further away from the beach than what we prefer. However, with Tropical Storm Beryl, that ended up being a blessing for us! At first, I was disappointed with being on the river side of the island. However, once I saw how much calmer the waves and water were, I realized that our boys could kayak, fish, swim, play and explore the beach area better on this side than on the Atlantic side. My most memorable time was watching my children meet other children, and together, they caught beautiful blue crab and fish. They had a wonderful time naming all the creatures they found. The walks on the beach to the Atlantic Ocean were memorable, too. We saw horseshoe crab, dolphins and many other marine life. As for the condo property location, it is within 2 miles of the main pier and "party-attractions" of Tybee, thus making it a less crowded area. Our favorite places to eat were Lighthouse Pizza, The Breakfast Club and Gerald's BBQ Pig & Shrimp - we were a little skeptical as it is a "chuck-wagon" type place. If you drive into Savannah to eat, try Zunzi's! Only open for lunch, Zunzi's is a take-out dive with patio dining. Order the special if you go on Wednesday's. It is a blend of exotic S. African, Cajan and I don't know what else but good flavors! My husband and I shared the lunch portion and it was ample for the both of us. Our children shared a Jo-burger - I only wish I could have had a bite as it looked good, The burger was loaded with cheese, egg, bacon, lettuce and tomato. Stop by Tier Bakery, located next to the Lucas Theater, for a cupcake treat. You can sit in the squre and enjoy this delicious treat. If time permits, a walking tour is an interesting way to take in the sights of beautiful Savannah. We ran out of time to see the Tybee Lighthouse and Fort Pulaski...I guess that means we will plan another trip! And yes, we would stay at the Island Jewel, again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the kind feedback on our Island Jewel home. It is extremely important to us that we provide a clean, well stocked and general overall great experience for our guests. Tybee Island has been a great experience for our family and we are pleased it was for yours... We appreciate the opportunity to host you and look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect get away for the family

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

The owner contacted us and sent us plenty of information to help us find our way and plan our stay. They were very polite and extremely helpful in answering any questions.

The condo was very clean and we did not see nor was there any evidence of bugs or pests. My wife is very particular about cleanliness and it passed her expectations with flying colors. The kitchen was very well stocked and everything we forgot to bring was already there waiting for us. With 4 adults and 4 toddlers there was plenty of room for all of us and the washer and dryer must have ran at least one load of laundry every day. It was very nice to return home and not have a weeks worth of laundry to do.

The listing is 100% accurate. The private beach is wonderful and not dealing with the crowds and being just a very short walk from your private bathroom is priceless. It needs to be noted that the beach is not technically ocean front but you do have visibility of the ocean and water is afected by the tides. The property is located on the North side of the Island and it can be argued but from my perspective it is at the mouth of the river and ocean front could be defined as maybe 300 yards up the beach. I enjoyed this because the waves are minimal and with our party of 4 adults and 4 toddlers there was no concern with waves being too large and the kids not being able to enjoy them selves. This beach is also amazing for anyone interested in hunting sea shells and observing wildlife. We saw Dolphins everyday not to mention the hermit crabs, horseshoe crab, sea guls, pelicans and fish. After the beach we would bring the kids up to the out door shower to knock the sand off of them before letting them in the pool. The beach also gives amazing sunsets across the water.

As far as nearby activities Captain Derek Dolphin tours is awesome and from my observations he gives a better tour than the more flashy yellow boats. I highly recommended him. Uncle Bubbas Oyster House is a short drive back towards Savannah and is an excellent restaurant as was Fannies and the Rock house both of those were on Tybee. The light house is 178 step to the top so be prepared and buying admission to it gives you admission to a museum across the road which was also pretty interesting.

In closing I hate to leave such a great review as the condo may get booked up and it may not be available for my family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so appreciate your visit AND your taking the time to write such a lovely review. That was very kind; we do try hard and consider guest happiness very, very important.
I would like to make one comment. Tybee juts out into the ocean like Hilton Head. (on clear nights the lights of Hilton Head are gorgeous to see far across the water.) Many people are used to a mainland coast, not an island. Having other islands in view does NOT mean one is not in the ocean.
We think if you check the COLREGS or NOAA charts that you'll find the Savannah River starts over at Cockspur Island, not Tybee.
Thank you again! We so look forward to having such special geusts re-visit.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Condo on Great Beach

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My husband and I took 4 teenage girls to Tybee and were thrilled with our home away from home. The owners were a delight to work with and I look forward to many more visits. Beautiful views from the balcony and a nice quiet beach. The condo had all the comforts of home which made it easy to have meals in when we wanted. We loved it and you will too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best place in Tybee!

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

The best experience we ever had in Tybee since the first time we rented this condo. We have been coming back for the past 5 years! The place is gorgeous! Excellent location, clean, well maintained! The view from the balcony is just breath taking!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: When renters are happy with our condo, Island Jewel, then we are happy. We invite you to relax and enjoy your stay - just make yourselves at home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Experience Ever

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

I visit Tybee Island and Savannah every year with my 6th grade students. Could not have found a better place to stay. Excellent conditions, great location, clean and well maintained! I come back every year! I recommend this property to all who want the best! The view of the swimming pool and beach is breath taking!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review