reviews for: listing #55941 - Encinitas, California House rental

Charming Beach Cottage Overlooking Moonlight Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Encinitas
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,550 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Love this house

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Thank you. We had a wonderful vacation in Encinitas. We love the house and the Beach!
Kiitos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just a caution

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

The location is fantastic. The house was very clean with nice deck and sunroom. I have rented VRBO homes for many years but this rental turned out to be very problematic. Each bathroom has a sign cautioning you about "old plumbing" and not flushing anything but "toilet paper." Seeing these warnings concerned us so we were very careful. Three mornings we were told by city workers to not use the water at all, we had to walk to the beach and use the public rest rooms, not bathe and eat out as we could not wash dishes. The owner compensated us for two nights. I thought that was the end of it but two days ago I received an email from the owner accusing me and my family of flushing baby wipes down the toilets thus causing the plumbing problems! She also felt that two days compensation was very unfair to her since we had caused the problem! I responded by sending her a picture of my family none of whom was a baby, none wore diapers and none used baby wipes! I would caution future renters about the plumbing issues.since the signs were posted in all bathrooms I think this may be an ongoing problem.
Diane Flynn

Owners response: Dear Diane,

The signs that are posted are merely cautionary and we have never had an issue like this in the past 5 years that we have been renting our home(as evident by the 96 positive reviews that came before this). As with any old plumbing, caution is advised when throwing anything down the toilet.

We want to apologize(again) for the issues you experienced during your stay at our home. I am sorry that you feel that I accused you of causing the plumbing issues. I am not a plumber and unfortunately I have to rely on the opinion of professionals in understanding the cause. I feel that we still handled this situation in a fair and professional manner by reimbursing you two nights of your stay plus your full deposit regardless of who caused the problem. We wish you and your family the best in your future vacations.

Best Regards,
Mahsa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Sunsets

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful house and location to spend a few days while in town for a family wedding. The kids room was perfect for our four. The sunsets from deck were spectacular. We have so many wonderful memories of this place to take with us. We hope to return one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do hope you return one day as well! Thank you for the great review and glad you enjoyed the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for family with young kids

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Very nice location for a family with 2 young kids. Literally a stone's throw from the playground just another hop and skip to the beach where we spent most of our time. Legoland is a quick drive on the interstate and also nice to have Whole foods and quaint shops nearby within walking distance. Had a few issues with the house but owners were very quick to respond and take care of it. Thank you.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We do try to resolve issues as fast as we can. Thank you for your patience and understanding and hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Loved it here. Everything Perfect. Hope to be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best week of summer

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Thank you for opening your home to our family. We absolutely loved our stay here in Encinitas! You cottage is in a great location - Loved the view from the patios. The proximity to the beach and driveway parking(especially labor day weekend!) Enjoyed some of your recommendations - Bull Taco is the best!! Also really liked Fish 101 in Leucadia. Thanks for helping us enjoy the best week of summer. We hope to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house with amazing view!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

This beach house has everything you need to have a fabulous stay at beautiful Moonlight Beach. Our family has stayed 2 summers here and we love it! The house is roomy and comfortable for all ages. There's a nice big front yard and you won't believe the enormous driveway for many cars. No fighting for public parking! The large deck has a fantastic view of the ocean and newly renovated beach. Walk to many shops and restaurants. Everything in the property description is accurate and even better than the pictures. The owner is always prompt and accessible. We will certainly be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation to the beach and attractions

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Our family had previously lived in the Carlsbad/Encinitas area and often spent leisure time at Moonlight Beach. When we saw the picture of the beach house rental on line we knew actually where that was. It is a fabulous location to enjoy the beach, with great little restaurants and shopping around. Also, it is close to transportation. The beach house was homey and quaint with more than adequate supplies in the kitchen and the deck was wonderful to enjoy the view and the great temperatures. The property had a private driveway, which was very useful. Also a lovely little yard that made it more cozy. Although there were two stories, there were also two entrances into the house--street level and deck level. The master bedroom was private and spacious with a comfortably firm queen size bed. The other bedroom was a full size bed and made it a little difficult for our son in law and daughter. We had six people all told--4 adults and 2 children. I feel that you could accommodate 2 more adults or 4 more children and still have a restful nights sleep. We went to the San Diego Zoo, Disneyland, LEGOLAND, and SeaWorld and enjoyed the beach and parks close by. There are many good restaurants, a few of our favorites are: Rubio's, Jorge's, Miguel's, Leucadia Pizza, Kealani's, and Manhattan Pizza. The property was well maintained and clean and the owner's where pleasant to deal with although we never saw them. There were plenty of sand toys and beach chairs and boogie boards. Thought having a ball or Frisbee to throw around would have been nice since we flew out there. All in all a good place to stay--loved, loved loved the deck. I could have just stayed there all day!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I am so happy you had such a great vacation at our house and hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Having just completed our 2nd stay at this wonderful beach house, we are already discussing renting it for our 3rd summer in a row. The location is biggest draw- across the street from the playscape at Moonlight & walking distance to all the cute restaurants & shops on 101. While the house is not fancy, it is perfect for kids (teens & toddlers) & has all that you need for a great week at the beach- chairs, toys, towels, etc. Tips: Make sure you plan your trip around the Sunday morning Farmer's Market in Leucadia & the owners' restaurant tips are spot-on!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Moonlight Beach location!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

This cottage has rustic charm and sits in a perfect location. 2 short streets away from the beach and 2 blocks from everything in downtown Encinitas. The deck has amazing views and gets full sunshine. Our group stayed for a long weekend and everyone went home happy. The owner was very accommodating and responded quickly to any of our questions. Excellent place! We would recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing time at the beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of five wants to return to this rental!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We were looking for a beach house rental that would make vacationing with three kids (all under the age of five) fun and easy...and this one made good on every promise! The house was safe and comfortable for young kids. It was right across the street from a great park, the beach, and a pizza place. The house was stocked with a pack and play, high chair, bunk beds, and a child gate. It even had picture books and toys-- what a bonus! We were impressed with the number of kitchen gadgets and utensils. They even had plates, bowls, and cups for kids! We really enjoyed the view of the crashing waves from the deck as well as the access to WiFi. We had many family members visit us and we were able to fit four cars in the driveway with no problem.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you so much! We work hard to have a family friendly rental and I am so happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly is a Charming Cottage at the beach

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We just spent a week in this house. Agree with previous that its not for glitz seekers, but it is everything you would want from a charming cottage by the beach. House is well equipped. The deck provides a great view of beach and ocean. Perfect house for young children. The small front yard provides hours of creative play, the park across the street is an easy jaunt. And of course the beach, rocks and sand provide hours of exploring. Easy trip to Legoland, Old Town. New Whole Foods .5 miles away. Easy walk to town. House is also a great share for two families with two kids each. two bigger rooms and then a bunk room with two bunk beds. Moonlight Beach is also finishing construction on a new facility to house concession stand, new bathrooms/showers. Beach is great for boogie boarding and surfing; and surf lessons are offered right on the beach.

We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll definitely be back!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We found this house when friends stayed here a few years ago and finally rented it ourselves for a week. It is a great beach house and it's hard to beat the location. We had plenty of room for two families (four kids), the house had everything we needed and is extremely clean. We're already plotting our next visit.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you! We can't wait to have you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our third winter here! Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Just two blocks away from the Pacific and always in view of the ocean and sunsets, this is the a perfect beach vacation. The house is not for glitz seekers, but for those who want to relax and center their Encinitas time on family and beach. Once you're settled in, even in car crazy California, you can park the car and walk everywhere from the grocery to the library to restaurants to the train. One caveat--there are stairs so it's not disabled-friendly. The house is very well suited to families and we have enjoyed it for three winters with our extended family. The owners instantly respond to every need and it's been a pleasure to rent from them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun experience

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this vacation home. It was a new experience for us but we were so glad we stayed here instead of a motel. The owner could not have been any nicer or more helpful, and the welcome basket with treats, plus a list of nearby restaurants/shopping, & directions to get around were a welcoming touch and much appreciated. The view was beautiful, (just like the picture) and the location was great and easy to find. We loved being so close to the beach and the park. The house was clean and had everything we needed. For us, it was especially nice to have the pack n play and highchair as we had a 1-year-old with us. We would definitely stay here again if we ever have the chance.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A good experience overall

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

Positives
Overall very well-presented accommodation, excellent location, great communication by the property owners. Good value-for-money. We appreciated that the owners extended such a warm welcome with a snack basket, note, listing of nearby restaurants and amenities. We appreciated the openness to flexibility in check-in/check-out times. The cottage was neat/tidy and well furnished. This is excellent accommodation for people travelling with children as toys, beach gear, pack n' play and high chair are all available.

Room for Improvement
The mattress in the master bedroom is in dire need of replacement - we've not slept on a more uncomfortable bed anywhere in the world (including third world countries)! Some of the lights throughout the house were not functional. The propane tank on the barbecue grill was missing. The owners advised that we could use the one from the outdoor heater and that new propane tank for the grill would be delivered the next day. It never was delivered, leaving us with the option of having a bbq or outdoor heat - not both - on cool, autumn nights. The outdoor heater is in need of repair/replacement as the switch would not stay on.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Holly, Thanks for your review. We will check the lights. The mattress upstairs is less than 3 months old! I am not sure why its uncomfortable, but I will check it out. Sorry about the propane tank. I think my husband was under the impression that you are ok with switching tanks. It is very odd that someone stole the tank from the house.
Hope to have you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return Guest - Love this well equipped Cottage

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

My family here in California max out at eight. We love to hang together, but we all are so busy, and are not able to do that very often. So we made a pack that every Season: Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall we will rent a house, so that we can all be under one roof. We divide up the cooking, and cleaning up, all the while catching up, on what has been going on for the past three months.

The first time we stayed in your cottage was November 2009 and my Niece and her husband rented it for us. We discovered that the weather is wonderful. So decided we'd visit our Beaches in the Fall.

That is why I chose your home again . . . because of all the fond memories of dining outside on your deck, watching the surfers (By the way we love the new patio furniture); Sitting around, roasting Marshmallow's over the Fire Pit, with more talking, and we love the fact that the Cottage is so close to the Beach, as well as, Downtown Encinitas', so we can just walk everywhere.

Thank you for the lovely greeting and goodies you left for us. With eight in our family, it was nice to find enough towels and TOILET PAPER! We do this often enough to know that is not always the case.

So once again, thank you for letting us enjoy your lovely abode.

Thanks again, for helping us create some fun memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

My husband and I rented this charming property for 2 weeks, we were visiting from Australia. I would recommend this property to all families either young old, it is a so convienient to beach, shops etc. (Great organic coffee shop just around the corner).Moonlight Beach is so beautiful it would delight anyone.
The owners were very helpful and generous, we would like to thank them once again for their generosity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A kind note from a past guest

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

I have to tell you that our family has talked about your wonderful house and fabulous view since we were there last year. We also rented a beach house in Laguna last year so that the rest of our family could spend time off work there. It was the same price for a week and was a disaster! One mattress had mold around the entire bottom and also a small refrigerator and carpet in another bedroom was full of mold. The maids had left very old food in the cupboards and main refrigerator. The owner was very uncooperative and I waited 2 months for my deposit. We appreciate the way you do business, very prompt and friendly. We met you briefly as we were leaving and you thanked us for leaving things so clean. I had left you a note that we broke a figurine and you were kind enough to forgive me. We treat vacation homes as if they were our own and you treat people as family. I'm looking forward to getting the contract for next year completed so I can surprise my kids and grandkids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely view in charming Encinitas

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Our family of 5 spent a week here in August and could not have been more pleased. The cottage is very comfortable and the location had both great beach access and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The view from the deck and sunroom is great; lovely sunsets. Moonlight beach is a great family beach and the water was very clean and pleasant. The cottage is nicely decorated and well appointed with lots of towels, cookware, dishes, beach toys/boogie boards and beach chairs. Highly recommend. We hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owner Went Above and Beyond

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We've never stayed in this house and we've never met the owner. But we have nothing but good things to say about our experience. We lived in Encinitas for many years and know the location is prime. We had rented the house for a week in September when a member of our family became seriously ill and would be unable to travel, just six weeks prior to our vacation date. When I advised the owner of our predicament, she at once worked to get the house rented for the same period to enable us to get our deposit back, even offering incentives to the new renter. I feel like this owner is a person of integrity, conscientious and caring. I'm looking forward to the time we can book another vacation at this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We come back every year!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This property is a great loication, great size, family comfortable, good for entertaining, etc. Always a pleasure to stay here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

How can you beat this location?! Breathtaking views of Moonlight Beach, a fantastic deck large enough for a party, a short walk to the beach & no long flights of steps (a common problem in this area), a well-equipped kitchen, nice linens, ample parking space, walking distance to downtown & train.....all in all, a great beach house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot at Moonlight Beach

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We loved our time at this darling beach cottage! The location is great for Moonlight Beach- with play structure, fire pits, & beach volleyball courts right across the street and the shopping and dining on the 101 in Encinitas only 2 streets away. You can park your car and just enjoy the cool California weather. The house and yard are very well maintained, and includes plenty of towels, beach toys, boogie boards, and beach chairs- just bring your suit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Weekend

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Myself and several friends stayed here for my birthday weekend and none of us wanted to leave! It was perfect for the occassion and such a pleasure to stay in. So cute, so convenient and so much space to accomodate pretty much anything and anyone. The deck has an amazing view as well and it it really is walking distance from everything you need and literally a minute walking to Moonlight beach. It was extremely clean and well-maintained, Masha left a very kind note for my arrival as well as complete instructions on how to leave the property at check-out. The ONE thing it is missing is a bit more lighting in the dining room and deck for the evening (unless I just couldn't find it!).
Mahsa was always helpful and replied to my inquiries timely and kindly. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family. I would love to return as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach house and close to a lot of attractions!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Our kids rented this beach house for us for our 30th wedding anniversary and we ALL went (7 adults and 3 children under 5). With the exception of our 25 yr. old who slept on the futon (not opened up- her choice), we all had beds to sleep in. We could smell the ocean and hear the waves from the house. It was definitely walking distance to Moonlight Beach, even for me who sometimes needs a wheelchair.

The rooms seemed smaller than what the pics showed, but it was still large enough for all we wanted/needed to do.

When we got there, the oven had been sprayed to be cleaned, but never turned on to burn the cleaner off. We had the husbands finish the cleaning of the oven. The microwave may or may not be working correctly. It didn't work for microwave popcorn... it burned 3 packages using different settings/temps. Not a biggie. All other appliances worked fine. It was especially nice to have a washer and dryer.

Mahsa was wonderful to work with. She is quick in answering questions/concerns.

I would recommend this property and I would go stay there again. We were able to do so much in the week we were there: Legoland (a must), Sea World, San Diego Zoo, USS Miday, Harbor tours, museums and the best... Disneyland! If you are a Costco member, you can get the GO SAN DIEGO 3-DAY card for about $150.00 p/adult. This gives you admission to all the above (except Disneyland) and other things...whatever you can fit into your schedule in 3 days. We saved a lot of money that way. Be prepared to pay an average of $15 parking at the various parks and bring your own food!

If you are coming from a state that allows you to use your cell while driving, be aware that it is against the law in CALIF. The policeman was very nice and only gave our son a warning.

Have fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cottage!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We had a lovely time at this wonderful cottage!! The walk to the beach just takes a minute or two. The owners are very nice, considerate people. The cottage was everything we expected and more. Words cannot describe how charming it is. The ocean view from the deck is beyond compare and even nicer than the photos; no exaggeration. We drove to the Whole Foods Market as it was a little further than we cared to walk while laden with groceries but it is not far from the cottage. Everything you need for cooking and dining is supplied. We were a party of 5 people; the cottage can easily accommodate a larger party than ours. I definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

This beach house definitely exceeded our expectations. The location was so close to everything we needed to get to (especially the beach!). Our favorite place to hang out was the spacious porch. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. Hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

we had a fabulous time at the beach house! Thanks for all the thoughtful goodies-the high chair and pack n ppllaay were a treat! We loved the location-walking to the beach and park and closeness to Legoland. The house fit us perfectly. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fun get away

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the beach house. Everything was in super condition. The location is perfect! We had 3 four year olds and a 15 month old and the accomodations couldn't be better. The owners were so helpful and made our stay great. We hope to come back and definitely rcommend to friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great choice

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This is a really cute beach cottage. I think the location is what really makes it special. Walk to the surf, playground, shops or the Cafes. The deck overlooking the ocean is a real sun trap and we spent lots of time on it. Loved watching the fires on the beach at nighttime. The beds are really comfortable and the linens are good quality. The downstairs double is quite small, but fine. It's not a flash place, but it has real beach charm. Would stay again. Oh, and a lovely welcome basket from the owners was a nice touch. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Family Friendly

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Property is very family friendly and when they say you can walk to the beach, it isn't a stretch. The owners are also very responsive and promptly returned security deposit etc. It was a very short walk with my almost 2 and almost 4 year olds with NO STROLLER needed. The kids also loved the playground that was on the way. Property has all the basics that you need and is clean. It is also very convenient to get to other locations (we went to the San Diego Zoo, Disneyland, Flower Fields and Legoland). My husband also found someone at a local surf shop to take him surfing one morning just down the road at Beacon Beach and he had the time of his life. The only reason why I give it a 4 and not a 5 is because it is not a luxury property with high-end/state-of-the art everything. It has what you need, is a great location and is definitely worth the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, great house!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this GREAT house-- 4 different families came together and there was plenty of room for everyone! The kids room with the 2 set of bunk beds is roomy and even had a cute little table! The balcony and its views were divine! We used the kitchen extensively and it had everything we needed. The location was great-- walking (very close) distance to the park, beach, shops, coffee, etc! We only used the car to drive to the zoo and acquarium. We'll definitely be coming back. There are stairs to get into the house and to the bottom bedrooms, so not ideal for those with disabilities-- but perfect for everyone else!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

We spent a month in the cottage and think it is the best location in Encinitas. With the
addition of Whole Foods, you can park your car and even complete grocery shopping on foot.
We love Moonlight Beach and the children's playground across the street from the cottage.
Every sunset is spectacular from the house's deck.
The owners live nearby and are quick to respond to issues. The home was warm and welcoming but we needed help operating the DVD-VCR and they were there the same day.
The home was terrific for entertaining our extended family of 16 who had gathered in Encinitas. One caution is that you must be able to climb stairs to enjoy the house- a bit tough for the 80 year olds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

What a great house close to town and close to beach! Perfect!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We had a wonderful week staying in the cottage. We loved starting our day sitting on the deck with a cup of coffee and ending our day on the deck cooking out with a glass of wine. The kids' room with the bunk beds was great for our families. The location is perfect for walking to great shops and restaurants or to wonderful Moonlight Beach. We hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hope to Return

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

This is a wonderful beach house, relaxing with close access to the beach and the cillage. We hope to return. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Real Beach House

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We have rented this cottage for two years now. It is evocative of several other beach houses my parents rented at Laguna Beach in the 1950’s and 60’s: oozing charm and character, yet able to handle a large family with ease. 3 bathrooms, large dining areas, and an expansive deck that overlooks Moonlight Beach and big pluses for us.
We were able to bring my mom, age 94, over for a dinner one night. Her grandfather was the first mayor of Laguna and she had spent many summers there. Many wonderful "beach" memories came back to her. To those who are fortunate enough to stay here similar, vibrant memories of family and friends may be yours to cherish someday too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Real Beach House

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We have rented this cottage for two years now. It is evocative of several other beach houses my parents rented at Laguna Beach in the 1950’s and 60’s: oozing charm and character, yet able to handle a large family with ease. 3 bathrooms, large dining areas, and an expansive deck that overlooks Moonlight Beach and big pluses for us.
We were able to bring my mom, age 94, over for a dinner one night. Her grandfather was the first mayor of Laguna and she had spent many summers there. Many wonderful "beach",memories came back to her. To those who are fortunate enough to stay here similar, vibrant memories of family and friends may be yours to cherish someday too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two Fantastic Weeks

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

The kitchen had great appliances, dishes and the grill was well used. We tend to cook in every meal as we love to sit on the deck, enjoy the view, the great ocean breeze, and relax with a great bottle of wine.
House was very clean, had lots of space, comfortable furniture, is a great family location, and an easy walk to the beach or downtown. We brought our tennis rackets to take advantage of the court right across the street. We would ride our bikes to Del Mar as the bike paths are great. It is also a great walk to the camping facility on HYW 101.
We had 5 to 9 foot waves the last day but it was fun to see the surfers.
Our only negative is that the mattress could be a bit firmer, we tended to roll to the center.
We are looking forward to summer of 2012.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. I will be sure to look into the rolling situation :-) See you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location Ever!!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We just spent our second vacation at this wonderful home. I have 3 kids ranging in age from middle school to college. Everyone loves this house. We BBQ'd on the deck with local friends, went surfing, went to Del Mar. The train runs nearby so friends from L.A. can come for a day or two. The house feels like home, plenty of beds, nice kitchen, laundry room. Misic from Jazz night at beach on Sundays flows through the house. We always hate to leave!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

multiple year renter

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

We love staying here. We park the car and really vacation; walking to the beach, playgrounds and parks and tennis courts. The library, red box, Whole Foods, and the Coaster Station are also within a short walk. Even though this is an older home, that is part of it's charm. Plenty of nooks and crannies for privacy or a sleeping baby. It is spotlessly clean and linens are generous. I really wonder why we don't just live here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular View from Deck

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time and your house was so cute and comfortable. Our 3 children and 4 grandchildren visited at different intervals as their time off of work permitted. You have provided everything necessary to enjoy a relaxing vacation. The view from the deck is spectacular! I would be happy to recommend your house to our friends and neighbors. Thank you again for a terrific vacation and we hope to come back in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great rental property

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We had two other families with us and I would say we all enjoyed the house and its location.

Our favorite part was the upstairs patio area. It was large enough for all of us to sit outside and overlook the beach area.

The house itself is in real good shape, tons of hot water. The location is fantastic and we talked about re-renting it next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Hi
Just wanted to let you know the house was fantastic. We had a great time there and the house could not have been in a more perfect location for us!! If we ever find ourselves back in San Diego and your house is still open for renting we'd love to stay there again! Thanks!!
Aimee

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

This house was perfect for us!! Our group consisted of a group of girls who were out for a friend's wedding on Moonlight beach. It really felt like a home away from home. It was clean, comfortable, and in a great location. There were 8 of us and we were very comfortable. We lived on the deck that overlooks the beach! The owner did an excellent job of communicating with me in the days leading up to the trip and also has any info you might need printed up in the house. We didn't have kids with us, but being the mother of a 15 month old I am now in the habit of seeing how "kid friendly" a house is. This house would definately work for kids too. Hope to go back someday!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: It was our pleasure to have you stay at the house. Hope the wedding was great. I am glad you found the info in the house useful. Hope to see you again with the kids!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Moonlight Beach Home perfect for Families!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This is the perfect Moonlight Beach vacation rental! My family felt right at home. The owners were extremely helpful in providing suggestions of things to do/places to eat/etc. and easy to work with. We loved that you could sit on the rooftop deck and enjoy the view of Moonlight Beach. My kids thought it was so cool that it was such a short walk to the beach and two really fun parks. The house is very cute, well maintained and clean, plus it's equipped with everything you need (even a high chair, baby gate, and pack n' play which was very convenient for us). We're already looking forward to going back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Vacation

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

My family and I stayed in this cottage in March 2011. It had lots of space for famililes to spread out, a beautiful ocean view from the dining room or deck, a well equipped kitchen, and enough bathrooms to accomodate everyone. It was kept clean, had a washer/dryer, and beach towels/toys were provided. This cottage was close to many different beaches and sight seeing activities. We enjoyed the tide pool at Cardiff by the Sea Beach, Disneyland, Seaport Village, Old Town, and Balboa Park. The owner of this property was very helpful, answered many questions, and supplied with helpful information about the area. We would recommend this cottage to others visiting the area and would go back ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for you great review! The tide pools at Cardiff are also one of our favorites. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we could be helpful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect, perfect, perfect!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

The beach cottage is lovely. We felt comfortable and well-provided-for from the moment we walked in the door. The layout was great for our family with teenagers. There is plenty of room for gathering for meals or games and ample private space. The location couldn't be any better; we played in the ocean, ate Thai food and bought gifts for friends, all without needing a car. The only disappointment in our visit was that the waves were to high for our surfing lesson. We are already planning our next visit and will definitely try to stay at "our" Moonlight cottage again. Thank you so much for sharing it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From Berlin to Moonlight Beach!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

We stayed 6 weeks and loved it!! Just the perfect place for our family. Thank you very much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hard to Leave!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

What a perfect spot from sunrise to sunset, from light to dark to create memories with our family. Your cottage and all your hospitable warm touches made us feel at home. After a month here, it is very hard to pack and leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

They aren't kidding, this is an ideal place to stay. A stone's throw from Moonlight Beach, beautiful views of the ocean and an easy walk to Encinitas. The owners couldn't be more helpful with dining and shopping suggestions, really nice people who do everything to make your stay pleasant. We loved it and can't wait to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Encinitas cottage

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at your adorable cottage! We especially loved relaxing on the deck (amazing view!) and walking over to the gorgeous beach nearby! Our kids also enjoyed the book basket and the beach toys you provided - thank you! We hope to return sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Bridget. Sitting on the deck and enjoying the beach view is also our favorite activity there. Hope you can stay longer next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This is truly a cozy "Home away from Home" with fantastic views of Moonlight beach. The house was fully equipped with every amity you would need from cooking to beach going! Eight of us felt right at home in the living room, dining room, sun room and especially the wonderful deck overlooking Moonlight beach. Just bring your clothes and move right in for a great vacation, reunion or quick get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robin, so glad you guys got to visit the old neighborhood and house! Now, that you found us, I hope we will see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Views!!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This is an amazing beach cottage just steps away from the pacific ocean. You can enjoy your dinner while watching the gorgeous sunset. We've stayed at other beach rentals and I can attest that we're so delighted with this cottage that we're not going anywhere else! All the amenities you need plus lots of thoughtful extras are provided...great for couples, families or a girlfriend's weekend. Walking distance to restaurants and the beach! I totally recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our new favorite place in Encinitas!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We have been coming to Encinitas since 1968 and this is our new favorite place to stay. You have done so many things to make the house complete and comfortable. We are so happy to be returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Surfing & Proximity to the beach

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

Thanks for the good stay! We loved the house, especially the proximity to the beach. We did lots of exploring for good surf spots: San Elijo Cardiff and Moonlight ... Loved Seaside Market and Cedros too! Thanks for the treats and the great suggestions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views!

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful cottage just steps away from the beach! The sunset views from the balcony are amazing. This beach cottage has all the amenities you need and more. Attention to details to insure your comfort and enjoyment are everywhere...from having all the essentials to beach toys. The location is fabulous, walking distance to stores also.

We will definitely return and I highly recommend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time at this beach cottage! The home was so charming and decked out with games, movies and plenty of beach gear. We especially loved the wagon to tote everything down to the beach! Our favorite thing besides hanging out at the beach all day was relaxing on the deck while eating dinner and watching the sunset. We wil always remember Encintias as one of our favorite vacations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home and location!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

My family had a wonderful vacation at Moonlight Beach the first week of August. We have 3 teenage kids who are just learning to surf and they had a blast! There are great restaurants nearby, but you never have to leave the house. The kitchen is well equipped and the BBQ and deck are fabulous for dining and entertaining friends. There was plenty of sleeping space for us and some friends who visited the kids during the trip. The view and large driveway for parking made this the best vacation in a long time! Highly recommend this home and owners are great to work with. Anything we needed was supplied! Great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad your kids got to surf. This is the best spot to do it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Charming Cottage

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This was our 1st stay at this charming Beach Cottage and enjoyed every day of it. We had two families share this cottage and it was fantastic. Very close to beach and within walking distance from everything. The house was very well equipped with all you need. We spent a lot of time on the deck grilling and enjoying the fantastic view.

Great Place and well worth the price.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

Wonderful vacation cottage for family and friends. We loved the area, the proximity to the beach. The boogie boards, beach chairs and outside shower were great to have at our disposal. The house was clean and the beds were comfortable. Look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely family vacation home

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I stayed here with my 2 children and we all loved this home. The rental process went very smoothly with the owner and we were so pleasantly surprised with how clean and cute this home was. The decor was cheery and charming, and absolutely everything we needed for our stay was there for our use. The children's bunk beds were a big hit and the house has a great set up having a deck, a sunroom, living room, laundry room, fire pit/yard, 2 tvs with movies available, games for the kids and some toys, beach stuff, outdoor shower to wash off sand, lovely linens, and nice kitchen and separate large dining room. Loved it!! Want to do this again! Oh - location is perfect with playground and beach in view and close walk. Super! Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

What a fantastic stay... I love this house, the location, the decor... And most of all the view... This is a perfect place to stay with a family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2010

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We stayed at this fabulous home for our family spring vacation. This home had everything you need for a great vacation. It is warm, cozy, comfortable and welcoming. The hosts obviously have the gift for hospitality. The views are absolutely amazing along with the sound of the ocean as you sit on the deck. The biggest challenge was trying to decide which fabulous bistro to eat at for breakfast or to stay and just eat breakfast on the deck.
We would definitely rent this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having you as guests. Hopefully, we can have coffee at a bistro together next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My review

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Our family enjoyed a wonderful week in April. The owner was gracious and easy to work with. The college-age kids enjoyed the beaches and the town - walked to all desitinations and didn't even use the cars. The adults found much to do - including days on the beaches, kayaking, shopping and dining - either right in town or a short commute up/down the 101. The house offered lots of room for our extended family - and we especially enjoyed the large front deck overlooking the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

California beach living at its best!

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

This home proved to be perfect for our 6-week stay on the coast. It offered fenced privacy, spectacular views from every front window (much better than even what the picture showed!), numerous sleeping accommodations, a cozy garden sitting area with firepit, a generous deck with grill, laundry facilities and a reasonably equipped kitchen (except for adequately sharp knives!). There are lots of special provisions for families with babies and children but they are unobtrusive to adults. We never used our car on a daily basis but only when heading out of town. Not only is the beach within a one or two minute walk but the whole of Encinitas is within a comfortable walking distance -- restaurants, shops, gardens, parks, beaches, residential neighborhoods, hair salons, spas, etc., etc., etc. We became particularly attached to Swami's and their acai bowls. Also to St. Tropez and their sinfully deliciious pastries. The landlady was friendly, helpful and quick to respond to any question. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations recommending this great house to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We loved having you over. Thanks for the great review and I will be sure to buy some sharp knives!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it here

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

What a wonderful home, wonderful location, wonderful experience. Thanks you ever so much. We loved it here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Setting for our weekend

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Thank you for providing the perfect setting for a weekend with out new infant and visiting family. We couldn't have asked for more! we wish you a warm, festive holiday season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House and Location

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

Superb house and location. Thanks for the perfect venue for a great thanksgiving!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for our fall festival

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

To be able to enjoy beautiful sunsets with our small extended family was such a gift. Our "Fall Festival" event was comfortable, enjoyable and so relaxing in the beautiful atmosphere of your home. Thanks you for the opportunity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loving Encinitas!

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We're here -- and we're delighted with your perfect little beach house! It couldn't be better for our stay here in Encinitas, a town we're already beginning to think of as "ours". The acai bowl at Swamis, the pastries at St. Tropez, the long walks everywhere and the fun of being practically on the beach all combine to make it a perfect setting. Thanks for making your house available to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Our family stayed at the "cottage" when we were in town for a large family reunion. GREAT location - the beach was right in front of us, I-5 close by (but not so close that we heard it) and Encinitas was very central for the different places we went. An easy walk into town with nice shops and restaurants. Very nice place - has a lot more character and style than the condos up and down the beach, and is comfortable yet has enough room for privacy for all. Some of the things we liked most were the great deck and listening to the crashing waves at night - with all the windows open in January! Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will be back with my whole family!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

Thank you so much for making our stay perfect, you really did look after all our needs. Your home is so cosy and charming. And I loved Encinitas! Can't wait to come back next year, but with the whole family on tow!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A memorable vacaiton

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

Our family had a wonderful vacation! Besides the cleanliness and comfort (really feels like you are at home), the location and the deck are absolutely amazing! With an ocean view, the deck is a great place to grill, eat with the family, read a great book or watch some amazing sunsets. Plus the location is unbeatable - steps to Moonlight Beach and it's great park, minutes to walk to town. Plus, great amenities are provided from kid movies to popcorn cups to beach toys...this place has everything! We will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone looking for a memorable vacation with their family (or just a romantic getaway!)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You made our vacation from Dubai wonderful!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

Thank you for creating such a creative, clean, friendly, cozy, practical and loving ambiance at your beach house. It was a dream having the ocean a step from us. Our vicinity to the beach giving us a full view of the beach action; volleyball, surfing, etc. from the privacy of the deck was great fun. We spent half the time down by the beach and the other half hanigng out on the deck, bbqing, reading, watching the sunset,playing tic tac toe and Monopoly(nice touch btw)or walking around the Encinitas strip on PCH 101 enjoying the little local restaurants, bars, coffee shops. We also loved your welcome basket and your professional and warm handling of everything. We are so looking forward to visiting in March again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Moonlight Beach Cottage

Review submitted: November 25, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

We loved our stay at this house. It was roomy, comfortable and well equiped. Our family of seven adults and a four year old had all the privacy and room that we wanted and yet were able to enjoy being together under one roof. Great location too! G

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just perfect!

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Wonderful location and beatiful beach house. We just had the best time! Drinks on the balcony were a must, amazing view! The house had everything we could possibly need and more. Felt more like a home from home, it was clean and perfectly well maintained, the owners made sure our stay was enjoyable. Can't wait to back next year and take the whole family. It was a long way for us to travel from the UK but it was really worth it and will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT BEAUTIFULL PLACE FOR A VACATION

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

This house has been a great place for a vacation for us, we come from South America and having the pleasure to stay there was something different, specially been so close to the beach, when you come from the Andes like us is a Royal Treat to be so close and have the wonderfull view and sound of the ocean. The owner is a wonderfull person and she is always asking if there is anything else it be a pleasure to help.

The house is well maintained, has everything to make yourself as home, laundy room, full kitchen, WIFI internet, cable TV, is close to Main St. 101 Encinitas, where you can find all kinds of nice american (101 Dinner) and international food (El Quero peruvian food). It also has all the towels and sheets for the beds, all the cleaning materials.

We, my wife and I, totally recomend this house at Moonlight Beach for a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It was our pleasure to have you. Maybe we can visit you in South America one day! We love El Quero too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home!

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

The home is absolutely perfect for a vacation with the family. Walking distance to almost everything in Encinitas (beach, park, town, etc.), an unbelievable deck with ocean views to watch the sunsets, eat with the family or just read a great book. The rooms are very comfortable and make you feel like you are at home (with a great bunk bed room for the kids!). Pretty much everything you need is supplied (down to the beach toys and popcorn cups). A truly great place to hang your hat for a few days, enjoy all that Encinitas and Moonlight Beach have to offer and kick back and relax!

Our family will definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. We do try to make everyone's stay special. Hope to see you again(and thanks for leaving the house spotless!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Had such an amazing time there, the property is fantastic, just what we were looking for. I would definitely recommend it to my friends! Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this amazing home. The wonderful views and the ocean breeze made this an awesome vaction for our family. There is plenty of room for a large family and the beach is only a block away, which made it extremely convenient for us. I would recommend this house, the location is great! Everything was immaculate and we had a wonderful time.

Owners response: Thank you! We will hopefully see you for a longer stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moonlight Beach Delight

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

Thank you for creating such a creative,
clean, friendly, cozy, practical and loving ambiance at your
beach house. It was a dream having the ocean a step from us. Our vicinity to the beach giving us a full view of
the beach action; volleyball, surfing, etc. from the privacy
of the deck was great fun. We spent half the time down
by the beach and the other half hanigng out on the deck,
bbqing, reading, watching the sunset,playing tic tac toe and Monopoly(nice touch btw)or walking around the Encinitasstrip on PCH 101 enjoying the little local restaurants,bars, coffee shops. We also loved your welcome basket and your professional and warm handling of everything. We are so looking forward to visiting in March again.
Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are very proud of our house and love it when people have a great vacation there. See you in March!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little paradise

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

We truly loved staying at Encinitas in the cottage. Perfect location near the beach and restaurants, beautifull surroundings and - most importantly - a lovely property! We have absolutely loved our vacation and would hope to return in the near future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were a lovely family and we enjoyed having you there. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

We have stayed in many places in the Encinitas area
over the past twenty years. If you aren't ready to
spend big bucks to rent on Neptune, this is the best
deal I have seen. The owners are great, the location
is great, the views are great, . The bedrooms are
not so great ( small); but if you plan to stay inside,
stay home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

Location perfect. Quaint, but spacious cottage. Very clean, wonderful view. The best Birthday treat ever!

Owners response: Happy Birthday! I didn't know it was a special occasion. Hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

This place is perfect! From it's location, location, location to all Encinitas has to offer to the smell of fresh ocean air and the sounds of waves as they hit the shore! Easy access to Moonlight Beach and downtown Encititas, you won't find a better beach house with this location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Our Moonlight beach family vacation was awsome! We enjoyed the comfort of a beautiful clean home with an ocean view. We enjoyed many evenings on the balcony watching the sunset and BBQ'ing. The weather was beautiful and we loved walking down to the beach everyday to enjoy the sun and surf. The outside warm shower was great to rinse off after the beach. It was also nice to be able to walk to the movie theater and to stroll down main street to eat or shop. The only place we had to drive to was the grocery store just down the street. I look forward to returning with my family again and would recommend this charming cottage to friends for vacation anytime in the year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so glad you all enjoyed it. We would love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

Thank you so much for opening your wonderful home to us. It is so perfectly located with beautiful views. It was great to walk 3 minutes to the beach or playground. The teenagers took surfing lessons and surfed while the little one boogie boarded. At night we would eat dinner on the deck watching the ocean and then start a fire in the pit and roast marshmallows. It was a perfect location to catch the 5 and go to Sea World(35 min) or Disneyland (1hr 15min. Truly it was one of the best vacations we have had and couldn't have asked for more accommodating owners! They fulfilled our every need and then some. Thank you so much!!!

Owners response: You were a pleasure to have as guests. We are so glad you had such a good time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a friendly house!

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

You have a very friendly house. We had a marvelous time and will recommend this to all our friends! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

This was our first time staying in the Encinitas area and we loved it. The area is not a high tourist area and is much more like living like the locals, which we prefer. The house far exceeded our expectations with lots of space and a great view of the beach. The walk down to the beach only took about 5 minutes. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed including beach towells and chairs. The owners of the home were very accomodating. We can't wait to stay again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Maria. We enjoyed meeting your family and hope to see you again! That is also exactly why we love Encinitas!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Your place was a pleasure to live in for a week. We can see that you put a lot of
love into creating it. Thank you for putting in the baby gate. That really was a
help!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

We had a small family reunion and this was the perfect place for it. The range of our age group was between 12 to sixty. A block from the beach it provided a very desirable location for all of us, with possibility of many activities, restaurants and shops. A very charming beach house, clean and well taken care of. The weather was perfect too:) Shahri

Owners response: We loved having you. Thanks for the wine bottle you left for us as a gift. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a WONDERFUL place to be

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

Everything about this beach house was amazing, the decor, amenities and especially the view. I'd recommend to anyone to stay here and will do so again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

We had a great stay at your place. The location was very convenient (beach, playground, shops, outlet mall, Legoland, La Jolla) and the cottage was very charming, clean and well-stocked.

We will have wonderful memories of spending hours at the beach(thanks for the boogie boards!) during the day and roasting marshmallows and sitting on the deck by the nights.

Simply beautiful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 30, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

The view from this beach house is amazing! Our
family had a great stay! Everything you need is all
here. Thanks again for a great vacation.

Owners response: We were delighted to have you. We try to make the house special for every guest. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

We stayed here on our last trip to CA. The location is amazing; our favorite thing to do was BBQ on the deck and watch the sunset. The location is great; close to the shops and very close to the beach.
The house was very clean and the landlords were very easy to work with.
We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect vacation rental

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

The ocean views are amazing. I have spent many evenings sipping wine on the terrace and gazing at the ocean. It's at close proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants. Very charming.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review