reviews for: listing #56046 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

Beautiful Ithaca 3 Bedroom Lake House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ithaca
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Family vacation

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a lovely time in this beautiful lake house. The house is clean and well kept with comfortable beds, and a great kitchen with views of the lake-what a way to cook! There are a lot of stairs down to the house, and then down to the lake itself, but if this is not a problem then it is a great place to stay. Kayaks can be rented at Puddledockers not too far away from the house. The Hangar Theatre is just a mile or so away if anyone wants to see a good play in the summer season, and easy access to Ithaca.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Lake House, Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

The beautiful lakefront home is located in the ideal spot - just a few minutes away from Wegman's, the Commons and Cornell. I visited for a short weekend so being close to everything was important to save time... I could not have asked to stay in a better location.

This home is huge. Each bedroom is a great size. There are three bathrooms which makes getting ready in the morning with several people very fast! The home is very clean. There are a lot of great bonuses like a card table and a pool table (which we used when it was raining). The dock that leads to the lake is a wonderful place to sit back and relax.

I have stayed at other lakefront homes in Ithaca and nothing compares to the size, location and cleanliness of this house.

Overall, A+ vacation. I can't wait to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great vacation house!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This lake house is fabulous! It has everything you could possibly want in a cottage: full kitchen, bbq, games, books, tons of space, pool table, huge tubs, tv, and it is within minutes of local attractions, Wegmans, and downtown Ithaca. There are a lot of stairs to get to the house and to the lake, but we were fine even with a 10 month old and a 2.5 year old. The only problem we had is that we did not stay long enough!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House, Location, and Vacation

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We stayed at the house from June 11th - June 15th with our 2 young children and their grandfather.

The house is situated directly on Cayuga Lake with a beautiful view of the lake and Cornell Campus. The house was ideally located for our family with a 7-8 minute drive to the Cornell Campus, the Commons, nearby Cass Park (playground and pool - not yet opened when we were there), approx. 15 miles from the closest Cayuga Lake Winery, 8 miles from Taughannack Falls, 4 miles from Buttermilk Falls, and very close to a well equipped gym and Wegmans.

The house itself was very clean and spacious with 3 comfortable bedrooms, a large well equipped kitchen, huge living room with a pool table and flat screen TV (blueray and wifi), and multiple bathrooms with large tubs. Each bedroom had an AC unit. There were so many decks with great views and the backyard had a fantastic fire pit, hammock, and huge dock (2 picnic tables). We spent a lot of time jumping/swimming in the lake (a little on the cold side), lounging out, eating lunch, roasting marshmallows, and just enjoying the beauty of Cayuga Lake.

There were a lot of stairs to get to the house from the road and also to get to the backyard/lake, but we had no issues even with little kids (people who have trouble walking would have an issue).

We really loved the house and location and are already planning our trip for next summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Amenities & More!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

In all honesty, upon arriving at this house for a recent weekend getaway, my friends and I spent our first 20 minutes marveling at all the amenities it offered.

The main floor features three separate bedrooms and three full bathrooms - an ideal arrangement that allowed for everyone in our party to have their own private space. Downstairs contains a pool table and flat-screen HDTV, which both offered hours of entertainment.

The outside of the house is enveloped by an elaborate system of decks (the pictures truly don't do it justice) which leads down to the backyard, located directly on Cayuga Lake. Most of our time was spent outdoors in the backyard, which features a fire pit and hammock, or on the dock, where two picnic tables allowed us to enjoy our meals directly on the water.

When it came time to stock up on supplies, we were able to get from the house, into downtown Ithaca to do our shopping and back in well under an hour - a unique feat that can't be accomplished at most lakeside homes.

Of course, I would be remiss if I failed to mention that the house and surrounding property were spotless and the owner was extremely easy to work with. I'm happy to give a glowing review and recommendation of this house, and will definitely be keeping it in mind for myself when planning future getaways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Amenities, and More!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

In all honesty, upon arriving at this house for a recent weekend getaway, my friends and I spent our first 20 minutes marveling at all the amenities it offered.

The main floor features three separate bedrooms and three full bathrooms - an ideal arrangement that allowed for everyone in our party to have their own private space. Downstairs contains a pool table and flat-screen HDTV, which both offered hours of entertainment.

The outside of the house is enveloped by an elaborate system of decks (the pictures truly don't do it justice) which leads down to the backyard, located directly on Cayuga Lake. Most of our time was spent outdoors in the backyard, which features a fire pit and hammock, or on the dock, where two picnic tables allowed us to enjoy our meals directly on the water.

When it came time to stock up on supplies, we were able to get from the house, into downtown Ithaca to do our shopping and back in well under an hour - a unique feat that can't be accomplished at most lakeside homes.

Of course, I would be remiss if I failed to mention that the house and surrounding property were spotless and the owner was extremely easy to work with. I'm happy to give a glowing review and recommendation of this house, and will definitely be keeping it in mind for myself when planning future getaways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with two other couples. We were perfectly comfortable and had a wonderful time. The location can't be beat for accessing the lake, wineries, Ithaca, and Cornell.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Delighted to hear you enjoyed your Cornell Reunion weekend on the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Fabulous!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We stayed here at the end of summer for a long weekend, and I wish it could have been a lot longer. This is one of the nicest houses we have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The house and grounds are even more lovely than the photos show. The rooms and furnishings are beautifully-appointed, comfortable, and very clean, with a very spacious kitchen and dining area, and fantastic views from the various decks. We enjoyed total relaxation here and especially loved swimming off the dock, feeding a family of ducks, and hanging out in the hammock at sunset. We slept so well, falling asleep and awakening to cool breezes and the sounds of birds on the lake.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating, and gave great advice on everything there is to do in the area. The Hangar Theater just down the road has terrific plays, and the center of town was a short 5-minute drive away. We rented kayaks in town and paddled back to the house, and another day drove a few miles north to go hiking at Taughannock Falls. The Ithaca farmer's market is an experience everyone should enjoy, it's truly amazing and unlike any farmer's market I've ever been to.

Of course, we could have spent a whole week just relaxing at the house and not going anywhere at all. We are definitely planning to return to this house again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great access to the lake and to Ithaca!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

This house is very close to Ithaca but still provides the feeling of a lakeside retreat. The lake view is private and ideal for peaceful morning sun and grilling, dining, and campfires down by the water. The house is also very close to our favorite area attractions. We usually visit the Hangar Theater for a great performance (this year’s Gem of the Ocean was fantastic), the Ithaca and Trumansburg Farmers’ Markets (and Hazelnut Kitchen), and Treman and Taughannock Falls State Parks. This location made us feel that all these attractions were right down the road (they are).

The house itself provides three private bedrooms upstairs, plenty of common room at the dining room table or downstairs with the futon which is located on its own floor with its own deck access. The kitchen is spacious and functional and the gas grill is located on the deck just outside – we used both to cook up lots of delicious local food (check out the T-Burg Grillers at The Piggery).

The attached apartment was a great deal for us. It provided a clean, airy, spacious, and relaxing retreat for our guests. Jane was a timely owner to deal with and Gary was a helpful area contact – he even made sure our recycling made it up to the road for pickup. Parking was very manageable, even on the sometimes busy 86. There’s room for three cars by the house and additional space across the road.

Ithaca is a favorite vacation spot and this house helped ensure another year’s worth of good memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent, comfortable lake house

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This is a wonderful house in a great setting. We spent a winter weekend here in January 2011. The house itself is very practical. Everything you need is there and there is a full kitchen with everything you need to cook a meal (after you get your groceries of course). The view from all the many windows of the house is outstanding. Although when you pull up to the driveway you will see many houses along the lake, once you are inside the house you cannot see any other houses from the windows and you have complete privacy. It's also very quiet and you can hear the birds outside in the morning on the lake. There is so much to do around Ithaca. We had some great food, great food shopping and went XC skiing. There are movie theatres nearby, ice skating, museums and the college campuses to explore. Or you can just stay at the house and rest all weekend. We'd love to come back in the summer to use the lake for boating and check out the farmer's market. Overall, we had a great time at this house and would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just Grand

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The Lake House exceeded our expectations in so many ways. It is clearly a vacation home the owners enjoy visiting. It is spacious, well maintained, clean and airy; close to town (Ithaca); restaurants, parks, grocery stores are minutes away. The views are spectacular, the water clean and clear, a large dock, numerous deck levels to enjoy the sun or escape to the shade and a nice little yard with hammock. The owners are pet friendly and the surroundings accommodation. I would without reservation recommend this Lake House to all who seek a carefree vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best lake house on Cayuga Lake

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My family and I had an absolutely wonderful week at the lake house. It was by far the best place we have found on Cayuga Lake in the past four years. The house and apartment were ideal--giving everyone plenty of space, plus lots of room to gather. We had everything we could have asked for and were impressed with how clean, comfortable, and spacious the house was. The beach and dock were fantastic, and the house is close to Ithaca, the wineries, and several hikes in the area. We already booked for next summer! Looking forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous House!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

My family rented this property for 3 nights and we were sad to leave!! The house has amazing views and plenty of space and bathrooms. Very comfortable. There are multiple decks to lounge on and a really nice dock with table and chairs. I loved the hammock as well. Everything you need is at the house. Overall a relaxing stay- close to Ithaca with plenty of parking too. We hope to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review