reviews for: listing #56063 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Fabulous Oceanfront Retreat
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palmetto Dunes
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,500 /nt
    $4,995 - $10,495 /wk
    $3,000 - $40,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Place and Excellent Owner

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We have stayed at this place multiple times, and it has always been great. It is in a beautiful location on the oceanfront with great views and unbelievably easy access to the beach. The house is very nicely designed with four master bedrooms with ocean front views and an additional bedroom. We have had 10 to 12 people stay there very easily. There is a large open area on the first floor that includes the living room, dining room and kitchen. It is extremely well taken care of and well-equipped including a range of beach equipment, toys for kids, games for every age, and multiple books. The owner makes sure that everything is fine and is available and desires to be helpful for any reason. Our whole family looks forward to our stays here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome 2 Weeks in Beautiful Beachfront Home

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Our family just spent 2 fabulous weeks at 10 Ketch. The home is spacious and stunningly beautiful with fantastic views of the pool and beach from every room in the house except one streetview bedroom, which we used as a babies room. All the bedrooms are large, nicely decorated, have flatscreen TV's and ensuite baths. The large open kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly want, including a keurig coffee maker, blender, mixing bowls, cookie sheets etc. The great room/dining room are also spacious, comfy and well decorated with a huge flatscreen TV, wet bar, and cupboards full of games and puzzles. Even the laundry room is well stocked with large capacity washer and dryer, iron and board, step stool, vacuums and plenty of beach towels. Our daytime favourite spots were the pool and beach. The warm pool and spa were cleaned and maintained regularly and there were plenty of loungers, chairs and tables in the patio area as well as a barbeque. A small decked area leading to the beach was stocked with beach chairs and toys which made beach time more enjoyable. The beach itself is gorgeous and clean. For the safety of small children in the group there is a gate at the top of the steps leading to the pool area. The deck/balconies off the 2 mainfloor bedrooms and great room also have chairs and tables for relaxing and enjoying the view. Keyless entry for the house was easy for a group rather than sharing house keys.
Palmetto Dunes is a pretty gated community, and 10 Ketch is beautiful and clean with privacy by the pool and beach.
Luann (owner) is easy to work with, very accommodating, provided detailed information of the house and Hilton Head area and was always available if we had questions. She has definitely thought of everything in the house - all the tiny details and updated decorating. The house is very well maintained and comfortable. Home away from Home is fitting!
We ventured outside Palmetto Dunes and found great places to eat. Our favourite restaurants were Black Marlin Bayside Grill, Low Country Backyard, Hudsons Seafood House, Red Fish, Bullies BBQ and Skull Creek Boathouse.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful perfect place for family to stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This is the perfect home for a family to rent in the best location on Hilton Head. The home is well maintained by the owner and contains every convenience for a family.
This is our third year renting this home and we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Pat,
And we were so happy to have you visit again this year! Glad you had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Family Fun at Hilton Head"

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a great week bringing family together from across the country. While the weather was not ideal, the home accommodations were excellent providing us everything that we needed. A very attractive and well maintained home that we all truly enjoyed.

More Review Details

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"10 Ketch- Wonderful vacation home"

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Hilton Head and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We felt right at home in this beautiful oceanfront home.
There was plenty of room for our family of 9 (plus my brother in laws family of 3). The pool and hot tub had plenty of lounge chairs and patio furniture around them. My favorite was the laundry room! No coming home to tons of laundry. This was a dream vacation thanks to the condition of the home and the location on the island

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect Beach House for a Family!"

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This beautiful 5 bedroom home is perfect for families traveling together! Each bedroom has their own private bathroom and every room is just as nice as the others with great ocean views from every room! House has every amenity you could possibly want on a relaxing, fun- filled vacation! From the games and movies provided inside to the pool and private beach access outside -- you couldn't ask for more!! House is updated, with new appliances and even has a Keurig coffee machine! -- and it has keyless entry which makes it so easy for a large group. It was very comfortable with kids of all ages! House was ready when we arrived and everything was sparkling clean! Beach towels were awaiting us along with the best beach in the country! The Palmetto Dunes area is so beautiful and has everything you could possibly want without ever leaving the plantation -- golf, tennis, bicycles, walking paths, nature areas, beach activities, general store, restaurants and more! Owner Luann is very easy to work with and provided the most detailed information about the house as well as the Hilton Head area! I can't say enough positive things about our wonderful vacation experience at 10 Ketch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Very nicely supplied oceanfront home for large ex

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

"Very nicely supplied oceanfront home for large extended family"
This is a nicely stocked oceanfront home with a private pool. Luann has thought of everything and was very helpful in dealing w any questions we had. She was right that the pool does not need heating in the summer - our first two days, the pool was rather cold as it had rained a bit but the water warmed up the next day as the sun came out for the remainder of the week. Beach and bath towels are provided as are some basic bathroom toiletries, kitchen needs, a Weber gas grill, lots of board games and dvds; home is clean and has a laundry room.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome,couldn't ask for a better location or view

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

What a breath taking view!!a perfect floor plan for
our three families. Every one had a wonderful week.
Would rent again. Some resturants we really enjoyed.
Breakfast at the Sunrise Cafe, lunch at the Red Fish Grill.
ate two different times at Gissepi"S for Pizza ( may not
have spelled it correct}.Maintance was great when needed.
Highly recommend!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Week

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My family and I just returned from a perfect week's stay at beautiful 10 Ketch. The views of the ocean were spectacular! This home was perfect for my family of 7 adults (3 couples)and one toddler. Everyone had their own private bedroom with bath. The mattresses were very comfortable and the rooms were very nicely decorated. The owner provided many amenities for us. For example there were beach chairs and towels, sand toys, games, books and puzzles. I was especially happy to see a gate at the top of the stairs leading from the deck to the pool for the safety of our little one! The home was immaculate and very well stocked with kitchen utensils. Be prepared to buy the basics if you plan on cooking (i.e. salt and pepper, oil, condiments etc).

I considered many different plantations and Palmetto Dunes was perfect! Biking was a lot of fun with morning bike rides to the General Store (maybe a mile down the road) for a breakfast sandwich, biking within the neighborhoods off the beaten paths was very peaceful and of course easy access to biking on the beach! The men in the family especially enjoyed fishing on the beach.

Here's a secret for the person who has taken the time to read the reviews... the best bedroom in the house is the upstairs blue beachfront room. I could watch the glorious sunrises from my bed!!!

Restaurants we enjoyed while there: Low Country Backyard and Sunset Grille.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Definitely a home away from home - with a better view! I can't speak highly enough about this house and the accommodations. I spent a week at 10 Ketch with my family and it was truly one of the best vacations we have had in Hilton Head. The house had every amenity possible, and the owner could not have been more accommodating. Every room has a spectacular ocean view. The pool and pool deck area make it a great hangout any time of the day. The proximity to the beach can't be beat. Will definitely recommend to all my friends and their families!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed ever aspect of this amazing home. The location is great, we loved walking out the back door to the beach. The pool was our favorite part of the home. It is positioned well to get sun most of the day. All in all, we would not change a thing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

the house was everything we had hoped for and more. Great bedrooms facing east looking out over the ocean. It was clean, well stocked, and comfortable. A perfect vacation paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Oasis

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

I guess the reason we loved 10 Ketch is that we have 4 couples that share the rent...not all homes have equal accomodations. Some have only 1 Master BR and a few have 2...this beautiful home has 4. Everyone has a King size bed , jacuzzi tub , separate showers and plenty of closet space and a view of the ocean. Heck, there is plenty of space everywhere. When we all wanted to be together,we were...when we didn't, we could go to the pool, outside jacuzzi, beach or just read on the porch looking at the pool and ocean.
We never had a problem and when there was a question , we had people there in minutes just to check on the issue. Never stayed anywhere where we felt more comfortable. Are we going back ??? Everytime we can !!!
Loved talking and texting Luann...we feel like she is our next door neighbor. Look forward to one day in future, meeting her up close and personal. Loved everything about 10 Ketch.
By the way, we had a little accident while we were there and the Palmetto Dunes EMT's were there in 1 minute and handled everything wonderfully. The only reason I mentioned this is that if you have a medical problem, you are not alone at Palmetto Dunes...the personel are wonderful. Also, got discounts on golf...the best golf courses on the island.
It just don't get any better than this !!!

Terry Petty,
Union City, Tennessee

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great week at the beach

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a great time at 10 Ketch. The house was perfect. There were 12 of us for my wife and sister in laws birthdays. The bedrooms are very large and you could get lost in the bathrooms. Plenty of open living space in the living room, kitchen and dining rooms. Since the house is right on the beach, we had a very easy time keeping up with the kids between the beach and the pool. Palmetto Dunes is very beautiful and relaxing. Plenty of bike trails, and convenient to restaurants, groceries, etc. As always, Luann is a perfect hostess and was very responsive to my questions and had great pointers.

Everyone in our family enjoyed the stay and can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House and Very Clean

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The location and the home were perfect for our family vacation. The house and pool area are not only beautiful, but also well maintained. The owners were also very nice to work with, and were willing to answer any questions that may have come up during our stay. Overall, we were very happy with our decision to stay at 10 Ketch and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional experience...

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

10 Ketch is an exceptional property. It feels like home the moment you unpack. Our family has rented other vacation properties in the past and they usually "felt" like rental property. This oceanfront home is furnished beautifully with comfort and class in mind. No "rental grade" feel to this one. The owner, Luann, obviously takes pride in keeping the home fresh and current. She always responded promptly to any questions I had and was pleasant to work with in general. Our family included 3 teens and 2 younger children. It's real plus that each bedroom has an adjoining bathroom. The bedrooms are large and well appointed. The size of the house allows ample room for "family time" in the main living room/dining room areas as well as room for everyone to retreat for quiet reading or a nap etc. With the pool right outside the back door and the beach just steps down the private walkway it couldn't get any better. I'd also add that Luann provided us with very useful information prior to arrival. Her packet included area events, directions to local restaurants, shopping, markets....even tips such as to when to avoid the markets due to "peak" hours. I'd give this experience 10 stars if it were an option. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break of a Lifetime!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Our family decided that the incredible Hilton Head Island would be the destination for this year's spring break. As we looked at various properties that were available, 10 Ketch was hands-down the number one choice for our stay.

The house is wonderfully appointed with every convenience that we needed for our stay. Huge flat-screen in the main room, fantastic kitchen, a four of the five bedrooms with ocean views, private walkway to the beach – just incredible! The owners were very attentive to our needs and made sure that our stay was comfortable as well. We had the pleasure of entertaining another family that was staying at a resort complex. They commented on how nice it was to swim in a pool that was actually heated to a comfortable degree – something that wasn’t the case where they were staying.

All-in-all it was all positives. Thanks for a great memory!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

FABULOUS!!! For the past 8 years, we have vacationed in Hilton Head for spring break with another family. We always stay in Palmetto Dunes and rent a home in the Mooring Buoy area.
10 Ketch is by far the best home we have ever stayed in. The house is amazing! 5 bedrooms, each having their own bath make this great for couples or families staying together. The views are the best on the island, which you can enjoy from 4 of the 5 bedrooms.
The kitchen is well stocked and the owner supplies about (15) beach towels so you never have to pack towels, which is huge.
The outside pool and spa are are very clean and there are plenty of loungers and chairs for everyone.
Being able to just walk out to the beach to enjoy a sunrise is one of our favorite things.
Aside from the property itself, working with owner has been a great pleasure. The customer service, response time and interest in our vacation enjoymnet is something you rarely find.
I highly recommend this property and promise that you will want to come back year after year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Everything about this house was great. When we first walked in and saw the house we knew we picked the right place. Everything about the house exceeded my expectations and the stay was fantastic.
Also, if I ever needed anything or had a question the owner Luanne was great. Any little thing was taken care of immediately.
Great place would recommend to anyone.
Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great spot!

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Several friends and myself used this home as our sanctuary while we were playing in a week long Bridge Tournament in Hilton Head. It served our purposes to a tee. We were seven adults (all unrelated) and the layout was ideal for privacy and yet collegiality also. We all followed our own routine in the mornings so there was not set time for breakfast...the large and apacious kitchen permitted one or seven to be putting things together at the same time. We generally made communal lunches and most dinners and found the kitchen to be fully equipped to suit that purpose. (We especially appreciated having a few basic spices available so we did not have to buy bulk.)
The proximity to the beach was probably the highlight for most of us...our long morning walks are still the topic of conversation when we meet each other at the Bridge table.
Lastly, I want to thank the owner, Luanne, for being caring and interested in meeting our needs in such a positive manner. Service will always make the difference.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yankee Travelers

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

This property provided us with the best vacation ever! The house is absolutely beautiful. The secluded heated pool and spa were are favorite features. The private access to the beach was an added bonus. The house is located in a gated, secure community with activities and shopping nearby. Unlike other properties, the owner provides linens, towels, and cleaning after your visit. We give this place our highest recommendation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Stunning, Can't put into words

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We had such an amazing time being right on the beach! The house was absolutely beautifully decorated - We had pool and spa heated made it SUPER NICE. Owners are amazing to deal with ... We cannot wait to stay again hopefully one more time before the end of this year and then a couple times next year. I HIGHLY recommend this homeowner if you want a beautiful, quiet, and absolutely beautiful beach front home to stay in. So many things to do right in Palmatto Dunes ... Amazing restaurants near by! Cannot wait to go again!!!! Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Always a great time

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We have stayed at 10 Ketch for many years. We started out as just all adults with spouses and now we have incorporated four children (ages 11-6). We love the location, the views from the four bedrooms, the spacious bathrooms, the pool, all of it. We feel very lucky we have had this perfect location year after year for our annual family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

ÔÇťAbsolutely most perfect house on the beach"

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We have rented houses on beaches for many years and this one is the best. The graciousness of the owner, cleanliness, location, and very complete furnishings and accommodations are outstanding. It was even bigger and better than the pictures and video. We loved staying here and will return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Vacation House

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

10 Ketch had amazing Ocean Views and Luann's service couldnt have been better! We would definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We rented the place for 5 people + 14 months old a baby. The place is amazing!! So beautiful - in and out, Clean, very well equipped, Practically on the beach, lovely swimming pool + sitting area, very good airconditioning, great kitchen area, inspiring bedrooms. No bugs!!!
Owner was extremely nice and helpful for our questions, minor problems solved right away.
Be prepared - no food ingrediants at all.
The photos on the web are not cheating even a bit. What you see is what you get.. even better.
We stayed in,we walked to the beach, we cooked a lot, we watched tv on the huge screen, we listened to music, we had a baby running all around - it's quite baby safe. We felt at home.
I would certainly go back. I highly recommend.
Thank you Luann - for letting us have your lovely house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place that we have stayed in Hilton Head

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

For the past 10 years my husband, 2 children and another family with children take our spring break in Hilton Head. We always rent in the neighborhood of Mooring Buoy on Palmetto Dunes and love it!
This year we decided to rent ocean front and it was our best rental yet!
From the ease of working with the owner to the beautiful location and fanatastic house layout, it was a perfect vacation spot.
We enjoyed it so much that we have reserved the same spot for next year. Definitely a 5-star location, house and experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

end of may vacation

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Highly satisfactory property with ample, comfortable and well equipped living space. Everything in excellent state. Pool and spa area were well maintained and a central area for our vacation. Proximity to a quiet stretch of beach.

Recommended without reservation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Better than the pictures

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

I have stayed at most locations in Palmetto Dunes, however, this home is easily the best by far. From the beautiful views upon walking in the front door, to the breathtaking views upon falling asleep, this home allows the ocean to be part of every moment. We saw dolphins and diving pelicans every morning, rode the beach cruisers (6 provided) in the afternoons, and enjoyed peaceful evenings on the cocktail deck overlooking the surf. The owner assisted with a special occasion by helping us identify and work with a local florist for a fantastic flower arrangement there for our arrival. Truly a fully stocked home with plenty of beach towels, kitchen equipment, games, pillows, movies pool/beach toys, etc., etc. I recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, spacious, beach home settled in the middle of pristine Palmetto Dunes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for 4 couples

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

From our most recent guest survey, the guests wrote:
"This house is the best equipped house we have ever rented @ Hilton Head and we have been visiting for 30 years!"
We are very pleased to say that for the first time since they have been visiting Hilton Head, they decided to rebook in the same home (our home) and we will be thrilled to have them back in 2011. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Canadian Overview

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

The property was absolutely wonderful with every feature that one could hope for.The unit was clean and tidy with all appliances in working order.It is of course directly on the beach and has a fabulous view and makes walking on the beach a pleasure.Our experience overall was terrific and we would return willingly and of course would be please to recommend it to others.As we are well acquainted with Hilton Head having such a gracious home to use as a base made our stay all the more memorable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home - Great Owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

This is an excellent location with a very well-designed home and an owner who provides exceptional service. An ocean-view exists from almost every room in the house. Four of the five bedrooms are master suites with great views (a fifth is primarily a child’s bedroom). The “main” room, dining room (seats 12) and kitchen (also with separate eating area) are open and spacious. The property is exceptionally well-maintained, and the owner continually updates the home to keep it current to meet the needs of the renters. Any problems are dealt with very quickly, and the owner continuously requests feedback about any possible improvements. It is hard to imagine a better place or better owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Home - Great Owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

This home is in an excellent location and is especially very well-designed. The owner provides exceptional service. An ocean-view exists from almost every room in the house. Four of the five bedrooms are master suites with great views (a fifth is primarily a child’s bedroom). The “main” room, dining room (seats 12) and kitchen (also with separate eating area) are open and spacious. The property is exceptionally well-maintained, and the owner continually updates the home to keep it current to meet the needs of the renters. Any problems are dealt with very quickly, and the owner continuously requests feedback about any possible improvements. It is hard to imagine a better place or better owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Beach House

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

This is a great beach house in all regards. My wife and I have vacationed in Palmetto Dunes for many years, more recently choosing beachfront homes for our extended families. 12 of us (4 generations)vacationed at 10 Ketch the week of Sept 12-19, 2009 and could not have had a better experience.

The house layout is an ideal beachfront home with expansive ocean views from the living room/dining areas and 4 fully oceanfront bedrooms. The pool and large patio area are very nice and the house has a shorter boardwalk to beach than some homes in the area. This is the most well-equipped house we have rented, with movies, games, books, pool floats, beach bikes, an indoor entertaiment center with ipod dock as well as flawless wi-fi access.

This house and surrounding property are very well maintained. Interior decor is very nicely done and comfortable. The owner is extremely nice, accessible to answer questions and genuinely concerned about the quality of stay! We certainly look forward to staying at this house again.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our favorite vacation spot

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

This is truly the best vacation getaway we have found. The house comfortably accomodates us for family meals, games, TV or enjoying the spectacular views. It also allows each of us alone time if needed. The kitchen is well equiped. The bedrooms and baths are comfortable and quiet. The beach is awesome for walking, riding bikes, fying kites, building sand castles or reading a book and listening to the waves. Our grandchildren especially enjoy the pool. The property is continually updated and well maintained. We appreciate the information that is available for island activities and dining. The owners are very accessable and eager to make our visit enjoyable. We are already looking forward to our next week at 10 Ketch.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Favorite Vacation Spot

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

This is truly the best vacation getaway we have found. The house comfortably accomodates us for family meals, games, TV or enjoying the spectacular views. It also allows each of us alone time if needed. The kitchen is well equiped. The bedrooms and baths are comfortable and quiet. The beach is awesome for walking, riding bikes, fying kites, building sand castles or reading a book and listening to the waves. Our grandchildren especially enjoy the pool. The property is continually updated and well maintained. We appreciate the information that is available for island activities and dining. The owners are very accessable and eager to make our visit enjoyable. We are already looking forward to our next week at 10 Ketch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Beach House

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

This is a great beach house in all regards. My wife and I have vacationed in Palmetto Dunes for many years, more recently choosing beachfront homes for our extended families. 12 of us (4 generations)vacationed at 10 Ketch the week of Sept 12-19, 2009 and could not have had a better experience.

The house layout is an ideal beachfront home with expansive ocean views from the living room/dining areas and 4 fully oceanfront bedrooms. The pool and large patio area are very nice and the house has a shorter boardwalk to beach than some homes in the area. This is the most well-equipped house we have rented, with movies, games, books, pool floats, beach bikes, an indoor entertaiment center with ipod dock as well as flawless wi-fi access.

This house and surrounding property are very well maintained. Interior decor is very nicely done and comfortable. The owner is extremely nice, accessible to answer questions and genuinely concerned about the quality of stay! We certainly look forward to staying at this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Back to Paradise

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

We once again rented this magnificent home and found it to be even better than our last stay. The improvements the owner made from last year transformed this home to an even more beautiful place in which to enjoy our vacation. The living room and dining rooms had new carpets, the living room furniture had been luxuriously reupholstered, new doors to the decks from the two lower bedrooms as well as the door to the pool had been replaced. A new king bed with comfy mattress and sumptuous bedding was in one of the main floor bedrooms. That same bedroom had been freshly painted and new lighting installed in its huge spa-like bath. Even though we had a few days of inclement weather, we felt cozy and at home by enjoying the large flat-screen TV, putting together a few of the many puzzles, playing a few of the many games so thoughtfully placed in the cupboards, and reading the island newspaper that was delivered daily. Although the ocean was a little rough, it was still intensely beautiful and mesmerizing to watch from the home’s many oceanfront windows. When the sun came out, we enjoyed walking on the beach, swimming in the immense pool, and hopping into the relaxing hot tub. As before, the home was clean and the views from all four master bedrooms were amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt very spoiled by all the special amenities. The owner is so wonderful to work with and very accommodating. She truly cares about her guests. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Hilton Head House

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Our family of 10 just spent a week in this home. We were all extremely happy there. The bedrooms and bathrooms are all large and nicely furnished. The owner was very friendly and easy to work with. The whole family wants to come back to this house another year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Hilton Head Visit Ever

Review submitted: December 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 17, 2007

My family LOVED our week in this house for Thanksgiving 2007. It was our best visit ever to Hilton Head. We spent this year wishing we could have returned.
The owner is great to deal with. The house layout is perfect. There is no noise between floors. You cannot ask for more amenities than what are provided. The rooms are spacious, clean and up to date. As you can see from the other reviews this house is wonderful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

This home lives up to and surpasses the descriptions and pictures that are provided. The house is laid out beautifully allowing lots space for together time for families but with the option of privacy in your own area. It would work beautifully for 5 couples...each bedroom has its own large bathroom. The kitchen is supplied with everything a serious cook could want and you can cook with a full view of the ocean! The views are nothing short of spectacular and the property is beautifully maintained. If something needs attention the owner responds promptly and takes care of any issues. We've stayed at this home on 6 different occasions. Our family loves the easy access to the gorgeous beach but they're equally happy to spend hours at the pool and on the pool deck. There are lots and lots of beach towels, wonderful furniture around the pool deck and even toys and games for those so inclined. The location in Palmetto Dunes is perfect. You are just a short walk (or drive) from the 3 Palmetto Dunes golf courses, the Marriott Hotel, biking, shopping, tennis and spa facilities. In addition you can do Savannah or Charleston as a day trip....although we never manage to tear ourselves away from this piece of paradise. We're counting the days until our return in April! Judi

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 13, 2008

We’ve made 13 trips to HH and stayed at this house for the last 6 of them. It is “our Hilton Head house.” The previous reviewers aren’t kidding. It really should be listed as having 4 master bedrooms. And the bathrooms? My son says the shower in "his room" is bigger than our entire bathroom at home. All the rooms are very stylishly decorated. A great wide-open kitchen for those who like to have a big breakfast together before going out on the beach or going shopping. Great TV set up – wide screen in the living room where everyone can watch a movie together – smaller sets in each bedroom where you can watch alone. Great pool, jacuzzi, and grill area. When we first rented the house we missed having a covered porch on the ocean side where we could watch the ocean in all types of weather. But we’ve become accustomed to sitting out on the deck watching the sunsets from there. Just as awesome! The house is within quick driving access to both ends of the Island, which comes in handy when trying to decide which of the many restaurants you want to eat at each night! Occasionally, when we’ve needed to contact the property management company and/or the owner, they were extremely helpful and quick to resolve any problems. The only thing my parents’ would change if it was really “our house,” would be to add an elevator. Each year, the front and back steps get harder and harder for them to manage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully amazing and relaxing!

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We loved this house and it's location in Palmetto Dunes, which we feel is the best plantation on the island. It was perfect for us with breathtaking views from the bedrooms, each with our own bathroom, too. We have been to Hilton Head numerous times and this was one of the best places we have stayed, the owners seem to have put a lot of thought into creating a perfect home for a relaxing beach vacation. The kitchen was well appointed with an open floor plan into the living room. Now for the outside,the pool area is wonderful, we were there in December so we didn't actually use the pool, but we did use the hot tub and it was so relaxing. I also love the walkway/sitting area out to the beach, it was a wonderful place to sit and watch the waves roll in. We would definitely stay here again, and hope to do so in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Online pictures don't do this place justice!

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

This was our second stay at 10 Ketch, and like I said before the online pictures don't do the home justice...it exceeded our expectations. The island itself is so beautiful and lush, it is truly a wonderful place to vacation. There are many wonderful restaurants a few minutes away, and Savannah is within an hour's drive. The home decor is very nice, and the views are like no other. It was great to be able to retreat to the bedroom suites, or congregate in the family room if we felt like it. The wireless internet is a plus. The home is stocked with many games, books and puzzles for all ages. There isn't a crib for small children, but the owners put us in contact with a rental company that brought one and set it up for us. There was good communication with the owners before, during and after the rental period. we are definitely staying here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stop looking and rent it!

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 21, 2007

We have stayed at this home several times with multiple combinations of friends, family (toddlers to grandparents), golfers and beach-bums alike. This house has everything to accommodate everyone! The oceanfront view is still breath-taking, even after multiple visits. The huge pool is secluded from neighbors and the beach for privacy. Multiple large eating areas to accommodate large groups. The four ocean-front master bedrooms are awesome and beds are great (the fifth br is a good "kids" room). We did not feel that we had to sacrafice anything. Great location within Hilton Head as far as getting on/off island and to/from restaurants and the grocery. We've been to different beaches and different homes within HHI and always come back to 10 Ketch! The owner is very attentive and easy going. They have thought of everything: highchair, babygate, riding toys, multiple refridgerators, pool toys, etc... Pick-up the keys, groceries and enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A fantastic break - we will return!

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

We had a fantastic stay at 10 Ketch. Amazing location, great pool, wonderful views from the rooms, so many restaurants to choose from, very concise information folders in the house and so much information from the owners. We could find everything, use everything with ease which makes such a difference. The house has everything you would expect in a properly kitted out house. We liked it so much we will return next year (if they have us)!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

4 Master bedrooms with large baths

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: October 3, 2007

The thing we like most about this house is that there are really four master bedrooms, all oceanfront and all with large bathrooms, so if you have four different couples, everyone gets a really good room, no drawing straws. Also, the owner is very attentive to the upkeep of the house, so if something isn't in working order, a phone call gets it fixed right away. It's in a great location too, not too close to the hotel traffic, but not so far into Palmetto that it takes forever to run an errand. The only drawback, is if you really like a big back porch across the length of the house, there isn't one, but there is a small place for a couple of chairs, overlooking the pool, but you go down to sit by the pool, and then really can't see the ocean as well. But there are so many views from within the house, that it compensates for not having a big porch. Date below is just one, we have stayed at this same house 6 or 7 times now.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"Ketch" one great time!

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Buying on line, sight unseen, can be a uneasy experience. Well, this is one time you won't have to worry. Everything you see, and read is true. From the moment you enter the Palmetto Dunes entrance it just gets better and better. The drive down Queens Folley Road is lined with beautful old Oaks, draped with Spanish Moss, and has the look of State Park. Further down a bridge splits the Robert T. Jones, and George Fazio, Championship Golf Courses. At the end you pass the Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center, with it's 25 courts, and make a left to the North Gate. The Security Guard checks your pass, and Salutes, as you begin down Mooring Buoy Drive, lined with beautifuly appointed, multi Million dollar homes. All this and, you haven't even arrived yet! 10 Ketch is a beautiful home that sits well in it's landscaping, and looks inviting. My Wife and I, were so excited, that we didn't even bother to unloading the Car, but ran up the Stairs to the front door like children, only to be halted by the Ocean view through the front door. The views in this home are awe inspiring, and they are every where! They are beyond the photos. They are beyond what we had wished for. Except for the childrens room, every other space has a Million Dollar Ocean view. And while we didn't think anything could compete with the views, the Decor, and Design of the house came close. It is flawless! The open floorplan flows like water. We were amazed at, even with a house full of Guests, you could still be anywhere and be alone, or anywhere and be with everyone. All of the furniture in the home is attractive and comfortable. We found the Kitchen, with it's Granite counters to be accommdating, as well as gorgeous, whether preparing a snack, or a full course meal. It also boasts a nice table for 6, for general eating, while the Dinning Room Table fits 10 comfortably. The Fireplace, and Entertainment Center offers a welcome place for you, and your guests to gather, as you enjoy the Ocean Views through the "wall of glass" that is the Ocean side of the home. All of the Bedrooms were just as nice, with every luxury that can be had to pamper you, and Million Dollar views while you enjoy it. The Pool and Jacuzzi Spa, sit in a spacious patio, that is just as private as it is inviting. We swam, and grilled, and enjoyed, untill the Beach called once again. We did have one minor problem while we stayed at the house, but with a single phone call it was taken care of in 20 min. It was a great Vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2005   Date of arrival: April 23, 2005

no complaints here, what's not to love!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2005   Date of arrival: April 23, 2005

You have a very lovely home and we thank you for providing us with so many things.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2004   Date of arrival: August 7, 2004

We have loved coming here and treasure the memories we have made together here!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 31, 2004   Date of arrival: July 31, 2004

Thanks for everything! We have so enjoyed our "beach home" over the years (15 visits to this house!) and have made so many wonderful memories here that we hope the children will continue to enjoy each other's company as the grow older.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 19, 2004   Date of arrival: June 19, 2004

Beautiful view and great house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2004   Date of arrival: June 5, 2004

This house is great! Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review