reviews for: listing #56102 - North Topsail Beach, North Carolina House rental

Oceanfront. SPECIAL- $259 P/N VS. $359 P/N. Now thru 5/3/14.
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $359 - $1,099 /nt
    $1,795 - $6,495 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful house, beautiful views, beautiful sand!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The pictures don't say enough about the view! My fiance and I were looking for a large house to rent for a small wedding of about 25 people, and we rolled the dice on this house having never been to NC---and we couldn't have been happier! Guests were surprised when they pulled up and we often heard gasps when they got to the top of the second floor stairs and saw the view out the glass doors/deck. It's exceptional! The bedrooms are all large enough and gave us great flexibility in being able to allocate larger bedrooms/bathrooms to larger people (his family has a penchant for being 6'2" or taller and well built, so this was a huge feature!). The dumbwaiter was also amazing, especially for the amount of groceries and other supplies that needed to come through the doors to feed 25 people for a week worth of BBQs. The house location is perfect, because it's a very close distance to groceries, a CVS, etc. It's a slightly longer distance to the local bars, but it turned out that no one ever wanted to leave the house anyway, so it was never a problem! Highly recommended! By the time we left, at least half of the group was talking about coming back next year to rent again! Thank you to Paulette for making our stay as stress-free and simple as possible. She truly is a selling feature for the house rental! If you're thinking of this house, I recommend you go for it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Pictures Don't do this House Justice...

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We were looking for a house with 6 bedrooms for friends/family to come to for a week of fun. After a LOT of research, we decided on the Sunrise side of this property. Upon initial contact with Paulette, she was wonderful to work with. She was prompt and organized with the details and the information that she forwarded to us. After initially planning the trip for a total of 15 guests at the house, Jack and I decided it would be the perfect time to get married. I immediately called and spoke with Paulette about this. She approved the use of the house for the wedding. Paulette responded to each email/phone call/question promptly and we had all documentation in the time frame that she stated to us. We only live 1 1/2 hours away from Topsail and I wanted to look at the house, before-hand, and Paulette and Jim were kind enough to give me a tour on a weekend when they were visiting. On April 11 we finally arrived at the house. When Jack walked into the house, his exact words were, "The pictures on the web don't do this house justice!" and he was REALLY right!! This house has EVERY thing you could ever want! It was like being at home, except BETTER!! The best thing was that linens were included for all 6 bedrooms! Then there is the VIEW of the ocean from the main floor!! It is truly breathtaking!! The kitchen is designed for entertaining, but homey enough to just pad around to whip something up for the family! These owners go the extra mile to make their property special for those staying in it. Each bedroom is roomy, beautifully decorated and makes you want to snuggle down and sleep a little longer. The living room/dining room is cozy with that panoramic view of the Atlantic, with access to decks and walkway to the beach. The "penthouse" bedroom has it's own private deck, with a view of the ocean and the ICW. Two of the bedrooms have private decks with ocean/ICW views also. The last two have access to the lower deck and walkway to the beach. Our beach wedding and reception at this house was PERFECT! Paulette sent out pre-arrival information with interesting things to do in the area, as well as restaraunts. These owners really care about their property AND their guests! I would (and WILL) recommend this house to friends who are looking for a place in N. Topsail. And we will look to return to celebrate our anniversary! Thank you Paulette and Jim for sharing your beautiful home with us! Our wedding was outstanding because it was held in this spectacular house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Minnesotan's LOVED IT!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Absolutely loved this home! Very well kept and the view was absolutely breath taking. The owners were wonderful to work with. We hope to get back there soon, this house that is definately worth the money!
IT WAS AWESOME!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One Week in the Surf and Sun

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

A delightful time...relaxing on the decks and walking and playing in the surf. Absolutely beautiful beach location---from the deck watched porpoises entertain for an entire morning. Accommodations were attractive and comfortable and the owner was so, so helpful with directions, ideas, and prompt to answer all phone inquiries. Enjoyed good food at Christopher's; Rick's Bar and Grill; Sears Landing Grill; and Bistro at Just Baked.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dreams do come true.

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

Sometimes our expectations are so lofty that reality,once realized,falls short and we are disappointed.How incredibly joyous was I to find that, in this case, the reality exceeded the fantasy !This was the beach house of my dreams !
The atmosphere of this house wraps you in a welcoming sense of "coming home "-even to a new comer . This spacious ,three level-6 bedrooms ,5 1/2 bathrooms ,home has an intimate feeling, though , because of the central grandroom.Looking out through the massive windows at the magnificent Atlantic Ocean-waves rolling onto the beach-took my breath away ! A fireplace in the living room will keep you cozy if you need to take the chill off. The dining area is open and roomy and the double kitchen is amazing ! Making a meal there is a HAPPENING !
We took long walks on an almost desserted beach. We lounged in the sheltered warmth of the porch-toasting our good fortune to have stumbled upon this beautiful home by the sea.Growing up in Maine,I spend as much time as possible on our wonderful coast. I love it there. I am, however, profoundly smitten now by North Topsail and the local area.
Wanting to make every moment the most it could be-we got up before dawn our first morning in Nirvana,made a great pot of coffee and stood watching the eastern sky as the sun rose illuminating the water and revealing the dolfins surfing in the waves,just like the owners described.It was beautiful !
It is a very romantic place -you could make a movie there-oh,yeah,they did ! Nightcaps on the deck of the penthouse level, looking at a star filled sky -what a way to end the day.
This place is a dream come true ! It knocked me out. Paulette was so accomadating and available. The house was spotless. We wanted for nothing ! I can't wait to go back ! See you soon "my " beautiful beach house !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Paulette,

Thank you so much for diligently working with me last week to allow us to stay in your lovely beach home. We had a great weekend with great friends in your very spacious home. I was a big fan of the huge kitchen and we cooked dinner in it every night. The views were amazing with stunning ocean and sound views from any of the numerous decks. The fireplace kept us plenty warm in the colder nights, and the dumb waiter was a great convenience. We will look forward to another stay at your beautiful ocean home!

Shannon

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An unforgettable week.

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

In mid September my husband and I traveled from Kansas City to stay in this beautiful home. For months we had planned this week for all of our family and closest friends to share our wedding day with us. We rented both sides of the home and it fit all of us perfectly. We had people from the ages of 14 months to 84 years old. The house is amazing, every detail, every personal touch made this house unique. We cooked almost every meal at the house, we spent hours on the beach and enjoyed every moment of it. I still haven't stopped hearing about how much all of my guests enjoyed the house.

My husband and I got married on the beach right outside the house. The white sand beaches and beautiful ocean behind us made for an amazing day.

I wouldn't change a thing about this home and I can't imagine a more beautiful place to vacation again. The owners were a dream to work with, accommodating our every need and answering any questions we had. Our stay was a dream come true and absolutely unforgettable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our best family vacation!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

What a blessing it was to stay in Jim and Paulette's gorgeous home. This beautiful home was perfect for our family ( 7 adults, 4 children age 6 and under). From our just home from deployment son to our 15 month old grand daughter the house met our needs perfectly. The lay out of the house worked well for the various age levels and personal needs. We spent most of the time enjoying the beach, making frequent walks to the pier with it's little restaurant and cooking in the wonderfully equipped kitchen. The outside shower and hoses were a huge plus for washing off sand before entering the house. Jim and Paulette have put much thought into making the house convenient and relaxing. The house is extremely clean and they stay on top of keeping it in wonderful condition for each new set of visitors. Jim and Paulette were so easy to work with as our schedule was a moving target with our son's return from deployment. Being able to add on a few extra days was so helpful. We would absolutely recommend this lovely home with it's great access to the beach to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our beach house. We hope you and your family will return for a visit in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Paulette

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wish everyday was as perfect as a day spent here!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

This was a spectular vacation on the beach. A truly wonderful way to spend Thanksgiving. The view from the Sunrise Greatroom and main balcony is always enchanting as the ocean reflects the sun, the moon and stars, the changing tides, weather changes, etc. Fabulous accommadations: Beautiful and wellkept rooms. Luxury beds and bedding. Spacious baths. Views from every window. The calming sounds of ocean waves breaking on the shore. Fully-equiped kitchen for cooking w/bar stools for visiting as we cooked. Grilling on the deck is easy. Comfortable furniture. Wonderful fireplace as the weather cooled at night in Nov. It warms the whole living space. We were a small party but I can't wait to come again with other friends. Plenty of room and deck areas for a full house.
We enjoyed walking/running on the beach. Picking up shells and sea glass. The men fished right at ocean's edge. We walked to the pier. The neighbor's flew kites. We watched dolphins and seagulls playing. Fishing boats putting out nets. I made sure to rise early to see the most fantastic sunrises. Coffee in hand, camera by my side it became a favorite part of my day. I sat until I could see the dolphins each morning.
We came to see a couple at Camp Leguene before he ships out to Afghanistan. We were very close to the base. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Officer's Club, but returned to Sunrise to cook a mini-dinner for leftovers the next day. We dined at Surf City, best southern seafood we've had anywhere. We did a little after-Thanksgiving shopping in nearby areas (but I wanted to be back at the beach after an hour!!!)
We definitely will try to book a time to return next year. The owner was easy to work with. They promptly returned phone calls. Although we did have to call during our stay. Everything was perfect. Thanks for a relaxing get-away after a hectic year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Having never rented a home before for vacationing I wasn't sure what to expect. Well the house was more amazing than we could ever imagine. We stayed on the Sunrise side. It was so cozy, warm, inviting, and the views so spectacular that we only left the house once to eat out and get supplies. (Plan on cooking in so you won't have to leave. The kitchen is fantastic and well equipped.) While we were out our 3.5 year old said,'When are we going back to our house on the beach? I like our house.' Our entire family had such a wonderful restful time, from the 70+ member to the 9month old and all ages in between. The beach location was awesome. It was clean, and nice and quiet. We got to watch the dolphins from the main balcony as our 3.5 year old squealed in complete and utter delight. Really, I can't say enough about the house, it's layout, the thoughtful touches, beautiful decor, warm atmosphere, and location location location. We hope to be back next year or sooner.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfection!!!!

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

What a FABULOUS week in your beautiful home. Everything....the kitchen (that included everything we needed) the bedrooms, the comfort of the beds, the views, the sunrises and sunsets, the beach...we couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a perfect spot for our family get together. It was an easy drive to both the airport and Camp LeJeune to pick up our sons. Even Hurricane Earl didn't spoil a thing! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us-I hope we have the chance to go back again.

If we could rate it 6 stars we would!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can We Come Back PLEASE!!!!!??!?!?!?!?

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

This house is GORGEOUS. We were so pleasantly surprised at how clean and well kept the house and all of the supplies were. Each bedroom was beautifully decorated in a unique fashion. The kitchen was amazing. The living room was unbelievable. We visited local restaurants and local stores, we went sight seeing and fishing off the pier, AND YET after all of those things, all we really wanted to do was get back to the beach house. The views of the ocean and beach are so satisfying that we found ourselves enjoying "staying home" more than "going out". WE ALL LOVED IT SO MUCH!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Paulette,I can’t tell you how wonderful your home was. It was so accommodating, warm and homey. The pictures on the website just doesn’t do it justice. It is easy to see that this house was built with love and thoughtfulness. The kitchen was well used this weekend as we cooked lots of Cajun food. I loved all of the upgraded appliances and can’t just say enough about the granite bar and countertops. We made amazing memories there this weekend. Thank you for making this sad time a little easier with a home that felt like “home”.We hope to be able to rent again when my son returns from Afghanistan.God Bless and Thank youTracye

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5 Sunrise -- SunsetMarsha072009 Tennessee Review Submitted: August 4, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009 We have our family reunions every 3-4 years. For our 2009 reunion, we decided on a beach vacation. We were lucky enough to get both sides [Sunrise and Sunset] of this beautiful beach home. We wanted to focus on getting re-acquainted with each other rather than the go-go-go of previous family reunions. This beach house was a perfect way to accomplish this goal. While there was enough activity via side-trips to the Crystal Coast, Wilmington, Jacksonville & Myrtle Beach to satisfy some ‘tourist-y’ excursions, it was nice that the house was located on a quiet beach. It was like having a private beach due to the way the other houses in the area are either far away or set back so not to obstruct the view. What a beautiful place for strolling the beach, building sand castles, constructing a ‘homemade’ kiddies’ pool in the sand under a large colorful beach umbrella & even ocean kayaking for one member of the family. We were a little concerned that it was a duplex rather than one large home; however, we quickly got used to getting about the two places. It even became a benefit that there were two sides as the Sunset side unofficially became our ‘quiet side’ used by family members who wanted to ‘escape’ to a place where they could have some quiet reading, working or computer time … away from the hustle-bustle of the Sunrise side where family games/conversations were held, meals prepared, babies played & was frequently filled with insane laughter! On one night, each side had a different DVD movie showing so each family member could choose a ‘theatre’ to attend. The views from the house are wonderful. The decks off the main living spaces are interconnected by a large gate that we kept open as one of two ways to move back-n-forth between the two sides. 10 of the 12 bedrooms have their own balcony/deck. I was able to quickly/quietly go to our balcony off the 3rd floor Sunrise Queen Suite to enjoy the sunrise each morning. There is nothing as beautiful as a sunrise at the beach! A sunrise brings the excitement of a new beginning while a sunset brings on a reflection of days past … both beautiful in their own way. And, a family reunion is a time for looking to the future with the new generation and for remembering the past. How appropriate that our reunion site was the Sunrise/Sunset home! All in all, this beautiful beach ho

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

This is a truly wonderful house. Some of the things I loved: beautiful solidly built house and very quiet inside, plenty of hot water, fabulous gas grill near kitchen, comfortable beds, large functional kitchen, outdoor hot/cold shower right outside of bedrooms, dumb waiter, views, oceanfront, location near park with basketball hoops, volleyball, play area for children, etc., etc. There were many luxury touches in the house. I can't thank Paulette enough for her help in making this week a truly memorable one. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 19, 2008

Our family of 10 had one of the best weeks of our lives! When we walked into your beautiful family room, WOW, our breath was taken away by the beautiful view of the ocean and sky. Specatular! Paulette and Jim, seeing your BEAUTIFUL HOME on the internet and seeing it for ourselves was EVERY THING WE WANTED IT TO BE AND MORE! Being able to have the beach right outside your door how great is that. We enjoyed the sand, surf, and sun and shells. The outside shower was great. We all enjoyed it. We cooked in every night and everyone took turns. We just didn't want to leave your wonderful kitchen.... Paulette you have accomplished creating awonderful atmostphere for so many families and friends to enjoy your very comfortable home. OUR FAMILY HAD AN AWESOME TIME TOGETHER...Thank you Paulette, Jim and Paulee!!!! Joyce and Ed and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family & Friend Get Together

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 30, 2008

We had a great time, even with the sometimes cool, windy and rainy April weather. There always seemed to be enough time each day to play on the beach, and for the adults to exercise by running and kayaking . Everyone enjoyed spending the rainy time in the Great Room of the house playing board games and relaxing by the fireplace. The kids loved the bunk bed room and spent hours playing in there when it was raining.

Also, our house guests thought your home decorating skills were outstanding. The picture in the downstairs hallway was a favorite.

Thanks again, we had a wonderful time. My son took pictures of the beach and the house to his class for show-and-tell.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We rented both sides to the McGrath house for our church's Ladies' Retreat in October. The ladies just fell in love with the house. We had a wonderful time and it fit all our needs! Thanks for making our retreat a REAL retreat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We recently stayed at both 392 & 394 the last week of August 2007. We were married on the beach directly in front of the house, our whole experience was more than what we had hoped for. Our family and friends stayed with us and no one has stopped talking about the experience yet. We had large family breakfasts and dinners every night and plenty of room for everyone to relax and be comfortable. The sunrise and sunset views nightly were incredible. Jim and Paulette have built a true masterpiece on the ocean. With only one house to the right and a few to the left you are almost on a secluded beach. Our whole experience was a true slice of paradise. The property manager, Paulie, was also very gracious and helpful in anyway possible. We are trying to make our plans to get a family reunion/vacation together for 2008. We will definitely be back and I recommend this house to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We rented the Sunrise side of the house for the 2007 Labor Day weekend and had a wonderful time in this beautifully decorated oceanfront home. The views of the ocean were spectacular especially from the great room with the open floor plan. The dumb waiter was great for bringing up luggage and groceries from the street level. All the decks around the house were great, and from the penthouse level we could see all the stars in the sky at night. The house has all the amenities and is a wonderfully furnished beach house in great taste. The kitchen and seating areas were very roomy and comfortable as was the entire house. An extra sink and small refrigerator in the kitchen came in very handy. The outdour gas grill was great to cook on. Flat screens in the main living area and in all the bedrooms were a real treat. Wonderful 1/2 bath off the kitchen done beautifully. A very private spot on the beach and we would say one of the nicest if not the nicest house on the beach in North Topsail. We all had a terrific time and would love to come back again. Thanks Paulette for all your help and hospitality- it was a great weekend of memories we'll not forget!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 4, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Our family spent a wonderful week at the McGrath Sunset half of the duplex in North Topsail Beach. The house was beautifully furnished and very functional. There were three master suites, a generous bunk room for the kids and plenty of sleeping space. There were spectacular and sweeping views of the beach, which was quiet and peaceful. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and the outdoor gas grill worked well on the windy deck. The duplex is well-built and insulated so that we never heard the neighbors in the other unit. The house is tall and the dumbwaiter was very helful in moving groceries and luggage without hauling these items up the tall staircase. There is a commercial pier a couple of miles down the road for fising and plenty of fish markets nearby. A pleasant public activity area with a pier on the Intercoastal Waterway is a short distance away. The McGraths were unfailingly helpful and their manager was accessible and responsive to any questions that we had. I CAN RECOMMEND THIS RENTAL WITHOUT HESITATION.
Kathy, Brookfield, Wisconsin

Owners response: Hi Kathy,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our beach house. If you recall there are actually 4 master suites with a total of 6 bedrooms per each side of the house.
Please come back and see us again next year and we will save the third floor penthouse suite just for you.
Best Regards,
Paulette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review