reviews for: listing #56120 - Wellfleet, Massachusetts House rental

Contemporary interior, linens, wifi, pets...steps from bay!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Indian Neck
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $475 /nt
    $1,200 - $3,195 /wk
    $1,400 - $11,400 /mth

sort by:

Really comfortable and well-stocked rental.

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

My friends, family and I rented this home for the week to celebrate my 60th birthday. The whole week, including this home exceeded my expectations. The house accommodated all of us comfortably and we had everything we needed to make the week a great success. We really liked the open floor plan of the kitchen, dining, and living room; a nice home in which to entertain and I loved the front deck. The photos here are accurate as is the description and Marilynn was helpful and accommodating. Some of the deck furniture is a little careworn, but it didn't matter. The rest of the furniture and beds were in very good shape. The house is tucked away on a quiet street, so we never dealt with noise from neighbors or cars going by. This is also a great rental for kids and pets. I would definitely rent this home again if I needed the space again that it provides.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A charming, welcoming and comfortable cottage.

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

This was our first trip to Cape Cod and we were delighted when we pulled up outside our Wellfleet cottage rental. It oozes charm and character. My test of a great holiday let is "how is the kitchen stocked".. well it passed with flying colors. All the condiments you could want, sharp knives, tons of cutlery (even picnic cutlery) and a good coffee machine. The layout suited us very well - master bedroom and living areas upstairs with a further den and three bedrooms and half bath downstairs - as for the most part it was just going to be the two of us . Our grown up children (and their children!) joined us for some part of the stay and there was plenty of room for everyone. I would stay here again and would highly recommend this property for anyone who likes hiking, history, good food and sleepy seaside towns.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We came off season, so the neighborhood was quiet. The pictures online matched the property. It was clean except for some cobwebs etc. We enjoyed the open floor plan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream vacation turned sour

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We arrived on check-in day a bit early and waited outside. The "cleaning crew" was not able to finish their duties before our check-in time and stated they would have to come back later in the evening to finished. This seemed ok until we got inside and I realized that I would need to clean the rental and vacuum myself. I honestly do not know what the 2 young men were actually doing in the house...it certainly was not emptying the vacuum canister. We had a very pleasant stay Sunday through Wednesday and followed the guidebook provided to us to the letter. Thursday morning rolled around and the downstairs toilet overflowed. One of the guests staying downstairs tried to plunge with no success. We contacted the caretaker listed on the fridge with no answer (and he NEVER called anyone back) and finally had to contact Marilynn for assistance. She sent a plumber/septic guy to check things out. The house in the meantime...STUNK. We couldn't even stay in the house because it was so overwhelming. The septic guy informed us on Friday that the pump had burned out because previous guests had been flusing wipes and papertowels down the toilet. Who does that?? We had been struck by a Wellfleet septic fiasco. Finally Saturday morning rolls around and I am busy cleaning countertops, bathrooms, kitchems and vacuuming when both the caretaker and the manager of the "cleaning crew" let themselves into the house...unannounced...to see what had happened downstairs. Bythis time, I had really had enough and couldn't wait to go home. Not that I had even expected one, but definitely didn't receive any type of apology. As nice as the house was, we will never rent again.

Owners response: This is a well cared for home and while I can't prevent things from breaking, I handle it in the best way I possibly can. I care deeply about my tenant's satisfaction. The basement ejector pump broke and caused a backup, which was very unfortunate, but was handled immediately & completely. I spoke with the tenant during their stay and none of these complaints or dissatisfaction were mentioned, aside from the backup. I find it strange to receive this negative review 3 months after their stay.

1. The cleaners would never leave prior to completion & our policy is clearly stated at the top of the info page on the fridge that if the condition of the house is not satisfactory to call the cleaner and they will come back to clean until satisfied. They never called me or my cleaner. If I'm not aware of an issue, I can't address it.
2. Broken ejector pump: Both my septic tech and the plumber stated that these pumps rarely break without a cause or without prior signs. It was only 10 years old. The septic guy did state that he suspected that something was put down the toilet that broke the pump, but it would have broken immediately, which means that someone in this tenant's party caused the damage.
3. To make matters worse, the caretaker's phone number is located on the fridge. Just under his number it says that in the case of a plumbing or other emergency, if the caretaker doesn't return the call within 20 minutes to call the plumber at the number provided. Not only did they not call the plumber, they sent me an email, rather than call me, so I didn't know about the problem until 5 hours after the incident. As a result, the plumbing backup soaked the carpet outside the bathroom, causing the need for a hazmat cleanup after hours costing me $$$$ as well as a flooring replacement.
4. The entire time, I kept her up to speed on every technician that would need to come to the house, and was extremely considerate of inconveniencing her as little as possible. And of course I apologized profusely on the phone. She agreed to leave the downstairs door unlocked for technicians to come and go as they needed. Any technicians were aware to knock prior to entering.
5. This cost me thousands & even though it was very likely caused by someone in her party, I covered the cost myself. The caretaker never responded because he didn't have cell service that day. Wellfleet is rural, and cell service can be unreliable. There is a brand new ejector pump

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Wellfleet Experience

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The Cape cod experience at Marilynn's lovely house was perfect.
It was just as viewed online. . It was beautifully furnished and afforded a great deal of space for three families and two dogs. It had every amenity that one could want. The bedrooms were comfortable and had enough privacy if one wanted it. Wellfleet is quiet and gorgeous.They were plenty of nature trails. If you wanted excitement Provincetown is only twenty minutes away. Our favorite local restaurant is Moby Dick. It is informal, the food is delicious and the service is excellent. Marilynn is only a phone call away if needed. She responds immediately. We all had a marvelous time and highly recommend this Cape Cod Experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Week in Wellfleet

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

I booked this house for my entire family. There was 8 adults, 3 kids, and a dog. We had plenty of room and the house was completely stocked with everything you could need! The open kitchen and living room was perfect for catching up and hanging out. The decorations in the house made it feel comfy and relaxing. The house is in a wonderful spot. We could walk to Indian Neck and only had a few minutes to drive to the Atlantic side. The house is tucked away in a quiet spot with lots of privacy! We are looking forward to going back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

I booked this property for my entire family including my two sisters, their husbands, their three children, my mom and dad, my husband, and our dog. This was an amazing house with everything you could possibly need for a week at the beach. It was close enough to all the beaches, downtown Wellfleet, and P-town. We had an amazing week just relaxing, grilling out, and catching up. We loved the open kitchen and sitting room. It was perfect for our family. The house was close enough to everything but in a nice quiet neighborhood! We are definitely rebooking!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable, relatively secluded property

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This property is off the beaten track and secluded enough to be very comfortable yet easy commute to good restaurants or the beach. Good walking trails by the bay and even an easy walk to Dunkin'. Proximity to Wellfleet Center and to ocean beaches is a real plus. and best of all..........Marilynn is very attentive and responsive even if she is on that other coast. Thank you, Marilynn.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House, Great Location, Amazing Owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This was my first time in Cape Cod. The house was really beautiful. Everything described about the house was accurate and more. We stayed for 5 days and wish we stayed longer. The owner made sure our experience was wonderful. The location was close to everything.
I will definitely come back to this house next time on the Cape.

Make sure to take a trip to the drive-in cinema, flea market and go to town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, Cozy

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Our party of 6 adults really enjoyed our stay at this gem of a house in the middle of Wellfleet. Close enough to all of Wellfleets amenities but removed enough for quiet nights and privacy. The house is tastefully decorated and the furnishings were all comfortable. You can tell some considerable thought went into the home. The house was big enough that the 6 of us rarely got in each others way. Unlike other rental homes, Cove View provided almost everything you could need in the way of bed linens, towels, washer, dryer, and lots of other small niceties, the welcome gift bag was a nice touch. Our 2 Pomeranians really enjoyed the house as well! We will definitely be staying here again and hesitate to review it publicly as I would want to keep this place my secret! If you don't like this house and it's location, there is something wrong with you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Week at Cove View Cottage

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Just got back from a week with friends at Cove View Cottage and had an incredible time! We were two families with five children total and the house worked perfectly. The home is exactly as described and in very good condition. It is tucked in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to town, the beaches, and the local ponds. It is also a great location on the Cape, with a quick trip up to Provincetown or down to Chatham.

The upstairs master is fantastic, with a beautifully renovated master bath with brand new laundry. The rooms downstairs, while not newly redone, were clean and nice and perfect for the kids and one couple. Since the door to the downstairs den can be closed and has a queen futon, it can almost be used as a 5th bedroom, which was great for our group.

The home was well stocked with dishes, pots/pans, and anything you could need. It was so nice to have linens and towels provided. The owner also provided fantastic customer service, both before, during and after our stay. It was our first trip to the Cape and our families had an incredible time but in and out of the house. We are already planning our return trip next year and plan to stay at the house for years to come!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Great location, just a 4 minute walk to the cove and our twice daily pooch stroll -- could walk all the way around the bend to Wellfleet if we wanted to -- and it's a quick drive to any beach going, bayside, lake or ocean. Spacious and comfortable house. Efficient kitchen(once you find the pan you're looking for)with plenty of room for the whole family to eat, inside or out on the deck. Big living room ideal for charades. Plenty of room for my wife and me, our three kids, their spouses, a dog and our brand new 4 month old grand daughter, Esme! Bedrooms far enough apart and most are downstairs so Grumpy Grandpa (that would be me) didn't hear Esme fussing during the night, not once. Just 15-20 minutes from Provincetown. Choice of golf at Wellfleet (easy) or Truro (challenging). We just scratched the surface of what can be done in Wellfleet. We'll be back and will try to find a house next door for the English branch of the fam.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great "home away from home"

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We loved this house! The owners clearly are "house proud", taking care to decorate with lovely details in a clean, bright atmosphere.
Sparkling new bathroom with washer/dryer, nice living room upstairs for adults while children relaxed in downstairs den.
Two families were able to share the house without feeling cramped. The children shared two bedrooms and the adults each had their own bed and bath on separate floors.
The house was fully equipped with everything we needed for a full week of fun, including a shed with beach chairs, etc. and well-stocked cooking utensils. Having linens provided was the icing on the cake.
Great location provided easy walking to one or two local beaches and good driving access to larger beaches, ponds, downtown Wellfleet and short drive to Provincetown. The walk to town was a bit long for children, but still a great setting.
Definitely a great rental house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great beach house for a family reunion.

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had a great week in this well equipped, spacious beach house. Very close to Indian Neck Beach. Wish we would have purchased the parking sticker, but you can bike or go after 5p.m. Marilynn was very on top of our reservation and all the details were clear. We enjoyed dinner at Finely JP's in Wellfleet. Delicious!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So nice I couldn't believe it was a rental

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This space is so adorable and very clean and well appointed for a rental. We're so used to rentals with outdated furnishings - it was refreshing to stay in something so nice and modern. We loved the open layout of the kitchen and living room, the 3 bathrooms, the lovely master suite, the huge wrap-around deck, the gigantic outdoor shower, and the perfect location. We will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home in Wellfleet

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

My family and I stayed in this immaculate home in May of 2012. We found the house to be exactly as described, with everything needed to make our week comfortable and enjoyable. The location was perfect for bike-riding on the nearby rail trails, walking on the beach, driving to Truro/Provincetown and visiting the Wellfleet Wildlife Sanctuary. The property is located near a quiet cove, lending itself to walking and photography. It really felt like a home away from home, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. For those looking for nearby restaurants, we really enjoyed Mac's Shack & Sushi and JP's in Wellfleet, and Bubala's in Provincetown; all other meals were eaten at "home". The neighborhood, as mentioned, was very quiet, although it was not prime time when we were there. I'd definitely return, most likely in the same time period or perhaps in September.

Owners response: Barbara, thank you for this lovely review and we truly look forward to your return. Our restaurant pick for you to try next time is PB Boulangerie just down Route 6. Just be sure to make reservations in advance. I hear people drive all the way from Boston to eat there. Feels and tastes just like France.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Cape Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! The house was beautiful and spacious. It provided my family and I with all that we needed for a perfect vacation on The Cape. The home was conveniently located for all that we wished to do. It was clean and well maintained. I knew we were in the right place when my 7 year old son remarked on the day we arrived, "This is my dream house, Mom!" We received excellent customer service throughout each step of the renting process. I was pleasantly surprised with the excellent personal attention I received when choosing this rental as our vacation home. We appreciate the attention to detail provided and will look forward to returning again!

Owners response: Can't wait to have you back Anne!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent stay!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

My family and i stayed here during the last week of May. It was a great experience. The house is very clean and super convenient- it had all the amenities you would need. The wifi was a great bonus too.
We were a party of 10 and the house was a perfect size for us. We used the grill, the oven and the stove and they all worked perfectly.
The house is a 5 minute walk to the cove, which I didn't like so much because it felt more like a marsh. However, you can walk 10-15 minutes to the Wellfleet beach (by massasoit road). That beach was one of the most beautiful places I've ever been too. It's well worth the walk! You can also drive if you prefer, I think you would just have to take another route. The house has a binder with all the information you would need regarding the surrounding areas.
We drove to Provincetown which only took about 20 minutes. We also visited the nearby Truro vineyards and that was a pretty sight as well.
I highly recommend this place! And Marilynn of Cape Cod Experience was a pleasure to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great holiday getaway

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

We very much enjoyed staying there. We both had a very good time and everything at the
house was wonderful. It seemed that every thought had been given to make the renter's stay more enjoyable. We really did love the house, it was just beautiful. We plan to repeat our stay for the same dates next year

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cove View Rental

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Our girls' week was wonderful in Wellfleet. The house was very comfortable for the five of us... we loved the open kitchen and living space. It was nice to have linens and towels provided and to have Wi-fi available. The house was clean, comfortable and with everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The neighborhood is quiet, and we spent time relaxing on the deck. We loved going into Provincetown, eating at the Lobster Pot, and had a fantastic whale watch with Dolphin Fleet. Lecounts Hollow Beach was great for walking, and First Encounter Beach was easy access without any inclines. Dinner at the Whitman House Inn was a pleasant experience. September is a beautiful time to explore and enjoy the Cape, and staying at the Cove View house made it perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

"We wanted to write to you to let you know we had a wonderful time at the Cove View Road house. Not only was the house extremely comfortable to stay in, it was lovely, airy, and relaxing as well. You have done everything to make the people that visit feel very much at home. Our family reunion was a smash!!! They couldn't get over how much fun they were having. It was such a shame it had to come to an end. We would highly recommend this house for any family to stay in for their visit to the Cape! P.S. The puppies thought it was the best vacation ever!!!" Brian and Cari, Manchester, CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A great place to stay in Cape Cod

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

August 2, 2010

Hi Marilynn,

My family of six just returned from a stay at your home on 320 Cove View Road in Wellfleet, MA.

Your house is a home away from home in an ideal location that provided us access to all our vacation fun places . We were very pleased with our rental choice. It was clean, had lots of room, and the décor was an extra touch. For folks like us that like to cook, there was every possible utensil including good knives. The outdoor hot shower let us bathe privately in the sunshine! The deck is huge. My daughter and her husband loved the white wicker chaise loungers outside their bedroom. I preferred the chairs under the big umbrella.

My two teenage grandchildren are already begging to come back to 320 next year and we probably will. We all had a great time.

Thanks for everything,

Sheila
July 2010

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

renter

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Rented this property,owner listing very inaccurate,not chic,very dated,tiny roll around single a/c unit nowhere near large enough to cool even a single room.Lower level where most all bedrooms are,very smelly{sewage smell issues} and very damp 3 dehumidifiers in basment alone,house wasnt correctly described,not within walking distance to beach{over a mile}.Owner refused to refund our security deposit,agreed to refund 1/2 of the weeks payment for our incovience,has not refunded any money so far.We had to hire an attorney to try to recoup our money.I would not recommend getting involved in any way shape or form with this property owner,not very honest

Owners response: I believe the consistent 5 star reviews speak the truth about myself and the property. This review is very dishonest. The full security deposit was refunded electronically & it posted only 3 days after their departure. The day they arrived they told me they were very happy with the house. A couple days later they said they might go home due to the abnormally hot weather & flies. (96 degrees & 95% humidity) As advertised, It is a walkout basement and gets damp in extreme humidity. Central dehumidification was installed in 2011. The A/C was a very large 12,000 BTU portable A/C. New wall PTAC hotel style A/C has been installed in the living room and master bedroom in 2011. The house is exactly as it shows in photos. The distance to the cove & nearest beaches are exactly as described. A google map will confirm this. The bad smell was caused by a valve that was stuck open in the output pipes. The plumber was there within 1 hour and it was fixed within 24 hrs. Because I am dedicated to my tenant's satisfaction, we agreed to a refund and I sent it to their bank account that same day. Without any notice, the very next day I received a call from an attorney friend of theirs stating they were reneging on that agreement and the husband wanted all of their money back so they could take another vacation. After our conversation the attorney agreed that their request was unreasonable, that they were unhappy and holding me accountable for things out of my control i.e. heat, flies, etc. and that I had done above and beyond what was expected of me. Do to the volatile nature of this tenant, I agreed to an additional refund in return for a signed agreement to the terms. I never heard from them again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

We rented this home for Christmas week and had a very comfortable stay. The floor plan provides for a lot of privacy as the master bedroom and master bath are upstairs and the other 3 bedrooms are downstairs. Perhaps the only limitation is that there is no indoor shower on the ground floor so anyone sleeping there has to come upstairs to bathe. The other caution is that the stairs from 1st to 2nd floor are steep so I would not recommend this house for very young children or elderly groups who struggle with stairs.

Owners response: The stairs are standard measurement steps, but it may feel steep because they are enclosed and have a slanted ceiling over them. I agree that a 2 story home wouldn't be the best choice for those who struggle with stairs. Regarding no shower downstairs, in the summer many people take advantage of the outdoor shower located just outside the mini suite. For chilly season renters, there are 2 showers upstairs. Thanks Penny! Can't wait to have you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Three night stay, loved it!

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

We stayed here three nights for our son’s wedding. The place was perfect! It is well maintained very clean. Everything we needed was there, fully equipped kitchen. The bathrooms were clean and plenty of supplies. We loved the location easy access to beaches. We had absolutely no issues dealing with the owner, this is the first time I have ever rented a house and was very nervous on what might go wrong, Marilynn makes it very easy and was very responsive to any questions we had before and during our stay.
Thank you for an excellent stay during this special moment in our lives!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day 2009

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

We had a wonderful time. The home was so nice and well-maintained that it made the stay even more pleasant. We had all the amenities that we could have wanted in a vacation rental (or at home for that matter), including a working fireplace. We had a terrific time cooking in the open kitchen. The owner was great and very responsive to any question that we had. This was the first time that we rented through a website, and it was very successful. We would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and cozy

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This house was perfect for our group of 8. It was just as beautiful as it showed in the photos. The kitchen was really well supplied which was great because we love to cook. It was also so great not to have to worry about sheets and towels, and they were really nice quality. The house was spacious and comfortable which was great for the rainy days and on the sunny days we took lots of walks to the water or kayaked on the cove. The kids loved having their own den downstairs. The deck was huge and having 2 grills was so great for our large party. Great location. Quiet and safe and so close to the water. The owners really had supplied the house with everything we needed and then some. Thanks and we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review