reviews for: listing #56160 - Tamarindo, Costa Rica Villa rental

Private secluded modern Villa close to Playa Avellanas
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rio Santo
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $270 - $600 /nt
    $1,600 - $4,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is exactly as pictures. beautifull!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We just spent a week in Tamarindo at Modern Villa. The house is exactly as pictures. Two ensuite bedrooms with a large open lounge and kitchen. Outdoor open thatched roof area was fabulous. We spent every morning eating breakfast outside next to the pool. Our hosts Enrique and Natalie couldn't have been nicer. Helpful, attentive and close-by in case of emergencies. The house is in a safe neighbourhood and we always felt very comfortable and protected. Enrique was very helpful with renting a car, tours etc. If you want to practise your French, Natalie will help you. The house is conveniently situated to everything. Ten minutes to Tamarindo beach, shops, restaurants and surfing. And 20 minutes from Playa Avellanos and Lola's, which is a must if you want good food, service and a beach that's not overcrowded. Lolita the pig was happily eating or sleeping. If you want good food go to Patagonia, Argentinian restaurant in middle of Tamarindo town. If you want to surf, hire Burru, a fabulous teacher and guide. It's hot and humid with little rain so be prepared to stay in your bathing suit most of the time. It's very casual so don't bring lots of clothes. We were sad to leave but if we ever go back to Tamarindo, we plan to stay at Natalie and Enrique's home again. A bientot. Jane and Danny NYC. July 2014.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would not recommend to my friends

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

The villa is beautifully decorated and safe, but be prepared to have some surprises:
as mentioned by other renters, you will be charged for electricity -140$ for 10 days while we were told to expect max 20$ total - it's been added to the initial contract upon our arrival;
if you have an extra guest for 1 night, you will be charged AGAIN;
there is a cloths washing machine BUT you can’t use it!
appliances need to be changed (especially the refrigerator which was leaking);
cooking material is at minimum;
we were unlucky but the safe jammed and it never been repaired before our departure 5 days later (poor customer service);
You must provide the security deposit in cash ! so if you argue about the 'surprising' electric fees collected upon your departure, good luck!
They did a physical check-out before we left (inspect room by room) - we really felt like ordinary renters rather than special guests – and you could expect extra charge for an early check-out!
No chest of drawers in the rooms;
But the playa was wonderful, visit Lola’s for lunch – very nice.

Owners response: What a comment!!!! specially 8 months after they stayed in the Villa.
Ok ,now this is the reality of this people!!!!
I will answer directly for EVERYBODY to read abut this so called "guests".
The villa is beautifully decorated and safe, but be prepared to have some surprises:
as mentioned by other renters, you will be charged for electricity -140$ for 10 days while we were told to expect max 20$ total -
IF YOU SPEND 140 DOLLARS IN 10 DAYS , IT MEANS 14 DOLLARS EXTRA PER DAY, USING THE AC UNITS ALL DAY AND NIGHT, THAT IS WHY!!!! .
it's been added to the initial contract upon our arrival;IT'S
if you have an extra guest for 1 night, you will be charged AGAIN;
WHEN YOU ASK FOR A RESERVATION YOU MENTION THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE, IN THIS CASE THIS PEOPLE ASKED FOR A DISCOUNT BECAUSE THEY WERE 4 PEOPLE, THEN THEY SAID 5 AND FINALLY THEY SHOWED 7 PEOPLE, YES THERE ARE EXTRA CHARGES FOR PEOPLE THAT LIE TO GET A DISCOUNT!!!!!!!!!!
there is a cloths washing machine BUT you can’t use it!
THE WASHING MACHINE AND THE DRYER CAN BE USED AT THE GUEST RESPONSABILITY, AS THE MAID COMES EVERY THIRD DAY AND DOES THE LAUNDRY, AGAIN IF YOU WANT , YOU USE IT.(LIE)
appliances need to be changed (especially the refrigerator which was leaking);
IF YOU LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN AND OVERCHARGE THE FRIDGE , YES IT LEAKS, BUT IS SOMETHING YOU SHOULDN'T DO, ISN'T IT?
cooking material is at minimum;
FIRST TIME THAT HEARD THIS, SURE IF YOU COME ON A HOLIDAY AND ONLY DO COOKING FOUR TIMES A DAY, AND NEVER GO TO ANY RESTAURANT, THEN WHO KNOWS, MAYBE IT'S NOT ENOUGH!!!!!
we were unlucky but the safe jammed and it never been repaired before our departure 5 days later (poor customer service); I SHOULD HAVE CHARGED YOU FOR IT, AS YOU BROKE IT AND JAMMED BY STUFFING A BIG CAMERA INSIDE, THIS HAPPEN WHEN YOU WANT TO BE NICE TO PEOPLE THAT AREN'T.
You must provide the security deposit in cash ! so if you argue about the 'surprising' electric fees collected upon your departure, good luck! WITH PEOPLE LIKE YOU , IN THE FIRST PLACE I WOULD NOT RENT MY VILLA ANYMORE. OR ASK FOR 1000 DOLLARS
They did a physical check-out before we left (inspect room by room) - we really felt like ordinary renters rather than special guests – and you could expect extra charge for an early check-out! YOU ARE ORDINARY!!!!! AND CHEAP. SORRY BUT IS THE TRUTH!!!
No chest of drawers in the rooms; IT'S THE TROPICS, THE DRAWERS ATTRACT INSECTS AND MOLD!!!!!!!.
RESUME; CHEAP PEOPLE , PLEASE NEVER COME AGAIN!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT PLACE. recommend it for sure!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

Great place, exactly like in the pictures really safe too. We enjoyed every minutes of our stay in the villa. The pool is a must and Enrique and his wife Nathalie are very welcoming and they help you during your stay for activities or any recommendations so you can have the best experience in Costa Rica. I recommend this place for sure !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great home, outstanding hosts!!!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

I just returned from a week stay here with my husband, in-laws and niece, and we had such a great time! The villa is represented perfectly in the pictures – clean, modern, comfortable. The rooms are spacious, have their own adjoining bathroom, and very quiet. Our 6 month old niece was in the next room and we didn’t hear her once. The pool is perfect for the hot afternoon and the rancho is a great outdoor space to gather all day. This is a great option if you are travelling with small children or a few couples. You also have the added bonus of hearing howler monkeys nearby and we actually had a group of 12 pass through the trees just metres from the property – I don’t think you’d get that at a resort! Enrique and his wife, Natalie, were outstanding hosts during our stay! They helped us book excursions, make a dinner reservation, and Enrique even came by on our last morning to help secure our luggage to the roof of our rental. We felt very safe in the area and having Enrique and Natalie nearby was an added bonus. I really can’t say enough about their hospitality! I definitely recommend the Rincon de la Vieja day tour with LB from Adrenaline Tours; he’s friendly, knowledgeable and has great contacts there so he can plan the tour around other groups and make sure you miss the crowds. I would also recommend hiring Camille and Pascal, two French private chefs, to cook you a gourmet meal at the house – absolutely delicious and very cost effective for the area. Enrique so willingly helps you book both! We also had the cleaning services come in every other day which is a great way to help out the local residents and doesn’t cost you much. All in all, we had a wonderful time in a beautiful home and that made for an authentic stay in Costa Rica. Thank you, Enrique and Natalie! Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful villa

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Villa was beautiful and Enrique was a wonderful host. He helped us with all of our accommodations and excursions. We had arranged for Pascal & his wife for several meals and it was outstanding. The only concerns we had were having to worry about electricity limits per day. When your on vacation given the price per night, the last thing you want is to monitor your electricity consumption. This should just be built into the villa rental.

Owners response: Robert.Thank you for your review.
I understand that for most of the guests from the US or Canada, it is dificult to realize the electricity is an issue here in Costa Rica.
We, as many other owners included electricity comsumption in the rental fees in the past, the problem was that AC units where running all day, lights where ON during the day, and nobody did care about something that was included in the price, Now we include 30KwH per day, enough for everything. If you go over that, ther is charge of 0,40 cents per KwH.
This way , if you want to leave the AC ON all day, fine, but you will have to pay a litle extra , depending on the way you use power..
Since we implemented this system, most of our guests understand it and are responsible about it, so they don't have to pay anything or very litle.
Best regards. Enrique

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing house!!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

I can't say enough good things about my trip to Tamarindo and it was largely due to Enrique's hospitality, kindness, and his amazing property. Communication is quick and easy throughout, from the moment you request to book online up until you say farewell. Best part is that Enrique hooks you up with the locals so you get an authentic experience and get to hang with the best crowds in town--think of it as your friend who relocated to Costa and wants to show you the best time in their hometown.

The house is spacious, clean, comfy, and the outdoor living area is ace.

Enrique booked our car for the week, took us to pick it up, showed us the local supermarket, booked ziplining/ATV riding/sailing/etc for us throughout the week. On the last day, I ended up making a wrong turn down a dirt path and got my car stuck in the mud. After not knowing any other options, I called Enrique and instead of not answering or just saying 'oh well' he came and bailed me out within a few hours (and with a smile)--no small feat considering it took 13 guys to get the car out all together! Long story and random, minor detail to our amazing trip, but worth mentioning to illustrate the magnitude of Enrique's good character.

I will be back, hopefully within the year. Don't sleep on this vacation and this property!

Pura vida

November 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice House!!!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We stayed in Enrique's beautiful villa and had a wonderful time! He and his lovely wife Nathalie were very pleasant but gave us our privacy. When we wanted to get back to civilization, the beaches and city of Tamarindo were a 10 minute drive away. Having the Automercado close was convenient and we were able to cook up some great meals to eat outside in the rancho living area. Enrique was always available for any question we had and made great recommendations for food and activities. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer - we definitely recommend staying here when in Costa Rica. Pura vida!

December 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enrique's hospitality

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

I can't say enough good things about my trip to Tamarindo and it was largely due to Enrique's hospitality, kindness, and his amazing property. Communication is quick and easy throughout, from the moment you request to book online up until you say farewell. Best part is that Enrique hooks you up with the locals so you get an authentic experience and get to hang with the best crowds in town--think of it as your friend who relocated to Costa and wants to show you the best time in their hometown.

The house is spacious, clean, comfy, and the outdoor living area is ace.

Enrique booked our car for the week, took us to pick it up, showed us the local supermarket, booked ziplining/ATV riding/sailing/etc for us throughout the week. On the last day, I ended up making a wrong turn down a dirt path and got my car stuck in the mud. After not knowing any other options, I called Enrique and instead of not answering or just saying 'oh well' he came and bailed me out within a few hours (and with a smile)--no small feat considering it took 13 guys to get the car out all together! Long story and random, minor detail to our amazing trip, but worth mentioning to illustrate the magnitude of Enrique's good character.

I will be back, hopefully within the year. Don't sleep on this vacation and this property!

Pura vida

November 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

6 stars house

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Enrique’s villa for 5 nights at the end of the rainy season. It was undoubtably one of the best places we stayed in Costa Rica. The villa itself is beautiful, large and the dining/outside area has that wow factor. Exactly as in the pictures. It has beautiful stylish touches - and it felt homely and inviting. A perfect place to unwind and relax, taking in the wonderful birds and wildlife whilst soaking in the pool. Enrique was able to organise a private chef for our stay – which was great, AND we had a massage by the pool one afternoon. Given the price of an average hotel in Taramindo/Costa Rica, this is just outstanding value for money. Location is great – 5-10 mins drive away from the beaches, far enough away to feel secluded and off the beaten track. What really stands out is Enrique’s communication and knowledge of the area. He had amazing contacts and was able to arrange day trips and spa days for us with little notice. This villa is 6 stars. Thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Costa Rica especially those who are looking for a romantic getaway. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular rental!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

This is a SPECTACULAR rental; far superior to a 5 star hotel. It is spacious (3 bedrooms), architecturally compelling, superb amenities (pool, grill, Wi-Fi, etc.), and located in the real Costa Rica, not simply in a tourist hub. That said, it is still 10 minutes from a great beach (Playa Avellana) and a fabulous restaurant (Lola's.) For that matter, it is only 10 minutes from Tamarindo too. The hosts (Enrique and Natalie) are wonderful; they created customs tours for my two daughters (23 & 19) and I, and they had excellent suggestions for swimming, surfing, hiking, and places to eat. I plan on coming again and again, and have recommended this home to all my friends. It is a gem!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very relaxing vacation

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

Very relaxing vacation for people that want to get away!


Everything was taken care for us from checking in to the many excursions they helped organized for us. Everything went perfect. Good location if you have a vehicle and want to explore many of the other beaches. Very nice villa with all the luxuries you would ever need. I highly recommend staying there.

· By Damiano from Edmonton on 6/4/2013 for a stay in 5/1/2013 at


My Detailed Ratings

Value: 5 of 5

Check-in: 5 of 5

Location: 5 of 5

Cleanliness: 5 of 5

Comfort: 5 of 5

Service: 5 of 5


I selected this accommodation because of

Beach/Sun,

review posted on Trip advisor.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Costa Rica!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Ola!!! Costa Rica was everything and more as was Quinta Del Sol!! A little piece of paradise is how I would describe this villa. The grounds were lush, green well tended. The villa itself was super clean and very comfortable with all modern ammenities to make your stay an enjoyable one! It is very quiet and private. A great retreat after a day of sight seeing.

Enrique and his wife were extremely helpful and kind. Always on hand to direct us to the best beaches and area attractions. Enrique even arranged a delicicious lobster dinner one evening for us!!

The auto mercado in Tamarindo, which is about 15 minutes away, has everything you could possibly want which made ir wasy to prepare meals. Fresh fish daily, baked goods and a large selection of wines and liqueurs. Some of our favorite places were Lola's, Playa Avelllana,, Los Olas about 200 meters down from Lola's had great food and Playa Conchel was beautiful!! Most everyone spoke English which made getting around super easy. The locals were extremely friendly. We shared a lot of laugs!

Of the many places we have traveled, (and there have been many) this is one of my absolute favorites! The only thing I would do differently would be to stay longer than a week!! Thank you Enrique!


Some

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Laura.
Thank you very much, for your compliments. it was a pleasure to have you here.
hope, next time , will be two weeks!!!!!!, so you have more time to enjoy this incredible place. Best. Enrique.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stunning, private and so easy to live in!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This property is really a surprise when you drive up. Gorgeous outdoor living space protected by palm thatch roof and plenty of seats and comfy couches. Rentors might want to know that the indoor living space is divided - which worked great for us. However, the kitchen, dining and living room (which we hardly used) are in one "building". Two of the bedrooms are down an sort-of outside hallway and the third is its own building about 30 steps from the front door. Our 13 year old son loved that space - although he was a little nervous at first being totally separate from the house. Pool is perfect and there is AC but you'll only need it at night since the real living is done on the marble patio. The owners are next door which is great - not just because it's good to have someone next door but because they are absolutely delightful and will hook you up with whatever excursion you might need...or leave you entirely alone to enjoy their fabulous place.

You should know that the property is about 15 minutes outside of Tamarindo, which we didn't mind because it was private and safe...but it does require driving down truly one of the worst roads I have been on. Be prepared for that. It's terrible.

We were there at the end of the dry season so things were really dry. Enrique tells us that July and August are lovely with the vegetation and blooms returning. There is a nice market on your way in to Tamarindo and you can get to all the good "playas - Conchal, Langosta, Avellanas - in less that 20 minutes, all.

You'll love it. We were 4 people so each kid got a bedroom. You could easily put 6 adults. Plan to grill outside - the grill is fabulous. The pans in the kitchen are pretty sparse but who wants to cook on holiday, anyway! We looked a several other homes in the area and around Tamarindo - this is really a find.

Thank you - it was fabulous!!

Owners response: Hi Sarah & Kevin.
Thank you for the review.
The road has it up's and downs, it always comes up to when they do some work on it, normally every three months, now they have passed the machine and it's all right again .
Aparently the problems with the company that have to paved it ,are solved, so soon we will have a great paved road. In the meantime, it's fun for a week, to drive on dirt, The rentals are SUV, so no problem. part of the fun!!!
I do this road everyday, and it's not that bad. come on, sure if you compare to roads in the US, or Europe, but here is Costa Rica, part of Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!. . Enrique

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation in an amazing villa

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

We spent a week in March in this amazing villa and truly enjoyed our stay. The modern villa is exactly as shown in the photos, very spacious, tastefully decorated, very clean and well maintained. It has a modern yet warm feeling, and the Rancho (covered outdoor lounging and dining area) is the best part. Although there is a beautiful dining room, we never actually used it as we enjoyed all our meals outside in the Rancho. The private pool is great, big enough to swim some laps, and we used it a lot.

The owner, Enrique, lives next door and while he respects your privacy he is always ready to help or answer questions. He knows the area very well, has lots of good tips for beaches, shopping, restaurants or day trips, and even helps with organizing tours and activities.

The villa is outside of Tamarindo, so you do need a car (preferably 4WD), but it takes only 15 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. It is very quiet at the villa, and you can get a taste of the real Costa Rica where the locals live. Tamarindo is very busy and touristy, and we actually enjoyed being close to everything yet able to get away from the hustle and bustle in the evening.

It is only a short drive to some of Costa Rica's beautiful beaches, about an hour to Liberia, and about ninety minutes to Rincon de la Vieja National Park. The big Automercado is only ten minutes away and it has everything to stock up your fridge, from local groceries to North American and European foods.

We would not hesitate to rent this villa again, or recommend it to friends and family. Thanks, Enrique, for a great vacation rental!

Owners response: Hi Carmen family.
Thank you for this review. it was a pleasure to have you, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
It's always nice to us that our guests appreciate the time and effort I put into maintaining Quinta del Sol
the best way possible, and believe me is not a easy task in the ecuatorial climate.
I'll be in touch. best to you and your family.Enrique

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

As beautiful as it looks!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our three kids, and it was perfect. It's a beautiful and peaceful villa, really well kitted out, well maintained and very clean. We had high expectations based on the photos on the site and were not disappointed.

Enrique and his wife were fantastically helpful and accommodating while we were there and provided some great local info so we were able to explore all the best beaches, and avoid getting burnt in the hot equatorial sun.

Would highly recommend this villa and think it's really good value.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

We had a fantastic time on our first visit to Costa Rica. Enrique and Natalie have a beautiful home and we enjoyed our stay very much. The outdorr rancho area was our favorite spot to hang out and we ended up cooking on the grill/eating "in" several times. The pool was a bonus and our kids (6 and 4) were swimming constantly. We were also luck enough to have a howler monkey visit the tree just behind the house on our last afternoon-what a treat!

A couple things to note that I wish I had paid more attention to...

First, if you are traveling with small kids note that the 2nd bedroom is not actually accessible from the master. Basically the bedrooms (with attached baths) are in a separate building from the living area and the entrance to each is from the enclosed "courtyard"/rancho area. If kids are older or couples traveling together this is a non-issue but those with little ones may find it useful info. Enrique was able to provide us with an air mattress so it worked out fine, but I do with I had understood the layout prior (my fault).

The only other thing is I wish the house was stocked with "the basics". It did have all the cutlery, dishes, grilling utensils etc, which was great but...the house only came with one roll of TP per bathroom, and one garbage bag per trash can. After that we were told we had to provide. Also, no hand soap/washcloths in the bathrooms or paper towels for the kitchen. Again, this may be a CR thing, but in prior rentals this has always been provided.

Overall it was a wonderful stay and we enjoyed ourselves very much. We will definitely go back to Costa Rica, but next time may stay a bit closer to Playa Langosta.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A great place to stay - highly recommend"

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Upon meeting Enrique in Tamarindo, he immediately made us feel welcome and safe. He invited us to ride with him to the house and answered all our questions, even the most basic, with honesty and professionalism. His tour of the house was thorough and reflected the care he put into the upkeep of the property. Enrique was so helpful in organizing sailing trips, New Years Eve dinner, and surfing lessons. His suggestions for day trips were casual and we never pressure to book with his many contacts around the town.

The house was well stocked with all the amenities we needed. Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, with air conditioners that worked very quickly. The bathrooms were clean and in good repair. The pool, lounge chairs and outdoor living room were our favourite part of the house and well used. He was quick to respond to any question or issue we had (needed to change the propane tank in the middle of cooking dinner, and Enrique was over within minutes).

Enrique is a wonderful host, knowledgeable and respects your privacy. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Charles & Nicole

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Where to start! My girlfriend and I planned our first trip (certainly not our last!) to Costa Rica and chose to stay at Enrique and Natalie's amazing home.I'm accustomed to staying in high end boutique hotels and resorts and this home met our needs.Close approximation to the beaches of Tamarindo and Avellanas (a must stop at Lola's!) with only an hour to Liberia airport. Enrique was very prompt with his communications and helpful through out the trip as he has local contacts and connections. We took heed of his recommendations for places to eat/go and came away absolutely thrilled. The home was very clean and spacious with the BBQ being a hit as we went to the Auto Mercado to purchase food ahead of time. The A/C in the home worked really well when it was warm out and the rancho was great to lay out by day or night. With this being Costa Rica, make sure you rent a 4x4 to get around as the road conditions can change to dirt at a moment's notice. You'll feel very safe at the home and even Morgan, Enrique's dog, will greet you from time to time. The pool was great to cool off in if you decide to make it a late morning or a midnight dip. All in all, we had a great time and hope to go back soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great home to rent you shouldn't miss!

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

Home owners Enrique & Natalie couldn't be more accommodating to us. From the very beginning they guided us through the many questions we had from the currency, language, transportation, restaurants, excursions, and wildlife. When traveling to another country, you want to find people you can trust and they certainly fit the bill. The home is as beautiful as the pictures and what a treat it is to stay at this rental. The location of the home is perfect, where as you are close to town but still in a very remote setting. This rental provides all the comforts of home with great neighbors and it is kept in an immaculate state. It is a peaceful and beautiful place to stay during your visit to Tamarindo. The first night of our stay, after driving 4 hours, we had Enrique schedule a chef to have a dinner prepared upon our arrival and it was delicious. We highly recommended this great home and the outstanding service that we received. Can't wait for our next visit.

Owners response: Hi Jennifer and Michael,
Many thanks for your nice review, it was a real pleasure, having you guys at our place
You treat the house with great care, it's very nice to have guests, that appreciate the work we always put In to keep Quinta del Sol, immaculate. We are glad you enjoyed this beautiful area.
Hope everything is fine in NY, and be in touch.
All the best. Enrique and Nathalie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful & Comfortable"

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

Our stay in this beautiful home was July 26th - Aug.4th '12. I stayed in the detached bedroom, 2 couples and an 11 yr. old, stayed in the main house bedrooms. The house was perfect for us, and complimented our different tastes. The yards and pool beautiful, and the Bdrms & Bthrms were private enough for our group. The inside living area is spacious and comfortably decorated & furnished. The outside living area was wonderful. We Bbq'd a few nights and we were fortunate enough to have the monkeys drop by one night for a visit in the backyard trees! Lots of geckos, iguanas, frogs, birds, and other treats right at your door! Enrique and his wife, Natalie, live right next door and were very helpful, arranging a spa day for us girls, and our aTV & zip line tours, which by the way, both days were outstanding. I would highly recommend renting a SUV versus a car. You have to drive about 3 miles on a dirt road to get to the home. As it was, our car took a beating because there are a lot of dirt roads in and around the area, so a SUV would be ideal, no matter what, unless you plan on just staying at the home. Most of the tours we took and areas we wanted to venture to were off of dirt roads. The main huge store, Auto Mercado, is very nice and has all you could possibly need and more! But if you're just out to buy beer, soda, or little items, you can find them at littler stores along your way into Tamarindo. At the end of our stay we had quite a few items left over; i.e., TP, paper towels, condiments, fruit & veggies, etc. We offered them to the less fortunate families along the road to the home. They were so appreciative. All of the people in Costa Rica were lovely, and very welcoming. While at Quinta del Sol we felt very safe and secure. I highly recommend Enrique & Natalie's home! I can guarantee they'll mak

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful house with all the ammenities of home"

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this house. It was very private, and relaxing with all the amenities of home, including television and wi-fi. It was a pleasure to wake up to the howling monkeys in the back garden, and take a leisurely dip in the pool before heading off on an adventure. Enrique and his wife went out of their way to accommodate all of our needs, and offered a wealth of travel information. They were flexible with our check in and check-out needs which made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Beautiful house. It is a shame that at the end the lady of the house demanded us to do the dishes while we were still eating on the departure day, it just felt a little rude.

Owners response: This guests obviously didn't realize that all kitchen and cooking utensils have to be clean , by check out time. they where very late and we had more guests coming, there the comment. No rudeness in it. Just concern, seeing that
by the time set for departure , they were not ready.
maybe lack of experience on renting a Villa from this particular guests.
Thank you for your review. the owner.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Peaceful Retreat!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Such a lovely place to relax and unwind. The grounds are beautiful and the home is an architectural delight tucked away off a small dirt road, off another dirt road giving you the sense you are a million miles away from it all. Especially noticeable is that this home is not furnished like most rentals, but enjoys higher-end, quality furniture. We particularly loved the outside living element. Plenty of iguanas, toads and monkeys. There is wonderful hiking if you turn left out of the driveway. Just minutes to Tamarindo and other beaches. The owner lives next door so is on hand should you have any questions. Cleaning lady came halfway through the week which was a very nice touch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank's for this review,Is always very nice when my guests enjoy my house and really get the sense of peace and wilderness that surround you.I do appreciate when my guests value the time and effort we put to make Quinta del Sol always look like new. I hope to see you again Daniel and family.all the best. Enrique

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An amazing extended stay!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful house from the mid January to the end of May.
It is really difficult to sum up in words how much I enjoyed staying at Quinta del Sol but I would like to share some highlights with you.

Peace: it really is a peaceful place- you are surrounded by beautiful nature and when you are there you feel like you are the only person on earth, beautiful birds, huge trees, howler monkeys in the garden... amazing!

Quality: no expense has been spared in the construction, maintenance and equipment. The house is in perfect order; it is equipped with everything you could ever need (including a fantastic Weber gas BBQ!) and everything works perfectly.

Hospitality: the owners, Enrique and Nat go out of of their way to make you feel welcome and cared for. I was treated like an old friend and nothing was too much trouble.

Privacy: it goes without saying that this house is totally private but at the same time not isolated.

Value: I feel that this house is really good value for money considering how much you get in terms of the highlights that I have mentioned!

Location: beautiful natural surroundings, convenient distance from the busy town of Tamarindo and the surrounding beaches, a short drive to a World class golf course and only one hour's from Liberia International Airport make for a perfect location.

I recommend Quinta del Sol as your choice for your vacation, you will not be sorry and you will fall in love with the place and never want to leave.

Thank you Enrique and Nat!

Jonathan

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful house!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

Wow!, that's how i can discribe this house., it was beautiful, private and only a few minutes from Tamarindo. I would recommend this house to anyone who likes luxury at a reasonable price.

We loved spending time around the pool but more than that in the cabana area., very welcoming home and the interior decorating was very unique.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Boris for this nice comments, I'm glad you enjoy it. best wishes.Enrique

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enrique and his house was amazing.

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Hi Enrique, we had a fantastic honeymoon. Your house was everything we wanted and more. The privacy of the location was excellent. Enrique's knowledge of the area and things to do was priceless. The grounds were kept very beautiful and the backyard was your own personal oasis. The Rancho was definetly where we spent most of our time when we were at the house.We rented a car in Liberia and drove, it only took about 1 hour.A car is the only way to go because you can go to Playa Avellana, Negro, Tamarindo, Conchal, Flamingo, and more. Just like every other review said, Tamarindo is just a short 10 minute drive. Costa Rica is amazing. We look forward to a return stay. Keep me informed on the progress of your other projects. Thanks again Enrique and PURA VIDA!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Guys. I'm really glad you had a great time. all the best for you, and thank you .
It's always nice when my guests apreciate the Villa and all that Costa Rica and specially Guanacaste has to offer. best regards, Enrique. Pura Vida!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Hello Enrique,

CR was a wonderful time, but it also feels good to be home. I start back to work next week. I cannot thank you enough for all your help in planning our trip, showing us around and checking on us throughout our stay.

You're the best!!!

Christine

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very nice holiday!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Dear Enrique, we are already back home indeed after a wonderful trip to Costa Rica. I am sorry I did not respond earlier but when I am back into the daily routines time goes by very quickly with three kids : )

“Your villa is like a little pearl close to everything but far enough to have a quit peaceful holiday with your family. We enjoyed waking up early with the kids and watch nature wake up in our own backyard at Quinta del Sol. Our kids loved all the new creatures they met so closely in Costa Rica. We have spend days and nights at your patio with a nice breeze, a big BBQ and access to a wonderful natural pool. To us Costa Rica is a nature paradise that gives you the opportunity to really be part of nature. A blessing to have been able to visit it with the kids. We enjoyed your perfectly designed house that made us feel like being home. Thanks so much for sharing and a big thank you to Claudia and Samuel for being there whenever needed!”

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tres belle vacances!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Bonjour Claudia

Comme convenu, je vous écris pour vous faire savoir que nous sommes bien arrivés et que le retour s’est bien passé. Maigre consolation en comparaison de notre seule déception du voyage qui est que nous avons trouvé nos vacances au Costa Rica beaucoup … TROP COURTES.
Je tiens à vous remercier pour votre dévouement, votre disponibilité et vos bons conseils qui ont beaucoup contribués au succès de notre séjour. A ce sujet, j’écrirai un commentaire sur votre site.
Là-dessus, nous vous saluons amicalement et vous souhaitons la meilleures des chances dans vos projets d’affaires comme familiaux…
Merci !
Xxx

Hélène &
Martin St-Pierre

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Oasis that we will remember!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Hello Claudia. Our time at Quinta del Sol seems but a dream to us now. We have been back to the reality of life here at home, and for a virtual escape from the cold, we now have a real dream we can tap into whenever we desire!

To enter the gates of Quinta del Sol is to enter a private paradise and to experience a feeling of complete relaxation from the moment one's luggage touches the floor. The design of the house itself and the landscaping surrounding it is truly a vision of beauty and comfort, simplicity and elegance. From the walls of lavender flowers surrounding the property to the palms swaying in the breeze and the gardens which attract butterflies and birds of every color, it is truly a delight for the senses. The attention to detail in its design seems intended to express the natural beauty that is possible only in Costa Rica. Quinta del Sol is the quintessential destination for comfort and elegance to anyone who desires to experience the best that Guanacaste has to offer from within a quiet and private oasis. We certainly would love to return there if our travels take us back to Costa Rica in the future. What a lovely and colorful thought that is, especially in the midst of all this white snow!

We send our best regards to you both , and appreciate the time and attention you afforded us to make our stay at Quinta del Sol a time we shall always remember, and we do, so very often. Most sincerely, Anthony & Jacqueline

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Quinta Del Sol

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

What a lovely home...better than the pictures. We had a great time in Costa Rica. The home is approx. 10 minutes from town by car. The roads are a little rough but o.k. The grounds, rooms and pool are neat and clean, Very friendly maid service and grounds keeper. We had a lovely little beagle that visited us often. We nicknamed her "Gertrude". She's very friendly and is willing to eat anything you have left over LOL. Claudia and Samuel were very gracious and helpful in showing us around the house and steering us in the right direction for excursions like catamaran cruises and zip line, horseback riding and shooting the rapids in tubes! Thanks so much guys for a wonderful holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Linda for your review on my Villa.I'm glad you had a great time, it's nice to see that our guests apreciate my villa and the beatifull area of Tamarindo and Guanacaste. Your are welcome anytime. It was very nice to have you as a guest in Quinta del Sol. Enrique Vico. Owner Quinta del Sol.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wow ! What a gem of a spot ! Perfect !

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

My dad arrived dec 6th and i arrived on the 15th with friends , they could not believe it after they looked at all these other places for big bucks we found Quinta Del Sol , what a score ! it was better than the pictures , we went out to town and beaches every day and only 10 minutes at best , you are in the country with the monkeys in the back yard and other nature you wont find in any condo i am sure , I would highy recoomend this property to anyone who wants privacy and peace and quiet , it was the best vacation our family had in a long time , we will be back soon i hope , thanks Enrique !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a little Paradise

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay here during a recent trip to Costa Rica. The house is perfectly situated just outside of Tamarindo on the way to Playa Avellanas. When it is breaking both of those beaches offer some of the best surfing to all levels of ability. And for those non surfers Playa Avellanas is the perfect place to work on your suntan. There is a great beach bar and you may even be lucky enough to be visited by Lola the resident pig on her way to the ocean for a dip...we were and it was a riot!

The house itself is stunning and is hardly done justice in the photos provided. We have rented all over the world and have found that sometimes the photos provided are not accurate. Not in this case! The house is well designed, modern, clean, AND quiet which is a huge plus given the hustle of Tamarindo. We loved waking up and having coffee outside followed by a quick dip in the pool before heading off to surf. In the afternoons we were happy to return and lounge by the pool before heading out to dinner. The house is beautifully landscaped offering a great deal of privacy, which also attracting a ton of birds etc.

Neither of us can stop talking about this house. It was perfectly romantic for the two of us, but would be a great choice for a group of friends or a family as well. The kitchen is completely modern and the house has a washer/dryer so you are not stuck wearing dusty clothing your entire trip (this is Costa Rica!). Plus, the owner is a gem and made the entire process of renting the house etc beyond easy. I wouldn't dream of renting another place in the area...even if it is closer to the beach. This place is worth the 10 minute drive to the water. You truly feel as if you are on vacation here.

Other plus': The new grocery store has all the comforts of home and of Costa Rica. Dinner at Media Naranaja is a must. It easily the best dinning experience in Tamarindo. We are from San Francisco and MN offered us a little taste of home.

You won't be sorry to have rented this home.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

What a delightful place to stay!!! Near some of the most beautiful beaches! The house was wonderfully appointed and absolutely gorgeous in all respects......! My family enjoyed the beauty, privacy, and security of staying at this lovely rental home. It certainly exceeded our expectations by 100%!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

We all enjoyed the house and its beautiful landscape! The pool was refreshing and the outside patio was very peaceful to just relax and enjoy! The house's location is perfect, its quiet with amazing beaches close by. The town is not far and offered great food, drink and shopping!! The house was very comfortable and the decor we loved!! We will be back for another visit soon enough, thanks!!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks see you soon, we appreciate you coming to stay and really glad you had a great time and that you were able to let others know what you liked about the villa , thanks again I really do appreciate you taking the time for this review

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutly Worth It

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

When we were looking for a place for our family to stay, Quinta del Sol stuck out from the rest. In person, it was everything we were hoping it to be.

We really enjoyed the absolute quiet, the patio was where we spent 90% of our time in the house, eating,relaxing, and just generally hanging out together. The pool was a wonderful draw, especially after a hot day out wandering around the area.

We could not more highly recommend it to anyone looking for a similar combination: quiet, clean, relaxing and close to anything you would like to do in the area.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No Helpful votes: 3/4

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream House

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

5 out of 55 Dream house
fuzzytraveler Burbank, CA
Review Submitted: June 27, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009
We (4 adults and two kids, age 3 and 1) stayed at Quinta del Sol for a week in June and we loved everything about this villa, from its modern design to the natural setting in the midst of the rain forest. We loved waking up in the morning and hearing the howler monkeys and birds chirping away. I especially loved preparing breakfast or lunch in the kitchen overlooking the veranda and the beautifully landscaped backyard. My children were never tired of running and chasing after butterflies in the front or back garden or looking at ants carrying a load of leaf on their back heading home to their nest.
As the weather was so warm, we could literally dip into the pool any time of day. Yes, it did rain almost everyday during our stay, but only for a short while, and we loved the rain plus it's just simply refreshing after that. Basically, we've enjoyed our trip to CR very much and will definitely be back.
A caveat to this villa, however, is that it is in a very remote place where all other developments are being on hold and down a dirt and pot-holed ridden path (perhaps this will change once the JW Marriott and the Hacienda are completely built out) where your neighbors are much poorer than you’re so it's not for everyone. As such, staying at this place will require you to stock your refrigerator and prepare a few meals (or order a chef) as it's not just a "zip" in and out of town. (We took full advantage of the kitchen as well as the grill.) If you're not into nature and have qualms every time you see geckos, beetles, ants, or other insects around you, then this place is not for you. Perhaps you should check in the Playa Hermosa area instead where all the brand name resorts are at your disposal. But then you'll be missing out on what real CR is all about, nature and wildlife.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home away from Home

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Me and my wife went for our honeymoon and the place was fabulous. There was great outdoor space and a grill to enjoy the wonderful weather that Costa Rica has to offer. The private pool was the best feature since you would never get that at any resort. Probably the best part of renting this villa was the staff of people that run the place. They are very knowledgeable of the area and have plenty of tips to make you feel at home. When I go back I will definitely love to rent with them again.
Recommended for: Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Adam , Thanks for your review , and we wish you and yours all the best !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

5 fun in the sun
sushigirl California
Review Submitted: June 15, 2009 Date of Stay: March 2009
Just came back from our trip to beautiful Costa rica!
What a treat! This house is spectacular,yet simple,it complies to nature...
Claudia and samuel where available for us-and booked us tours-called to see if all was good ,if we needed anyting else...we even got a chef for a few nights!
Thanks! Every informations they gave us was helpful..when you are on vacation only for 1 week-you need some help!
We had a big thunder storm...was so romantic-we swam in the pool,just the 2 of us!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quinta del sol

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2007

Anne L. usa
Review Submitted: January 4, 2008 Date of Stay: December 2007
The house is absolutely stunning and has such a wonderful vacation ambiance. I stayed there with my 3 adult children and we all loved the house and yard. A beautiful spot to wake up to each morning, coffee by the pool or in the great "outdoor" living room. We went to the local beaches during the day and it was always so nice to come back "home". Such a super place to spend a vacation. We plan to return over and over again!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

COSTA RICAN COMPOUND

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

RATING: EXCELLENT
COSTA RICAN COMPOUND

The place was wonderful, very elegant, with full amenities. Property is fenced in and very private with a large backyard and beautiful pool. The bedrooms were all very large with full in-suite baths, perfect for a couples getaway! Kitchen was fully equipt and we used the outside grill to BBQ often. Tamarindo is just a few minutes away, which had a large grocery store and surf town- everything you would need in paradise.
The owner & his realtors took excellent care of us- they served as our concierge. They helped track down my lost luggage, book excurstions (sunset sailing/Rincon Adventure/Monteverde, arranged airport transers, and much much more!
Highly recommend to anyone looking for a serene getway or adventurous excursions!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Secluded Property

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Beautiful Secluded Property
Tim & Lorri Green Bay, WI
Review Submitted: April 12, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
We had a fantastic time at Quinta del Sol. It is in a very secluded area with the howler monkeys in the trees behind the property. The road to the place is not ideal but really only adds to the experience. The layout is unique and quite comfortable. We felt extremely safe at all times. The only complaint would be that the property could be a little cleaner. The drive into town is approximately ten minutes and is no big deal. Tamarindo is just ok. Claudia was fantastic! She even called our daughter for us when our cell phones did not work. She booked excursions for us and was there to help in any way she could. I recommend this villa for anyone wanting to stay in north west Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review