reviews for: listing #56207 - Princeville, Hawaii House rental

"Wow" Hawaiian Plantation House - Sleeps 8
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,575 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

There is NO air conditioning in the main house.

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

Air conditioning and water cooler are listed but this is misleading. There is a tiny bedroom off the garage that has a window unit. That's it. The main house does NOT have a/c. It's a lovely home in every other way but a/c is a deal breaker for us. Coming home to a sauna is not our idea of vacation. We feel duped.

Owners response: To respond about this review. This listing never did represent that there was AC. This is what is written on the VRBO website: Air Conditioning:

"The Plantation Style Homes in Hawaii are designed for natural airflow and cross venilation, depending mostly on the constant trade winds to keep the house cool. In most cases, the home is nice and cool with all windows opened and ceiling fans on. There are some days in Hawaii where nothing you do will cool down the house as there is hot winds coming in from the Big Island 'Kona Winds' and no trade winds. Those are the days to spend the entire day and night at the beach to keep cool. Most homes in Hawaii do not have AC. I do have an AC unit in the Office/Twin room for the rare occasion that you really need it."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Princeville Plantation Home

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Beautiful, clean house, breathtaking mountain views, and nice, quiet neighborhood. House supplied with convenient amenities. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would definitely consider staying there again, as well as recommend to others. The only other thing that would have made our stay even better was if the house had air conditioning. Also, one thing to note is the fact that the 4th bedroom is off the garage – we almost did not find it! Would give it 4.5 stars if I knew how to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

My family & I stayed in this home in November 2013 and it was perfect! Trudy was wonderful to work with, she always answered my questions right away. And the home is also located in a great neighborhood. Thank you again! We would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal family location

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

House had everything you could hope for. Beach toys and towels were a bonus. The location of the property is great. Street is safe and close to the park. The reason I wouldn't give an excellent rating for this property is because the twin beds room is off the garage, which wasn't clear from ad, and one of the neighbours could often be heard yelling and swearing.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

*****5 Star Management, Owners and Home *****

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Wow! The owners and management were so accomodating! Our daughter has sensitivities to cleaing chemicals. The manager Trudy offered to reclean the ALREADY CLEAN house for us with a non allergenic cleaner developed in Hawaii. It worked out great, our daughter had a wonderful stay. We wanted a crock pot so when we came back from the beach supper would be ready. Trudy said no problem, pick one up next time you are at Costco. Then we said the beach chairs were rusty and uncomfortable. Amanda, the owner, said go for it, pickup four very deluxe ones and get a beach umbrella too. Good ole Costco. These are the awesome back pack type chairs with holders for your beverage and a built in cooler pocket on the back. Perfect for a cool one on the beach after a hard day of surfing or boogie boarding. Who else offers a surf board included with your stay? This is not your average vacation rental or managers! There is also two very comfortable 7 speed bikes. We used them to go to the top of the Queens bath, (Ocean Cliffs) to see sunsets at 5:30 pm, or go to the grocery store ( two blocks) away for a few items, or to the lovely ice cream shop by the grocery for an essential holiday treat. The home was simply beautiful with the Koa Floors. The thing we loved most was having all our meals on the two sided deck with a view of the jungle covered mountains. The little kids loved the park just a short walk around the corner. Beside the park is the library. A library card is only $10 and movie rentals are $1. The selection is very large. we found more good movies than we had time to watch and we stayed there for 2 months. Best Restaurants: Postcards Hanalei, Bouchons Sushi Restaurant on the second floor of the Hanalei Shopping Centre, (get a window seat and people watch while you enjoy fantastic sushi), Prince golf course (the restaurant is downstairs with a Fabulous view of the golf course all the way to the ocean, Pats Taqueria Food Truck at Black Pot beach Hanalei. Best Sunsets: the deck at the St Regis Hotel or the top of Queens bath with a glass of wine, Best Beaches: Snorkeling at Tunnels or Kee'e, Boogie boarding at Kalihiwai Best Biking: we loaded the bikes in the van and went down to Kapa'a for paved trails along the ocean, Best Car Rental: Island car rentals call Cheryl (the cars aren't new but their low mileage, road safe, and affordable) Would I recommend staying with Trudy and Amanda as your hosts? ABSOLUTELY!!! BOOK NOW BEFORE ITS FULL!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome Hawaiian House

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful home the first week of January. We were impressed with the quality and beauty of the home and its furnishings as well as its location. The wrap-around veranda is very nice. The home is conveniently located near the Princeville Center (for groceries). There are beaches located near the home. This home worked well for our travel group which included a baby. There was a pack and play, high chair, and other baby items available for our use. We plan on renting this awesome home again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect in Princeville

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two weeks in March. This house was exactly what we wanted. It has a perfect location - we could walk to the Princeville center and were close to the entrance of Princeville when we wanted to go to Hanalei or elsewhere on the North Shore. Our kids could walk and get an icecream or rent a movie on their own and having that feeling of safe independence that was wonderful. The home also had an ideal floorplan with all the rooms on one level but separated off the large central common area. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of quality and very welcoming. The large common area has beautifl Koa flooring which feels very luxurious, and the house was always a pleasure to wake up to or to come back to after a long day out. It also has a huge and very comfortable lanai with BBQ that we used nearly every night. In short, it was pefect on all accounts. We've stayed elsewhere in Princeville but we would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Princeville home

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

Had a wonderful time inspite of the rain. Well equipped comfortable home.
Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Immaculate home, comfortable beds, unusually good linens, quiet and upscale neighborhood, inviting lanai with BBQ. What more could we ask? Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Princeville Home

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Your home is absolutely gorgeous!!! Spacious, everything we needed to cook, snorkel, relax, wonderfully located. When we walked in, my husband said, "Well, there's no reason to go to the beach, we can just relax here!" We did go to the beaches, all over: Kilauea Lighthouse, Hanalei, onto the beaches north of there.

I have recommended your home to several of our friends already. It was a wonderful visit and I can't wait to be there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Princeville Home

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

Trudy's house was perfect for our group of 8! It's close to everything, and it's open feel was relaxing - but there is so much to do in the area, we did not hang out there all that much! We did a Kipu excursion (kayak/zipline/swim combo), my daughter and her husband did an airplane ride (not helicopter - less chance of airsickness), hiking the Napali Coast (figure on 4/5 hours), the Canyon, and the Smith Family Luau (everyone should do this once... there are discounts all around town). Take pictures of the lighthouse/bird sanctuary at sunrise - the perfect view is before they charge you to get in. Also, the coffee shop by the lighthouse is better than the one by Trudy's house. So are the little shops. Between the house and the lighthouse is a decent fruit stand on the main road. We did the south side beach, and figured out there is probably some decent shopping down there that we missed - but that wasn't that important to us. We liked the open flea markets.

After the airport, we made a beeline to Costco, and then everything else we got at a grocery store within walking distance from the house (sign up for their grocery card for BIG savings).

Deposit was returned right away.

iphone apps tell you where to eat - but we ate in a lot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A peaceful Kaua'i retreat for family

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home. We were traveling with our daughter, my sister and my parents, and found the space more than met our needs. It was a welcome, quiet retreat after coming off of the busy part of our vacation on the Big Isle. We fell in love with Kauai, due in no small part to this restful place on the north shore. The Vella home has everything you need (one of our best meals was fresh fish my husband grilled on the lanai, purchased up the road at the Dolphin Fish Market). The home is within easy distance of stores, the best beaches and other amenities. (One morning we paired off to do some various planned activities separately -- golf, botanical gardens, zipline tour -- and were within just a few miles of each other and the house. Easy and fun! Everyone said it was the best day.) Trudy was great host with quick follow-up communication, and offers an affordable rate plan. The home was beautifully cleaned at our arrival and very nicely maintained throughout ... the Koa wood floors are something to marvel! Enjoy your stay without hesitation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

A fantastic home for a family vacation. Located close to top beaches and has views of the mountains from the house. Comfortable, well-appointed and finished with all you'll need. We walked to the grocery store and post office in a little mall. Owners are great to work with!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

What a great house! We were in Hawaii celebrating my husband's 50th birthday with our 4 kids. There was PLENTY of room for all of us. We really enjoyed th house and it's great location. Every day we packed up in the morning and went to a different beach. Each one was a little different. The neighborhood was great to walk and run in each morning. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Thank you for the use of your fabulous home for our family vacation! We found everything in perfect condition and loved the time we spent there. We were close to everything we needed, as far as beaches, food, and activities. Even the things that were further away weren't a far drive. The neighborhood was quiet and beautiful. The house had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay there. We can't thank you enough for opening your home up and allowing us to stay there. Being in such a gorgeous, peaceful home made our vacation THE BEST!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Words cannot describe how remarkable this Kauai home is. Celebrated my wife's b-day at this awesome home and we could not have had a better vacation. We really did re-discover the true HAWAII on this trip. Tons of amenities made us feel at home. Comfy, Roomy, and VERY relaxing. We will be back to this vacation home. Mahalo to thr Vellas!!
Travis R

Owners response: Thank you Travis for the nice comments. Please come back anytime 10 percent discount for my VIP's from non-special rates to rent any of my properties Kauai or Tahoe!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

Our family truly enjoyed our stay at your vacation rental in Kauai. Your home is very comfortable and clean. We especially enjoyed the short walk to Anini Beach. We liked the location so much, we never drove more than ten miles from the house to enjoy all of the beautiful northshore beaches where we swam, snorkeled, hiked, and experienced much more!! We would definitely stay there next time we visit. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 5, 2007   Date of arrival: February 5, 2007

Thank you Renters of ou Princeville Plantation Home I hope you enjoyed your stay! Please return back "Home" to your Kauai rental anytime as I give a 10% Discount to all of my returning Guests, to any of my rental properties!

Mahalo! Trudy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review