reviews for: listing #56208 - British Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Luxury Six Bedroom Villa with Pool
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Havers Estate
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,000 /nt
    $3,500 - $7,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

..... wish we could do this every year!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

Our family recently spent two wonderful weeks at Summer Heights on Tortola. The property and amenities are exactly as shown on their website - - and the view over the Francis Drake Channel towards Peter Island is simply spectacular. Individual king bedrooms with bath insure everyone's comfort and privacy and the well equipped kitchen will please those who enjoy preparing an occasional meal at home. The owners are especially attentive and were a pleasure to deal with. Be sure to schedule a dinner at Brandywine Estate and brunch at Frenchman's Cay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

December 20th - 29th 2012

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Even if you are an experienced visitor to Tortola (which I consider my wife and I to be), you will be happy to discover the many benefits of a stay at Summer Heights versus other alternatives (i.e.; a week long sail boat charter, hotel, etc), such as:

1. Location. Not only the BVI, but Tortola, and finally, Haver Hill provides the best of the "location, location, location" adage. Essentially equidistant to both Road Town or West End (which we found very handy when sailing), it is also quite easy to get to Cane Garden Bay which we happily did, twice (not to mention Virgin Gorda, Peter Island and a two-night BVI sailing tour to "The Bight" and Jost Van Dyke). One thing to those who come is to heed your advice regarding the 4-wheel drive vehicle; coming from someone who had never driven in Tortola, driving proved easy to adjust to with your expert advice and a bit of experience.

2. Comfort. Summer Heights provides so much comfort to your guests. Bedrooms provide not only fabulous views, but wonderfully comfortable beds/linens; the "lounge" (i.e., living room) provided a nice place to watch an evening movie with room for all. Even with 12 people in our group, we never felt too crowded. We made maximum use of the kitchen and it proved up to the challenge. Numerous meals for 12 (breakfasts & dinners) were easily facilitated by a complete array of appliances, utensils and the awesome Weber gas grill! Finally, those numerous meals were served at the dining table on the terrace. Whether it was morning or night, each meal was enhanced by the sea breeze, captivating views of Peter and Norman Island (among others) and the joy that comes from dining with friends and family.

3. Service. What separates a Summer Heights visit from the options has to be the personal service you and Roz provide. Your attention to detail - especially prior to our arrival - and personal service was the difference between a "good" experience and "wonderfully memorable". Your advice and effort on our behalf on many important topics (that only a person with significant local knowledge could provide) saved us untold grief, wasted time, and money. The age range in our group was "grade school age" to "octogenarian" (two octogenarians, actually) and all found Summer Heights to be a special place - and the perfect choice for our holiday vacation.

Thank you so much for helping to make it so. Lee & Carol S, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Beautiful! Barry and co. could not have been more welcoming and helpful! 12 of us - from 9 to 84 years old all enjoyed Summer Heights for 8 days in December 2012. The beds & rooms were spectacular. The view was terrific and the villa was nicely decorated and had everything we needed. Highly recommend! Joe L & Family, Birmingham, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This is a wonderful home for 5 couples or a family of 10. We have vacationed here on 3 occassions. The house has the perfect layout to accommodate friends and family, while still providing privacy and relaxation. It has a well equipped kitchen, great pool, and all the amenities of home. The view of Drake's channel and the adjoining Islands is unsurpassed. We will definitely visit again. Jane P, Evansville, IN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Summer Vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This August we stayed at Summer Heights and had a wonderful time. We were 3 families, 6 adults and 5 children and the villa accommodated all of us comfortably, with room to spare. The view is fantastic and we spent many aperitifs and evening dinners enjoying it and the breeze. The house is spacious, great well equipped kitchen, pool, computer access, wi-fi etc. Barry was a wonderful host, helpful in every way, his pumpkin soup and key lime pie are to die for!! and his daughter Susanna was delightful. We certainly would recommend this villa for a vacation in the BVI's and hopefully we will go again soon. Monica B, Italy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

epic villa on Tortola!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Just got back from a grand weekend on Tortola. Summer Heights was the highlight by far. Amazing views, great layout and amenities. And, wonderful owners! They had the fridge stocked with drinks, helped with car rentals and ferry service. Very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend the place to anyone...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

My family (6 aduilts,3 children) spent 11 days at Summer Heights villa in Tortola and had a wonderful time. The villa is a great place to spend a vacation. Gorgeous views, very well equipped kitchen everything anyone needs for a vacation home. Roz cooked us a truly great meal and helped make our vacation a memorable experience. I would highly recommend Summer Heights and Tortola to anyone planning on visiting the Caribbean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Our extended family of 10 recently returned from a family vacation at Summer Heights, and were very pleased with the accommodations. The grandchildren enjoyed the pool and the internet and the games, and the adults enjoyed the comfortable beds and the spacious and well-appointed bath rooms adjoining each room. The kitchen was well equipped with all the items necessary to prepare and serve our food. The dining table was large enough for us all to gather around, and was well protected from the rain, provided the wind was not blowing strongly. The views are magnificent, and the outdoor furniture was very comfortable. The only real surprise for someone not familiar with the terrain were the roads. But Roz will guide you up and around the 4 hairpin turns to the villa, where you will descend through a short 45-degree driveway into a courtyard where your rental car can be parked. And from then on, part of your vacation excitement will be as you traverse the "roads" up and down the Tortola hilside. Roz and Barry are excellent hosts, remaining discretely hidden in their downstairs rooms until you need them, and then they will provide assistance and information as you require it, including which taxi to call if you need one(not all of them wish to travel over that road!). Our family all agree that the accommodations were first-rate, and we certainly would entertain the possibility of staying there again, if we are able to return sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Summer Heights is perfect for an extended family vacation. The six bedrooms all have very comfortable beds and their is plenty of space for everyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Stay at Summer Heights

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

What a great time we had at Summer Heights! This was our third time staying with Barry and Roz and their hospitality was wonderful! Each trip, we have brought a new person along with our family and they have each been completely "wowed" by Tortola and the views from Summer Heights. Driving up the road to the villa is crazy but after doing it numerous times we are used to the climb and our son loves the 4-wheeling adventure.

We love gazing out at the Channel from the pool deck and our son loves seeing the sailboats passing by. And having a pool right at the property is so nice. Some days, we just stayed at the villa and relaxed and other days we voyaged to beaches at Smuggler's Cove, Long Bay, and Cane Garden Bay. Another day, we took the ferry over to Jost Van Dyke and just hung out at White Bay. Using Summer Heights as our base worked great for all that. We also enjoy the close proximity to Nanny Cay for groceries, restaurants and shopping.

Our family definitely recommends Summer Heights. We love it there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tortola spring break

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Our recent spring break trip to Tortola in March,2011 was one of the best vacations we have had there. We have been visiting
Tortola annually for the last 23 years and have stayed in several different villas. Summer Heights was perfect for our family including two of our grandchildren. The house is so comfortable and family friendly with the pool, great king size beds, and well equipped kitchen. The view and location are exactly as pictured! Barry and Roz were so helpful, and although we hardly knew they were there, they responded to all our needs. We certainly plan to return if the house is available. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home!!! Jon and Jane

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. It was lovely to meet you all. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect oasis on a tropical island!!!!!"

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

"We stayed at Summer Heights for a week in October. The property is well tucked away on a lush hillside seemingly far away from the cruise passengers who come in for daily visits (but only 15 minutes from Roadtown). The house is beautiful and well equipped with everything and more you will need during your stay. Although all of the rooms have air conditioning we never had to use it because there was plenty of breeze coming in from the screened windows and sliding doors. The pool was an added benefit, we loved hanging out in the pool in the mornings while planning our day and in the afternoon after long days at the beach. Bonus, you can hook up your mp3 player to their stereo that also had outdoor speakers next to the pool. The view overlooking the sea at Norman and Peter Island is absolutely breathtaking and we often just hung outside in the poolside chairs, drink in hand, taking it all in. Nanny Cay Marina and Soper's Hole are both close and good for a little shopping and Smuggler's Cove was only a 15 minute bumpy ride and turned out to be our favorite beach. Barry and Roz were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, knew how to get around and gave us some wonderful suggestions for local places. Thanks again for providing such a lovely oasis!!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful oasis tucked away on a tropical island

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

We stayed at Summer Heights for a week in October. The property is well tucked away on a lush hillside seemingly far away from the cruise passengers who come in for daily visits (but only 15 minutes from Roadtown). The house is beautiful and well equipped with everything and more you will need during your stay. Although all of the rooms have air conditioning we never had to use it because there was plenty of breeze coming in from the screened windows and sliding doors. The pool was an added benefit, we loved hanging out in the pool in the mornings while planning our day and in the afternoon after long days at the beach. Bonus, you can hook up your mp3 player to their stereo that also had outdoor speakers next to the pool. The view overlooking the sea at Norman and Peter Island is absolutely breathtaking and we often just hung outside in the poolside chairs, drink in hand, taking it all in. Nanny Cay Marina and Soper's Hole are both close and good for a little shopping and Smuggler's Cove was only a 15 minute bumpy ride and turned out to be our favorite beach. Barry and Roz were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, knew how to get around and gave us some wonderful suggestions for local places. Thanks again for providing such a lovely oasis!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to spending time with you in Tuscany next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oh, what a VIEW!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We have stayed at Summer Heights several times and each stay is the same, if not better! This was our first trip to the BVI with both of our young children and they LOVED the home! Plenty of shade and great times in the pool.

As we like to take a couple long vacations each year, it is important to us that the internet works flawlessly to be able to continue to work from time-to-time. The shade, the internet access, the pool and the view made this our best family vacation ever.

Barry & Roz are there to make sure your vacation is perfect. They are there when you need them and, otherwise, you will never see them during your vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

My four children ages 19 to 25 and I spent a wonderful Spring Break at Summer Heights. The home is lovely. The owners are very hospitable, and the view is out of a postcard.
Barry and Roz truly treat their guests as guests. One is made to feel very at home. They provided us with a meal plan option, and we ordered six meals. Each was restaurant worthy. Barry and Roz also were great sources for places to go and things to do.
The home was well maintained, and comfortable for all. I would definitely love to return and certainly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Heights, Last week in January, 2010

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Summer heights was idyllic. The view is unbeatable, and the owners friendly. The kitchen is especially well equipped, and accommodated 4 gourmet cooks. The information book from the owners was well organized and maintained. The drawback is the steep driveway, which needed a better driver than I and a better 4 wheel drive vehicle than we had. Luckily, someone in our party could do it, but it needs to be considered.

Restaurants: Hated Pussers at Sopers' hole, Loved BananaKeet, really like Jolly Roger, and loved the Roti Palace, a tiny joint in Roadtown. Enjoyed sailing and snorkeling with Patouche 2, though they were far (East End) and the boat was not so well maintained. Crew was great though. Did not like the spa service from West End so much. Prices were higher than advertised, and massage therapists were uneven. One was great, one was awful. Bobby's in Roadtown was a much better market than Rite Way.

The description was accurate, and provided all the relevant information. The Property was clean and well maintained. The Customer service was kind and outstanding. The On-premises-owners were always available, never intrusive. I would decidedly return-- and recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Dream week in Tortola

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

6 of us spent a dream week at Summer Heights in January, 2010. The accomodations were superb. The view was magnificent, The ride up and down the mountainside was a white knuckler. Barry and Roz were incredibly helpful with the Magic Jack, car rentals, places to go. We went to 2 different beaches, charted a sailboat to go snorkelling, spent a day in Roadtown wandering, and had massages and bodywraps done at the villa. With the massages, one needs to be very clear if the therapist is too deep. Roz and Barry have a very complete book with island information as well as villa notes for one's use and answered all questions quickly. The cleaning lady, Dian, found my little bag of jewelry, set it aside safely and it has been posted to me in FLorida.

Tortola is spectacular, the locals are friendly and helpful and we happily spent many hours reading, sunning, eating, swimming and doing yoga or chi gung on the patio.

We loved Bananakeet Cafe for sunset and had a wonderful dinner there. Ditto a great lunch at the Roti Palace. La Dolce Vita had delecious gelato. Food and service at Pusser's was mediocore. Service at The Jolly Roger was excellent and food was ok. We loved the folks at Smuggler's Bay who rented chairs and provided food and drinks were great.
The museum on Main St. in Roadtown is well done and informative.


All memories go in my Rolodex of fine memories.

Hopefully we shall get back there for another amazing vacation next year.

Stephanie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review