reviews for: listing #56214 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Seaside Haven
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Twin Lakes Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $275 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Best location in Santa Cruz for easy access to beach and town

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We spent a great week at the house, and it was the perfect location. We were able to amble to the beach (best on in Santa Cruz for relaxing without the noise of the campers), and a quick drive brought us to town or Capitola for lots of strolling, shopping, and eateries. [Swear by Gayle's for take-out lunch or dinner and awesome pastries for b'fast.] The house was very good for me and my two older teen daughters. Enough places that we could each find our place for quiet time. The deck and hot tub were a nice added treat to star gaze at night. Shyamal - thanks for a great time in CA!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely house

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

We stayed at this house for 2 nights in April, it's really close to the sea and there's a nice walk along the coast to capitola. In the evenings there are fires on the beach so it's a lovely stroll. The boardwalk fair was fun, we're Brits so it had to be done and the best ride is definitely the old roller coaster ! Most things shut by 10pm, including extinguishing fires, but for a restful, and laid back break this was perfect. The wraparound deck, gardens and hot tub are such a treat. We hung out a lot on the deck and loved seeing and hearing lots of birds. Thanks shaymal for a great stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Beauty in Santa Cruz

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

I have stayed at Seaside Haven in 2008 and 2011.
The garden at Seaside Haven is magical. A spacious deck wraps around
the back of the house. A few steps down the garden wraps around the
deck, replete with huge jade plants and wildflowers. Ensconced in the
deck is an ample hot tub/ Jacuzzi. Lying there one has perfect
privacy, and looking up one sees the branches of a huge cypress tree
arching over from the garden. The house is magical also – all dark
wood with a high cathedral ceiling. Step out the front door, look
left, and one sees the sea shining in the near distance. Open a
window upstairs and one hears the surf. For me, Seaside Haven is the
heart of Santa Cruz. LB (Vermont and New York)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great little house - close to beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

This house is in a great location. Quiet neighborhood within walking distance to the beach and several local restaurants and coffee houses. The house is perfect for kids. The upstairs room is like a hideout. There were tvs and dvd players in the upstairs bedroom and the family room. The jacuzzi was also very nice. The backyard is like a sanctuary, very peacefl and relaxing with a nice deck where you can bbq and eat outside. The house is fully equipped and the owner was very responsive to any additional accomodations as well as provided advice on local eateries. We had a wonderful time and plan on staying at this house again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

The seaside haven is a very pleasant place to stay in Santa Cruz. The location is ideal. It is in a quiet neighborhood only two blocks from the beach. There are several very nice restaurants you can get to by walking down the beach. No parking worries during busy times. There is an excellent swim center about a mile away, if you like lap swimming, water aerobics, or just splashing around. The house itself is very pleasant. It has all the comforts of home, has lots of space, and is light and cheery. The wrap-around deck downstairs is very spacious and is a very nice area to relax and have a meal outside. The back yard is beautiful, private and very relaxing and pleasant. You can sit on the deck or in the hot tub and listen to the birds and forget everything. The upstairs bedroom is very sunny and pleasant and has a very nice deck attached. That bedroom has its own TV and dvd player which is ideal for families. The owner is pleasant and helpful, I felt very well taken care of. I will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Beach House

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

The owner was there to greet us.We felt very comfortable and relaxed as soon as we stepped in in the door.Great set up with space enough to have a great dinner party and get together.We had full use of an amazing kitchen and a beautiful zen backyard with a hot hot tub!I want to make a tradition of coming back to this exact house every year,so close to the beach and very quiet.Also my little pug loved it.Thankyou Shyamal you are very gracious to share your peaceful house with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sun, surf and peace - Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

The property is conveniently located between Santa Cruz downtown and Capitola, a block away from Twin Lakes Beach and about 2 miles away from Pleasure Point, a splendid break for longboard surfing at low tide. The neighbors are friendly and the atmosphere of the neighborhood is laid back. The house is nice, unassuming on the outside but smartly laid out and functional on the inside. The hot tub and shower in the deck area are great treats. Our toddler daughters took the bedroom upstairs and we took the one downstairs, contiguous to the bathroom. We had a fantastic week in mid August. We’d spend our average day at the beach until 5:00 pm, then would surf low tide at Pleasure Point until 8:00 pm, relax in the hot tub as night fell, and would finish with a late dinner. Fantastic week, lots of sun and surf. For wetsuit and board rentals go to RipCurl @ 41st St. Thanks Shyamal for being a considerate, helpful and punctual proprietor.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect House and Location for Your Vacation

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Our weekend vacation was great. The house is located only a block from the ocean, in a quiet neighborhood. It has everything one would want in a vacation rental with all the amenities. The deck and the hot tub were very inviting. You are very close to the boardwalk, restaurants, and all the Santa Cruz attractions. The house is located in a great location with privacy and entertainment very near. We look forward to our return trip later this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect House and Location for Your Vacation

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Our weekend vacation was great! The house is located only a block from the ocean, in a quiet neighborhood. It has everything one would want in a vacation rental with all the amenities. The deck and the hot tub were very inviting. You are very close to the boardwalk, restaurants, and all the Santa Cruz attractions. The house is located in a great location with privacy and entertainment very near. We look forward to our return trip later this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sun, surf and peace - Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The property is conveniently located between Santa Cruz downtown and Capitola, a block away from Twin Lakes Beach and about 2 miles away from Pleasure Point, a splendid break for longboard surfing at low tide. The neighbors are friendly and the atmosphere of the neighborhood is laid back. The house is nice, unassuming on the outside but smartly laid out and functional on the inside. The hot tub and shower in the deck area are great treats. Our toddler daughters took the bedroom upstairs and we took the one downstairs, contiguous to the bathroom. We had a fantastic week in mid August. We’d spend our average day at the beach until 5:00 pm, then would surf low tide at Pleasure Point until 8:00 pm, relax in the hot tub as night fell, and would finish with a late dinner. Fantastic week, lots of sun and surf. For wetsuit and board rentals go to RipCurl @ 41st St. Thanks Shyamal for being a considerate, helpful and punctual proprietor.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing beach house

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

The owner was there to greet us.We felt very comfortable and relaxed as soon as we stepped in in the door.Great set up with space enough to have a great dinner party and get together.We had full use of an amazing kitchen and a beautiful zen backyard with a hot hot tub!I want to ma ke a tradition of coming back to this exact house every year,so close to the beach and very quiet.Also my little pug loved it.Thankyou Shamayal you are very graciuos to share your peaceful house with us.Elaine Lofas

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Ideal Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

The seaside haven is a very pleasant place to stay in Santa Cruz. The location is ideal. It is in a quiet neighborhood only two blocks from the beach. There are several very nice restaurants you can get to by walking down the beach. No parking worries during busy times. There is an excellent swim center about a mile away, if you like lap swimming, water aerobics, or just splashing around. The house itself is very pleasant. It has all the comforts of home, has lots of space, and is light and cheery. The wrap-around deck downstairs is very spacious and is a very nice area to relax and have a meal outside. The back yard is beautiful, private and very relaxing and pleasant. You can sit on the deck or in the hot tub and listen to the birds and forget everything. The upstairs bedroom is very sunny and pleasant and has a very nice deck attached. That bedroom has its own TV and dvd player which is ideal for families. The owner is pleasant and helpful, I felt very well taken care of. I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great little house in quiet neighborhood close to

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

This house is in a great location. Quiet neighborhood within walking distance to the beach and several local restaurants and coffee houses. The house is perfect for kids. The upstairs room is like a hideout. There were tvs and dvd players in the upstairs bedroom and the family room. The jacuzzi was also very nice. The backyard is like a sanctuary, very peacefl and relaxing with a nice deck where you can bbq and eat outside. The house is fully equipped and the owner was very responsive to any additional accomodations as well as provided advice on local eateries. We had a wonderful time and plan on staying at this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Peace and beauty in Santa Cruz

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

I have stayed at Seaside Haven in 2008 and 2011.
The garden at Seaside Haven is magical. A spacious deck wraps around
the back of the house. A few steps down the garden wraps around the
deck, replete with huge jade plants and wildflowers. Ensconced in the
deck is an ample hot tub/ Jacuzzi. Lying there one has perfect
privacy, and looking up one sees the branches of a huge cypress tree
arching over from the garden. The house is magical also – all dark
wood with a high cathedral ceiling. Step out the front door, look
left, and one sees the sea shining in the near distance. Open a
window upstairs and one hears the surf. For me, Seaside Haven is the
heart of Santa Cruz. LB (Vermont and New York)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review