reviews for: listing #56246 - South Padre Island, Texas Townhome rental

Paradiso sulla Parata
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Wouldn't book anywhere else!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Were barely back a week from our vacation and already I miss it. Just want to thank Debbie and Larry for being such great landlords (even if it is for just 1 week). All that I can say about the property is AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! I would recommend it to anyone looking for an excellant place to stay in South Padre. This is the second time that I have rented this property since 2009, and everything is still in tiptop shape with all the ammenities of home. We didn't have as many this trip (only 6 adults), which means we had more than adequate space for each of us, but even when I rented before with total of 6 adults, 2 teens and 5 year old, there was still adequate space and then some.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to get such a great review from repeat renters. Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for a great tasting Pineapple!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful vacation in SPI at Paradiso. The house is beautiful and very spacious. The kitchen is amazing. It is a short walk to the beach. It was great to have the elevator for my parents to use.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We just returned from our trip to S Padre and this place was amazing. The house is beautiful. The kitchen was huge and the master suite and bathroom was perfect. It is a very short walk to beach access. We took a lot of stuff to the beach so we would grab a parking spot early and walk back and forth to the house when we needed a break from the sun. Debbie was very helpful and told us about the sea turtle release that happened while we were there. It was a wonderful vacation and great place to stay.

Thank you,

Kyle

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!!!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We are veteran beach renters and this house was awesome in soo many ways. Very convient, spacious and beautiful. Cuddos!!! to the designer they had lovely hand painted art all over. The elevator was a big plus we never used the stairs and the third floor was very spacious as well. Usually when we stay at beach rentals we always have to buy some things but not with this house. Everything was there for you.

Debbie and her husband were awesome they never bothered us at all. They made our stay enjoyable... SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easter Weekend

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

I'll begin by saying that the house truly met our expectations. It was spacious, clean and the location was not bad at all. I was however VERY disappointed with the owners demeanor. I initially stated that 2 adults and 2 children would be going (which was the original plan), then when I received the rental agreement I saw that the capacity was up to 8 adults. I didn't figure it would be a problem for my teenage daughters to invite some friends along, totaling 8 people. Upon arriving the owner Larry didn't seem happy that we brought more people along. His wife, Debbie then came by asking for another $100 dollars because there was more head count (still totaling 8 according to her rental agreement). I conceded and paid her without a rebuttal. We had a bbq one night and the owners kept walking the dog and constantly keeping an eye on us to see how many people were over. The day of check out Debbie was not happy that the bathroom trash had not been thrown out (although it was never made clear where to throw out the trash) and that the towels were left on the floor. I thought it was customary to leave dirty linen on the floor, but apparently she expected us to have washed the towels before leaving. She would pick up a towel and say "ewww, ewww" as in disgust. I thought the cleaning fee covered the basic cleaning, we did after all sweep, and wash the dishes and put the trash in bags. It took about 45 minutes for her to do the final inspection of the house before returning the deposit. She then closed it off by giving me a speech about exceeding the maximum capacity of allowed guests, which we had already discussed when I paid her the extra $100 dollars. I felt patronized by an elementary school teacher. I will probably never rent here again

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: When you sign a contract for 2 adults and 2 children I give you a Total Cost for 4 people. If you show up with 8 people I will charge you for extra people. Pretty standard. When another car and another truck show up for the weekend that goes over max occupancy. I will mention that at check out. We clean and take care of our property so that it is always in very good shape for the next group. Please let us know if your plans change so we can continue to have awesome rentals.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome Accomodations

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This was my family's first stay in South Padre and of course I was concerned about getting a place that would meet our standards. This home and its owners exceeded our expectations. Debbie and Larry were very hospitable and helped with any concerns we had. The house is very clean, spacious and stylish. The elevator is a tremendous help with groceries and luggage. Outdoor shower is perfect for rinsing after a day at the beach. Kitchen is equipped with everythiing you need for cooking. We will definately make this our regular place to stay when we visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfecto!!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

What an amazing property!!! As other reviewers have noted, the pictures here don't do this home any justice. But trust me, once you stay, you'll be taking pictures of it. Absolutely beautiful property designed by the owner!

Speaking of the owners: as gracious as can be! From the time we arrived to the time we left, nothing but good ol' southern hospitality. Saw Debbie walking the dog and she waved like she was just one of the neighbors. Really made you feel like you're at home.

Now about the property. First off, VERY close to the beach. Don''t let a Google map fool you. There's a beach access point within a 2 minute walk from the home. The two 1st floor bedrooms were the perfect size for our kids. Love the sinks in the bathrooms! On the 2nd floor, beautiful living room area and kitchen. The kids loved hanging out at the kitchen. In fact, they mostly ate on the island because it's HUGE. The washer and dryer were handy and we loved hanging out on the balconies located on the 2nd and 3rd floors. The elevator was a FANTASTIC addition, really helped out a lot with groceries and luggage. And the master suite is GORGEOUS!! The bathroom alone rivals many 5-star hotels.

But to me, it's the little things that make a difference and that is where this property really shines. First, the instant hot water is a fantastic touch. You don't appreciate it until your whole family's trying to shower down at the SAME TIME after a long day at Schlitterbahn or the beach. A normal tank water heater probably couldn't handle that demand but this water heater handled it just fine. Second, the water softener. Living in Texas, you know about hard water, so it's nice after hanging out at the beach all day, you can take a shower and not be as dry as sandpaper when you come out. Again, a few small touches, but loved them!

We had never rented a vacation home before, but Larry and Debbie made the experience easy and care-free. Thank you Larry and Debbie for your graciousness and we HIGHLY recommend this home when you come to South Padre. We'll be back, that's for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

European at its best!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We were totally impressed with this property and appreciated the clean simplicity of the home furnishings making it easy to maintain while we vacationed. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and eating in the spacious dining area. Cooking nightly was our priority and would recommend if you plan to do the same, to bring along a few of your favorite pots and pans from home since those were limited. Toaster and coffee pot were provided. From the moment we arrived, the owner greeted us and was gracious and accommodating as if we were her own personal guests. She toured us upon arrival and made herself available if needed. Garage provided for our vehicles was a bonus. It was also a quick walk to the beach which made return walks if needed easy in the heat. We were extremely pleased with selecting this property and plan to return next summer or sooner!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Beach Home

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

The house is amazing. The pictures do not do this home justice. When I google mapped the home the beach was very close but when we actually got there I was shocked that we were maybe less than a minute from the beach access point. We walked to and from the beach every morning and also at night.The beach at night is beautiful to walk and it was also fun to see all of the people digging for crabs. The home is in a lovely area with shopping everywhere and a grocery store just down the road.

My husband and I were traveling with my mother and father-in-law and four children, 8,10,11,16 and a 3yr old English Bulldog. The house was a wonderful family home. We did use the elevator and had no problems. Our bulldog baby is a little heafty and he is not a stair climbing dog(ha ha!) so he occasionally rode in the elevator to go to the 2nd floor. As far as our kennel, we kept it on the first floor in the entry way. It is very cool and the floors are marble which always is a plus with animals.

The outdoor balconies were wonderful and we spent alot of time in the evening outside. This house would be a great house for any type of family or group of adults. Debbie and Larry are great and are onhand if needed.We will be returning to this home again and I have no reservations in giving this home 5 stars.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A True Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This is a beautiful property. The pictures did not do it justice. It was more than comfortable and very convenient to the beach. We loved cooking and hanging out in that beautiful kitchen.
And I don't want to conclude without mentioning what a gracious host Debbie was. She was so friendly and helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

South Padre Vacation

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

This South Padre townhome felt more like an upscale, downtown high rise apartment with it's granite countertops, marble floors, GORGEOUS master bathroom and custom contemporary art work. It is simply beautiful and the owners were helpful at check in, check out, and they promptly came to our rescue when the elevator got stuck with someone in it! (It may have been our fault, but yes, someone did get stuck in the elevator for 20 minutes.) The location was within walking distance to the beach, and close to shopping. The washer and dryer were new and worked great- we used them every day!

Unfortunately, the set up of the townhome, with its VERY steep marble stairs (very dangerous with the children), glass tables in the living room and the fact that there was only one bath tub (on the third floor), I would not recommend it for families with young children. We were travelling with four kids two and under, and wet babies don't do well in showers.) Every time we came back from the beach and the kids needed baths, we would have to take turns bathing the children in the one tub. Albeit, the tub was very nice, with it's jets and deep design, an adult had to climb into the tub with the children to bathe them, because you couldn't just lean over and take care of business like a normal tub. I know it's a SMALL detail, but if you've got young kids, you know what I mean!! The tub situation made for a VERY difficult time with the children. But then again, I'm sure that this home was not designed with kids in mind.

That being said, this vacation home would be PERFECT for adults not travelling with young kids, families with teenagers, or for a romantic getaway for multiple couples. It's absolutely stunning, everything in it is new and fresh, and the owners were easy to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are not sure why they waited 20 min before they called us about being stuck in the elevator. My husband went over and simply pushed the elevator button and the door opened. This is the first, and hopefully the last, time this has happened. I would only ask future renters to call us quickly if the elevator is a problem. The elevator is really handy for bringing in groceries or luggage. I would also like to add that there are handheld shower heads in all of the showers which could be helpful in bathing children. I'm sure it is whatever you get use to.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation made perfect with beautiful accommodation

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

"This was our first time to South Padre and it was one of our best vacations. Larry and Debbie's home is amazing. We loved the space, it was just like bringing our home to the beach. Location Location Location need I say more. We will definately make South Padre one of our preferred destinations and this will be our ideal spot to stay time and time again. The elevator was perfect for loading and unloading. Debbie is a sweetheart!Thanks again! "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

vacation made perfect with beautiful accomodations

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

This was our first time to South Padre and it was one of our best vacations. Larry and Debbie's home is amazing. We loved the space, it was just like bringing our home to the beach. Location Location Location need I say more. We will definately make South Padre one of our preferred destinations and this will be our ideal spot to stay time and time again. The elevator was perfect for loading and unloading. Debbie is a sweetheart!Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review