reviews for: listing #56262 - Sugarloaf Key, Florida House rental

Bayside Beauty
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sugarloaf Shores
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,500 - $10,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Holidays

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

We stayed for a month over Christmas 2013 and New Years 2014 and could not have been more pleased. Every aspect of the home was as portrayed, and perhaps even better. Our entire family was easily accommodated with ages ranging from 2 months to over 60. We truly felt we were at home away from home! The heated pool was wonderful for the young and the old, both morning and night. Star gazing was amazing through the palm trees. Coffee ( we particularly liked Baby's coffee, which was close by) on the lanai or the deck area by the bay was a great way to start the day. The amenities of the storm shutters on the lanai and elevator were added bonuses. We loved the private location with close proximity to Key West, Bahia Honda And Marathon affording a wide option of activities from shopping, dining, swimming with the dolphins, and even sky diving. A trip to the Dry Tortuga was great day that you need to book well in advance. Many great dining experiences with some of our favorites being the Prime Steakhouse, Little Palm Island but perhaps the best find was Kaya, which was particularly close. Grilling our fresh catch and enjoying fresh stone crab the home was also a highlight.
Truly a wonderful stay that we would strongly recommend and would like to repeat again in the future!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location !

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We loved the location of this rental home. We were just minutes outside Key West for all the great activities yet far enough away in a secluded quiet neighborhood. My kids (teenagers and young adults) especially loved fishing on the large oversized dock. There was an abundance of fish to be caught, primarily snapper. The marina for live bait was right across the street. Within 10 minutes of the house were great restaurants with friendly service, better than Key West. We especially liked the Square Grouper and Mangrove Mamas. The home was comfortable and well equipped with anything we needed. I would definitely recommend this home for a keys vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

This is the Most amazing home and pool!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Our group of 3 couples stayed here and all of us loved it so much we never wanted to leave! Truly beautiful inside and out, you will want for nothing but more time there! We all said we would love to go and stay in this place again and again.
Breath taking sun rises and sun sets! We used the pool everyday! You will not be disappointed with this place! Close to so many wonderful places to go see and lots to do or do nothing at all and just enjoy the pool and home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Exceeded expectations

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We just got back from a week at this property, and it was fantastic. Great house and furnishings, excellent location, and the owners are easy and fun to work with. Believe all the reviews, because there isn't anything to complain about. We stayed May 11 to 18, and agreed we wanted to come back. There is a lot to do in the area, and the house location is perfect..

Captain Larry is a must see. Great boat on property also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This vacation was easily 5 stars! Our family of 7 could not have asked for more. Everything listed was as described. The house was clean, and because there was a beautiful tropical breeze the screened in lanai was used all day and night. When the house is fully opened, and fans on - no air conditioning was needed. Only one day when there was no breeze at all did we need the air on and it also worked - keeping the house very comfortable. Julie, the gardener and housekeeper was amazing. All her recommendations we used were great. Bobolu's Pizza at mile marker 10 has fantastic pizza. Mangrove Momma' s also was good. They had a great band there too and a few of us enjoyed a night out there. Fancie Fish at Mile Marker 22 has fresh fish you can pick up for supper.

The pool was amazing. We used it all week and it seemed as though our grandchildren never left it. In fact, whenever we went somewhere, we were always excited to get back to the house and enjoy it some more. We used it to practice snorkeling, as a trip to the coral reef was recommended but weather conditions on the day we planned would not permit. (We will do that next time.)
Night swimming in the pool, not to be missed. Lay on your back and watch the stars through the palm trees. Star gazing on the clear nights was out-of-this-world. We saw shooting stars too!

We also swam off the dock a little and the water was warm - you can swim over to the shallower area and the water is very clear.

One of the highlights of our trip was the rental of the Sweda's beautiful boat, captained by Captain Larry White. A day in paradise is all we can say (5 stars go to Captain Larry) With a 7 and 9 year old he showed us a great day fishing in the shallows and we caught enough fish for two dinners and then off to a beautiful private beach for swimming. We were unsure if it would be too much for the kids but they loved every minute of it.

It was a breezy week but Friday no wind so the sea kayaks were out first thing and used all day. Even our nine year old grandson had no trouble with using the kayak. You can fish off the dock and we caught small ones that we threw back and we even saw a barracuda that seemed to live there.

The house was extremely comfortable and spacious. We cooked many meals in their great kitchen and ate on the big table on the lanai. Great music system and tv's. Lots of towels, great bedding and the beds were very comfortable. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Villa!! (continued)

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

(continued from previous)

The central air conditioning system worked perfectly, including in the bathrooms. The ceiling fans in the living room, kitchen, bedrooms, and porch worked great and helped keep a very comfortable airflow throughout the house.

The large porch outside the living room runs the full length of the house, has couches and a large table with six chairs, and is fully screened in -- which made it a tranquil and comfortable place to sit and eat dinner, enjoying the beautiful weather without being bothered by any insects. You can also darken the porch by lowering the electric shades that cover the screened walls of the porch.

The pool outside is gorgeous and large, and very clean, with a bridge over the middle. Our children had a terrific time swimming in this pool. The pool area has plenty of seating, and a cozy hammock which we also enjoyed. The villa is right on the water and has a boat lift, and also has three kayaks (which we regretfully did not have a chance to use because the winds were too strong while we were there and the water was too rough).

The villa, like many others in the area, is built on stilts. For those who have difficulty walking up the flight of stairs from the parking area among the stilts to the villa itself upstairs, there is a fully functional private elevator. This is a thoughtful piece of equipment that makes this villa accessible to anyone.

The street-side of the villa is beautifully landscaped, and the semicircular driveway is neatly paved with decorative paving stones.There is ample parking area for at least three cars, and probably even more, along the driveway and among the stilts beneath the house. There is a utility room beneath the stilts, near the pool, containing a washing machine and dryer. This room was musty and humid, and can use some air fresheners and a new air conditioner, but it served its purpose and the washer/dryer worked well.

In summary, we are grateful to the owners, Kris and John, and the property manager Julie, for allowing our family to enjoy a terrific vacation in this home. We highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the lower Keys, and would be thrilled to stay here again on our next trip to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Zalman and Gila. It seems that this site did not post your entire review as the first page is missing. I'd like to respond to the laundry room being musty. It shouldn't be musty at all because we put a new air conditioner in there last spring, and there is a big ceiling fan. We normally go to the house each year and clean out the storage / launday area, Clorox the walls and floor, and make it smell wonderful. However, we haven't been able to get there this year yet because of illness. I'll speak with our manager, and see if she can spiff it up so that it's not offensive to anyone. Thank you for letting us know. We respond very quickly to any and every concern that our guests may bring up.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

This beautiful house had all that was needed for a perfect stay in paradise. Ocean kayaks, a hammock on the water, a large pool, palm trees with lush landscaping and three refrigerators to keep the beverages cold. a peaceful and quiet neighborhood and only 16 miles from Duval St. Kris and John made everything so easy and Julie was always nearby if needed. Our family us already beginning to plan our trip for next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

leslie

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

This was one of the best weeks of vacation I have had in years! The house is described accurately, easy to get to. The neighborhood is quiet and easy to find, the neighbors are from all over and very friendly. All of the living space is upstairs, with an enclosed lanai which increases the square footage significantl;y and you always can feel like the outdoors is indoors. The view is the bay which is like having a private spot to yourself. We kayaked and sat on the deck for hours, feed fish off the dock. The pool is a free form lap pool and the heater was fabulous for the cooler evenings. The house is inpeccably maintained and outfitted with every thing you could need.
You are only about 12 miles outside of Key West and can go up to Marathon or above with ease. Lots of resturants which are local without having to go into to town if you don't want to. I highly recommend this as a destination, and will look forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home in Sugarloaf

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

We just got back from our stay at this wonderful house. The home was extremely clean and well equipped. We spent alot of time in and around the pool enjoying the view and a beverage. The property manager (Julie) is outstanding. She met us at the property and gave us the grand tour. Many great places to eat nearby. Our favorite is still Mangrove Mamas for a taste of the keys. It has new owners that were wonderful and has started serving breakfast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Helene, PTC. Ga

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Our stay at the Bayside Beauty was the very best! We were down there with our family to celebrate our Anniversary. We loved the house but we spent most of our time on the deck and in the BEAUTIFUL pool. We were also able to tie our boat up to the dock which was very convenient. We drove the boat out to Looe Key, several times and the snorkeling was amazing!
We were so comfortable t the house that we only went into Key West one time. We had dinner at the Commodore, which is right on the water. A very nice and elegant place.
This is a perfect home for a family reunion. Kris and John were extremely helpful in setting up our stay. They were gracious and very attentive to all the details of the house. I also want to say that, Julie, their house manager, was a doll and so very helpful in answering our questions. She even accepted some packages for us that were delivered to the house!! The home was immaculate and there were amenities included that you don't usually find in a vacation rental, like lots of towels, bedding, cleaning supplies, dish and laundry soap, even spices! The listing description was right on.
Thank you Kris and John for a wonderful vacation at your lovely home in the Keys.
I will definitely recommend Bayside Beauty to our friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

As presented and then some

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

The grounds are lush, the water beautiful, the location quiet and private. The home is very comfortable but you won't spend much time in it. I don't recall turning on the TV! Just the right distance from Key West. We would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private and quiet. Will not disappoint.

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Bayside Beauty is located in the upscale neighborhood of South Point. Our September rental period was peaceful and quiet.

Your hosts, John and Kristan, are obviously very special people, genuinely concerned with their guests, and attentive to our special needs for wheelchair accessibility. The lift from ground level caught our attention to this home. It is an essential feature for wheelchair users, yet also convenient for anyone having trouble negotiating a flight of stairs. Kris went out of her way to make sure no major barriers were in the home and small obstacles such as the 4” step from lanai into the living area can be accommodated with a small ramp.

Tropical landscaping with heavy foliage wrap and shade the pool in intimate privacy. My wife loved a morning swim. September in the Keys is hot and humid, but the pool temperature was comfortably cool.

There is a well-trained school of mangrove snappers off the dock that can pinch a shrimp off a line faster than a politician can grab a Dollar from your pocket. The waters can be quite shallow outside the channels, which made the area great for kayaking. We did not see many powerboats and had all of Sugarloaf Sound to ourselves.

At night, the large, waterfront deck becomes an excellent, stargazing platform. Far enough from more developed areas of the Keys, Sugarloaf skies are less polluted by urban lights. The sky sparkles with the Milky Way clearly visible. Time it right and you may be treated to a wonderful display if your visit happens to coincide with one of the many annual meteor showers that occur throughout the year.

We will definitely return for a future visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maureen

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was a beautiful place to stay! My family of three children (ages 10-13), my husband, and my 80 year old in-laws came to the keys for the first time. This was really a wonderful place to stay. My kids loved the pool! We have never stayed anywhere with such a beautiful and large pool. We also enjoyed kayaking in the bay and looking at the reef and the beautiful sea life in the clear water. We took many trips into Key West just 15 miles away and rented bikes from a bike shop in Big Pine. We also went to Boondocks (in Big Pine) to play miniature golf. Our washing machine gave us some trouble during the stay and the property manager was on top of it and got it repaired as quick as possible. Also, to note that we received our security deposit back in the mail just 5 days after we left. That is the fastest we have ever received our check back from previous rentals. I would definitely recommend staying here! (The place also has an elevator to help those who have difficulty with stairs)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Phenomenal Rental Home & Owners - Renting Again

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

As seasoned renters in the Keys, we can't say enough about the beautiful home, the accomodations, the property manager, and the owners who made our stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Our experience was such that we are renting again there next year. The home itself was beutiful, exceptionally clean, well kept and very well equiped. We rented a boat and kept it right at the dock for gulf and reef access. The owners and manager are truly phenomenal and genuine people who are very well organized; not the case with other rentals we have had. We alerted them that one pool filter may have stopped working and they were already addressing it in 15 minutes to make sure our stay was unimpaired. They all put a great deal of care into making sure your stay is an exceptional one. We would highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

* PERFECT*

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

PERFECT- PERFECT- PERFECT
This was are 9th year staying in the Keys and we stayed at a different house every year. Every year we would say how nice the house was but we would try another house the following year. Not next year. We already called to reserve this house for our next family vacation In 2013.
I would like to thank Kris and John again, even though I only talked to you a couple of times you made me feel like family. The reviews say it all.
PERFECT - PERFECT - PERFECT

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Time---Great Place---Great Vacation!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Wow! Can't wait to come back! I feel that I was lucky to find your house for our vacation. We all had a great time, fishing, kayaking, relaxing poolside, and just hanging out on the deck by the water. The house was clean, spacious, comfortable, and set up with everything you need, just like being home. The location was perfect for us, being the Sugarloaf Marina is just a very short distance, (basicly across the street) for all of our guided tarpon fishing adventures. The fishing is great in this area! It is also not far from Key West, so you can enjoy all the activities in that area. We have been to the Keys in the past and stayed in different hotels, but this trip was my most enjoyable with all the convenience's to make it a great time. It was also a pleasure dealing with Kris as to all the rental details. Kris followed through with every step. from the start of our deposit, to the quick return of the deposit after we returned home. We are already making plans for next years return trip. Can't wait to get back!
Thanks again, Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

As the saying goes......it does not get any better than this! From our first inquiry over a year ago to today, Kris has been very responsive and a joy to deal with. She always follows through and has earned our complete trust. As to the place, the pictures do not do it justice. A picture might be worth a thousand words but can never adequately convey the feeling you have sitting by the pool with a gentle breeze coming off the bay. It is also the little things that Kris and her husband provide that makes the stay so pleasant. It was nice not having to buy basics like detergents, paper towels, etc. Other placers we have stayed nearby required that you provide everything. Julie, Kris's maintenance supervisor, does a remarkable job getting the place spotless in the few hours she has between renters. When you walk in you feel like you are the first family to ever use the house. Bottom line.....it really doesn't get any better than this!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PARADISE FOUND!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My family and I have rented this lovely home for the past two winters while vacationing in the keys. Aside from the comfort and elegance that the house offers, the views are out of this world! It's like landing in the middle of paradise. The pool is amazing and the house is spacious and beautifully decorated. This is the perfect fit for our family of 7. The one level living and the elevator are perfect for any special needs that a family may have. With all the comforts of home, the pool, the bay and the kayaks we find it hard to leave to do anything else! We already have our reservation for next year. Don't miss out on this stunnig beauty by the bay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just another day in Paradise...

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

First of all we would like to thank Jon and Kris for sharing their beautiful home, it is even more beautiful than the pictures show. The furnishings and decorations are all top notch. The kitchen has everything you can think of to make a gourmet feast including seasonings! Julie keeps the place spotless and responds promptly to any questions or concerns you might have. There were a few minor repairs needed while we were there and they were handled quickly and no expense was spared to make things right.
I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking to relax in a beautiful tropical setting with easy access to Key West. If you feel they need for a little adventure/exercise it is a great neighborhood to walk in with a walking path easily accessible and kayaks provided at the house. We also rented bikes from Big Pine Bicycle rental. They were reasonable and for a small fee delivered and picked them up at the house.
Whenever we come to the Keys we have a few favorite restaurants: Pepe's in Key West, No Name Pub in Big Pine Key and Hogfish on Stock Island. Though our favorite thing to do is pick up the fresh fish, shrimp or lobster from Fishbusterz on Stock Island and create our own feast! This was easy to do in the gourmet kitchen and seating was no problem for 6 adults on the lanai.
We had the pleasure of staying at the house during a full moon and the moon reflected on the water is breathtaking as are the multitude of stars visible in the sky. Despite being on vacation we made the effort to get up early and watch the sun rise over the water while drinking a cup of Baby's Coffee, another favorite local spot.
We have rented multiple times in the Keys and this was the most pleasant experience yet, the owners care about their house and renters. While the deposit required might seem high, it is consistent with the quality of the residence and was returned immediately upon our return. We returned home on Saturday and the deposit check was here by Wednesday!
We will be sure to return to visit with our local cat and iguanas as well! Thanks again ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PHENOMENAL vacation house!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

We rented the Bayside Beauty for the USS SPRUANCE Commissioning from 27 Sept to 4 Oct 2011. There were 6 adults and 2 children in our party. We had a hefty order to fill - needing something close to Key West, on the water, with a pool, with an elevator, that slept 8 comfortably - this filled the bill and more!

The pictures are EXACTLY what you get. BEAUTIFUL! The home was spacious enough for 8 of us, we LIVED on the screened in porch and down by the pool/water. The bedrooms were super comfy and even the pull out couch was decent.

The home is stocked with EVERYTHING that you can possibly need - tons of dishes, silverware, glassware, pots, pans, etc - perfect!

The owners and the caretakers are a DELIGHT to work with - very accommodating and always prompt with responses to questions.

Location wise - about 20 mins to Key West. Also good to note that the only grocery shopping (big store) is also about 20 mins out (either north or south). There is a cute little restaurant not too far away (Mangrove Mamas) that we ate at once - really good! Not really in the "thick of things" for shopping/touristy things - much more secluded and peaceful. EXACTLY what we wanted though.

The ONLY improvement that could possibly be made to this property is to put a 3/4 bath downstairs in the laundry area. Having a toilet, sink and shower down there would have made this property perfect in every way. :-D But this is just being picky. LOL!

All in all - we'd go back in a heartbeat and can't recommend this property enough!

Thank you!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Jennifer. We're very gratified that you enjoyed staying at our home. The only reason that there is not a full bathroom downstairs is that the county won't allow it. If they did, we'd have both a bedroom and bathroom down there.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantabulous!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This house is just as great as the pictures show, if not better. The house was very clean inside and out, including the pool, which is all very important to me. The only issue we had with the house is noone wanted to leave. We could have stayed forever and been very happy sipping colodas by the pool, fishing or kayaking on the bay, so much fun! You will not be disappointed in this home. The owners and property keeper were friendly and easy to deal with. And for those who may worry, we got our deposit check back within the week we returned home. It is close to Key West but far enough to be peaceful. This was definately a great choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Total Luxury

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My family and I just spent our vacation at this Bayside Beauty. You can definitely trust the pictures on this one. The home was just as magnificent as the pictures, plus a little more! I am from the south, and yes, I love to be barefoot. I immediately took off my shoes and felt that the floors were very clean. This matters to me as I have stayed in condos where the accommodations appeared clean, but after taking off my shoe...not as thoroughly as it should have been. The home is beautifully decorated and everything you can possibly need is furnished at the home. The grounds around the home are gorgeous...very tropical. We enjoyed a lot of our time relaxing under the shade of pallms trees...coconuts included. The site manager is there to welcome you with a friendly smile and all the local info you need to know. She continues to be available, via a simple call, if you have further questios or needs. The owners are fantastic as well. Emails were answered promptly each and every time. Our vacation mattered to the owners and they were accommodating in every way. Our vacation experience was well enriched by staying at the Bayside Beauty. I will try to book this home each time we visit the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Tropical Getaway

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Our experience was phenomenal. This home made it easy to truly waste away in paradise. It was the perfect setting to regroup with family who live far away. The home was clean, and well equipped. The gardens were lush and the pool was gorgeous. Kris and Julie were just a phone call away for any questions. We enjoyed snorkeling and kayaking right in the back yard. The boat lift was great to have. We rented a deckboat with a full bimini and had easy access to Marvin Key in the back-country, as well as, Looe Key offshore at the reef. The pool was so refreshing and loved the hammock! Swinging in the hammock turned into 3 hour naps for different family members. Great location - Key West is only 16 miles away and a wonderful local restaurant (Mangrove Mama's) is only a couple minutes from the front door. We have already recommended this home to friends. Cannot wait to return for our next reunion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even Better than the pictures!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

The pictures of this place really caught my eye and then when I read about how well it was equipped I made my reservation. However, in the back of my mind I was wondering if it would really be that nice when I got there and saw it in person. Well, now that I've been there I can answer that question with a resounding YES . . and more. First of all, the owner Kris and the property manager Julie, are great to work with. They not only handled all the administrative rental business efficiently, they also were great sources of information for local activities and interests. In regards to the property, the first thing I noticed when I pulled up was the beautiful landscaping that provides for a very lush, quiet and private setting. The house itself is equipped for just about anything you can think of. It even has an elevator and since I must use a wheelchair to get around, it was a necessity; and it worked flawlessly during my stay. The only problem with this place is the "tough" decisions it requires you to make . . "Do I swim in the awesome pool or the beautiful crystal clear bay?" . . Should we have drinks on the bay-side dock or enjoy a raised view from the expansive screened lanai?" You'll figure it out.

Of course you can have a fantastic vacation if you just stayed at the house; but it's location provides a perfect home base for day trips to the other Keys. My family and I made a couple trips to Key West and had a fantastic day at Bahai Honda State Park that included seeing a waterspout . . very cool.

We all had a great time at this beautiful home and hope to stay there again sometime. You can't go wrong with this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ALL YOU COULD ASK FOR

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We stayed in the Bayside Beauty in March 2011 and found the house to be even better than portrayed on the website.

The house was spacious, elegantly decorated, and had every convenience that one could want during a fabulous Keys vacation. The location on Sugarloaf Sound is stunning with gorgeous views from the house, the lanai, and the dock. Also, it was an easy drive to Key West. The pool was beautiful and the grounds were well manicured and attractive.

Kris was extremely helpful in answering our questions before our arrival and Julie, who greeted us on our arrival was a gem!! The house was spotless and any questions that we had were handled efficiently by Julie. Also Kris handled all administrative details in an efficient and professional manner.

We were very comfortable in this fantastic home and would definitely return to the "Bayside Beauty" the next time we are in the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Our stay at this home was a delightful. The owner Kris was very accommodating. My husband and I, along with our 1 year old daughter, my sister and my parents, rented this home and enjoyed it very much.
The house is beautiful! It’s very nicely decorated and fully stocked with everything we needed. My family loves to cook, so we made very good use of the large kitchen. We enjoyed the home cooked meals on the lanai where the view of the bay was lovely. The house resides in a very quiet residential neighborhood, perfect for a family to relax and enjoy the warm sun of the Florida Keys.
The pool was perfect, and we spent most of the time lounging there and fishing off the deck. Although my husband didn’t catch much, except a bunch of tiny fish, it was entertaining and we all enjoyed it. We used the kayaks, and paddled around the bay. Much fun was had by all.
The woman who takes care of the home, Julie, kept the house in perfect condition, and very clean. She was also very helpful in recommending two great restaurants. As per her recommendations, we tried The Square Grouper, and Bobalus Southern Café. Both had great food.
Overall, we had a wonderful vacation, and would definitely consider renting this home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home for a family reunion!

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

"Our stay at "Bayside Beauty" was absolutely extraordinary! The home is gorgeous and the accommodations for our family were perfect! There are two large beautiful bedrooms , one with an equally beautiful bathroom. The other smaller bedroom is perfect for two kids. We had one little one who enjoyed the pool but we could also feel confident in his safety because the access to the pool and dock could be controlled by a locked door and porch in the upper house. The sea kayaking off the dock was just the best and was ideal for everyone in the family as the bay is protected , or braver souls can venture around the key into much more challenging waters. The owners even provide various child and adult life preservers to accompany those paddlers.
The kitchen and great room are perfect for a family reunion , as all can be engaged in different activities whether it be cooking, eating, watching the big screen T.V . or even swimming and still be connected to each other by the openness of this lovely and spacious home.
The owners, as well as the staff who care for the home, are accommodating , friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and attended to. Kristan, the owner, even phoned grocers in the area to check their hours for Christmas Day since that is when we were worried about obtaining food! The home is cleaned by Julie who is very attentive to detail as well as friendly and very well informed about the area. Dwight is a very capable neighbor who helped us promptly with just a small plumbing issue.
The house is close to Key West, a spectacular beach called Bahai Honda, and any other amenity you might have. The neighborhood is beautiful and safe.
This home is a discovery in paradise that we would love to return to sometime in the future! "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion in an Extraordinary Setting!

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

Our stay at "Bayside Beauty" was absolutely extraordinary! The home is gorgeous and the accommodations for our family were perfect! There are two large beautiful bedrooms , one with an equally beautiful bathroom. The other smaller bedroom is perfect for two kids. We had one little one who enjoyed the pool but we could also feel confident in his safety because the access to the pool and dock could be controlled by a locked door and porch in the upper house. The sea kayaking off the dock was just the best and was ideal for everyone in the family as the bay is protected , or braver souls can venture around the key into much more challenging waters. The owners even provide various child and adult life preservers to accompany those paddlers.
The kitchen and great room are perfect for a family reunion , as all can be engaged in different activities whether it be cooking, eating, watching the big screen T.V . or even swimming and still be connected to each other by the openness of this lovely and spacious home.
The owners, as well as the staff who care for the home, are accommodating , friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and attended to. Kristan, the owner, even phoned grocers in the area to check their hours for Christmas Day since that is when we were worried about obtaining food! The home is cleaned by Julie who is very attentive to detail as well as friendly and very well informed about the area. Dwight is a very capable neighbor who helped us promptly with just a small plumbing issue.
The house is close to Key West, a spectacular beach called Bahai Honda, and any other amenity you might have. The neighborhood is beautiful and safe.
This home is a discovery in paradise that we would love to return to sometime in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location ... great home

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

We spent a couple of weeks at this great place in early December. The location, the pool and the views are as magnificent as the pictures would lead you to believe and the house is perfect: spotless, very nicely furnished and well equipped.

We stayed there with my parents and our little one and the accommodations were ideal for our family, with 2 large bedrooms for the adults and a smaller one for our child.

The housekeeper was very helpful and friendly, providing useful recommendations (the Square Grouper restaurant, a few miles north of Sugarloaf Key, would be one of them) and going out of her way to be of assistance.

We are definitely planning to go back and have already recommended this beautiful house to some of our friends

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing, Fun, Exciting Keydelicious

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We enjoyed a delightful vacation retreat at this beautiful property. Clean is always top priority for us and this was clean and comfortable. We will definitely consider staying here again and appreciate the opportunity to enjoy a safe haven while discovering the beautiful keys. The Florida Key folk are the most kind individuals you will ever meet!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just beautiful!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We stayed at the bayside beauty sept.11-18th and I will tell you that this is one beautiful, fun place to stay! The place is even more beautiful than the photos. The landscaping is a 10! The pool is sooo nice and designed perfectly.The house was clean and inviting when we arrived thanks to Julie who takes care of the house and took care of all our needs and questions prompty. Durring our stay we experienced no issues with the house and everything worked as it should the whole time. The area is nice and quiet and only a 15 minute run to Key West. The owner of the property(Cris) obviously spares no expense in the upkeep of the house and property and is more than a pleasure to deal with. It is nice for the place to be as nice as advertised because I've found alot of places are not. I will rent here again and look forward to it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I stayed at the Bayside Beauty August of 2010. The house was fantastic and it felt more like a 5 star resort then a vacation home (I cannot rate this place high enough). When we arrive the place absolutely immaculate on the inside and out. The kids loved the huge pool and we enjoyed boating to Looe Key along with various places.

Both the owner and the property manager were very quick to respond to any questions that I had after I booked the trip. In addition my security deposit was promptly returned. I highly recommend this place and i plan on returning next summer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Keys Getaway

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Bayside Beauty. The house has everything one needs for a vacation. It is fully furnished, modern, very clean and located in an upscale neighborhood. The pictures of the pool and water views drew us there but the real thing was even better. I went with my wife and 14 month old daughter. My girls didn't want to leave the place and fell in love with the pool and hammock! I went kayaking and snorkeling everyday and you can easily spend all day kayaking around the area exploring. I was concerned about the mosquitoes this time of year but none of us were bitten once and honestly we didn't even see a mosquito the entire time. I would highly recommend the house to anyone considering a Lower Keys vacation, you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Extremely Relaxing!

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Everything about the house we loved; we felt very safe and the house was well stocked...loved the neighborhood as well. The photos online are exactly how the house is...no shortcuts...perfect. Our greeter made us feel very comfortable. Easy to find attractions, or you'll be happy just staying put. On a scale from 1-10, 10!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Sugarloaf bay

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We are a couple with 2 teenagers from the Netherlands, Europe.
We were welcomed by the friendly caretaker who showed us around, the house was very clean. Huge and very luxurious for European standards (two enormous fridges). We enjoyed the huge, comfortable lanai. Sitting on the comfortable couch, watching sunrise while we were fighting jet leg was amazing. A beautiful view, a nice breeze and every morning paradise comes to light. The pool and garden are even more beautiful than in the pictures! The pool is 20 meters wide and has a view on a large bay. Sitting on the deck we watched our girls taking trips in the kayaks. The gas barbeque is huge. Sitting on the deck, overlooking the bay while eating your own BBQ-ed shrimps is awesome. Key West is close for shopping and dining. We recommend Duval street with its nice shops, bars and restaurants. Visiting the south point is a must. We would definitely recommend this house, thanks for letting us enjoy it!
For us it was truly paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had an excellent vacation at the Bayside Beauty

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Our vacation was excellent at the the Bayside Beauty! The photos are exactly what you get, just as beautiful as the photos! This home has all of the amenities that you need, just pack your bags, bring your boat(s), family and friends, and your set! It was very relaxing, the view was beautiful, the kids loved fishing off of the dock, we even snorkeled right off of the dock. About 15-20 minutes from Duval Street in Key West. Everything was Excellent! Thanks for having us and we hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had an excellent vacation at the Bayside Beauty!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Our vacation was excellent at the the Bayside Beauty! The photos are exactly what you get, just as beautiful as the photos! This home has all of the amenities that you need, just pack your bags, bring your boat(s), family and friends, and your set! It was very relaxing, the view was beautiful, the kids loved fishing off of the dock, we even snorkeled right off of the dock. About 15-20 minutes from Duval Street in Key West. Everything was Excellent! Thanks for having us and we hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

Our party of four just thoroughly enjoyed a week
long stay at Bayside Beauty. The house and grounds
are even more impressive than the pictures on the
website. We have rented many houses in many
tropical areas and we all agreed that this was the
best yet. We will definitely return the next time we
come to the Keys.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

This was a home away form home. Everything was wonderful and the house was beyond our expectations. We will return again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

Kris and John,We have returned from our vacation to your home. What a spectacular place!! It was just what we were looking for. We must have caught 70 fish off of the dock, including a 4 ft nurse shark. The landscaping and the pool were beyond beautiful. We will definately go back. A romantic, peaceful, very private, tropical paradise!

Thanks again! Janice and Richard

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review