reviews for: listing #56274 - Port Clinton, Ohio House rental

Renovated Lake House with Pool and Private Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $500 /nt
    $900 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Superb property!

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

Great property; very well maintained. Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: 2014 is our 6th year of sharing our Lake House with visitors to Coastal Ohio. Whether it is competition at Camp Perry, a sailing regatta, the rides and shows at Cedar Point or trips to the islands that bring you to our home; we SMILE learning our guests enjoyed a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

This house was perfect for a girls weekend getaway. The rooms were clean and elegantly decorated and felt like we were staying in luxury. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. We were worried that we wouldn't have the basic items such as tissue, dishwashing liquid, hand soap.. etc so we brought that stuff, we didn't need to use ours because the place was fully stocked. The washer and dryer were great to dry our towels so we could pack them. Even though the pool was not guaranteed past labor day, the pool was open for our weekend and it was nice relax in the sun Saturday. We are already talking about next years trip and we would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Next to week-long Summer Vacations, we are becoming a favorite spot for Girls Weekends. We do provide linens, bath towels and some other basic items to make the transition from home to 'home-away' an easy one. The pool and hot tub are always popular highlights for our guests and being located so close is a bonus. We hope you will become one of our many repeat guests, for years to come. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful week!!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We stayed in Port Clinton last year and love it so much we decided to come back this time with the grandparents. We were excited to find Waters Edge right on the water. Upon arriving the house was beautiful, well cared for and with everything we needed for our stay. More than enough space for all of us. We could not have been more thrilled. Location was perfect to all of our side trips, and the owners were very easy to work with, even sending us a welcome package before we left for our trip. Absolutely would rent again this home, and will be sure to tell others about it as well. Thank you so much...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review. We agree that Port Clinton serves as a great place for travelers to call 'home', when visiting the shores and islands of Lake Erie. This summer, we hosted our 100th guest (not bad for 5 years business) and continue to receive positive feedback about the location and amenities of our home and The Village at Water's Edge.

The offerings of the area have been enjoyed for many generations. This Labor Day, the Battle of Lake Erie Bicentennial Re-Creation will take place to celebrate the the War of 1812, when Oliver Hazard Perry of the U.S. Navy and his crew of 557 brave patriots prevailed over the British fleet in the Battle of Lake Erie near Put-in-Bay, Ohio.

Two hundred years later, we come together to celebrate Perry’s victory, our nation’s sovereignty and the enduring peace between nations. As caretakers of our freedom, we are called to bear witness to history in our own special way. The torch has been passed to our generation, who enjoys the great bounties of Lake Erie that were secured forever by Perry and those who came before us.

We continue to work hard to improve the experience for all our guests and are glad you enjoyed the freedom to make memories with us this summer.

'Don't Give Up the Ship' - Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry (August 23, 1785 – August 23, 1819)

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a long weekend. The owners were very accomadating. The place was in great condition and it felt like home. Clean and tidy and right next to the pool!! Would revisit and recommend anyone looking to get away check this place out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks! We believe we are one of the most desirable homes at The Village at Water's Edge. Adjacent to the pool and pool pavilion with fireplace; where many s'mores have been prepared over a driftwood fire and late night visits to the hot tub have been enjoyed. The only thing better is a longer stay!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Our 50th Anniversary in Port Clinton

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our entire family (10 of us) enjoyed our stay in the condo. The children loved the pool which was just a few steps away. We were close to parks and islands and good restaurants. The condo was clean and comfortable. We'd recommend it to friends.

Owners response: Ohio’s Lake Erie Shores & Islands is the ideal destination. It offers a coastal retreat with abundant recreational options to satisfy a number of interests including history, birding, amusement parks, cruises, animal parks, art, kayaking, and more! We are always thrilled to receive positive feedback from our guests! We are glad to serve as your home-away from home.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Parent's 50th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

My sister's family and my family stayed with our parents at the Spouse's condo, and it was a perfect place for us to vacation as a group and enjoy the surrounding attractions. The condo was very clean, and well equipped with all the things we needed for our stay at Lake Erie. Our teenaged kids took advantage of the nice pool/hot tub area in the evenings, and we even enjoyed a bon-fire in the outdoor fireplace to make s'mores after a fun-filled day at Cedar Point and Put-In-Bay. The gas grill, washer/dryer, board/card games, deck, bunk-beds, three bathrooms and two car garage, were all appreciated during our stay. Rachel was always timely and helpful in her communication with me and she was very professional during the entire process of planning our stay. We took her recommendation, and celebrated my parent's anniversary with a dinner at Mon Ami, which was only 10 minutes from the condo. I would highly recommend staying at this condo to my family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Lake Erie Adventures begin here! So far this year, we have accommodated: several returning Fishing groups, two 50th Anniversary celebrations, a Bachlorette Party and Birder’s from California, for the BIGGEST WEEK IN AMERICAN BIRDING. The Lake Erie Shores & Islands offers much to do and we are happy to be able to share our home with you on your vacation.

"East Coast, West Coast, no need to roam, you know the North Coast is better 'cause it's closer to home" - Pat Dailey

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We rented the house for a bachelorette weekend. The house was perfect for us 8 girls. The house was clean and provided everything we needed. Because of weather we didn't get to enjoy the pool but we did relax on the deck! We also visited the Mon Ami winery for lunch and wine tasting! On Saturday we took the Jet Express (conveniently located to the house) across the lake to visit Put-In-Bay for the day. It was nice to be able to easily visit the island but not have to spend the night there. I would love to visit again with family and spend a day at Cedar Point. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad our home, located half-way between Detroit and Cleveland on the shores of Lake Erie, can provide a comfortable place to return after a day of fun! Many of our guests enjoy trips on the Jet Express, visits to Put-in-Bay (South Bass Island) and dinner/wine tasting at Mon Ami Restaurant and Historic Winery. Another top spot for our guests is Cedar Point Amusement Park in Sandusky; an easy 20 minute drive away.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

"Immaculate home"

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This was my 2nd time in the Sprouse home and it remains my favorite rental anywhere. The home was spotless and very comfortable. It is centrally located and a great bargain too.

Owners response: Every effort is made to make the stay of each of our guests a positive, memorable experience. Each year, we look for new ways to remain a TOP CHOICE for vacationers to Lake Erie. It is a compliment to receive referrals from our past guests. It is a joy to welcome back our many repeat guests!

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Beautiful Vacation Condo

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

All the amenities of home and lots of little touches made our stay very comfortable and easy to settle in. We loved having the pool and beach so close to the condo. Kitchen was well-equipped to cook our dinners each evening. Overall, our family get-together was well worth the trip to your condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Birder

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

This property is great. It is very clean and well maintained. The fact that we do not have to bring sheets and towels is very much appreciated. We come to Ohio for the International Migratory Bird day which is always Mother's Day weekend. Our daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter came with us this year so we wanted something more than a motel room. Your place worked out well. I would not hesitate to recommend it to any of our birding friends. The owners were very helpful with any questions we had and were very prompt in returning our security deposit which is always appreciated. Thank you for sharing your home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Super Cedar Point Trip!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

If you're traveling in a group to Cedar Point or some other nearby attraction, you will LOVE this place! It has all the comforts of home, literally! A friend and I brought our daughters for their 18th birthday celebration with some friends. It was perfect to allow all of us to sleep under the same roof and hang out together. A full kitchen and plenty of bathrooms met all of our needs at an affordable price.

And the bottle of wine was an extra-special touch! While we were unable to enjoy it while we were there with our our young ones, we will certainly enjoy it back home.

Thanks for opening your home to us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely home in Port Clinton!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Well worth the cost. We loved the house. The perfect base for a trip to Put-In-Bay, other islands, or Cedar Point. We went to Put-In-Bay on Friday and then Halloweekends at Cedar Point on Saturday. We werent in the house much but it was nice to have a relaxing place to return to. The closet with the games in it were a hit with the kids. So were the dual bunk beds.

I was happy to find wireless internet and cable TV. The gas grill, bicycles, and other things available for use are real nice too. We didnt use them on our short stay but if we were there for a week we definitely would have.

On the way out Sunday we took a long cruise up into Marblehead. There is lots of beautiful homes, parks, and other things to look at in the area. We have been going to Cedar point for many years but have never appreciated the area as much as we do now.

We live just about an hour away and we will definitely be telling our friends about the home. Definitely recommended. Doug and Rachelle were very accomodating as well. We made last minute arrangements and everything went without a hitch. Thank you for sharing your home with our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

The Highest of Recommendations

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Your home is beautiful, well maintained and every amenity there. This is perfect for families and the 3 full baths are wonderful. The kitchen and how well stocked it is with everything you need was so welcomed. We rented your home so that our family could all be together for a family wedding at Catawba. Being all together in such an incredibly perfect home made for a perfect weekend. Even the monsoon rains did not spoil it. The bottle of wine waiting for us was soooo very nice. Very nearby is Mon Ami where we had a great time. And the tandem bikes were great -we got them out in between the rain. We will definitely will be back and highly recommend to all. Thank you sooo much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Sept. 23 & 24 2011

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We had a group of women for a get-a-way weekend. The condo was more than roomy.
Set up nice, with all the amenities. Grocery store across the street. No need to drive if you didn''t
want to. There was a small harvest festival going on in the center of town. We did go to that.
They had some great stands & food. We did not go to put-in-Bay, but the ferry is down the street a short way. Very convenient. Best part was for most of us the drive to get there was only about an hour. Would recommend this condo. Had a great time.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

cant wait to come back!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We were so happy when we walked inside this place! It is a beautifully decorated space and very homey. Everything we needed was there. Oh, except for a corkscrew to open the complimentary bottle of wine...I think someone may have taken it with them but I'm sure by the time you decide to stay there, you will have one! We laughed about it a lot and we still wonder if we may have missed it because everything else was sooo perfect. The owners of this property have been great and every time I called, I got the answers I needed. They made me feel like I had known them forever, very honest people. Thank you guys so much, you have a beautiful place and we are even thinking about purchasing one of the condos ourselves!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Port Clinton rental home

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We rented this home for a family wedding in Port Clinton area over Labor Day weekend....it was perfect for our needs. The home was warm and welcoming, comfortable and clean. Having 3 bathrooms for 3 families was perfect and although we were not there alot it provided a meeting place for the whole family in between wedding and reception. We were very pleased overall, photos do accurately relect appearance and we would definitly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Vacation Area

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Beautiful home, great place for a family vacation! Many amenities! Deposit was sent back within 7 days. Pool next door, very convenient. Great deck! Only disappointment was not being able to see the sunsets or lake due to houses (and landscaping) blocking a lakefront view. Extremely convenient to shopping and local restaurants and public beach. Small Village beach area was underwater due to Lake Erie being 10" higher this summer. Thank you for the use of your lovely home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reunion Trip

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Great location. Very convenient to Jet Express for day trip to Put - in - Bay and other Lake Erie Islands and to local famous restaurant. The condo slept six adults very comfortably. Easy access to beach and pool.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We certainly enjoyed our stay at your house. It's absolutely beautiful and a perfect setting away from crowds. Thanks again for sharing your lovely place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home. It was a perfect spot for us! We'd love to come back sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Thank you for our stay in your beautiful condo! We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time at your place! It was a perfect getaway and your home is adorable. We are thinking of making it an annual trip!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Overall we loved the house, the location, the layout, the kitchen, etc. We loved the area of the house as it was very convenient to our boat charters, stores, and a great area for long walks. We plan to return to the area again next year a bit earlier in the fishing season. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Thanks for having your condo available to visitors! We truly enjoyed our stay. It is apparent that you tried to create a "homey" feel, and the little extras are all appreciated! We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice house

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

Very nice home- clean and wonderful furnishings. Really enjoyed the wonderful weather, area and cookware. The bottle of wine was very good! Thank you for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

Our stay here was the best...Rachel's place is stocked with all essentials and many extras. The view from the upstairs landing is great and the pace of the area hit the spot. Rachel was very responsive to all questions/communications and requests; would definitely reccomend a stay here. Neighbors in the development were gracious and considerate. The beach,pool and grounds are very well maintained. Port Clinton has a lot to offer and island hopping or day tripping is easily accessible-Rachel thoughtfully provides a plethora of brochures for area outings etc. The locals are very friendly and small town shops were great-we did not experience the usual price gouging encountered in other tourist areas. If you stay here, make sure you hit Andy's party stop for hand dipped ice cream cones at least once.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

We rented four of these Waters Edge Properties for a family reunion and and this property BY FAR was the cleanest, best decorated and the most comfortable. The owner even left us a bottle of local wine, which we enjoyed. This home was definately a hit with our large crowd! Being in September we were concerned about the pool and hot tub being open and the weather and both were warm and pleasant. Our deposit was promptly returned as well. Thank you

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 20, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] We really enjoyed your vacation home. We would love to come back same time next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] We had a great time! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] Great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] You have a beautiful home! We all greatly enjoyed our stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] Beautiful upon arrival. Place was great. We had a great time. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

This lake house was wonderful. Not only is it newly renovated, the decor and linens were beautiful. We had plenty of room to entertain our family and guests. We were welcomed by other renters and owners in the area and were very comfortable. The pool is nice and the beach access allows you to make a sandcastle or watch the sunset. We would highly recommend this property for vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] Thank you for a lovely place to stay! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

What a beautiful and cozy home! We felt right at home when we arrived. The ammenities were great.
Little touches made the experience feel like a "home away from home". We even were greeted with a bottle of wine from a local vineyard and bowl of fresh fruit!
There was plenty of space for a family. We vacationed with our adult children and everyone was comfortable.
I would recommend this home to my friends and hope we can visit again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

[From our in-house guestbook] Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay in your lovely home. We truly enjoyed ourselves. Our family vacation was very special. The little touches like the books, videos, fruit, wine, games and outdoor gear were very much appreciated. They give the house that "home away from home" feel. The house is decorated so beautifully and we enjoyed its amenities. We are grateful that you chose to make your house available this summer. We would love to come and stay again. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review