reviews for: listing #56297 - Helen, Georgia Cabin rental

In City Limits Near Water Park & Golf Resort-Walk to Town!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Chattahoochee Trails
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $140 /nt
    $660 - $840 /wk

sort by:

Very nice weekend getaway

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

Very close to town, yet very secluded on a dead end road. A perfect weekend getaway with the kids. Met Terry and Gary at check-in, and they were very friendly and helpful. Very clean cabin with little extras like extra paper towels, laundry detergent, etc. Would recommend this cabin...and would return for another stay!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT LOCATION TO HELEN

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

THIS CABIN IS VERY NICE, VERY CLEAN AND IN A GREAT LOCATION; QUIET AND CONVENIENT TO DOWNTOWN HELEN. WE FELT VERY "AT HOME" HERE AND WOULD LOVE TO STAY HERE AGAIN. TERRY AND GARY PROVIDE ALL THE NECESSITIES OF HOME, FROM IRON/IRONING BOARD, TO A COLLECTION OF DVDS, FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN, AND GRILL.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

you want clean??

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

If clean is what you are looking for, this is the place. Also beautiful setting. It is close to town yet very quiet and secluded. Didn't have any traffic noise at all. The cabin was lovely, roomy, comfortable, extremely well-stocked and did I mention clean? A great place with very friendly, helpful owners.We had a great time. I can't think of anything negative to say about this place. Even the pots and pans were new!! All this and reasonably priced. What more could you want?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your kind comments! It means a lot to us to hear such positive feedback. We strive to make sure our cabin is always as clean as possible for our guests. We are also happy to know that our price is reasonable. We've been able to keep our rates the same for over seven years now which allows our guests to have more money in their pockets to just have fun! That's what vacation is all about!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Spent 3 nights here and it exceeded our expectations. It was exactly as shown online and just beautiful. Owners were most helpful and take personal pride in making guests have everything they could want. DEFINITELY the place to stay in Helen. Enjoyed Bernie's for lunch in nearby Sautee and the General Store. Also our visit to the Habersham Winery and their gift shop. Thanks Terry and Gary.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loganville, Ga

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

Started out by meeting the owners, very much enjoyed our conversation with them.
Their home is absolutely beautiful, both inside and out. Everything you could possible
want or need was there. All the rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable.
This is a great place for all ages.
If the weather is bad, there is a big screen tv with loads of channels and a game room.
This is the place to stay if you are in Helen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. We always enjoy meeting all of our guests and answering any questions they may have about the area. We are also pleased to know that we have supplied everything needed for your stay. We love it when guests enjoy our cabin!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Quite Getaway!!!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

My sister and I had been under a lot of stress do to work and family related issues and needed a quite getaway. The Alemaigne Haus Cabin was the perfect escape, we did go in April so the water park wasn't open yet if you have kids it's walking distance from the cabin. The cabin was lovely and spacious and the weather was perfect. I give the owners a heartfelt Thank you for letting us enjoy your beautiful home away from home. If you visit you have to try Wendell's Country Restaurant it's only open for breakfast and lunch (closes at 2pm) but makes you remember eating in your grandma's kitchen.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

The Allmon's, the owners were so nice to my brother. I was running late to the cabin and they went out of thier way to make him feel at home. The the cabin was so clean and nice. We really enjoyed the weekend at Alemsigne haus Cabin....
You could walk to town if you wanted to, but it was like being away from town when you were at the cabin... If you want a nice place and want to be close to town this is the place to stay. Thank you both again for your kindness.
The Myers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly What We Were Looking For

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

This was a great experience for my wife and I and our two kids. This place was just right in so many ways. We loved the open feeling from the elevated view through the picture windows at the back of the house. We got the charm of a cozy cabin with the comforts of a more refined modern home. Everything was very clean and well kept. It was obvious the owners care about what they are providing here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

For my husbands birthday getaway.....

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

We were greated by a warm welcome from the owners with a nice bottle of wine and they satyed and talked with us for a while. It was such a welcoming feeling to know who you are renting from. We really enjoyed our stay for the time we were there. The cabin is located in a very beautiful location and not far from the town of Helen. Its actually in walking distance. The cabin is beautifully decorated and I felt like I was at home. We have the same colors and style as in the cabin. Terry and her husband are great!!!!! I would recommend this cabin to anyone. Cleanest place we have ever stayed at. Everything is in a hop skip and a jump away. We are planning another trip very soon. Everything on the listing is accurate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Looking online for a reasonably priced place to stay for a few days over Valentines Day weekend was starting to look a little bleak when Alemaigne Haus came up in the search. I almost couldn't believe the hype....the pictures and the descriptions sounded amazing for such a great price! After a few easy email exchanges with the owners, Terry and Gary, plans were finalized. We arrived Friday afternoon and the owners were waiting for us - with a personalized bottle of wine and a collection of yummy chocolates! They told us a bit about the property and showed us around and then left us to begin our vacation, which was made so easy at this lovely getaway.

We needed nothing - there was already split firewood and a firestarter log for us to use in the fireplace, a list of all the special events around town (this is why we went ziplining!) a binder with local menus, a stack of activity fliers, and on and on. There were even items in the fridge and pantry for us to use if we wanted!

The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc and all the appliances were new and in great condition. Actually, everything was new and in great condition. The two bedrooms were comfortable and well appointed and the three full baths were stocked with big fluffy towels and great lighting.

This awesome home was close to everything in Helen and the views were inspiring. We watched turkeys in the morning and found evidence of deer on our walk to the creek directly below the cabin. We spent time on the deck one beautiful morning and just really enjoyed ourselves tremendously. We expect to go back again and again as this is a great deal on a great property with great owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always so delighted to hear from guests and are pleased to know that our cabin is enjoyable and well equipped. It's wonderful to receive such positive comments! We do hope that you will return again and again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Will certainly Return Again and Again

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

I got in touch with Terry a few days before we wanted to rent the cabin. Were we lucky to know that it was available. The cabin is more like a home... beautifully decorated and very very well furnished. All we had to do was bring ourselves and some ingredients as we planned on relaxing and doing some cooking for the two days were were there.

Terry and Gary are wonderful hosts. They came over personally, showed us around and answered all our questions. We ended up enjoying the lovely fireplace and the well stocked kitchen. The beds were great... new mattresses and all.

If you want a cabin that is close to Helen, GA, but not too close... this is it !!! It's less than 2 miles from the city and in a wooded area.

We plan on contacting Terry again when we want to take another vacation to relax and unwind.

Owners response: We love to hear great comments regarding our cabin and are always glad when our guests enjoy it so much. Our cabin is actually less than a mile from downtown Helen, yet it seems as though you're miles away from everything since it's so peaceful and quiet. It's within walking distance to downtown which takes about 15 minutes to walk and only three minutes to drive.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Return visit

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

Everything just like before...perfect. New bedding was great. Had some friends stay a few nights and they too loved it also. Looking forward to our 3rd return visit. Thank you Gary and Terry. Hope to see you again this year. 

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: We are always pleased to have guests return! We appreciate positive comments and are therefore always striving to make our cabin the very best it can be.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Alemaigne Haus Cabin! It was perfect for our family in every way! Terry and Gary went out of their way make us feel welcome during our stay. They really know how to make us feel right at home...from the thoughtful little extras (complimentary bottle of wine, items in the pantry, toiletries in the bathrooms, etc.) to the beautiful décor and Christmas decorations. We are already making plans with our family to return for another trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Get Away

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

This cabin is by far the most comfortable cabin we have ever rented in the Georgia or NC mountains. The owners, Terri and Gary, were warm and greeted us when we arrived with a bottle of wine and spent quite a few minutes telling us all about the cabin as well as all the fun things to do while we were in Helen. The amenities were so much appreciated and the entire cabin was spotlessly clean. I would recommend this get away for anyone wanting a peaceful and beautiful vacation. My favorite was drinking coffee on the deck and listening to the sounds of the birds and the leaves falling through the trees. Thanks Terri and Gary. Hope to see you again October 2014.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hiking and Oktoberfest

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We arrived with our friends after a long hike on Friday and were personally greeted by Terry and Gary. This is a wonderful house--very well laid out and attractively decorated. It is very well supplied and beautifully maintained. I would come back in a heartbeat. We enjoyed sitting on the deck for breakfast, especially and the sunroom is lovely. It is a very nice home and the owners are very nice. We had a great time hiking during the day and going downtown to the Oktoberfest festivities during the evening.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, Peaceful and Tranquil

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

This is absolutely a wonderful and convenient place to stay while in Helen GA. It is located a very short drive (1-2 minutes) to the main road that leads to all the Helen activities. You could walk back and forth to town but coming back you have to walk up a very steep hill to get to the cabin. Even though this cabin is so close to town, you are tucked away in a very private location, surrounded by a canopy of tall trees. Just a perfect place to stay if you enjoy peace and quiet.
The cabin is very lovely in all aspects. Beautifully decorated, very clean and extremely comfortable. There is a spectacular view of the hilly backyard, dense with tall, lush trees. We saw a family of deer heading towards the babbling creeks as we drank coffee on deck. What a stunning view it must be when the leaves change. You also have a wonderful view out the kitchen and dining room windows.
On the main floor there is a large bathroom (two sinks, shower), a game room, sun room, living room, dining room (with flat screen, stereo, dvd player, fireplace), fully equipped kitchen, laundry room w/iron board, and a walkout deck. On the top floor there are two good size bedrooms, each with a small bathroom/shower, flat screen TV’s and very comfortable beds.
One of the many things that impressed me was all of the thoughtful amenities that the owners provided to their guests. There were all types of things provided such as nightlights in bathrooms, good quality towels (and a good amount), extra toilet paper, paper towels, bath soap, etc. In the kitchen, all types of pots/pans, utensils, some spices, dish soap, bug spray, cleaning supplies. There are even walking sticks in laundry room if you want to explore the area.
The back deck area has a large table/chairs, a grill and trash cans. It overlooks the dense forest area behind the house. You can hear the soft sounds of the babbling creek as you enjoy your coffee. Very peaceful and tranquil.
The owners are also very friendly and courteous. They met us and the keys and we chatted for a few minutes. They are a very lovely couple who take great pride and care of their property. We enjoyed meeting them.
I usually bring quite a few items from home when we rent cabins or other rentals such as extra paper products, dish/bath soap, cleaning products, trash bags, etc. but I didn’t really have to use my supply. How nice. However the only thing I did use were my favorite anodized pan and henckel knives (I enjoy cooking and h

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Fantastic Birthday Trip!!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Thank you Gary and Terry for giving us the opportunity to share in your cabin. It was everything promised and even more. The cabin was immaculate and felt like we were home. All the extra amenities that were provided is something that we have never had before. When we arrived there was Terry with a bottle of local wine with a special label wishing me a Happy Birthday, so special. We enjoyed the the porch in the morning watching the hummingbirds come in to the feeder. I suggest that everbody who rents the cabin must keep the hummingbird feeder full of sugar water. We played golf one day and really enjoyed that. We definitely will be back and bring my son and his family as there is so much we didn't get to do or see, time went by so quickly. I can't wait. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable and convenient

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Upon arrival we knew we had picked the right place to stay. The owners greeted us warmly and told us about the property and much about things to do in Helen. The property was immaculately clean, well equipped and most inviting. Once we got our groceries, we cooked all meals here except one. Beds were super comfy. Bath towels super fluffy. All the trees provided sufficient shade and privacy from surrounding properties. Thank you Gary and Terry for such a lovely place to stay!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Better then the best!!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

This cabin couldn't have been better. It was even nicer then it looks in the pictures. My daughter, my grandson and I were looking for a comfortable place to get away for a few days with lots of outdoor activities. We couldn't have found a better spot. We went walking, tubing, horse back riding - you name it. I loved the convenient location - close to town and all the activities but yet with the feel of being out - surrounded by trees, the creek in back and the relaxing deck. With the convenient location, it allowed us to take advantage of the many activities while taking several breaks at the cabin during the day. If we can swing another vacation in the future, we will definitely be back. Thanks so much for making this a memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful ~~ WAY beyond words!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Terry & Gary think of EVERYTHING....even down to bug spray & sunscreen! It is truly a home away from home. Their home is so comfortable and inviting, in such a peaceful setting, that you will find yourselves wishing you could stay just a few more days!

The bottle of wine upon arrival looked good and was very much appreciated! It looked so good, in fact, that my girlfriend wanted to display it in her wine rack at home because she thought the bottle was so pretty. Needless to say, I didn't get to taste it.....but I'm sure it was wonderful. Those types of things ~~ friends of 34 years just don't argue over. haha!

We enjoyed our stay immensely and even got to see a young bear walk through the back yard. What excitement!!! Our hands were shaking so bad, but we were determined to get a picture of our visitor!! My only recommendation would be to err on the side of caution if following the sign down to the creek!! ;-)

Absolutely the most relaxing, beautiful, refreshing trip we have ever had...and we have been quite a few places throughout the years!! You will NOT be disappointed in this place.....it is wonderful WAY beyond words!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful relaxing vacation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

My wife and I were looking to get away for a few days to relax after a difficult few months. We found the perfect place. Our communication with Gary and Terry were wonderful right up to them greeting us with a bottle of wine upon our arrival. The day of our arrival and the next two days were raining but it didn't matter. The cabin was so relaxing and the view so beautiful I just enjoyed kicking back and reading a good book. There were so many amenities provided, from cookware to hot chocolate, that we didn't need anything else. The location to the surrounding area was great and we were as happy checking out the sights as we were relaxing at the cabin. I would definitely recommend staying at Alemaigne Haus and hope to be able to return at a later date. Thank you Gary and Terry.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even Better than Expected!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We wanted to visit Helen, GA and looked at many different cabins. We chose this one because it is beautifully designed and decorated, fully equipped, a great location, and a reasonable price. The final deciding factor was that it is privately owned and lovingingly maintained. Gary and Terry have filled this home with many personal touches that make you feel like you are visiting at a friends house. We arrived May 3, 2013 for a four day/five night stay. As promised, they met us at the door with a bottle of delicious local wine. They welcomed us and introduced us to their home and all the amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Helen. It rained heavy for two of our four days but we enjoyed beinig in the "Alemaigne Haus" so much that are vacation was not ruined! Again, we thank you Gary and Terry and we hope to return in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Great Escape!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Everything said in previous reviews is exactly what you get. This is the first place I've stayed where so much of the necessities needed, esp. in the kitchen, are all provided. I always like to cook breakfast when I'm on vacation and everything was provided for this except the eggs and bacon. We cooked steaks one night and the grill was cleaned and ready for cooking, plus all the cooking tools provided. They even had steak sauce in the fridge. They really made us feel at home and I am sure we will make this a regular home away from home. Thank you Gary & Terry!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always thrilled to receive such positive feedback from our guests! Providing all the comforts of home away from home continues to be our number one goal. It's great that so many of our guests return year after year too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

springbreak/2013

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This was a beautiful cabin...inside And out...everything is their for u...we just loved it..the girl's really loved the up stairs. Me and my husband enjoyed it all...it was very peaceful...the outside was really beautiful.all u hear is the mountain stream.it was very nice. Thank you terry and gary allmon....Benny joe Gray and family..,from Nashville,ga/2013...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Perfect! The house was a perfect location for two friends to catch up w/each other! Exceptionally clean and comfortable-perfect location-right at the outskirts of town but it seems like you are worlds away. We loved sitting out on the deck and in the sunroom. Thank you so much for sharing your place w/us. We felt like we were at home/so many nice touches! We want to come back in the fall:)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas vacation

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Our family chose this property due to it's location to Helen and parks as well as the fair price and description. We were so excited to arrive and find that it was even nicer than we thought it would be! The property was clean and very well maintained, the owners met us at the door to show us around and answered some questions about the town. There was nothing that we needed - everything, down to soap bars, was provided!

We have two children, 15 and 11 years old, and they enjoyed this property as well. Each morning, they would "gear up" and hike up the mountainside. They love being outdoors and really enjoyed the feeling of being away from it all while I liked being close to town if we needed something.

We would definitely recommend this property and hope to return in the summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so appreciative when we receive such positive feedback regarding our cabin. We are always happy to provide all the essentials of home so that our guests don't need to worry about running to the store during their vacation. And, it's great to know that our guests enjoy the convenience of being only three minutes to downtown Helen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't Want to Leave

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Spent Christmas 2012 in this fine house. Absolutely everything you will need is here including the owner who is nearby if needed. This is a well-built house that is unbelievably quiet. We slept better here than a at home. This town has a great General Store and this house has a fully equipped kitchen - so we were able to feast at home and enjoy the views to the woods. All in all, this is a great place any time of year, and the electronic payment process could not be easier.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Cabin

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We stayed at the cabin a few days over the Thanksgiving holiday and it was perfect. The cabin is spacious, clean and well equipped (especially the kitchen). The views were beautiful and it was very relaxing. It is very close to the town but but does in feel like it (in a good way). The owners were very friendly and we would definitely stay again if in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Late November/Fall Foliage/Wonderful Cabin

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Really nice cabin with really nice view. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck just watching red, yellow, and orange leaves dropping lazily through the air. Yes, even in the third week of November there was still lots of color! Inside was deluxe accommodations with lots of BEARS! Ornamental ones;-) I could go on, but just rent the place and see for yourself. And don't forget to go hiking on one of the nearby trails.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will definately come back!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

After reading all of the great reviews, we had to go and see this one for ourselves. This place really is wonderful! The owners are so kind and accomodating and the place is CLEAN. We were able to relax on the great deck, get to town in a couple minutes, make breakfast in the fully stocked kitchen, play poker in the game room and enjoy everything the town and this home has to offer. We will come back to Helen and we will DEFINATELY stay in this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Wow, this was such a treat for 4 ladies who just wanted to get away and relax. And that's just what we did. The cabin could not have been better and was so clean and inviting. We so enjoyed cooking out on the grill and eating outside on the beautiful deck, and just sharing a glass of wine at the end of the day. We would all recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful place. It was so convenient to town, although it was a little hilly for us "senior" citizens to actually make that walk to town.
Terry was so nice to meet us with the key and so sweet to leave a bottle of wine for us! We loved not having to bring coffee, creamer, etc. and even condiments! Thank you SO much for a great place.
Highly recommend this place!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful comments! It's always a pleasure knowing that our guests enjoy our Alemaigne Haus Cabin. We love providing all the necessities of home so that our guests can focus on relaxation and not trips to the store. I agree, there is one hill on the cabin street that's a little bit of a challenge when walking back from town, but luckily, the majority of the walk has sidewalks and is flat land. Also, it is our pleasure in providing a complimentary bottle of wine for all guests to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stuart, Florida

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

We have visited Helen four times,this was the best. The owners were very pleasant and greeted us with a bottle of wine with their own personal label. The cabin was very clean and cozy. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio and listened to the wild life bird calls and humming birds. Wild turkeys walked through the yard. There is a lot to see in Helen. Loved the Hofer's Bakery and Cafe, Betty's Country Store, Village Pedler and Classics (German Imports). We went to Cleveland at the Cabbage Patch Kids where we adopted three Cabbage Babies. The Innsbruck Gold Club is beautiful and well maintained . We saw deer while we were playing golf. On the day we were leaving Helen we were greeted by Mamma Bear with her two cubs. NO SWEAT! SHE WAS A GOOD MOM SHE MADE SURE THAT THE CUBS DID NOT GET TOO CLOSE TO US. WE WILL DEFINTELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO OUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay Here!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Beautiful, new cabin just blocks from the water park, tubing, golf, shops, and restaurants Also near Unicoi State Park. Comfy sofas, chairs, and beds. Big flat screen TV in the living room; flat screen TVs in each bedroom. Fully equipped NEW kitchen and appliances. Friendly owners. Like the title of this reviews says - STAY HERE!!! It's got everything you could want!!! : )

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to come

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

What a great place to come to rest and relax. The owners have gone out of their way to make your stay perfect. This cabin is beautiful and the owners really nice. I would highly recommend this to anyone. We will be coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights and 2 full days in this beautiful cabin, we highly recommend it for short or long term stay. The owners provide everything you need to have a worry free vacation. I enjoyed having a washer & dryer so I didn't have to worry about washing clothes when I got home.

It is within a couple miles of down town Helen.


The Helen water park is nice for older kids, not so much for little ones. They do not have any slides or pools for the kids that are too small for the big slides.

While there you are close enough to take the hike to see Anna Ruby Falls at Unicoi state park, (if it is hot make sure you take some water, it is quite a hike but the beauty of the falls are worth it) go to Cleveland and visit Baby land General (Cabbage patch dolls) and about 20 minutes away The Consolidated gold mine in Dahlonega, our 5 year old loved this he got to pan for gold and search for gem stones and the cost was reasonable for a family of 3.

If you plan on tubing try to get there early, we did this twice the first time we were some of the first in the water so the trip was nice, the 2nd time later in the afternoon the river was so crowded people were bumping into each other and getting stuck. Also if it is your first time do the short run first.

We enjoyed Hot wings at the Troll tavern on main street under the bridge, we highly recommend it. The Hansel & Gretal candy shop was also a hit with us. The Huddle House has great breakfast too.

So all in all other than the heat wave that decided to hit while we were there :) our little trip was nice. We hope to do it again maybe in the spring or fall.

The Burke's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The owners have thought of everything!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We stayed at Gary and Terry's wonderful cabin for a week, exploring the mountains and parks and enjoying the mountain air. This house is new, extremely clean and functional, and is missing nothing to enable guests to have a relaxing, worry-free stay. All too often one has to make repeated trips to the nearest store for items missed; not so in this house. The owners have thought of everything you might need- it's there, it's clean, and it works. This means everything down to spices, condiments, paper towels, you name it. You will be doing what you set out to do- relaxing, not running errands. A perfect getaway house for a family, two couples, etc; the floorplan simply works- everyone can be together or maintain their privacy. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so happy to hear great comments from our guests! It means so much to us to know that it's a relaxing vacation for all who stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will definetly come again

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay if your in Helen. It's away from the city (quiet) but still close enough to all the action. We had absolutely no problems come up and felt as comfortable as if we were at our own place. This is for sure a stand-out from all the others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place to Stay!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Alemaigne Haus Cabin. It's a beautiful place with much peace and quiet, yet it's located only minutes to downtown. We felt as though we were miles away from everything. The owners were so nice and provided us with a bottle of red wine upon arrival. The cabin had everything we could possibly need. They not only provided a Travel Guide, maps, phamplets of information, but also a notebook filled with menus from nearby restaurants. This cabin was so clean and comfortable that we didn't want to leave. We definitely will return this summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Get-A-Way!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This cabin was so nice and immaculantly clean! It's located within a couple of minutes from downtown Helen and very close to the water park. It had everything we needed while there, including coffee, creamer, sugar, paper towels, popcorn, condiments and much more. We loved sitting in the beautiful sunroom enjoying the view of the woods and especially liked the deck where we could hear the sounds of the creek out back. We played cards in the evenings at the poker table after grilling out on a grill that was almost like new. We're hoping to return in the very near future. We would recommend this place to everyone!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Your home away from home

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Great visit. We came up here to enjoy Helen and its surrounding attractions and stumbled onto this property. The nicest part for us was that Terry & Gary have the cabin with everything you could need without you having to bring it. For example, there was condiments in the fridge, plenty of towels, glasses, etc. You could serve a steak from the grill or hang out and have some drinks while all the time feeling like you're at home and you don't have to go to the store for every little thing, like you might if you stayed at a hotel.

I personally enjoyed the high speed internet that is available. We brought our Roku box and watched our favorite TV shows and movies.

Only real negative I can say is that the driveway has a huge incline but there is a single parking spot under an awning that is flat. I drive a sports car and there were times when I felt it bottom out turning around in the driveway and you have to work the clutch not to spin the tires when leaving the driveway.

I'd definitely return...

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: It's always our pleasure to provide our guests with all the necessities of home, including WIFI high speed internet. The driveway has a slight incline, but is large enough to park four vehicles and is usually no problem for the majority of guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superb Accomodations!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

Gary & Terry,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your lovely place.....extremely comfortable & immaculately clean!! Located so conveniently to downtown Helen and yet very quiet & peaceful. We highly recommend this property and will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Wheel Traveler

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

I have stayed in a lot of condos and cabins in the past. This place is by far the nicest place I have stayed in to date. I had brought coffee and sugar for coffee in the mornings, but had for gotten my shampoo. Not to worry, I didn't need anything. It was all there just like a home away from home. It is so nice to be pleasently surprised and I was. The cabin is everything and more than the ad and pictures state. Terry and Gary could not have been any nicer or accomadating. I had some special cercumstances, that were beyond my control and they worked with me like two good friends. My deposit was returned to me within 3 days of my return home. Thanks Terry and Gary. I have your number and so will anybody else that I know looking to stay in Helen, Ga. Good luck and God bless.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice comment! We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We provide all the necessary items of home so that guests don't have to go to the store if they're tired, or forgot something, after a long drive.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a peaceful get-a-way

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Sept.29-Oct.6,2011
We had a wonderfull time and wish to thank the owners for the hospitality.The Cabin was all the Web-Site pictures and description advertised and more.We certainly would return and would recommend it to all our friends.Time went too fast and we wish we could have stayed longer.
Thank you again( to the owners) for sharing your beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than I expected!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend motorcycle trip. Great place for 2 couples! Plenty of room and bathroom space. We loved the wood burning fireplace on the cool autumn nights. We enjoyed watching the turkeys and loved the surprise visit at 3 AM by a mother bear and cub that decided to check out the gas grill on the deck. How exciting! We took the short walk to town, but there are a couple of hills. But that just means you don't have to feel guilty about eating a big dinner. The house is like new and I will stay there the next time I visit Helen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

All things stated in the preceding reviews are on the mark. The "cabin " is spacious, beautifully furnished and decor is great. The location is in the city limits but gives you the feeling of being the only ones for miles. Peaceful, quiet but only minutes to Main Street Helen, minutes to Cleveland and the Cabbage Patch doll hospital (don't have to be a kid to enjoy it), Ruby Falls and so many other things to see and do.. All you have to bring are your clothes, as as soon as you walk in you are at home. The pics on this website are exactly as it is. This is our 5th vacation in Helen, our 1st stay here and our best.. Hopefully we will do it again next time..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Helen vacation rental

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

This house is the nicest place I have ever stayed in. Everything was so clean. The view from the sun room made you feel so relaxed. The owner provided so many things that other places did not provide. We had everything that we could possibly need to cook with. The kitchen was so organized you could find anything you needed.
You could set on the patio and hear the creek. The couple that owned this beautiful place was so nice and made us feel at home.
We toured Helen and couldn't wait to get back to our house we were staying in. That is how nice this place is!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's so exciting to hear such wonderful feedback! We're glad to know our guests have everything they need for a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great family weekend vacation!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We stayed from September 2-5th, 2011 and for the first time we finally found a vacation rental that the description on the internet was truthful. The property was very clean and very well maintained. Gary met us there and showed us around and gave us a lovely botte of wine. We really enjoyed our family vacation and I would recommend this property to everyone. You basically have to see it to believe it. Thank you Terry and Gary for opening your home and making it feel like a "home away from home." The Shaws, Hampton, Fl.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We're always happy to know that it feels like home to our guests. The bottle of wine is our gift of appreciation. Thanks so much for choosing our cabin for your vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Such a great place to stay...

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We really liked this house. Roomy, well laid out with a number of extra's & amenities. Extremely clean and well kept. Kids (9 & 13) loved the place, especially playing cards most nights before bed in the poker room. Owners are very nice and responsive. I can't imagine a better deal for the price. We stayed 6 nights and used it as a base to explore the nearby mountains, parks, and waterfalls. The location is secluded and quiet but a minute or two drive puts you at the waterpark. It is walking distance but the grade is steep coming back and it was easier just to drive. Property is as-advertised and we didn't see any other place in the area we would have rather stayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always great to hear such positive comments! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

This was a great place to stay while visiting in Helen. The accommodations has all the comforts of home. There wasn't anything lacking. We have stayed in numerous condos and houses and this one has to be the cleanest we have ever rented. Gary had good recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We had a blast tubing and will be back for a repeat next year! Hope to stay with you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cabin!!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Our family had such a wonderful time staying at this cabin in Helen! Our vacation was so relaxing and peaceful! The cabin was spacious and comfortable and was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The location is perfect, right down the road from the town. Thank you Terry and Gary!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Rental Ever!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My son and I just spent five nights in this beautiful Helen house (it's much larger than a cabin). The pictures do not do justice to the house even though they are accurate. All the modern amenities are provided - even soap for the washer and dryer sheets for the dryer.

It was wonderful - the cleanest rental I've ever seen (absolutely spotless) - quiet, affordable, convenient, and the owners couldn't have been nicer! Our deposit was returned in full the same day we checked out.

Honestly, I didn't know a vacation rental could be so good.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always delighted to hear such great comments! And it is our pleasure to provide all the necessities of home. After all, who wants to go to the grocery store for essentials as soon as you arrive on vacation. Vacation is for fun times! That's why we enjoy providing guests with laundry detergent, fabric softner, shampoo, soap, paper towels, coffee, spices, hot chocolate, popcorn, tea, and more.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great ploace to stay in Helen

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

This was the most well stocked place we have ever stayed in, everthing was in stock . Soaps, landry supplies, paper products,just about everthing you could think of was in the house. Good location , with big windows to look out of and a great sitting room. thank you again great place and good people.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to provide the necessities for our guests. It's especially helpful for those who arrive late in the evening and are too tired to go to the store. Coffee, creamer, sugar, hot chocolate, are available for the next morning without going anywhere. And, no one wants to buy soap, laundry detergent and paper towels while on vacation, so we provide those too. We want you to relax and enjoy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Property

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This house is amazing!! Very spacious and clean. Amenities exceeded our expectations. The home was stocked with everything we needed and more. The wine was also a nice treat. Very peaceful, quiet neighborhood and so close to everything. We stayed with three small children and will certainly return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful comment! We're always happy to know that our guests had an enjoyable stay. It's also exciting to know that our guests want to return to our cabin!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Alemaigne Haus

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

This is our third trip to North Georgia and the wine country. Also our third stay at this lovely house. The owners have lavished their house with all kinds of pleasing little luxuries. The house is located just up the hill from Helen itself, in a heavily wooded area, and it is quiet there, church quiet. We will in all likelihood return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always delighted when guests return to our cabin! Thank you for the nice comment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A peaceful getaway

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

We decided to visit Helen, GA during the off season. We couldn't have picked a better place. The owners of this cabin has definitely put their love and hard work into it, and it shows. They even met us upon arrival, and gave us a bottle of sparkling cider! It's nestled in a quiet, secluded neighborhood with a creek in their backyard. The cabin was clean and spacious. We have already recommended it to other friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Need rejuvenating? Run, don't walk to Alemaigne Haus.

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Beautiful, pristine, yet welcoming, this house and its setting was a very positive, relaxing experience. We got to enjoy all the in-town fun and food we could stand and then we got to return "home" to one of the prettiest places we have ever stayed. Believe me when I say it does not matter what kind of weather you have. This home cradled us through some good thunderstorms and rain and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Just sit back and enjoy all the windows, because all the windows have a view. And to top it off, the Allmons are two of the sweetest people we have met. We, too, are born & raised in Georgia, so we know Southern hospitality when we see it. Thanks so much for your kindness. Oh, and the birthday wine was fabulous.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the wonderful comment and are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our cabin. When we hear such great feedback, it makes it all worth while to us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway Place in the mountains

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

What a wonderful experience we had this weekend at your beautiful rental house in Helen. This was a girls weekend and we can't say enough good things about it. Everything was provided for our enjoyment, including a bottle of wine! We enjoyed a couple of your movies, popcorn, sipping wine on the deck and the spaciousness of your house. You, as owners, know how to make your guests feel so welcome, and I want to bring my husband back for our anniversary in November. I enjoyed a quiet time early in the morning on your deck listening to the birds and the creek. It was awesome! We enjoyed meeting you and will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the wonderful comment! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that you will be returning in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply wonderful!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Helen to celebrate our anniversary. The home was just wonderfull!. The pictures are for real. You can certainly tell that the Owners take a lot of pride in their vacation home. The home was very clean, well kept, linens, towels and other items as well as information about the area were provided by the Owners. The bottle of wine was wonderful as well! Also, the home was a very convenient location to downtown Helen. We highly recommend the home and have already told friends and family about the wonderful find. Thanks again to the Owners and hope we can return very soon.

Owners response: We are indeed very proud of our cabin and are so happy to hear when our guests enjoy it as well as we do.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Labor Day stay

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We loved the location and this terrific place -- everything was beautifully decorated, clean, and very comfortable. We enjoyed meeting the owners as well. So glad to find this place. We come to Helen often and it's wonderful to know there is somewhere like this to stay when we make the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Cabin in Helen, GA

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

THis cabin is more than we could have imagined. The location was so convenient. The scenery was beautiful. I loved sitting in the sunroom looking out. It was the perfect getaway for me and my husband. The owners thought of everyting and The complimentary wine was an excellent touch. I have recommended this to all of my friends, and hope that I have the opportunity to go back and take my children.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful comment. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay, and that they enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine, which is always our pleasure to provide.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at your cabin. We wanted to go north and hope for a white Christmas and we got it. We sit all day by the big picture window Christmas day and just watched it snow. First real snow my daughter ever seen. Had a great relaxing time. Thank you very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad to hear all about the fun times our guests have at our cabin. Christmas was beautiful this year with the snow fall and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed the view from the large windows in the Sunroom. We hope that you and your family will return in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relaxing Thanksgiving weekend

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

My husband and I just got back from spending a wonderful relaxing weekend in this beautiful house in Helen Ga. I read all the reviews previously written and all of them are true. This home was beautiful and very well kept. The whole decor was absoultely charming. It is so true about not wanting to venture out. The first day we stayed in all day and relaxed by the fireplace and looked out the beautiful picture window to the forest out back. Thankyou again for this wonderful home you have made available to us on vrbo. We will definitely use this place when coming back to Helen. Jim and Deb Regnerus, Dallas Ga

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Getaway to Helen, Ga

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

Well worth the trip. The cabin and conditions rate a definite 5 stars. From the friendly meet and greet when we first arrived to the clean and comfortable living conditions and the soft fluffy bath and hand towels to the well maintained, and challenging, golf course just over the hill. It was a bargain for the money.

Thank you for making your home in the woods avaliable We truley enjoyed our stay.

Bob & Debbie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

This cabin was absolutely beautiful! The views were GREAT and the location is awesome. Having the option to walk into town was great - though it was rather cold the weekend we stayed! :) The cabin was so wonderful, we almost preferred staying in all weekend than being in the cold weather walking around Helen! I loved the fact that both bedrooms have their own bathroom upstairs! Each family had their 'master bedroom' with a private bathroom! PERFECT! Terry and Gary were real easy to work with as well!

Owners response: We appreciate the wonderful feedback! We are always happy to hear that guests are totally satisfied with our cabin. It means so much to us to make everyone's vacation stay enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

My husband and I had a great experience on our recent stay. The cabin was even more than I had expected from the beautiful interior to the outside deck and grounds with a creek running behind. It came furnished with eveything you would need and everything was just like new. It was very private but so close to Helen. The management was extremely accomodating and even had a bottle of wine waiting. We will definitely plan on a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Octoberfest Perfection!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

This beautiful home was all it promised to be and much more. Clean, well kept, all amenities promised, easily managed with owners, helpful information and ideas. Outdoor decks afford beautiful scenes, creek near by, riverside walking trails near by, close to center of Helen, but secluded enough to be out of "hustle and bustle" when desired. Overall, one of the most positive vacationing accomodations ever used. Arrive with clothes and food, and all else is available to make it just like home away from home. The gift bottle of wine was excellent, and was enjoyed while leaf watching on the deck. Will return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It gives us much pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We are always pleased to know that everything needed is available, which provides for a relaxing vacation. And, we love providing a gift of wine for all of our guests as a token of appreciation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Our stay was very enjoyable. It is nice to have a little getaway from the action. The property is as described and has several nice touches. It is a great value!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always appreciate the kind words about our cabin and are always glad to know our guests enjoy it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time at the Allmons Cabin

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

My sister-in-law's husband had been dealing with some health issues and was on the mend and my wife and I decided they needed a little trip. I made the reservations and told them if the place looked even half as good as the pictures it would be great, well all I can say is it looks better then the pictures and in four days it became our home away from home. The Allmon's are hands on owners and do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable.
Terry and Gary, Thanks for everything

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful comment! We are always happy to hear that our guests were comfortable and that they enjoyed our special place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Time

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

Loved this place. Very clean. Loved the country surroundings. Walked to town each day. Planning on going back first chance we get.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We just want to thank you for a wonderful weekend in Helen. The cottage is beautiful, everything was immaculate! The location is very convenient but also away from everything enough to enjoy the serenity and beauty of Helen. We highly recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to "get away". Gary and Terry were very accommodating and are perfect hosts!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace and Quiet, yet Close to all Activities!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

The Alemaigne Haus was the perfect get-a-way! It's close to all of Helen's activities yet is so peaceful and quiet as though you're miles away from everything. You can hear the creek from the back deck loud and clear. The cabin is extremely clean and the owners have done a great job with providing all the necessities of home. We couldn't have asked for anything else. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Helen Home

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This was an excellent place to stay. My kids kept calling it "home." Very clean, very comfortable and homey yet a fabulous kitchen, covered sun room, cozy living room, and sweet bedrooms. Nice owners who care about their lodgers. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Time In Helen

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

My dad, son and I spent from 7-22-10 to 7-27-10 at this rental. It was a visit with my biological mother whom I'd only just met back in May, 2010 and I am now at the ripe old age of 45. We all had a wonderful time staying in this lovely home. I got to spend much quality time with my mom. Your home was furnished beautifully and we were very grateful for all the supplies you furnished along with it (paper towels, toilet paper, such as this)!! Thank you so much for the excellent bottle of wine!! We will definitely consider staying here again!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation spot!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

The vacation home is perfectly appointed and no detail was overlooked by the owners. The pictures on the website do not do the cabin justice. The location is great--so close to everything, but just far enough away to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the mountians with the restful rushing of the creek to lull you to sleep at night. We had a wonderful vacation! We would like to go back.
John and Mary

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. It is our pleasure in making sure that our cabin has all the comforts of home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

My daughter and I love to take her 4 children and getaway each summer. We certainly hit the jackpot with this cabin in the woods. The photos did not do it justice. Everything was beautiful and clean. The whole place looked brand new with all the extras you could ever want or need, With 4 children, we were interested mostly in the water activities in Helen. We liked the river tubing so much, we did it twice. We also took a little drive to Cleveland and the Cabbage Patch Doll Museum. Don't miss the Goats on the Roof. All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend this vacation home. Thank you to Gary and Terry.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a nice comment. It is our pleasure to provide our guests with everything they will possibly need during their visit to our cabin. We are also always available, if needed, since we are located only a few miles from Helen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The prefect combination of in-town location and quiet wooded retreat

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

This is one of the nicest vacation rentals we have ever experienced. The cabin is immaculately maintained and shows quality touches throughout that make is an true home away from home.

The layout and location are perfect for 1 or 2 couples to relax while providing easy access to everything the North Georgia mountains have to offer.

We will be coming back as often as possible. Terry and Gary are the perfect hosts.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Four days, three nights, of the best home away from, I can still feel me sitting in the sun room with my coffee in hand, my mind relaxed as I am looking out the big double windows at the great forest view. In every sq. foot of this home you can feel and see the love that Terry and Gray has put into home.
Me, family, and friend one night of our stay we went to Betty's, bought steaks and fixings. Grilled steaks and vegs. had the wine that the owners ( I don't like calling them owners, they felt like friends) had there for us.
Would I recommend this property to a friend? I have and so has my daughter. She lives in VA and I live in FL.
This house was so clean and well maintained, (if it wasn't clean I would not have stayed). I guess you know by now I LOVED IT!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Spot in Helen

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

The pictures do not do this cabin justice. It is lovely and in a great location. It is quiet but close to town. The property is very well maintained and the interior immaculate. The owners were extremely easy to work with and so nice. They thought of everything we could possibly need and there were lots of little extras, that made the place great. They even had a bottle of wine waiting on us when we arrived. The beds were very comfortable and the linens good quality. Great forest view and wonderful sound of the river from the porch. We would highly recommend this cabin. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. We definitely plan to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Four days, three nights, of the best home away from, I can still feel me sitting in the sun room with my coffee in hand, my mind relaxed as I am looking out the big double windows at the great forest view. In every sq. foot of this home you can feel and see the love that Terry and Gray has put into home.
Me, family, and friend one night of our stay we went to Betty's, bought steaks and fixings. Grilled steaks and vegs. had the wine that the owners ( I don't like calling them owners, they felt like friends) had there for us.
Would I recommend this property to a friend? I have and so has my daughter. She lives in VA and I live in FL.
This house was so clean and well maintained, (if it wasn't clean I would not have stayed). I guess you know by now I LOVED IT!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are always thrilled to hear that our guests enjoy our cabin. And, it's such a pleasure making new friends each and every time. We thank you again for choosing our cabin for your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We stayed at the cabin for a long girlfriends' weekend getaway. It was a great choice: clean, comfortable, private but centrally located. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed your cabin! It is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for some time away from home. We selected it for a girl's getaway and had an awesome weekend! We spent our time reading, shopping, eating and enjoying the fire! We also has a fabulous facial at the spa. We came home very relaxed. Definitely plan to do it again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate!!!

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

My two friends and I were looking for a place to stay to have a quiet girls' weekend of scrapbooking and just rest and relaxation. Well, we found the perfect place!! This cabin in Helen is absolutely beautiful and immaculate and a great place for a couple of scrapbookers to get together. I give it two thumbs up!!! We will definately be back. Great communication with the owners. Couldn't have been a better weekend.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Spot in Helen

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

The pictures do not do this cabin justice. It is lovely and in a great location. It is quiet but close to town. The property is very well maintained and the interior immaculate. The owners were extremely easy to work with and so nice. They thought of everything we could possibly need and there were lots of little extras, that made the place great. They even had a bottle of wine waiting on us when we arrived. The beds were very comfortable and the linens good quality. Great forest view and wonderful sound of the river from the porch. iWe would highly recommend this cabin. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. We definitely plan to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a nice comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will return in the future. We're also glad that you liked your gift of wine, it was our pleasure. Our guests are always our number one concern - we want them to be happy that they chose our cabin as their vacation "home away from home".

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

relaxation station

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We met old friends for a reunion weekend in Helen and the cabin's appointments and gracious hospitality really set the stage for a wonderful time. It's much more spacious than the photos indicate and with the sunroom, deck, porch, den, open kitchen and 2 well appointed bedrooms with full baths and the full bath downstairs, you'll feel like you're in a large space, but yet it's very cozy! Remember to try to count the bear figurines that are everywhere!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in your lovely cabin. No turkeys or bears but lots of wonderful peaceful quiet time. Your cabin has everything we could have possibly wanted for a great stay.

Jacksonville, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your home. The cabin is absolutely beautiful. I needed this vacation just to enjoy and have peace and quiet and I most definitely did. All of your added touches make this cabin comfortable. I took a lot of pictures of the cabin to show everyone back in Tampa. Thank you for the bottle of wine, what a lovely gift. I hope to bring my sister here next year and hope to stay here again. This was the best sleep I have ever had. It was so peaceful. I love your cabin.

Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

Thanks for letting us stay in your home. The cabin was very nice and clean which made our stay so much nicer than a hotel would have. It's like home away from home. The town of Helen was very enjoyable to visit. We will be coming back for sure and will be calling you back to stay in your cabin again.

Portland, TN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

We truly enjoyed the cottage. It was very relaxing, calm, and peaceful! It was nice and clean. It was like being at home. I will highly recommend it to others. A very beautiful area.

Alpharetta, GA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

We truly enjoyed the cottage. It was very relaxing, calm, and peaceful! It was nice and clean. It was like being at home. I will highly recommend it to others. It's a very beautiful area.

Alpharetta, GA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

Thanks for letting us stay in your home. The cabin is very nice and clean which made our stay so much nicer than a hotel would have. It's like home away from home. The town of Helen was very enjoyable to visit. We will be coming back for sure and will be calling you back to stay in your cabin again.

Portland, TN

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your home. The cabin is absolutely beautiful. I needed this vacation just to enjoy and have peace and quiet and it most definitely did. All of your added touches make this cabin comfortable. I took a lot of picutres of the cabin to show everyone back in Tampa. Thank you for the bottle of wine, what a lovely gift. I hope to bring my sister here next year and hope to stay again. This was the best sleep I have ever had. It was so peaceful. I love your cabin.

Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

My wife and I along with my brother-in-law came to Helen, Ga. for a harley ride in the mountains. The town was everything that we were told it was, breath taken. The cabin we stayed in was just as breath taken as the town. It was clean, comfortable, close to everything, it was home away from home. We will be back, this time hopfully for a longer stay. We highly recommend those who are looking for a place to stay this is the cabin. Thanks again for letting us stay in your cabin and the kindness we recieved in making the arrangements with you. Tommy, Jeanette and Ted

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

Clean, comfortable, and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoied our stay. Slept like a baby even though I am used to a king size bed. We will probably be repeat visitors next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

This tranquil place was just what we were looking for when we visited Helen. We were very comfortable, It was clean, relaxing and the views were spectacular with the changing leaves. We absolutely loved it and will be back again. Thank You

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We've been to Helen several times over the past 5 years and prefer to stay in a cabin as opposed to a motel. Alemaigne Haus far surpasses any place we have stayed in the past. Terry and Gary went the extra mile to ensure we were taken care of. The house was warm and inviting and the outdoors peaceful. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Our stay in Helen was great. The accomodations were excellent, plenty of room, all of the comforts of our own home. The owners are very nice and went out of their way to make the stay a pleasurable one. The house was extremely clean, close to town and other attractions, but very quiet and secluded. We actually saw wild turkeys on the property. We will definately try to re-book on our next trip to Helen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

We loved our trip to Helen. The house had all that we needed. We especially liked the fact that it was close enough to town and yet you felt like you were miles away in the mountains. It was convenient to go back and forth multiple times a day. We miss it already.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

As we would have predicted, the week passed much too quickly. We had a wonderful time. This is such beautiful house; the sort of place where every day we found details revealing again and again the inspiration and devotion the Allmons bestowed on the place: the kitchen cabinetry, with the sliding trays; the strobe lighting under the cabinets to illuminate the counters; the quality of the furniture; I could go on for paragraphs!

We've rented in many places around the world, and I don't remember having rented a finer house or condo. And on top of everything that's exquisite about the house, it's minutes away from everything, yet as peaceful and quiet as a church!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

In the month of May 2009 we stayed at the Alemaigne Haus. It was a moment when peace and tranquility were really needed. The cottage had all the amenities you could need. We arrived at night so we couldn't appreciate the outdoors but as soon as we came down to the kitchen we totally fell in love with the sunroom and its peaceful setting as well as the deck. This cottage is great because the owners thought of all the details (including a bottle of wine) and this made us feel at home right away. We'll definitely come back in the fall. The location is great too. Thanks Mr. & Mrs. Almond

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

If you are reading this comment then you have done 2 things right thus far. First, you are using VRBO for the best deals in vacation rentals. Second, you are considering Gary and Terry's place in Helen, GA. Let me save you time by suggesting you do the third and final thing-book it! I have been coming to Helen with my two daughters since they were born in 1991. I no longer look for a "new" place to stay. I have been here twice and will continue to stay here, as long as it is not booked. You will not find a nicer place for the price. Everything is perfect, high end construction to picture perfect decorating. There is so much to say about this place-call me if you like and I will give specifics. I promise you will not, I say not, be disappointed if you book your stay here. 478.972.5146

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review