reviews for: listing #56353 - La Jolla, California House rental

Beach House, La Jolla
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  La Jolla Shores
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $475 /nt
    $2,450 - $3,150 /wk
    $8,400 - $11,200 /mth

sort by:

You will NOT be disappointed.

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Lynne is fantastic. The views of Scripps Pier and LaJolla Beach are better than the pictures. The back patio is pure heaven. Listen to the waves crash and smell the cool salt air all night. Hope to see you again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Trip and perfect for surfers!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

We had a great time here. Our daughter, the bride to be was married at the Scripps Martin Johnson House only .5 miles from house. The view of the surf from the upstairs living room is FANTASTIC. The house is 4 bedroom plus 3 full baths with a formal dining room plus a kitchen and table for 6 in the kitchen. Surfers love this spot! We had fun hosting folks who flew in for the wedding. Lynne, the very friendly owner, met us and showed us around upon our arrival. Great place with a breathtaking view and location. Caroline's Cafe is walking distance for breakfast and lunch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location, great price

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Lynne was great to work with. The house is in great shape and in a great location. Across the street from the Beach. Was in town for a wedding at Scripps, which is also across the street. View from the front balcony is awesome. Much recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Vacation home

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Another wonderful vacation at the beach house. Everything was great! The view is incredible and so calming. We had a birthday party there and everyone was in awe of the sunset. The owners will help you with anything you could possibly need. The house is so comfortable and feels like it's your home. I can't wait to come back next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, family friendly house and very accommodating owners!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Always have a wonderful time when we stay here. The location is amazing and convenient. The owners are soo friendly and accommodating. We have a large group with kids and babies and they have all of the amenities at the house to make it comfortable for us. This is a yearly tradition for us. We always look forward to renting over the new year and we always have the most wonderful time!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house in a great location!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

My immediate family with two young kids and both sets of grandparents had a fantastic week at this house. The house is beautiful with gorgeous views, easily fit all 8 of us very comfortably and the location can't be beat. Would love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Lynne's beach house is located in a great residential area just steps from the beach. Eight of us stayed there comfortably. The sunsets from the second floor are breathtaking! We will definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous, spacious beach house with perfect backyard for entertaining

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

We rented the La Jolla Beach house for our family for our wedding week. Steps to La Jolla Shores for beach/surfing, the views are unbelievable, the house is very spacious- we fit 9 adults/teenagers in the house comfortably. The house was very well appointed- all you needed for entertaining, a library full of books for adults and kids, and beautiful backyard. We even hosted a post-wedding brunch in the back yard for 30+ people and everyone love it. Thank you so much, Lynne- we have wonderful memories from our stay and hope to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful rental house with a fantastic location

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My girlfriends and I have a yearly get-together and we've used rental properties up and down the West Coast for the last 10 years. We used this property in 2013 and it was definitely one of the best ones we've used. The house was large enough to accomodate our group comfortably and the location was great. It was a quick drive from the airport and easy to find. The house has lovely views from the upper balconies and it was very relaxing to sit up there and enjoy the sunset with good friends. It was nice to have the option to go into town and shop, or to just enjoy the beach. The owner is very accessible and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The PERFECT Beach Getaway.

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

My family and I have had the pleasure of staying at the beach house multiple times over the years. The location, beach and the town on La Jolla is what keeps us coming back. Plenty of recreational activity, shops and the city of San Diego just a short drive away. Or if peace and relaxation is what you came for, this is the place. The house is very spacious and can easily accomodate small and larger families. It has a front patio area that is perfect for entertaining. We will be back again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite vacation!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Just returned home from a week long vacation at this vacation home. Easy access to the beach, the sound of the ocean every morning and perfect weather made this a vacation for the record books! I would highly recommend this anyone looking for the perfect beach getaway. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

RELAXING ESCAPE

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this vacation home.
From the beautiful landscaping to the view from the living room window.
There were 10 of us, and no one was crowded into a corner. The house was supplied with everything we needed... in the kitchen to in the garage with Beach toys!
Only a short distance to the sea, and not one that was overcrowded . However, early morning did bring the groups of surfers out, and they were amazing to watch.
The huge back patio felt like the tropical islands, with vines, flowers and cool breeze.
If you are looking for a place for two or a place for ten, this is ideal. Quiet nights and walking distance to the Scripps Institute , which has a quaint Breakfast/lunch menu.
You can not expect a better owner than Lynne .. who is not only pleasant but a wonderful person to communicate with. She will do her very best to make your stay pleasant .... Don't pass this one up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEST VACATION EVER!!!

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

With family living in San Diego, we travel from east coast to west coast at least once a year and we have finally found our dream vacation beach home! From early a.m. surfers and waves to p.m. magical sunsets this is a dream come true. The wonderfully sandy beach is steps away and dinners on the patio surpass all expectations. My grandchildren loved it, we loved it and everyone in between loved it. We'll be back!!! Thank you Lynne and Howard, we feel like we have made new friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We love this home. Our family, traveling from different states, meets here every year to enjoy the best of the California beach lifestyle. The location, setting, and sunsets are spectacular. The house is just steps away from a long and wide sandy beach. The swimming area has a safe sandy bottom, but for the more adventurous there is a very poplar offshore surfing area. And the La Jolla Shores village with it's wonderful eateries is just a short shoreline walk from the house.

The house and surroundings offer a very special ambiance that is hard to describe. Each time we visit, we all concur, we fully enjoy our stay in this elegantly stated and very comfortable beachside home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional beachhouse!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

This is an amazing home. It has everything you could ever need for a wonderful vacation. The view is spectacular from the wall to wall windows upstairs in the family room. We sat on the couch visiting for hours just watching the ocean. Don't forget the beautiful sunsets. There is a lovely library with plenty of books off the family room for anyone who loves to read while enjoying the ocean. There are three bedrooms downstairs with two full baths. Upstairs there is a master with another full bath. There is plenty of room for a large family and still have your own space. You can either eat in the kitchen eating area or there is a huge dining room table that could seat 10 easily in the dining room. There is a BBQ to cook your own meals and eat out on the back covered patio/deck. There is even a outside shower to clean off before coming into house.
The beach is literally steps away with quaint restaurants and shopping just a short walk away. My girls took surf lessons from the Surf Diva surf shop and had a blast. There are tide pools just a short walk on the beach past the Scripps Pier. Lots of great sea life, just pay attention to the tides as to not get stuck before the tide comes in. Each time we visit we find something else amazing to see or do.
Lynne is truly a wonderful person who makes sure you have anything you need. I highly recommend this vacation house to anyone who loves the ocean and loves to be close to the beach. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity in La Jolla

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Serene, spectacular views, cozy decor, fireplace & beach views simultaneously spectacular-- I chose to sleep on the couch just because the fireplace & beach views were so inviting!
Each bedroom has views of the ocean, great breeze & very cozy! The house is very well kept and stocked, we didn't need to leave!
Lynne is an exceptional hostess. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were able to enjoy & prepare our own bbq in the beautiful garden area and dining space. The Beach House is conveniently located to the beach, Caroline's Cafe on Scripps pier was scrumptious with incredible views & outdoor dining.
Thank you Lynne for your hospitality and we hope to see you in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 star beach house, 5 star guest services

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Hi Lynne,

I was writing a review for you and it turns out I needed a traveler's log account or something. I thought it would be a waste to leave this left unseen so I'm posting this to you and you can choose to post it somehow or not.

Review: The beach house was amazing!

All details are as described on the information section. My friends were impressed with the place and were asking me for the contact info so they can book the place in the future. The house was very cozy even when it was two stories high. There are three restrooms; the upstairs restroom was the best. There were, if I can recall correctly, four bedrooms. There are couches, sheets, pillows, and sleeping bags if needed.

Deposit was fully refunded and actually sent back to me quickly. Lynne provided excellent guest services and made us feel at home. She was there when we arrived to show us around and answered my calls if I had questions. She also sent me a nice card which made me want to write this review.

Some things to note:
- The entrance to the beach is really close by like only a few minutes. However, it leads to the surfer side. You have to walk away from the pier to reach the bonfire pits, kayak rentals, lifeguard towers, and the park.
- Lynne provides you with a book of shops and directions to them which was very useful since we have never been in the area a lot.
- It will be very cold from 3am-7am and very hot, especially upstairs, during the afternoon.
Best Regards,
Calvin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

La Jolla Beach House

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

8 members of my family stayed at this house for a week. The view of La Jolla is spectacular. It is a 2 minute walk to a wonderful beach. The house is clean and has a well equipped kitchen. We had a rehearsal dinner in the backyard with 25 people and it was lovely. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I would love to rent this house again and will recommend it to my friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing - We will be back

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Amazing! My family almost passed out when we walked in. My daughter almost cried. It was such a great place. We have family in Santee so it made for a great place for everyone to gather. The beach on that end is incredible and away from the crowds. My kids loved being able to cross the street, walk down the stairs and be on the beach. Lynne certainly knows how to make it a home away from home. Can't say enough. The weather was amazing and sure beat the heat in Texas!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Ocean Views and Beach Accessibility

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

WOW! That's all we kept saying all week. The home is beautiful, spacious, well kept, well stocked and did I mention the Views?! Being steps from the sand, we hit the beach every day! I'm originally from San Diego and loved the close proximity to Prospect Street with all it's shopping and dining choices.

The owners are nice to work with and are attentive to details. They truely want their guests to feel welcomed and enjoy their stay. Being a VRBO owner myself, I would truely recommend this vacation home to all who want to stay in San Diego.

Thanks Lynne!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had a great time at this property. The house was in very clean and in great shape; everything worked. Very close to the beach with excellent views. Would recommend this property to anyone. Very relaxing.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome New Years stay

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this house for New Year's! We had a group of 8 and the house acommodated us perfectly. Never felt crowded and everyone had their own space. It is such a unique house with original art and decor......breakfast on the patio, sunsets on the upper deck, watching the surfers out the window.....this New Year's goes down in history. We are adding to our family and hope to make this an annual tradidtion for years to come. The owners are welcoming and hospitable and did whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What A Place !!!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

Want to go to sleep every night with the surf gently sounding in your ear ?? Then this is the place. Great ocean view from the upstairs family room. And this house has lots of art and other very quaint stuff inside, (72 items hanging on the wall) fully stocked kitchen, easy parking in and out. Folks this is just like home. Great restaurants close by, try the Scripts cafe for lunch, just down the street with outside seating overlooking the beach. The outside deck and patio with orange and other trees not often seen in Ohio make it the perfect place to read and bird watch. Easy access to the beach just follow the surfers. The owners are great and will goo 100 percent plus to make your stay enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Stayed at the end of July 2011. The house was wonderful. The location was great. Lynne was accomodating. The only negative was the mattress in the bedroom off of the kitchen. I could barely sleep on it. It was so uncomfortable. I e-mailed Lynn when we got home to let her know about it (figuring that she hasn't slept in the house herself for years and would not know the condition of the mattress). To my dismay she did not acknowledge my e-mail. So I have no idea if she changed the mattress or not. Just don't pick that room if you want a good night's sleep.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I cannot apologize enough. I wanted to give real information before I answered the email but obviously should have acknowledged that I got it and would get back with what I was able to do. I started shopping for mattresses and then completely forgot who to let know that I could afford it now. I realized I could not search my emails, if I didn't know the name. I have so many emails and I could not find it. I am replacing the mattress as soon as possible. I had never had any comment about it before this. I have to be able to be at the house with it vacant, of course, for an entire day so I can get it delivered. My memory... I'm so sorry, Lynne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

This vacation home is wonderful. It is located across the street from the ocean, has a beautiful view; is near LaJolla Shores park and playground; is down the hill from the Scripps Aquarium; walking distance to downtown LaJolla---all in all a perfect location. The house itself is spacious, well maintained, and fully equipped; plus, it has a wonderful back yard that is very lovely and comfortable with plenty of extra dining and playing space. Lynne and Howard are very accomodating owners, and available if needed. Our family ages from 2 to 68 all felt very comfortable and happy with our home away from home!

joanne a.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true "HomeAway"

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This was a perfect place for friends to gather to celebrate life and enjoy the ocean breeze, the beach, the waves, the view and the sunsets. The service was top notch and personalized! Lynne is a gem.
We especially loved the hot outdoor shower on our return from the beach which was just steps away. The privacy in the back patio area was perfect for relaxing dinners; another standout favorite feature.
Thank you Lynne. We had a memorable time gathering in your beach house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

I wanted to thank you again for allowing us to stay in your beautiful beach house. It was so nice--a perfect location in a wonderful home. We had great weather-except for one day. There are so many fun things to do in the area we kept busy. We enjoyed watching the waves every evening, and of course the surfers. Having the beach so close was a bonus. La Jolla is fantastic!
Thanks so much for sharing your home. We had a great week of memory building, and the kids kept saying how nice the house was, what a perfect location, etc. Have a blessed summer, Lynne, and thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

My family of 5 stayed in this amazing house for the first week of the kids' summer vacation. We had the best time. The location is exactly as described, too good to be true. The outdoor patio is shaded by a canopy, and ideal for eating meals prepared on the BBQ. The stairs to the beach are so close to the house that you hardly need shoes. We saw dolphins swimming and playing just beyond the surfers. Every night, we watched the sun set over the ocean from the balcony. Our car stayed in the garage except for a couple trips to the grocery store. Words cannot describe how relaxing and perfect this vacation was. Lynne, the owner, is professional, helpful, and kind. Our full security deposit was returned to us quickly. I have already recommended this property to friends and family. La Jolla Shores is a magical place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view and wonderful homeowner

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

My family enjoyed this house for 4 days. The view is outstanding and the beach is a two minute walk away. My husband and parents as well as our 3 kids fit comfortably in the home. Dolphins were easily found every morning out the window, and the surfers were fun to watch. The street is not very busy and the nights were quiet and relaxing. Parking was very convenient as the garage is off an alley and is plenty big for 2 cars. The back yard is beautiful with fresh fruit trees and a new deck. The homeowner was very accommodating and available if we needed anything. She showed us around and even left some new sand toys for our girls to play with- very sweet lady. The locks to the house were coded, so we didn't have to worry about a key or garage door opener. If we ever make it back to La Jolla, we would love to make this our home for the stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding visit!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This is a gem of a location, house and overall pick! The pictures do not do this house justice - the house is awesome on every level (to many to list). Location is perfect for the beach, walking to the village or driving around LaLolla. It is a quiet location. No worries about parking since you can park in the garage or driveway behind the house. The view of the ocean on the second level is amazing. We spent every morning on the deck overlooking the ocean having our breakfast, chatting and watching the surfers. We actually got to see dolphins jumping the waves with the surfers! You can't go wrong with this house if you want a great view of the ocean (morning or sunset) with the comforts of home. Lynne is great to work with which makes it's even better....... Highly recommend this house. I would certainly come again for my next visit to LaJolla.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our dream weekend!

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We live in downtown San Diego and wanted to "get away" for the weekend to celebrate a milestone Birthday with a few close friends. We couldn't be happier with the way things turned out in this lovely home! We sited dolphins eight or nine time and even saw two migrating whales! We had long walks on the beach and enjoyed meaningful conversations over meals on the patio while basking in the sun surrounded by fruit trees. It's hard to explain, but something about this home made everyone feel instantly relaxed! Perhaps it's the beautiful view, the warm accommodations or just the feeling of complete relaxation! Whatever it was, we will be sure to recommend the perfect place to everyone we know who's looking for a similar experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hagen family beach holiday

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

We had one of the best beach holidays ever. The house is very spacious and comfortable and plenty of good outdoor pace for dining and relaxing and also a great hot outdoor shower.
The location is the best aspect as it is steps from one of the best beaches in the area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Out of Town Wedding Family - II

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

This home served as the perfect home base for my family as well as the rest of the out of towners from NY who came to my daughter's wedding. We hosted several dinners in the patio which easily accommodated our group. The house is very well kept and very comfortable to stay in for our week. I really appreciated Lynne's willing to rent the house mid-week to mid-week. The access to the beach can't get much better, from the deck we saw dolphins and seals swimming! Next time, I'll rent this home to relax rathering than working frantically to prepare for the wedding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home, perfect location, perfect owner!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This home is more than we could have ever expected!! The location is right across the street from the most beautiful beach in Southern California. The view from the living room window mesmorized us every moment. The sunsets are breathtaking. Restaurants, bike & kayak rentals, shopping are a short walk away. This is exactly how we all dreamed of a Southern California vacation. The world famous Torrey Pines Golf Course is minutes away!! Lynne & Howard are the most gracious owners we have ever met. They made us feel welcome immediately. It is as if we are part of their family. We will never forget them!! The home is squeaky clean and exceptionally well equipped. We were amazed at everything that they provided to make the home comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a perfect Southern California vacation!! I wish we could live there full time!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

The Beach House is simply wonderful! The owner, Lynne, was waiting for us when we arrived. She was quite helpful and made us feel right at home. The house is exactly as we had hoped -- beautifully maintained, spacious and comfortable. The location is perfect!! My husband and I loved watching the sunset from the balcony every night. Our children enjoyed their room and loved playing in the backyard. We highly recommend this house and look forward to staying there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Jolla Home for out-of-town wedding family

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

I found this gem searching the HomeAway.com site. I needed to find a large home to accomodate my family, including my grandmother who is in a wheelchair for my upcomming wedding in La Jolla. We needed to rent the home out for a long 4-day weekend in June 2010.

Upon contacting Lynne, the home's owner, she immediately set up a time to view and tour the property. As a bride, there was a million things I needed to take care of, and this home was one of the easiest things on my to-do list! I fell in love with it's unbelievable location and the quaint charm. I loved the large outdoor patio, the scenic balconies and the bedrooms downstairs (good for elderly people and children who shouldn't climb down stairs!). Lynne was so kind to work with and reassured me that everything would go perfect for my wedding weekend.

My family LOVED renting this home. They felt very accomodated and had everything they needed for a long weekend's stay away from home. Lynne was very prompt on getting the home cleaned between clients, even letting us come buy a little earlier to "check in".

I would not hesitate to rent out this home again should my family come down to San Diego again to visit. It's a wonderful meeting spot for a bigger crowd and Lynne was such a pleasure to work with. I'd highly recommend renting out a beach home for a vacation or a get-away rather than a hotel. It is so warm and inviting! I'm thankful I found this jewel in beautiful La Jolla!

-Andrea

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the best home rental in La Jolla

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

my family has rented many vacation homes over the years - this one was the best.

EXTREMELY thoughtful and helpful owner / manager; accurate description, amazing location, very well appointed, stocked with everything you would need -

I highly recommend this house for a great San Diego beach vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

La Jolla Shores Dream

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

It's all positive, there are no negatives.
It's exactly as described and close to everything.
The Pacific Ocean view is amazing, especially at sunset.
I could live in this house year around, no problem.
The best thing about this property is that it's like
staying in a friend's home, with a lifetime collection
of books, art and other interesting items, rather than
the typical sterile rental property. And you'll never
meet anyone friendlier and more helpful than the owners.
Thanks Lynne and Howard!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't have been better...

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Our anticipation of how nice and suitable your home would be before our stay, was exceeded 10 times over what we experienced. Your home is truly lovely and we were totally comfortable from the moment we stepped into it. (There are three pages of sweet comments from this family and you can read them in the Guest Book at the house. They close with: ) We, each! thank you for sharing your home with us, Kathryn and Jack, Lisa and Michael, Tina and Matthew with Lauren and Norah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Good Choice

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this beach house, which is in excellent location, in LaJolla Shores and 200 feet from the beach. The description of the house and the photos are accurate. Of particular importance to us was the fantastic view of the ocean from the living room and balconey; the wonderful patio in the rear, with a large table for outdoor meals, under a canopy of plants; the two car garage and parking behind that; the outdoor shower; and the 3 bathrooms. The owners, Howard and Lynne are super nice and very responsive. We plan to rent this house every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 20, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

My family and I can't say enough wonderful things about this home. I use the word home because it felt like home - so warm and comfortable. The host and hostess welcomed us and encouraged us to make it our home for the week we were there. They went out of their way to do so many nice extra things (a baby bed to name one). Everything you could possibly want was provided. I personally am in love with this house and would move in if I could - and wouldn't change a thing. As the review above said the view, location, access to beach - an easy walk to the park, shops and restuarants too - can't be beat. The cool ocean breeze and hearing the waves at night ....heaven. We dined in alot because we had babies - eating in the back yard garden was lovely(lots of interesting plants - a grapefruit tree, fresh tomatoes, etc.), eating upstairs looking out at the sunset, the dining room was comfortable as well as the kitchen table. Sitting out on the deck looking at the ocean and having coffee was a favorite for everyone. You will love staying at this home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Beach house in LaJolla! This is both a great " family house" as well as a romantic getaway. The beach can be seen from all of the windows upstairs and there is an beautiful Large enclosed courtyard with Gardens to enjoy. The walk to the beach was so close that we didnt even have to wear shoes! Listening to the waves every night was a joy,and we also enjoyed the flat screen TV upstairs in the Library, which was next to the master bedroom. I like the way the house was furnished & this is a place we hope to come back too again and again. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook breakfast each morning, including pots and pans, and toaster. La jolla beach house was a wonderful place and also very centrally located to everything we wanted to do in San Diego. This place is a gem!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful house in a perfect location...

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

My family and I recently returned from a trip to California, where we stayed at Beach House, La Jolla. We couldn't possibly have been more happy with our decision. The main things that attracted us to the house were the location, the size of the house, the amenities, and the price. Everything was exactly as described online.

Several things stood out to us that made this house perfect for our needs:

1. We slept ten easily, with two of the kids on the couches upstairs and two others on the hideaway in the office downstairs. Each of the three rooms with beds has an adjacent bathroom, giving a sense of privacy (necessary for 3 families in one house).

2. The backyard patio area is perfect for grilling out or simply relaxing while enjoying Southern California's weather. The outdoor shower also made washing off the beach sand a snap.

3. The proximity to the beach is a major plus. The access is only steps away and leads to a quiet stretch of Life Guarded beach. Swimming is to the right and surfing is to the left. We had looked at another house closer to Kellogg Park and are SO glad we chose Beach House, La Jolla. The Park area can be busy at times (especially the weekends). Additionally, tide pools are accessible during low tide only a short walk up the beach.

The views from the upstairs are simply stunning. We spent mornings and evenings on the deck soaking in the scenery. The proximity of the house to the airport, freeway, and major attractions allows you to keep as busy as you want to be. We chose to keep it simple and did the Midway (an aircraft carrier downtown), Legoland (for the kids - and Dads), and the Birch Aquarium (just up the hill - don't miss the sharks being fed Saturday mornings).

Perhaps the most unexpected treat for us was getting to know Lynne, the owner. She is delightful and went out of her way to ensure that our trip was a success and we were comfortable in her wonderful home. I would definitely recommend this house to friends and family interested in exploring what a Southern California beach vacation can offer.

Thanks Lynne...

-- Mat, Jen, and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review