reviews for: listing #56359 - Ellenville, New York Chalet rental

Emerald Forest Bungalows: aka Jake's Place
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $163 - $180 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,200 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Bachelorette Party

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

hank you Mike for a wonderful weekend!

The girls and I spent the weekend in the peaceful Owl's Nest and were 100% impressed with the cabin. It felt like a camping get-a-way, but modern at the same time. It was exactly what we were looking for in our weekend of bachelorette fun. The place was spotless when we arrived and we all remarked on how we wish we could move right in.

Will highly recommend the cabins to others...

Keep up the good work!

JS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Thank you Mike for a wonderful weekend!

The girls and I spent the weekend in the peaceful Owl's Nest and were 100% impressed with the cabin. It felt like a camping get-a-way, but modern at the same time. It was exactly what we were looking for in our weekend of bachelorette fun. The place was spotless when we arrived and we all remarked on how we wish we could move right in.

Will highly recommend the cabins to others...

Keep up the good work!

JS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Right at Home

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

I was so excited to find this place, and it exceeded my expectations. The cabins are all pine inside, they smell so good! The layout was modern and efficient, with attention to environmentally friendly plumbing. We couldn't believe the amenities for the price. Mike really took care of us, and made us feel like we were part of the community immediately. The land is beautiful and close to many hiking and winter sport options. We will definitely go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Girls' Getaway!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

What a wonderful weekend! My girl friends and I are all ready to go back to the beautiful wintery getaway at Emerald Forest. The chalet was beautiful, clean, rustic but modern, with a great kitchen that we used frequently. The bedrooms and sunroom were comfy and provided plenty of room for each of us, and would have been great for a family with children.
We especially appreciated the dedication towards making the buildings and property as environmentally friendly as possible. We are excited to come back during the summer and see the saltwater pond and hopefully the organic garden!
The owner, Mike went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable. He provided us with information on local hiking, snowshoeing, and cross-country skiing sites, which were easily accessible by car; as well as providing us with passes to the Mohonk Preserves. My friends and I also spent an afternoon snowshoeing through the 75 acres of forest that is part of Emerald Forest Bungalows. There are many outdoor options when you stay at the Emerald Forest, but it is also fun and comfortable to just hang out, cook, lsiten to music, and play games in the cabin. Thank you Mike for helping to make our weekend so great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Girls' Getaway!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

What a wonderful weekend! My girl friends and I are all ready to go back to the beautiful wintery getaway at Emerald Forest. The chalet was beautiful, clean, rustic but modern, with a great kitchen that we used frequently. The bedrooms and sunroom were comfy and provided plenty of room for each of us, and would have been great for a family with children.
We especially appreciated the dedication towards making the buildings and property as environmentally friendly as possible. We are excited to come back during the summer and see the saltwater pond and hopefully the organic garden!
The owner, Mike went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable. He provided us with information on local hiking, snowshoeing, and cross-country skiing sites, which were easily accessible by car; as well as providing us with passes to the Mohonk Preserves. My friends and I also spent an afternoon snowshoeing through the 75 acres of forest that is part of Emerald Forest Bungalows. There are many outdoor options when you stay at the Emerald Forest, but it is also fun and comfortable to just hang out, cook, lsiten to music, and play games in the cabin. Thank you Mike for helping to make our weekend so great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect Spot

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

My family and i stayed there this summer. We were blown away by the cabins. They were wonderful. Everything was in pristine condition and very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, we enjoyed the pool, walks around the property and the pretty outfitted cabin. The owners could not have been nicer. They had to meet us very late upon arrival and very early upon departure. They made sure we knew the local spots to visit and were incredibly accomodating. Would highly recommend to anyone for any season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend away from NYC

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We went up to this place for a labor day weekend away from the city, and it was just what we needed. We rented out one of the two bedroom units because the one bedroom was not available. Mike gave it to us for the same price as the one bedroom. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night.

The little cabin was exactly what we were looking for: rustic, remote, and with a fully equipped kitchen. My only complaint was that the unit did not get much sunlight, and did not have any heating so it was very chilly even in the middle of the day. We had to pile on two blankets at night to stay warm.

On Sunday morning we went on a beautiful hike with Mike and his family and their friends. It was a perfect three mile hike and ended up near a waterfall where we had lunch before we hiked back. After lunch we hung out by the pool on the property and read. Later that day we went grocery shopping and made a fabulous dinner. It was a little difficult to light the stove, and we definitely could not figure out how to work the oven. But I did not mind any of this because the environment was just so charming. I tried to read a little bit in bed, but the bedside lamp did not work.

We got an early start on Monday and went to hike at Lake Awosting as Mike suggested. We got a beautiful view of the lake and ate lunch at the most gorgeous vista spot.

Overall, I would say this is a great place to go if you want to get away from the city. It is a beautiful property and Mike is so helpful and welcoming. The newer chalet looks amazing, and the cabin where we stayed was charming. The entire property is also eco-friendly, which attracted me. I came away feeling very well rested and just happy to be out in nature. Having such a peaceful and quiet place to stay definitely added to the experience. I think I have found a great new spot for when NYC drives me crazy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

My friends and I stayed in the Owl's Nest cabin, which has one enclosed bedroom, and a loft upstairs with two double beds, and a twin bunk above one of the doubles. The cabin was cozy and fun to stay in. We had 6 adults in our party, but all agreed that kids would LOVE staying in the loft area. The cabin was clean, has a kitchen with dishes and the essentials, and we really liked the saltwater pool. The grounds were very quiet and secluded. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jake's Place

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Jake's place is peaceful, well kept and comfortable. Jake is very welcoming and is a terrific host. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Jake's place is peaceful, well kept and comfortable. Jake is very welcoming and is a terrific host. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 17, 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Dear Emerald Forest Bungalow:

Thanks for the peace
Thanks for the quiet
Thanks for the pool
Thanks for the bombardier squirrel who dropped acorns on the roof every AM to wake us up!

Betsy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 17, 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Dear Emerald Forest Bungalow:

Thanks for the peace
Thanks for the quiet
Thanks for the pool
Thanks for the bombardier squirrel who dropped acorns on the roof every AM to wake us up!

Betsy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 23, 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

Jake & Family,

Excellent work here - your house is so gorgeous I want to live here forever! It feels so simple and peaceful. Pool is wonderful. I love all the details - the hardware in the bath, the fan blades, the wicker modern furniture. It's just cool. And thanks for going green.

Ann Lenon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 15th, 2009

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

I've never seen stars so bright! Shine on Emerald Forest! Thanks for an amazing time! Hope to come again soon. Left some bluegrass material, next time we'll all jam. Thank you for the ica caves recommendation- awesome!!

Lou & Marissa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 3rd, 2009

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

What a fantastic place! We all had a fantastic time and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is beautiful, it couldn't have been more homely. The girls loved the swimming pool, we had to drag them off to do anything else. We walked up to the ice caves and Sam's Point. Molly aged 3, walked the whole way. Great views and scrambling down to the caves. Mike & Felisa were incredibly welcoming, what fantastic hosts. We'll definitely stay here again if we pass this way again. Good luck for the future but most important good luck with the baby.

Duncan, Amy, Isabel, Cola, and Molly
London, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 02, 2009

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We stayed 4 nights from the 29th July until 2nd of August. Made a great but tough hike from Sam's Point to the ice caves and around the preserve. Took us 6 hours but what marvelous views! We also saw the college town of New Paltz. Why did the French Huguenots choose a German name for the town? We also visited the home of former President FDR near Poughkeepsie. Last but not least we enjoyed Mike & Felisa's wondeerful BBQ. We had a great stay here. Mike & Felisa thanks for the hospitality.

Freek-Jan, Catherine, Eva, and Willamine, Netherlands

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 26, 2009

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

What a wonderful place! We had an amazing time. The fishing was great, the pool was relaxing, and the yoga was peaceful. We can't wait to come back.

Jesse & Josh
Brooklyn, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review