reviews for: listing #56372 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

Luxurious Nob Hill Loft
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $419 - $549 /nt

sort by:

Best Location, elegant condo

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

Our family of 4 adults spent a wonderful week in this lovely condo. It was white glove clean, with comfortable beds, luxury sheets and fully stocked kitchen. We had full containers of soap, shampoo, conditioner in both bathrooms, dishwasher and washing machine soap provided. The location was what set this condo apart - Level or downhill to Fisherman's Wharf, Embarcadero, the best baseball stadium, Safeway grocery store and many great restaurants. We even walked home on occasion. We always felt safe. We got strong enough to walk up to Coit tower and down telegraph hill. If you couldn't find a cab to take you home, you could call, and they would be right there. Cable cars were fun and convenient - but very crowded. We felt like natives because our daughters downloaded 2 apps - "hopstop" which gives easy to follow directions by car, walking and mass transit; and the cable car website which will tell you when the next car arrives. The best adventure we had was a Segway tour - I was a little nervous, but was told if I could walk I could do it. With our guide, we went through Embarcadero. North Beach Fishermans Wharf, and lots of hills. This was not our first trip to San Francisco, but because of the condo, it was the best

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Week in San Francisco

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Our party of five adults thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay in this Nob Hill condo. It was beautifully appointed, totally comfortable, easily accommodated us all comfortably/privately and so convenient to all the fun things there are to do in San Francisco. The cable cars stopped right outside the condo's front door and with our 7 day pass, we were able to jump on and off whenever we wanted. Thanks Melissa and Nick for your attention to detail and providing us with a fantastic San Francisco vacation experience :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing apartment in perfect location!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

I travelled here with my family from Ireland for a weeks vacation in San Fran. This apartment is amazing.

Photos can't do the size and layout of this apartment justice. It is ultra modern and every detail is impressive, from the huge main bathroom with his and hers sinks to the remote controlled mode lighting.

The cable car stops directly outside the front door. Chinatown and North Beach restaurants and bars are easily walked to. Across the road you have a fantastic cafe for breakfast. Within 2 block you have a great restaurant in the Nob Hill Cafe. Also a grocery store with a mountain of health food options. The location would be very hard to beat.

Best of all Melissa and Nick are a joy to work with. Great communication and extremely helpful.

I will be back and I can't recommend highly enough.

Paul Casement, N.Ireland

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect place to stay in San Francisco!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

My family and I stayed here in May 2012. Being our first time in San Francisco and also our first experience staying in a home stay we were a little unsure of what to expect. However, this condo lived up to the fantastic reviews. What an amazing place in an unbelievable location! Nick and Melissa are absolutely lovely - nothing was ever an issue and their home was immaculate with every amenity imaginable and so close to everything. After having seen San Francisco, I cannot find a better location to base myself and my family whilst holidaying there.
My parents were also with us and they really enjoyed the walk down to Fishermans wharf and even walked up the hill back to the apartment! Great that there is the option to catch the cable car and it drops you off at the door too!
All the attractions are within walking distance, Chinatown down the street and only a few blocks either way to Union Square and Fishermans Wharf. The nicest part is that you have the option to walk or on days where you're all shipped out you can catch a cable car home.
One thing we have found with traveling is that it is hard to gauge experiences and expectations of travelers from other countries. For those that travel from NZ and Australia, this is a 5 star property. In fact the entire experience was 5 star! We will definitely be back to stay here next time we visit. There is a reason why this condo is booked up well in advance! Fantastic home in the best location with such lovely and helpful owners!

Thank you so much Nick and Melissa!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Luxurious, Comfortable and Clean - Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

The title says it all!
Our family of 5 adults stayed here in early July 2012 and I am so glad we chose this place. It was so roomy. It is a luxurious 3 story apartment with plenty of room & the photos are exactly what it looks like
I must say my favourite feature of the entire apartment was the bed we slept in in the main bedroom downstairs. It was so comfortable and it is the best bed I have ever slept in out of every place I have travelled too and I have travelled alot! I wanted to take it back to Australia with me. It had luxurious sheets, pillows and matress and was very clean. I couldve slep all day and did one day haha. I didnt realise what time it was! Make sure you set your alarm otherwise you will never get up to see the sights
There were two Queen beds upstairs in a loft type setting which you could see the entire living room from the railing and another bedroom downstairs which was next to the Main. The guys said they also had a great sleep
There is a fully equipped Laundry upstairs with washing machine, dryer and detergent is provided
There is 2 bathrooms, one on the ground floor and one next to the main bedroom downstairs. Your shampoo, conditioner, body wash, robes and towels are provided.
The kitchen is fully equiped & functional & the pantry was stocked with all the basics so there was no need to go out and buy all the little things. It has an ice maker & cold water was also available from the fridge
The dining area was large enought for 8 people to dine and we used the bar stools along the kitchen bench quite often to socialise while cooking.
Melissa and Nick are the perfect owners and hosts. Upon arrival Nick was there to meet us and spent a good half an hour informing us about where everything was in the city, how to get there, where to go, where the tram stops were and basically answered all of our inquisitive questions. When we arrived there was a big football game on in Australia and Nick was even able to find the channel on the free payless TV. We were very impressed!
I had no trouble with booking, Melissa answered all my emails prompty, payment was made successfully with ease through Pay Pal and Security deposit was refunded prompty after departure.
I would definately highly recommend this apartment to anyone who needs the space for a comfortable and hassle free stay.
San Francisco has since become one of my favourite destinations and I think this accom experience has been a big part of this.

Thankyou M n N
.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded expectations.

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Thank you for everything - the loft/apartment was fantastic. I can’t say enough about the accommodations - high quality, updated, clean, well laid out, spacious - it exceeded expectations and we have high standards. From the minute we arrived, we felt at home. It was the perfect spot for us for the week – we had a very productive and fun time. Cable car stops right out the front door and a lot to do/great neighborhoods within walking distance.

Melissa is truly a pleasure to do business with...all queries were addressed quickly and completely. We will be back and we will be recommending it to our friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place! Great owners!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We love the place! Melissa & Nick are very helpful. We have difficult in booking our flight from Hong Kong & keep changing our schedule & apartments with Melissa. The apartment is clean & well equipped. Email communication is easy & fast. Just book any apartments from Melissa & Nick!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great place! Great owners!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We love the place! Melissa & Nick are very helpful. We have difficult in booking our flight from Hong Kong & keep changing our schedule & apartments with Melissa. The apartment is clean & well equipped. Email communication is easy & fast. Just book any apartments from Melissa & Nick!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great apartment in a perfect location!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

We had a 5 day stay in this great apartment in September 2011. We were a group of 7, including our 2 kids under 3 years old, and our our parents in their late 60's. The apartment was really spacious and was able to accommodate all of us quite comfortably (including a great open plan living area, which allowed the kids lots of space to play).

The kitchen was well stocked with all the cooking essentials, and all the linens and towels etc were hotel quality. I especially loved the bed!!!!!!! So comfortable....and I personally liked the lack of windows in the downstairs room, as it was nice and dark and enabled a few sleep-ins, even the baby slept in!

The apartment was central to everything, yet out of the tourist areas, so we really felt like we were living in San Francisco like a local. A beautiful neighbourhood, and easy to take the bus or cable car, which both stop either right outside or within a block or 2 of the apartment. Our boys had a great time waving goodnight to all the tourists on the cable car each night from the front door!

If you have kids, the apartment can supply a pack n play (baby cot) and an air mattress if required. There is also a lovely playground and little park (where all the neighbourhood dogs gather) a short, but steep, walk up the top of the hill a few blocks. We took the kids there every afternoon and they had a great time meeting new friends, both the 2 and 4 legged variety!

If you feel like eating out, there is a cafe 1 block away (open during the daytime), a pizza place a few blocks away, and of course lots of restaurants in Chinatown, which is only a 5 min walk away.

Melissa and Nick were extremely helpful in allowing us to drop our luggage off early, and quickly resolved a couple of issues we had with trying to work out the hot water taps during our stay. We would totally recommend this apartment to others, and would certainly stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to come back to San Francisco.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic location

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

We were four adults and three children. handy to everything, we walked, caught the cable car and caught buses easily from this property. really easy apartment to stay in and liked that we could cook and eat in if we wanted or walk 5 mins into Chinatown or a bit longer to North Beach. Would recommend this place to stay and plan to stay again if we come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Location with great amenities

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This is a fantastic location and offers much in terms of amenities, conveniences and decor. The location was central to everything and offered you the opportunity to walk or take public transportation. The kitchen was well outiftted. I would recommend surveying the pantry prior to going to the grocery for supplies.

Nick and Melissa were wonderful and accomodated an early arrival with our luggage drop off. We would definitely rent the space again!!!

As said in earlier posts... the pictures are real... it looks just like this!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I staying here with family for the week up my daughter's wedding. It was the perfect place. Room for family to come and go during the week. Nick and Melissa are the best. They were helpful and went out of their way for me. If rent from anyone rent from them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location, Great times in San Francisco

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Enjoyed a fabulous stay with a group of girlfriends in the fall. The location was great, you could easily walk to the many different neighbourhoods but remember you are in San Francisco and there are plenty of hills. However, I highly recommend the MUNI passport and just step on/off the cable car right out the front door. The condo ammenities are as described and, as others have posted, the pictures are a true representation. Neighbourhood felt safe and was quiet overall. Our companions in the loft would hear the cable car employees in the ealy morning but all is extra quiet in the basement level bedrooms. One thing to note is the master and second bedroom do not have any natural light as they do not have windows.
The condo overall was clean, the owners were accomodating and easy to reach and I would definitely stay again. We all enjoyed the Alcatraz night tour, we did a wine tour although would have liked more time in "wine country" itself, enjoyed a delicious meal at Trattoria Pinocchio and would eat at Tony's Pizza Napoletana anyday (try the deep fried green beans). Fisherman's wharf was "neat to see" but not my favorite. Hope to visit again some day but we girls have a few more places to cross off our list first! Thank you for a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing place in a great location

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

This loft is the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. The location is central to everything, and it is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Nick and Melissa were absolutely fantastic to us. After a long day (and night) in San Francisco it was the perfect place to come back and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location in San Francisco

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We are just back from a lovely week at Nick and Melissa's apartment on Nob Hill!

We were a group of 30 something age group of friends, looking for a comfortable, central apartment, we could share and enjoy, and this place was perfect for our needs. The photos on the website show the apartment exactly as it is, which is often a concern, when booking on line.

The location is great and the waterfront, Golden Gate Bridge and main central, attractions are largely walkable, as long as you are ok with the famous hills en route :) Good exercise for all and great fun to explore the different neighbourhoods on the way!

Also nearby are lots of eateries and the fun neighbourhood of Russian Hill, which we explored for nice restaurants.

All in all, the apartment was a great find for us and we were very happy with the service provided. I would go back and stay here again - and really hope I can again one day soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

genial!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

La casa es perfecta, nos ha encantado, muy cómoda, muy moderna y muy cuidada. La parada del tranvía está justo al lado de la puerta principal.
Lo más triste fue no conocer a Melissa, su encantadora dueña
muy recomendable.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we stayed longer

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

Staying at Nick and Melissa's property was such a wonderful experience. The unit looks excellent, the amenities complete and the location is superb - Cable car literally stops outside the door, Chinatown a few blocks down the road - with a view of the Bay Bridge! The pictures as posted didn't lie - the unit looks exactly the way it was described. Melissa, despite being away, tried to answer all of our queries.Their friend Wendy was very helpful as well. I and my family enjoyed our stay! Thanks Nick and Melissa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location - lovely loft

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

Our family has absolutly enjoyed this lovely loft. We loved the decor it is size. Our boys loved the place. Location is perfect as we could walk to Fishermens Warf, North Beach, and downtown. Melissa and Nick are wonderful and help us with all our questions. Thank you and we will back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great condo in center of all attractions

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

We were first timers to san francisco. The loft was clean, plenty of room and has friendly accomodating owners. Walking distance to China Town. Hop the cable car right outside the door. I would definitely rent from these owners again. Lots of stairs to sleeping quarters; not great for elderly, small kids or disabled.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Rental for Family Get Together

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Our family of 11 came to San Francisco to attend our Son's graduation from Law School. The owner's were extremely accommodating, providing us with additional aero beds and linens. The location was perfect, convenient to everything! We only had minor issues, not worth mentioning. Can't get a more central location than this! Loved it! We will definitely rent again for a large gathering.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Wow...what a wonderful vacation property! This was a wonderful experience from the moment our landlord/lady arranged for rides from the airport, gave us a tour of the place, bought us wine, helped with any needs we had, and arranged for rides back to the airport, we could not have asked for anything more! There we 6 adults in our group and we all were extremely comfortable. Magnificent kitchen/dining area, wonderful living room with big TV, 2 large bathrooms, and 3 large bedrooms (one with a large TV) and plenty of closet space! Great appliances...stove, 2 ovens, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, and laundry facilities! Seriously you could not ask for more! Also very modern and relaxing! What a vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Loft

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

The minute I walked in, I fell in love with the place. The common area has tons of seating, great for having friends/family come over. The surround sound was excellent and perfect for entertaining. The owners were extremely nice and accomodating. I would rent this place again. It was perfectly located, as I was able to walk to chinatown, to the great italian restaurants on Columbus, and bars. I also ate at a great tapas bar called LaLola, a small 2 blocks away. This neighborhod was clean and safe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Our daughter had a destination wedding on March 5th and I wanted to find a place that our immediate family of 6 could rent in order to have the space to be comfortable in lieu of renting hotel rooms which are very cramped. This rental was the perfect solution. I would give the loft the highest of recommendations. The location on the corner of Mason and Jackson couldn't have been more perfect. The cable stop right in front of the loft made getting around the city very easy. You never know about renting from individuals especially so far away and for such a special event but I can honestly say Nick and Melissa are very nice and trustworthy. I would rent this loft again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location with Modern Decoration

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

My mother-in-law, sister-in-law, my husband, 5 year old son, and myself spent 6 nights in this modern loft from 12/25-31/09. The place worked for all of us very well. It's location could not be better for us since we did not rent a car and really enjoyed walking and taking buses/cable cars everywhere.
I always hope my house could be painted in nice modern colors. This loft totally suits me that way. The master bedroom has a flat screen TV for me and my husband to relax after a day of walking. My 5 year old son loved the loft and thought it was so fun and wanted to stay for longer. Everyone is happy.
The best part of staying here is to make breakfast in the luxury kitchen. We will read, eat, talk, have some coffee... it is very relaxing. So if you are concerned about the rental cost, think about how much you can actually save over making your own healthy breakfast and the time you can spend with your family. I loved it!
I had a very smooth and easy communication w/ Melissa before/during/after the rental.
You will not be disappointed.
Karen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Extraordinary Rental!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

My family and I stayed here for our San Francisco getaway this November. This place was absolutely perfect! The unit itself is gorgeous and very nicely decorated. The location couldn't have been better and within walking distance to everything! To top it off, the owners were very acommodating and helpful with suggestions on what to do in the city. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review