reviews for: listing #5639 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

890 ft private fishing pier 100 yds to beach 5th floor view
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Amelia by the Sea
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $265 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,670 /wk
    $2,170 - $2,170 /mth

sort by:

Outstanding condo!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

Loved the condo, it was beautiful & very clean!! All this with a breathtaking view of the ocean. We are booking again for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our wonderful stay!!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

We have stayed here many times & the condo is always clean & welcoming. We enjoy the laid back atmosphere of the island & that is why we go to Amelia Island. The condo has everything one needs for a stay of a week or a month. The large kitchen is easy to cook in.....just like being home! The master bedroom & bath were renovated this year (2014) & they are beautifully done! The view from the 5th floor condo is gorgeous & with the large balcony you can hang out in any kind of weather! There is a private pier (only for Amelia by the Sea occupants!) & we enjoyed walking on it & watching all the fishing going on from the end of it! Fun to see what was caught. The grounds are well maintained & we like that the condos are in a gated community. The pool is always sparkling! The office staff have always been helpful & are there whenever you need them. Absolutely a wonderful place to spend a no-stress, laid back kind of vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

One Fantastic Vacation!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Your condo is the best we've ever rented. It had everything you could want. Fantastic view, one fine fishing pier, beautiful beach with very few people, nice tennis courts, pool with lots of lounge chairs, a grill for cooking steaks near the pool, a TV in all the rooms and a fully equipped kitchen for cooking all those fish we caught. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, drinking coffee and watching the sunrise over the ocean. Thanks for making such great deals so we can afford to come. Me and my buddies are going to come back for a fishing weekend. Looking forward to it soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Once again we have really enjoyed our stay at this unit. The fishing is great and everything you want to do is close by. This unit is well maintained and I would suggest anyone that wants a nice vacation to keep this unit in mind. We had a great time and very comfortable place. Thanks for letting us share your condo. Ready to come back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Wow - Great View!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

What a great condo. Very roomy, very clean, well furnished, easy access to the beach, and very reasonable price for the amenities. Plenty of secured parking and easy to get in and out. Very quiet with the great sleeping sounds of the Atlantic Ocean.

Great resturants near by and a short drive to shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great location, good condo

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

The condo was clean and well-appointed. The units themselves show a little age and could be updated in some places, but this owner has made the effort to keep things up. The kitchen had anything we could have needed (except a rubber spatula- definitely a recommended addition!). The balcony furniture was one of the nicest we saw in all the units, and very comfortable. For us, having two beds in the second room was really a plus. Condo location couldn't have been better. The boardwalk and pier are really convenient and the pool was always clean and quiet. This was the only pier we could see from the beach, so that is a nice plus for this property. The pier was also just recently redone and very nice.
The one negative comment is on the property management, who did a very poor job of providing check-in/out services. We were not told anything about how to check-in except seeing on the web site that check-in was after 4 but before 5pm. We arrived to find that the office was closed all day because it was a Sunday, so we called the number on the door and were told to drive down the road to the real estate office. That was also closed so we called back and were durected to a key box at the RE office which did not contain our keys. While waiting for someone to call us back we drove back to the condo and found a key box there with our keys. It would seem a basic thing that we should have been directed to the key box ahead of time since they knew we were checking in on a Sunday. We had rushed and stressed to make it by 5pm when we really could have arrived anytime. Also, there was no information as to how to check out. The office was locked up at 10am on the weekday when we left, do we just dropped the keys back in the box where we found them and hoped that was correct. Lastly, a cleaning woman showed up one day during our stay because she said she had been told we checked out that day. No big deal, but another example of management's disorganization.
All in all we had a great time and will absolutely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Have stayed at Amelia By the Sea many times and this is one of the best units there. Kitchen has been nicely remodeled and owner has thoughtfully furnished condo with all you would need for a relaxing vacation. The private pier is a great bonus for fishing and just watching the amazing sunrise each day. Highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This unit is AWESOM!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

This unit is great. I am a Amelia Island resident and have stayed here at Amelia By The Sea several times in the pasted three years. Miss DJ's unit is the best I have stayed in. She has all the comforts of home and a spectacular view. Thanks Miss DJ for the great stay and working with me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had a ball! The fishing was awsome!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

"This was our best trip ever! We had so much fun and the condo was wonderful as always. This year the fish were biting & the guys had a ball. Whiting and mackrel were dinner one night and we caught enough to take some home. We have been coming to this condo for the past 8 years and if we get a chance we come twice a year. It is decorated nice, the kitchen has everything you need and since it's been remodeled it can now hold me and my family while I cook and they clean up the fish, it's got a washer/dryer, very comfortable beds, it's clean and set up for a family. The view from the balcony lets us keep up with everyone on the beach, at the pool and on the pier and the sunrise is always worth getting up for. While we were here we had quality time together and got some R&R too. The island is the best. We are already looking forward to coming back in the spring, maybe just the two of us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had so much fun! The fishing was awsome!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

This was our best trip ever! We had so much fun and the condo was wonderful as always. This year the fish were biting & the boys had a ball. Whiting and mackrel were dinner one night and we caught enough to take some home. We have been coming to this condo for the past 8 years and if we get a chance we come twice a year. It is decorated nice, the kitchen has everything you need and since it's been remodeled it can now hold me and my family while I cook and they clean up the fish, washer/dryer, very comfortable beds, it's clean and set up for a family. The view from the balcony lets us keep up with everyone on the beach, at the pool and on the pier and the sunrise is always worth getting up for. While we were here we had quality time together and got some R&R too. The island is the best. We are already looking forward to coming back in the spring, maybe just the two of us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I was Scared....

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

A review of this condo came out 3 days before we were leaving for Fernandina Beach. This write-up made it sound like the condo left a lot to be desired. When my family arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. I don't know if everything had been fixed during the week, but I did not notice any of the problems that were cited.

The photos above really provide an accurate portrayal of all of the rooms. Everything was decorated well and all of the appliances were in good working order.

I guess when you go to a place at the beach everything may not be perfect. However, the refrigerator looked pretty good. I could open and close the curtains and sliding glass doors. I didn't see mold around the air conditioner. There was no standing water in the tub when I took a shower, and it felt like 72 degrees in the room.

We had a great time at Fernandina Beach and the condo was a large part of it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Tim, I am so glad you and your family had a good time during your visit to Amelia Island. I want to thank you, personally for taking the time to review your stay and the condo. This review, as you can well imagine, was very important to me. Thank you for your honest review of the property. I hope you and your family had special times together & made treasured memories. Thank you for leaving the condo so nice at check out. I look forward to having you as our guest again. DJ

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We won't come back to this condo!

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We were very disappointed with this condo. The kitchen fridge has grease spots on the exterior door. The carpets in the bedrooms are all stained. The sliding glass door to the balcony is almost impossible to open due to age/rust/whatever. The balcony furniture is not inviting. The window curtains do not open or close well. The windows/sills are all filthy. The walls have mold around the air-conditioning vents!

The bathrooms are horrible! The master bath does not drain well and the drain itself is so dirty you don't want to touch it. Same goes for the sink. The bathroom floors have gaps between the wall and floor. Upon our arrival the masterbath door had an open hole where the door knob was supposed to be!

The air conditioning will only go to 72 and it does not cool off effectively during the day. The dryer does not work. When we reported it to the manager he told us that he was aware that it was not working..before we arrived. He had a repairman come out to fix it three days later. We were then told that the part required could not be obtained while we were there. He suggested that we use the condo's laundrymat. That's great...just how we want to spend our vacation time, in a laundrymat.

Thank goodness Amelia Island itself is a great place to go for a vacation. We had a great time on the beach and all around the island. The only low points were going back to the condo.

Owners response: This guest was upset because the dryer was not working when they arrived. They exaggerated and did not tell the truth in their review. My management companys # will be provided to confirm this information.
I have used a management company & their professional cleaning crew to handle my condo rental for me for 17 years with no major complaints ever. I pay for this service so I can provide my guest with the best service possible during their stay. My manager is on site & able to handle any needs my guest may have. They also inspect the condo after cleaning before the next guest arrives. The condo has been remodeled, new kitchen cabinets, marble counter tops, new appliances, ceramic tile floors, washer & dryer (other condos have no washer or dryer).
When my guest arrived Saturday afternoon they were informed that the dryer in the condo had just been reported as not working by the guest who checked out & that a service call had been placed & we were sorry for the inconvenience. Since the condo has a laundry mat at the bottom of the elevator 200 feet across the parking lot we offered to compensate them for their trouble & pay for any laundry services they needed during there stay. Monday the repairman had to order the part. It was fixed a fast a possible.
Because the dryer was broken my condo was inspected not once but three times after it was cleaned. Manager twice & the office asst. to check to be sure the dryer was not working & if it could be fixed before service was called. They all confirmed that the condo was in good condition, no missing door knobs, no dirty bathrooms & no grease spots on the frig. There was a small rust spot. I am sure 9 weeks into summer rental that the carpet does need cleaning, coffee spills etc. There is not time to clean the carpet between rentals. I am putting in new hardwood floor in Sept.
The air condition is brand new, this April. The new big energy efficient unit. It works very well. The problem is people leave the balcony doors open or cracked & it causes the unit to run & the vents to sweat & sometimes it even freezes up, I had this happen once already this year. Anytime you have high temps 95+ like we have this year its hard work to bring the temp to 72. I'm requesting other guest to review my condo so you can get a better idea of what my condo is really like. Some have stayed with me over & over for years. It is a shame when someone gets upset they try to hurt you or get even. Some people you just can’t please.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review