reviews for: listing #56401 - Asheville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Private Waterfall Oasis and Long Range Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $115 /nt
    $650 - $650 /wk

sort by:

What a great cabin!

Review submitted: October 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We loved the birds and flowers too. We left you a taste of Peach-Blueberry cobbler we made Carolina Peaches and Falls Branch Blueberries...Yum!

We hope to be bafck often.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We have a couple of Blueberry bushes that grow along Falls Branch which is just a few feet from the backdoor of the chalet. This guest stayed while the blueberry's were in season and we are happy to share them.The cobbler was delicious and how thoughtful for this guest to leave it for us. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

loved it!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

My family loved our stay at the cottage! For our small family it was the perfect size. We loved the waterfall in the back that my daughter had so much fun playing in and the hiking trail that was right next to the property was also really great! The house was well furnished. I especially like the cute kitchen! It was perfect for our family and we loved how close it was to so many fun things! It was only 15 to Chimney Rock so we went there a few times and we ate the village there several times and also enjoyed Lake Lure. Asheville was pretty close too, so we went there a few times as well. There is an entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway very close by as well that we took advantage of.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Straight out of a Fairy Tale..Loved it!

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

We loved our three nights here. We spent most of the time reading and sunning at the base of the waterfall in the backyard. The nature preserve trailhead is 50 yards away with miles of great trails and little waterfalls. We'll be back soon.

Thanks Sheila,
Chris and Linda.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Best Weeks Vacation

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Absolutely loved this cabin. Quaint, comfortable, and so relaxing. Waking up to the sound of the waterfall in the backyard was the best. I enjoyed my coffee every morning on the back porch listening to the waterfall, couldn't be any better. The cabin was so convenient to so many beautiful trails for hiking. In fact one great trail is literally out the front door and 20 steps to the left. The trip into Asheville or Black Mountain is very easy and only takes about 20 minutes. In fact the drive to the city is so beautiful you will be glad you have the commute. The Hickory Nut Farm Store is only a few miles away and you can indulge in grass fed beef, locally made sausage (the brats were fantastic), and much more. Also just down the road is a farm stand where fresh greens, strawberries, and flowers are ready for purchase by the honor system. I can't tell you how much you will enjoy this cabin. I strongly recommend it. I know I will be back as soon as I can get more time off from work. Thank you Sheila for a wonderful vacation and for having such a clean, relaxing cabin.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful little weekend retreat...

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

A wonderful little weekend retreat for my wife and I, when we visited Ashville for Moogfest 2014... such a serene, comfy little cabin - and the view was simply amazing. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We LOVED this cabin!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Everything about our stay at this cabin was absolutely wonderful!

Sheila was working when we arrived but she made it super easy for us to check in, since the keys were available via a lock box we had access to. The cabin was spotless and well stocked with all the necessities for our 5-day stay. The kitchen was a big plus for us since it had all the cookware we needed.

The cabin was extremely comfortable in every aspect, including the bed and futon.

I know the people who stayed after us complained of fleas, but we did not notice any and could not have asked for a cleaner cabin to stay in. Sheila was a great host and did an excellent job preparing the cabin for our stay.

We look forward to staying there again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I appreciate guests that leave reviews and strive very hard to keep the cabin comfortable, clean and well stocked with everyday items that our guests will not have to worry about needing while there. I am also happy that the cabin attracts guests from all over the country who want to visit Western North Carolina.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Clean, Quiet & Very Comfortable...IDEAL GETAWAY!!!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Cabin is charming, Fall & Stream in back-ideal for soothing the SOUL! Highly recommend. Travel in the area is fun and lots of places to pull off and soak in the spirit of the mountains, grab a bite, and relax. I look forward to another stay in the near future. Thanks Sheila!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Weekend Get Away

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

My husband and I got away for the weekend to celebrate his birthday. The cabin was the perfect place to relax and spend time together. It was such a peaceful place and so cozy. We loved the home feeling of an older house that had all the comforts that you could want. We really enjoyed the sound of the waterfall and all the little birds flying in and out of the falls. Thank you Sheila for a wonderful weekend and for sharing your cabin with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We just love sharing the chalet with our guests. I am happy to hear that your husband could relax and enjoy his birthday while at the house. Thank you for taking such good care of our vacation home and guests like yourself is what helps us to tolerate an occasional disgruntaled guests comments. We really appreciate your thoughtful words here on the site and also in our guests book at the house. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice location but not so nice cabin

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Beautiful scenery at this cabin, as the drive to and from was a scenic byway.
However, the cabin had dirty carpets, smelled of mildew, has very low ceilings and a rickety sounding floor. I do not recommend this rental.

Owners response: I have been very dissapointed in this guest who arrived with her husband and two dogs. We are very pet friendly and rarely have issues with guests with pets as we provide a big dog bed, extra towels to clean dogs with, a crate so as not to leave them to roam while guests are away and a few other items for the pets. I do have a $100.00 security deposit for guests with pets and that is to cover extra cleaning or minor damages and early cancellations. I also charge a pet fee that is for the privledge of allowing pets to stay with their respective owners. The fee does not cover excessive cleaning. I realize that some dogs like to hang out o the furniture and I have a sticky tape roll for hair that won't vaccume up, I always need to vaccume twice and I sometimes have to toss poo out of the yard. Don't mind doing this at all. However I do mind having to shampoo the carpet unexpectedly and on the same day I have more guests checking in and I do mind having to clean Milkbone goo off of every piece of furniture and I also don't like to have to change a washer in the hot water knob of the shower that was tightened so tight it broke and we were not told about this either. I always leave a note asking to be notified if our guests have any questions or concerns or if I need to fix something when I return to clean. Never heard from this guest all week and she also abused the PayPal protection policy by placing a dispute and hold on my account for half of the stay. It was for over $400.00. That was quickly resolved because I have pictures and witnesses as to how filthy the house was. Not to mention a signed rental agreement. I had guests check in after this person with two dogs and after they checked out I couldn't even tell they had been their. They also left a wonderful note in the guest book about how clean the house was upon arrival. With all this said I expect a negative review from this guests because she has threatened me by way of email.. I did keep the $100.00 deposit and for obvious reasons.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Anniversary

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My husband and I rented the Chalet to celebrate our first anniversary. We had driven past a few years ago when we were visiting Asheville and we thought it was the cutest cabin. The cute is not limited to the outside... it is an adorable little cabin inside too. Very clean and nicely decorated and located in a quiet, peaceful setting. The cabin is a bit short inside, so if you are tall you may have to duck in a few spots to avoid bumping your head, but I would hardly consider that a complaint! :) In fact, the size of the cabin is very much a part of it's charm. The cabin comes fully equipped with all the necessities for those that want to stay in and enjoy the quiet... all you need to do is grab some food for meals and your set! For those that want to venture out, Chimney Rock is a short drive away and offers shopping, dining and outdoor activities. There is a small general store in Gerton that offers some great amenities and friendly service. The drive to Asheville is about 25 minutes and that offers even more to do in terms of dining, arts and activities and the great outdoors. We highly recommend The Admiral and Nine Mile for dinner and Craggie Brewing Co. for some great beer. We love this area and hope to call it home someday soon. Our stay at the cabin was wonderful and I have a feeling we'll be back soon! Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. We rarely get to meet our guests and we were lucky enough to meet this sweet sweet couple. I hope that next year the two of you and your new baby will be able to visit. We have extra's for our guests with babies and toys too :o) Hope to see you again next year and by the way we always extend a discount to our return guests.

Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Fabulous Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Thank you so much for our wonderful stay at your cottage! What a well appointed and comfortable place it is. As a vacation property owner, I was especially pleased!

Our trip was primarily a search of where we would like to relocated to for our semi retirement. The cabin was an excellent location to be our base camp! Coming 'home' after daily adventures was a pleasure.
Your efforts to provide a beautiful vacation spot are very much appreciated!Thanks for wonderful memories!
Cindy and Steven

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased to have such a wonderful review left by another vacation rental owner. It means so much that someone else noticed our focus on comfort and attention to detail.

Thank you so much for leaving us this review and please come back again if you need a base camp when searching for a place to semi retire to. Our area has so much to offer. I also appreciate your nice comments in our guest book :o)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our getaway

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We loved the house and location. Perfect for just what we were looking for. The house is well maintained and orderly. I especially appreciated the owners flexibility with meeting us to make final arrangements. The community surrounding the property is friendly helpful and just "home folk" We loved the whole experience. We were a short distance from Asheville, a large lake, lots of sites to see or just quiet if that is preferred. The best part is our cellular phones would not get signal at the house which gave us a great sense of rest. Our ONLY disappointment is that we couldn't stay longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place To Relax

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Loved this cabin set in the woods high in Hickory Nut Gorge.
The decorating was great and it was very cozy.
I sat outside most mornings and watched the butterflies in the bushes lots of gorgeous birds too. There is a trail within 2 minutes of this cabin right by the old chimney where you can hike for hours. Took the dogs down to Lake Lure every day for a long walk around the lake. Fresh produce on the road to Asheville. The parkway is 20 minutes away. Close to Biltmore and downtown.
The river is very close we went and sat by the river one afternoon read our books and just chilled out.
The problem I have T Mobile no phone service but hey who cares.
The cabin has everything you need just bring your clothes and toothbrush.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have been so lucky to have wonderful guests stay at our place. Thank you so much for the nice comments and also for mowing our grass. My husband was in an accident two months ago and this guests husband was so sweet to mow for me as I had my plate pretty full at the time. Thank you also for taking such good care of our property and your dogs had the best disposition. It was nice to see your biggest dog take advantage of the large dog pillow we have in the house. I don't always get to meet our guests and I am so glad to meet you and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Our stay at the Falls Branch Chalet was wonderful. The property is amazing. The house itself is nestled right up next to the surrounding mountians. Many granite boulders, lush lanscaping and the waterfall make for quite an experience. The house has everything someone would need. The grill on the back porch is the best grill I've ever seen. Top quality. It's an easy and scenic 20 minute drive to downtown Asheville. Ten minutes the other way will put you at Chimney Rock.

The owner, Sheila, was great to deal with and made the whole process very simple.

Honestly, I cannot imagine a better location or chalet or cabin. If you're wanting to stay in the mountians near Asheville I doubt it gets better than this.

Jeff and Barbara - Saint Louis, MO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A "Little Piece of Heaven"

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Okay, people... I hesitate to say how wonderful this place is because then I'll have to compete with you to rent it!

Very private, beautiful surroundings, and only a few very scenic miles to the nearest grocery store and DVD rental boxes!

Don't know how Owner Sheila arranged it, but I was greeted at my car door by a beautiful red cardinal. Should've had my camera ready! Will I ever learn?

I refused to do much cooking, although the chalet kitchen had anything you needed. So... we ate at several excellent restaurants in Asheville and Black Mountain. (PS Go online and look up "Roux" restaurant in the Hilton at Biltmore Town Square. They have a Buy-one, Get-one coupon for a lovely all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet, and not your ordinary buffet at that... cooked-to-order exotic omelets and the tenderest, tastiest Belgium waffles! Coffee and OJ included! Very "posh!")

Back to Falls Branch Chalet... Owner Sheila was very sweet to work with, exceptionally concerned with the comfort of our stay in her chalet. She left us some tasty treats, plenty of paper goods, and her kitchen was stocked with any kind of appliance or pan you might need. Now that I've used her NICE blender, I'm thinking I'm going to have to go shopping to upgrade my ordinary one at home...

I'd love to be visiting this location in the fall, sitting on private back porch with all the fall leaves falling and the branch waterfall gurgling! The kitchen is situated on the back of the chalet nearest the waterfall. I was tempted to sleep in the kitchen with the windows open so I could sleep to the sound of water falling. I opted instead to enjoy my scrambled eggs and toast at the table outside on the deck while I surveyed the magazines listing activities in the Asheville area.

(Note: I recommend you don't take the Hwy 9 route to Black Mountain. It may be shorter in miles, but it is very curvy for about 20 miles. Plus we got to follow some huge dump truck for half that distance! Instead, take Hwy 74 toward Asheville and hang right on I-40 East to Black Mountain.

My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary in the comfort of Falls Branch Chalet! I'm thinking this has got to be AT LEAST an annual event for us.

Thanks, Sheila!

Rod and Lena

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Weekend at Falls Branch Chalet

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at Falls Branch Chalet. It was wonderful! My workaholic husband was forced to relax. This is the first non-working vacation he has taken.
The cabin is exactly as described. It is very cozy. The waterfall in the back is beautiful and is such a relaxing sound. Sheila's attention to detail is evident. Anything you may need is there, even toys for the kids.
Our favorite excursion was to Black Mountain. This is a quaint little town filled with wonderful little shops, even a quilt shop (Marti's Patchwork Cottage). I also found a great bead shop in Asheville (Chevron Trading Post) on Lexington Avenue. Lots of other stores and restaurants along this street. Our favorite restaurant was at Lake Lure. The LaStrada has beautiful views and wonderful food. Take a sweater and sit on the deck!
This was a great vacation and I look forward to going back.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for your wonderful review here on the site and also in our guest book in the house. We understand that a vacation is supposed to be a vacation and so we try to provide as many amenities as possible for our guests so that if they suddenly find they have forgotten something they will not have to run out to the store. Even the medicine cabinet in the bathroom has everything from Alcohol, various toiletries, Band-Aids, Q-tips and many other items.
We take great pride in our rental and appreciate all of our guests. Especially guests like you who took care of our house during your stay and also took the time to leave this review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Getaway

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at "Falls Branch Chalet" as part of our Christmas presents to each other. We arrived late on 12/22, and were welcomed to warm and welcoming house, with the lights on and music playing, and nice gift on the table. The cabin is adorable and perfectly decorated. As everyone else has said that setting is amazing, the pictures don't do the waterfall justice. It is beautiful. The next morning we took our 2 dogs hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We all loved it, and we exhausted by about 6 o'clock. We took it easy the next day and just went to a couple of shops around town and then just back to the cabin to enjoy it. We did have to leave on Christmas morning, but hopefully will be able to stay for a longer period of time the next time!!
Thank you Sheila for everything

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: These were the sweetest people. They also left a wonderful comment in our guest book at the house. Due to the heavy snow storm on Christmas Day I couldn't get to the house to turn it over for our next guests the following day 12-26-10 and this guest left the house in perfect condition for our next guests. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Next time you visit I will extend a nice discount :o). Happy New Year to all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Setting

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Falls Branch Chalet is by far the cutest little cabin around. The setting is absolutely amazing, like stated before the pictures do not do the justice. My finance and I stayed there about 2 weeks ago and I still cannot stop thinking about it and we are talking about possibly moving up to Asheville or surrounding areas. There is so much to do just steps out the door. I highly recommend this cabin for just about anymore it has everything to accomedate ANYONE. Its the perfect location as well, a nice secluded setting yet a beautiful 20 minute drive to downtown Asheville. And Sheila the owner is sweet as can be. I don't know what happend with the people that said consider the deposit a part of the fee, but I had my deposit returned within days of departing. Spoil yourself & stay here, you won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Emily for leaving such a nice review. The house was in impecable condition after you left. I wish everyone was as respectful as yourselves. I am glad you had such a great time and I look forward to seeing you and your fiance again. Maybe next time you can spend your honeymoon at the house. We always give honeymooners a special treat when they stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Setting

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Falls Branch Chalet is by far the cutest little cabin around. The setting is absolutely amazing, like stated before the pictures do not do the justice. My finance and I stayed there about 2 weeks ago and I still cannot stop thinking about it and we are talking about possibly moving up to Asheville or surrounding areas. There is so much to do just steps out the door. I highly recommend this cabin for just about anymore it has everything to accomedate ANYONE. Its the perfect location as well, a nice secluded setting yet a beautiful 20 minute drive to downtown Asheville. And Sheila the owner is sweet as can be. I don't know what happend with the people that said consider the deposit a part of the fee, but I had my deposit returned within days of departing. Spoil yourself & stay here, you won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This young lady and her fiance were just adorable. They left the house in impecable condition and she called me upon departure and told me all about everything they did while staying at our cabin. My guess is they will be back and we give discounts to return guests (Smile).
In responce to the guest you said to consider the deposit as part of the rental fee. Those guests brought two dogs and left them in the house to pee everywhere and I had to have the carpets cleaned. We also have a crate for guests that need to leave their dogs in the house. So bring your puppydog children because we are very pet friendly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July Honeymoon!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

What a wonderful honeymoon we had, staying at the Falls Branch Chalet! I was tickled as we pulled up! The cabin is nestled right into the side of the mountain and there's a waterfall trickling behind! We loved picking blueberries for pancakes, relaxing around the cozy little cabin, visiting the city of Asheville, and hiking the nearby trails. We'd love to visit again, thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Great stay at Falls Branch Chalet! The garden and backyard are so beautiful, the waterfall is the best! There's lots to see around the cabin and Asheville is only a short drive away. Recommended to anyone looking for an easy, relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a Little Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

This is a Little Piece of Paradise. The waterfall is wonderful. I love listening to the water pitter patter on the rocks. The back yard was like an oasis of flowers. At night the fireflies are like fairs flying in the night sky. I love the house. We felt welcome and well looked after. Every thing was as if it was meant for us to be there. As for the location, I was in love with this area. Just go once and you will love this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Hobbit House

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

We affectionately nicknamed this charming little house - the "Hobbit House" because of its size and low ceilings. It was tastefully decorated and despite its cozy nature was filled with everything you need for a relaxing get-away. All the comforts of home including plenty of books, TV's, kitchen supplies, and comfortable seating inside and out. The setting outside was filled with abundant and diverse flowering plants that attract birds and butterflies. The private waterfall and small creek was magical and made sitting on the deck very memorable and thought provoking. The owners provided us with a gift basket of goodies that made us feel very welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lulu for such a sweet review for Falls Branch Chalet. I also appreciate the nice comments left in our Guest Book in the house.

Falls Branch Chalet is just under 800 square feet and the ceiling slopes along one side of the house. In the livingroom it slopes toward a large window with a view of the creek. A picture of the livingroom can be seen on our website. We also want to make our guests stay as convenient to modern amenities as we can and the June special includes a bowl of fruit, pastries and fruit juice.

Lulu, I hope you can visit Falls Branch Chalet again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the description of this property is too modest!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

my boyfriend, our dog, and I visited the falls branch Chalet for a long easter weekend. The first thing that we said upon arriving was, "WOW! That waterfall!!!" it was breathtaking, and much more than we were expecting. It was literally in the backyard, 20 feet from the back door! Everything we needed was there in the cabin, and there was plenty to do during our stay. One day, we walked around Chimney Rock park and the surrounding shops. Another day, we drove into Asheville and enjoyed the extremely dog-friendly atmosphere. There was so much to do! We are both amateur photographers, and there were so many beautiful things to catch our eye. Thank you Sheila! We had a fantastic time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the description of this property is too modest!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My boyfriend, our dog, and I visited the Falls Branch Chalet for a long Easter weekend. The first thing we said when we arrived was, "oh my gosh - that waterfall!!" It was so beautiful and the waterfall in the backyard was breathtaking. Everything that we needed was available to us in the cabin, and there were wonderful things to do so close to us. We spent a day at Chimney Rock hiking around and visiting the osphere there. The weekend was a dream. We're both amateur photographers, and there were plenty of things that caught our eye. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you, Sheila!storetms. Another day, we visited Asheville and enjoyed the incredibly dog-friendly a

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Falls Branch Chalet. The plot of land is gorgeous and the Chalet itself is very cozy and accomodating for 2 people. The waterfall and backyard must be seen to believe it. I can't think of a single complaint! The surroundng area is great too and provides for a variety of things to do. The Chalet is centrally located for all the things to do in the Ashevilel area.

I highly recommend staying here if you wish to vacation in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate our guests and are happy that we can share such a unique and magical place with them. The positive comments mean a lot to us! Thank You!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly!

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

The Good:

Wonderful, Private, Scenic view. Really liked waterfall in back and greenery. Cabin was tastefully decorated with cute blueberry theme in kitchen. Owner left blueberry muffins and seasonal beer in fridge. Nice touch. Decorated cutely outside with fall decor.

The restaurant Angelo's was excellent!! Also, check out Claying Around. It was soo much fun making our own pottery.

The Bad:

Bathroom was dirty. There were long black hairs in the tub and the drain. No shower pressure. Bed was as hard as a rock. Living room furniture was uncomfortable.

The Ugly:

Owner called me at 6 in the morning the day we were supposed to be traveling there and told us they had double booked. Called later and told us that the other people were leaving early.

Smelled funny the entire time.

The owners put a red sticky note on table that told us were to leave the keys when we left. Their red sticky note stained the table. We were blamed for it.

We were accused of smoking (neither me or my fiance smoke at all EVER!!!) and staining a towel (which I have no idea what they are talking about on that one).

The lock box to the key was on the back door, so naturally anyone is going to try to unlock the door the key is actually on. The key was nearly broke and when we tried to use it, and it completely broke. They said that it stated that the key went to the front door in the rental agreement. This was entirely false. No where in the rental agreement does it state which door the key goes to.

We went above and beyond to clean the cabin before we left, but I wish we hadn't, since due to false accusations we will not be seeing our deposit.

We were very understanding when they told us they double booked the cabin which would have been a huge inconvenience to us, obviously in retrospect we wish we would have canceled so our business could go to someone more honest who wouldn't take our money for no reason at all.


My advice to you is to stay somewhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Good:

When I arrived at the house I first found a very nice note from this guest letting me know how wonderful their stay had been. We appreciate the positive reviews left by our guests. This was before I discovered the violations of the rental agreement.

The Bad:

We also have a No Smoking sign in the house and I have it stated in the rental agreement that if the house is smoked in or any damage done to the property then the deposit will not be returned. I happen to be a non smoker and can tell if the house was smoked in. I also discovered a red stain on the dining table. The guest had tried to clean it and left the stained washcloth in the dirty cloths basket. It was later admitted in a formal complaint that a wet bag was left on top of a note that I had left. The entry key did break when used to try and unlock the wrong door. That was not a problem because we had back-up.

The Ugly:

In responce to the nasty comments left by the disgrunteled guest. The bed is a plush queen size with an extra mattress pad on top and it is not hard as a rock. The futon in the living room is not the same as a full size sofa and may not be as comfortable for some than others. We take great pride in our vacation home and clean it accordingly and the bathroom was not in the condition as described. I did offer to compare the note size to the table stain size and if they matched then I would return part of the deposit.

A bad review was submitted right away and before I could even compare the note size to the stain size.

All I can say is the house smelled as if it had been smoked in and a prominent red stain was left on the hardwood dining table and ultimately the deposit was not returned.

This is why we ask for a deposit.

We have only had to keep a full deposit on two different occasions.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Great property, dishonest owners

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

The property and surrounding area was beautiful. The proximity to Asheville and the Blue Ridge parkway made for a great weekend, and the extra touches the owners provided were great.

Unfortunately after our stay, the owner chose to cash the security deposit check with no prior notice, only afterwards accusing us of damaging the property. She had no proof of any damages, nor did any occur during our stay, and although we offered to pay the actual costs of the damages (much less than the deposit) even though we did not cause them but just so that we could move on amicably, she refused and instead chose to pocket the money and "fix" the damages on her own.

The security deposit issue left a bad taste in our mouth from an otherwise wonderful weekend. It's a great place, but consider the deposit part of the rental fee as you will likely not be getting it back.

Owners response: We appreciate the positive comments submitted in the review from these rental guests. In response to the negative I have to say that, unfortunately their two dogs used our house for a bathroom. The deposit is to cover any extra expenses such as Professional Carpet cleaning, damage to furniture, smoking in the house or to cover anything missing and last minute cancellations. All of this is in the rental agreement. The true issue is the pet owners not wanting to admit that they lost their deposit due to the fact that the carpets needed to be steam cleaned to remove the dog pee smell after their departure. I have had many great experiences with other guests with pets and welcome future guests with pets. A copy of my rental agreement can be seen on my rental page.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Great for a weekend getaway!

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This place was such a great place to go for a weekend getaway with just the hubby. The owners were VERY nice right from the get go and extremely hospitable.
We loved how we had our own waterfall right in the backyard! It was very relaxing to sip on blueberry coffee (the kitchen had a blueberry theme.. very cute) and watch the water. There were a lot of nice "little touches. It's perfect for 2 people. We liked how it was really close to a lot of different things to do: Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, Asheville, etc. There was a lot of stuff going on, so there was a good mix of relaxing and site seeing. I would recommend this cottage to a couple in a second. We felt very relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Magical Is Not an Exaggeration

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

The owners don't overstate the beauty of this setting. I would be happy to hike in a mile to sit in such a beautiful spot. Instead I could enjoy it in my pajamas, while sipping coffee. I'm grateful I had the opportunity to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review