reviews for: listing #56415 - Prince Frederick, Maryland House rental

Stone's Throw - BayFront Log Cabin on Calvert Cliffs w. WiFi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Scientist's Cliffs
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $275 /nt
    $850 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,600 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

A Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

What a nice escape this was for our family! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this nicely maintained cabin. The view was amazing and the surroundings were quite peaceful. The description of the place is spot on and I was impressed with the overall cleanliness and comfort of the home. We enjoyed walking on the beach, playing in the water, hiking on the trails, and playing lots of cards and board games at night. I would definitely come back and highly recommend a visit to Stone's Throw if you are looking for a restful and relaxing vacation at a reasonable price.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top Notch, Excellent Price, Definitely Coming Back

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

Accurate description for amenities, house, location, beach, fossils. Clean and well maintained. Cabin has cutlery, pots, dishes, microwave, silverware, coffee maker, a full array of cooking utensils, trash bags and cleaning supplies. Walmart and Giant grocery are 5 miles from cabin and on the way. T-Mobile service works great from inside house. Cabin has great digital TV service for music, TV, movies/DVD's, NetFlix, and more. I thought it was smaller based on the picture, but it is large and roomy with plenty of table and floor space. Beds are super comfortable. Cabin is very comfortable in warm or cold weather. The view is incredible. Highly recommend this cabin over any hotel on the beach.

We jogged on the 2 mile beach and beyond. Found 2 shark teeth and a fossilized crab claw. Lots of beautiful shells. **Bring an extra pair of shoes and extra towels. Things do not dry quickly. And there is no dryer.** Hiking trails are within walking distance. Kyaking and boating is easily accessible. Nice quiet neighborhood. We really enjoyed the antiques in the cabin, especially the book collection and various antique displays. Very relaxing, nostalgic, magical. You can't help but forget your stress and take in the grandeur of being so close to nature. We can't wait to return. The home owners are wonderful people.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

I wish every vacation house I rented had an owner as gracious and kind as Ginny.
Ginny has created a wonderful environment in a beautiful location.
Very comfy house with many specialtouches and a beautiful view. Plus a great kitchen (with spices, oil, and good knives!)
And Ginny was so helpful and attentive during the booking process.
I can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond Expectations!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The view is beautiful and the location is great. At bottom of cliff there is two miles of empty white sand beach, filled with big and colorful butterflies. The place (and cabin as well) unique.Hoping to return some day in future. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view of the Chesapeake

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Stone's throw is a fantastic gem! Everything is well maintained and very comfortable. The cabin is so well decorated. For the first day, my three year old wanted to show me something cool about every half hour as she found the jar of shark teeth, the spinning wheel, and other very cool objects used to decorate.

The owners are very helpful when answering questions about the local area and the cabin. Responses to emailed question were always prompt and helpful.

The view is fantastic. It is wonderful to be sipping morning coffee, looking out at the bay, and watch birds dive down at the water and come up with fish. We even saw a few bald eagles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic Valentine's Surprise

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

February 15-18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your home with us. Our husbands took us away for a long (Valentine’s) weekend. The weather was cold the first day but cleared up for the next two. We spent a lot of our time sitting on the porch looking out at the bay. What a breathtaking view!
We also had fun searching the beaches for shark’s teeth.
I was an awesome time with family and we plan to come back when the weather is warmer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magnificent Retreat

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Stone’s Throw was a beautiful God-within-my-life life-altering vacation. It’s absolutely beautiful here. We awoke to amazing sunrises daily. This beautiful cabin provided solitude, serenity, and rejuvenation. I appreciate being able to run the beach, the ravines, Chestnut Land Trust trails. The commute into DC was effortless! You have such a treasure here. I appreciate the beautiful setting, your readiness to answer any question, and most importantly your willingness to “rent” such a magnificent retreat.
Lee kept saying to me, “how can they just rent this beautiful home, if it were mine, I’d say, thank you, but not even for half a million is it available.”
I pray I have the ability to come back numerous times. It’s been the most amazing week of my life! Thank you for your graciousness.
God Bless You, Laura

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wealth of Stars at Night

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

March 30, 2013
We had a wonderful time in your lovely cabin. From sunrises in the morning to a wealth of stars at night, the days of the week passed far too quickly. We never tired of the view, flying kites on the beach, and even some picturesque snow. The kids are already asking when we can come back! We will highly recommend your place to others and hope to return ourselves. Thank you so much!
Best wishes, The C’s

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Escape

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely cabin with us. We enjoyed its warmth & coziness. Exploring the area was glorious.
Your collection of unique items was a delight to look at and compare the shark’s teeth we found to your display.
Hoping to return some day in the near future. Thanks for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

My family was lucky enough to get to spend a weekend at this Magical Cabin. The cabin is so naturally charming and cozy. We felt at home immediately. The views of the Bay are remarkable and unlike any other. Our children started to plan our next stay at Stones Throw on our first night. We found many sharks teeth and relics while walking along beach. The cabin itself is like a museum for treasures that have been found. I truly cannot say enough about how special this place is. We hope to get the chance to stay again soon. The owners make you feel so welcome and are so helpful with information regarding surrounding areas. It was definitely a weekend that we will cherish forever.

The Bakers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing time! The owvers are wonderful!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Amazing time! We're already talking about how much we'd like to come back sometime.We saw so many eagles (just sitting on the porch). Our girls went swimming on the private beach. My husband John found a fossil shark tooth just sticking out of the rock on beach after the storm. It was magical to just walk from the cabin, down the boardwalk to the sea. Pretty awesome! Thanks again to Ginny and her husband for accommodating our last minute plans and sending the key overnight to us! Calvert Cliff State Park was close by and great fun to bike ride to the beach. We are still smiling... Oh, and I appreciate the return of our deposit a few business days after our return. I would highly recommend this magical place if you like to be in nature and relax.... Thank you again!
Sincerely, Gina Roche-Rosenberg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Place

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

I hardly have the words to adequately describe the amazing time we had at Stone's Throw. The cabin--so loved, charming and comfortable, and the beauty of the Bay and all its surrounding--a perfect combination!
We really had incredible weather in which to enjoy it all -- we even got to watch a huge storm cloud move across the Bay -- a very dramatic sky, but only resulted in a little rain during dinner.
Again -- thank you both so much for sharing this amazing place with us -- it was a welcome retreat!
With best regards,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July Getaway

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We stayed at Stone's Throw for 4 days in early July 2012. Our stay landed in the middle of a pretty intense heat wave, but we still had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The cabin was very charming, homey and comfortable. The panoramic view of the bay from the dining porch is really striking. We were a family of three on this vacation -- my husband, 3-year old daughter and me. The cabin was a lot of fun for our daughter to explore. She had a great time playing in the sand and water at the beach that is an easy walk from the cabin. (You just need good knees for the walk because there are quite a few steps.) We did see a lot of jellyfish in the water, but I understand that this is typical for this time of year. If it hadn't been for the extreme heat, we would have spent more time at the beach. It really is pristine, not a single piece of litter anywhere in sight. A big thanks to Ginny who was so friendly in her emails and gave us all the information we needed to have a great time.

Owners response: We are so glad that your 3 year old had a great time. I do hope that you also tried out the lifeguarded community swimming pool which is extra clean and rarely has more than a handful of swimmers. Look forward to your return! G.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent get away!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

I am almost hesitant to let the world know of such a magical place. The cottage was just better than described. Just a walk around the living room was an experience. Antiques and artifacts gallore! Conversation pieces everywhere.

The beds are small but oh so comfortable and the evening breezes make sleeping such a joy. Kitchen was adequate with everything we needed.

The views from the porch or yard make it seem as if your on the ocean with no land in sight. Every morning we would awaken to a glorious sunrise of everchanging colours and cloud formations and then would enjoy cocktails to an equally impressive sunset.

Ginny was a fabulous hostess and provided us with all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. Gracious even after we left the property.

We enjoyed the bay kayaking, hunting for fossils and just enjoyed the scenery. Very relaxing, a balm for the soul. While here we dined at Saphron in Prince Frederick and had an outstanding southern inspired down home meal that was "simply elegant". As a foodie, the quality of the food and hospitality rivaled restaurants in Europe. If you go say hi to Charleen and her son. Both veterans we are proud of!

I highly recommend Stone's Throw except when we plan on coming back....that weeks ours!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

This house was fantastic! It is just secluded enough to feel like a real getaway vacation and yet only a few minutes from town and anything you could need/want. There are so many interesting decorations in the house too that give it real charm. Although the weather wasn't perfect during our stay, it was fantastic to be able to open the porch windows and listen to the rain, enjoy the breezes and view of the water from inside. And having the beach within walking distance was great when there was a break in the weather. I would definitely recommend this house to friends and family and look forward to renting it again! Much thanks to the owners for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

This house was fantastic! It is just secluded enough to feel like a real getaway vacation and yet only a few minutes from town and anything you could need/want. There are so many interesting decorations in the house too that give it real charm. Although the weather wasn't perfect during our stay, it was fantastic to be able to open the porch windows and listen to the rain, enjoy the breezes and view of the water from inside. And having the beach within walking distance was great when there was a break in the weather. I would definitely recommend this house to friends and family and look forward to renting it again! Much thanks to the owners for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February Getaway

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We stayed at Stone’s Throw for five days as a girls getaway the third week of February 2012. This home is one which takes you temporarily out of the hectic pace of your life and into a more relaxed pace immediately upon entering. The house is very warm, abounding with all the family details evocative the beach houses of the 40’s and 50’s - a slower era when family beach vacations were the most anticipated and pleasant form of leisure. The view is indeed to touchstone by which this house is so well-loved. We spent many hours in our time there in the front room watching the ever-changing patterns of clouds and water chatting about serious issues and fun memories- it is that type of family home.

Ginny was great in guiding us to the best sights nearby. We visited 2 of the local wineries, checked out Jerry’s Place in Prince Frederick and went into Solomons for lunch and a visit to the Calvert Marine Museum. Many thanks go out to the our hosts for this vacation which ‘broke up’ a long winter for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stone's Throw

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

Wow!! If you're looking for a getaway off the beaten path but close to the conveniences we're all used to; this is it. "Stone's Throw". A two bedroom cabin nestled among tall trees sitting on a 100 foot bluff overlooking the bay. Enjoy your morning coffee early and watch the sun rise up over the water through the sunroom windows or, better yet, sitting outside on the bluff while listening to the birds sing. You'll see the crabbers, the tug boats and cargo ships making their way back and forth every day. The evenings are beautiful as well. The cabin itself is cozy with all the conveniences of home. You'll see deer walking about coexisting with the residents and visitors to the area. I recommend you give Ginny a call and reserve some time to getaway from the fast pace of your workweek and enjoy the relaxed setting of this cabin on the bluff. Ginny is a great host and will make your stay one to remember. I hope to return next year to do it all again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Through the Looking Glass

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

After my first visit to Stone's Throw in Oct. 2009, I looked forward to one day returning to the comfortable cliff chairs that'd always been waiting as we, in tossed-on warm comfy clothes and w/fresh-brewed cups of coffee in hand, opened the porch door into pre-dawn light. Now, after being lucky enough to revisit (two-week solo stay), “Through the Looking Glass” conjures up this magical place, less the scary characters and confusion, of course, because Stone’s Throw’s magic lies in its calm.

On arrival this November, walking thru the door felt like crossing a galactic portal. I closed the door behind me and a bright calm stroked my nerves. The welcome of the floorboards was the only sound I heard as I walked thru the cabin, smiling at things remembered, musing over those forgotten or new. It was noon; I headed in bright sunlight to a cliff chair and took in the view, the sounds (not the least, an industrious woodpecker). The cabin sat invitingly behind me. That night's moon glow on the bay was (almost) trumped by the rising sun's path in the A.M.: on the porch is a lovely chair that faces the fall/winter dawn, should the temperature be too low, the weather too wet, to venture out. (I saw incredible skies as pre-dawn rain was coaxed then blasted away by a determined sun.)

Can you spend all of your vacation on the cliff top? Yes, if you like. But don’t. There're many things to do and see, e.g.: hiking trails (easy to challenging), close at hand or a short drive away; Battle Creek Cypress Sanctuary, w/boardwalk; and Finca Serena Alpaca Ranch, where the curious beasts indeed will give you the time of day and their fleece—gift shop offers, among other things, items the owner has made with that fleece. There's much more: check online. Oh, don’t miss the Calvert Marine Museum or the Ann Marie Sculpture Garden: both unique and offer not only displays but events. And the beaches(!): right below those cliff chairs and nearby.

Cabin: see photos. It is clean; with plenty of closet and bureau space in bedrooms (and comfortable beds), well-equipped kitchen, perfect living room/den for relaxing; fantastic table on porch for meals and/or games with an incredible view.

Setting: on a cliff within a private wooded community. This provides both solitude and nearby friendly, helpful neighbors.

Stone's Throw's owners: attentive, kind!

I'm recommending Stone’s Throw to friends and family, fearing only that it will become so popular, I’ll have trouble booking!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Out of the way without being too far out...

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

I fell in love with this area (Calvert County) a few years back on a random trip and this was by far the best way to experience the area. You are far enough off the main town to really feel in the country but the cabin provides almost all the modern accommodations you could want (modern fridge, range/oven, microwave, directTV, plenty of outlets etc). The cabin reveals itself like a quaint novel: you have the deer's head on the wall, a staircase through a ravine to access the beach, a dazzling view of the bay (especially the mornings), personal family items (everywhere you look there is something to be discovered/looked at). Little details like the flashlights by the door were a nice surprise. The cabin was very clean and everything worked (there are little notes throughout the place informing/reminding and/or suggesting things which help also).

The town is not that far a drive (Prince Frederick) with plenty of restaurant's to choose from all within a 20 min. drive (Stoney's, La Tolteca, The Greene Turtle Inn, Sakura, Jerry's Place - I visited and enjoyed them all). You could also choose to cook for yourself as there are ample implements for cooking provided and 3 large grocery stores in Prince Frederick (Safeway, Giant, Food Lion plus a Wallmart).

The beach is small and can really get pinched by the tide but it really does not matter as it is private to the community so space is not at a premium. If you want you can just saunter down (via car) to the main "south" beach which is much larger and open but also not crowded and walk for miles in either direction.

If fossil hunting is your thing this is a wondrous place. The fossils do not seem to be as abundant as some other areas of the cliffs (like say Brownie's Beach) but they were much bigger. I found a shark vertebrate that has to be the size of a silver dollar along with plenty of fossil shark teeth (no megladons though). On the last day I did find a complete Mako tooth the size of half my palm just lying there on the main beach. Not many places can provide opportunities like this.

Pure relaxation and I was able to still catch the Giants game on Sunday. The owners are very informative as to all the activities afforded to you at this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stone's Throw

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We just spent a lovely 3 days (long weekend) at Stone's Throw at Scientist's Cliffs. My husband and I look for vacations that are in quiet, beautiful places and this certainly qualified. My family vacationed there when I was a child and I'd always wanted to return. It has an incredible combination of being "away from it all" while still being close to everything - including being just an hour from home! The view of the bay is amazing and the house is cozy and has everything a vacationer might need. I especially enjoyed the kitchen - we were staying in for the weekend this "cook's" kitchen had everything needed for meal preparation. Had we wished to eat out, the selection of restaurants close by is great. Though we had a cloudy weekend, the clouds over the bay were a great show and we had gorgeous rainbows our first and last day there -I put one of them as wallpaper on my Blackberry.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that Becky and her husband enjoyed staying at Stone's Throw. Gazing at the amazing cloud formations and watching the ships go up and down the Bay tempts one to sit on the porch all day! Watching wild birds, squirrels and a shy groundhog who toddles by at cliff's edge is also entertaining. The kitchen, stocked with all the equipment you find at home, makes meals easy for our guests. Come visit us! Ginny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Thank you so very much, Ginny & Gary, for sharing your family's cozy Cabin on the Chesapeake! These two overworked folk immensely enjoyed the simple warm snugginess and quiet at Stone's Throw. Though the weather in our week wasn't perfect, the view and closeness of water was extremely stimulating. We ejoyed a coupla great meals off the gas grill, and at The Captain's Table in Solomons also! Great fall foliage and fresh air in the neighboring American Chestnut Land Trust for hiking! Overall a very recuperative and romantic week! Would love to do a week there in summertime for some Sailing next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come back for some sailing this spring or summer, Keith and Mary. The Bay, with its sand bottom, and gentle wave action, is an ideal place to sail, kayak, canoe and swim. We are quite popular in summer, so start looking at your calendar. Look forward to having you two back! Ginny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

charming cabin, view out of this world.

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This was the most wonderful vacation our family ever had. The cabin is centrally located, 45 mins to ride the metro into DC. The community is friendly and clean, the beach is great. But the view from the top of the cliffs right outside your door is out of this world. The sunrises are incredible, and on a clear night the full moon shone on the water almost like sunshine. The cabin is very charming, full of character, plenty of space for 5 adults. My only comment would be that young children would need to be very well supervised in the sleeping loft as well as at the cliffs' edge. I surely hope to visit again! Thanks to the Umbergers for their hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were delighted that Linda, her husband and their three grown sons experienced their most wonderful vacation at Stone's Throw. While the view from a 105' cliff is fantastic, I do agree that young children need to be very well supervised on the front lawn, with a parent present. My husband was one of 3 who spent their childhood summers in this cabin, and, though mischievious, his parents never lost him over the cliff :)
We look forward to Linda's return soon!

Ginny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

On the Cliff - One of the Best

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

If you're trying to decide if this is the right place for your weekend or week-long getaway, the site information is very accurate, the pics are helpful, but really words and pictures fall short in showcasing this special property. If you are unfamiliar with the cliffs that Stone's Throw is perched upon, be prepared for spectacular sights and sounds that are unique to this area, these sand bluffs and shores are noted for their preservation, fossils and sharks teeth, if you have a keen eye. The walk down to the bay's edge along a boardwalk is a must and leads to a very secluded walk along the shore. The main beach area is only a short drive away, should you desire.

There are a number of helpful brochues and guides at the house, be sure to check out the Southern Maryland Trails guide which highlights very drivable sights, eateries, wineries, etc.

We are always looking for special places to visit,,,this is one of them,,,enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stone's Throw rests on a blue marle cliff rising 105 feet above the Chesapeake Bay. This creates a view to the north and south that is beautiful and unique. The Cliffs of Calvert stretch for only about 35 miles of the Bay's shoreline, and allow beach walkers the chance to find prehistoric fossils and shark's teeth in the sand at water's edge. The private community offers serene woods, swimming, tennis and boating, in a friendly environment.

Ginny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace and Serenity

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Staying at Stone's Throw was absolutely wonderful! I've known my husband since 1967, together since 1991 and married since 2004 and we seemed to get closer in the week at this cozy cabin than we've ever been before! It's magical! We walked the beach and found a million year old shark's tooth, visited Flag Pond Park, Annapolis, Solomon's Island and Annamarie Garden and Sculpture Park! But we couldn't wait to get home to 'our' cabin ~ wonderful seems to general a discription but that is what it is! Thank you Ginny & Gary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted to hear about Linda and Bobby's magical experience at Stone's Throw. We wish them the best. You too will find our cabin to be romantic, relaxing and fun. And, there is always something new to explore.

Ginny and Gary

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

from Greg in Tennessee

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

What a treat! This gorgeous "cottage" is considerably more than just a "cottage" - it's a private getaway only 50 minutes from The Washington Monument yet tucked away in a private enclave on a cliff overlooking the Chesapeake. We loved the knotty pine throughout and the wide-open living area with cathedral ceilings, not to mention the well-stocked kitchen.
Thanks to our hosts who were very thorough with preparation and follow-up to make our visit extra-enjoyable.
We came to find shark teeth and did find a fair number as we had the beach to ourselves. (this might not have been the case had the temperatures been above 25....which they were not for our visit.)
Regardless, we loved the place and hope to rent again in the spring of 2011.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Greg is an avid shark's tooth hunter, and was thrilled to find a private 2-mile sand beach where he could search and find to his heart's content. These prehistoric fossils wash up on the shore and are fun to collect and study. It is unfortunate that temps were so cool for his vacation; normal temps in December average 45 during the day. We look forward to his return in Spring.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome view - sunrise - private beach - location

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

In Aug of 2010, my mother and I stayed at "Stone's Throw" cabin for a few days. We had a wonderful time. The cabin was centrally located for all of our day excursions to the northern Chesapeake and to the south. There are so many interesting and beautiful parks in the area to visit, we couldn't fit them all in our schedule. We enjoyed having what seemed like our own "private beach" to relax and look for "shark teeth". (which we did find a few) Two of the times that we visited the "Cliff's" private beach, we were the only ones there. When there were others, they were extremely friendly and helpful. The house is truely a delight! A cabin in the woods with a Chesapeake Bay view! What more could you want! Signed...Mom & I

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Very Relaxing & Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

This was my second trip to this log cabin and my second trip was even more delightful than my first. The weather in March was fabulous which allowed us to greet and meet many of the friendly neighbors during our walks around this lovely wooded neighborhood. The cabin itself is nestled right on top of a cliff overlooking the Bay and the bay views are absolutely gorgeous. The back yard of the cabin has plenty of sunshine and light which gives off a feel of being at the beach while the front is wooded which gives off a sort of mountain retreat feel so you feel like you are vacationing in two spots at the same time! And where else can find a rental right on the water at this price? The cabin inside is also really cute, comfy and the lighting it provides at night is very romantic. The cabin also has all the modern conveniences of home to and the couch is very comfy too! And to top it all off, the owners of this rental are lovely. They were very attentive & responsive to every one of our phone calls & emails prior to our visit and cared if we were comfortable before and after our stay. I personally want to recommend this cabin to a couple who would just like to get away from all the hussle and bussle of the city. Or to a family with children because the neighborhood seems to have alot of fun activities for it's resident's and guests during the summer. And, it's only an hour from BWI and DCA airports so the trip was an very easy drive for me being from Bowie, Maryland. But when you turn into "Scientist's Cliffs" on the Chesapeake Bay, and enter into this charming wooded neighborhood, it feels like you are hundreds of miles away from the city because the cabin's surrroundings are so quiet and peaceful. I felt almost an immediate calm wash over me when we drove into the Cliffs to get to our rental cabin. And when we arrived at our destination, I was so content and happy with everything inside and outside of this adorable cabin, from the views to all the wonderful & friendly neighbors. But when we went out back, sat in the chairs on the Cliff overlooking the Bay, watched a few seagulls fly over the Bay and a few boats drift by from far away, that is when I was completely relaxed & knew I would be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Belated Christmas and New Years stay

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

Our stay at the Cliffs was the perfect romantic get-a-way for our first Christmas albeit a few days late, and our first New Years together. The cabin was so cozy and romantic and just made for the perfect 4 days to celebrate. The surroundings were very nice with the cliff right out front with the overview of the entire bay. Everything in the cabin was perfect in the rustic and cozy feel that we had from our first step into it. It was cold there, but that didn't deter me from taking the hike down to the beach and just the outdoors feel that it provided. The neighbors were very helpful and friendly when I talked to them. I just loved the drive through the woods getting in there and we did see some deer within a stones throw of the cabin which was awesome. Everything in the cabin was just perfect for our weekend and just so relaxing to get away from the everyday routine. We plan on staying there in the near future and would recommend it to all. I can imagine how nice it would be in the warmer months with the iron chairs right out front overlooking the bay for a relaxing time to read or just look out into the bay at the ships or wildlife flying around. It was perfect in every sense of the word. Mike

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Escape

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Upon our arrival late Friday night, the bright moon greeted us, the reflection on the water beating its path to your cliff chairs, where we sat well into the night. Saturday morning and daylight exploration proved further that we had been very lucky to find your place online. The beauty of Stone's Throw's cliffside view is matched only by the comfort and whimsy of the cabin's interior: from paintings, cartoons, and carvings to needlework on the powder room ceiling. Spending time at a home filled with evidence of family history seemed just right. M & D

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

review

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Great time was had while staying at this cabin. It is about one hour strait out Pennsylvania Ave. to this cabin. The drive lets you settle down from the commotion of the city. Great view of the Bay. Short drive to small beach. Roof leaked and no way to reset fuse when tripped while cooking breakfast. Nice wooded area(odd that bamboo is in area.) Saw deer more than once and vultures one time too. Nieghbors very friendly. Would consider for next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The roof was entirely replaced following this visit. The 2-mile long sand beach is reached by a pleasant 8 minute walk from the cabin; in addition, the expansive South Beach can be reached within a 10 minute drive. Bald eagles and osprey soar on the thermals along the cliff. While it was possible to trip a circuit breaker when the kitchen microwave and a bathroom hair dryer were run simultaneously, electrical upgrades have occurred to eliminate this situation. Come, be our guests and enjoy! G.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review