reviews for: listing #56443 - Stowe, Vermont House rental

Charming Lakefront log home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $500 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful location. Loved the house.

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We were so happy to find this beautiful home on the lakefront was just as promised, and the owners were great to interact with. The property was clean and well-maintained. Definitely recommend. Would be ideal for two families -- already planning to return with my brother and family sometime to share the house and the area with them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Summer Vacation

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Everything about our vacation here was fabulous!!!! Julie and Peter are so pleasant to deal with! The location is ideal, the place was clean and had everything you needed for a perfect stay. There was four adults and 3 children (aged 5, 9 and 2) in our party ... and every single one of us had an absolute blast. The swimming area was perfect for our 5 year old to learn to swim. Our only disappointment was that we did not book for a second week!!!! We would highly recommend this place for families with young children who are looking to get away from it all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great Summer Getaway

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My family vacationed at this beautiful Lake House in August 2011. Peter & Julie rented their home to us on such short notice and were very pleasant to deal with. The home is exactly as you see in the pictures. Far enough from attractions to enjoy the peace and quiet of the lake, but close enough to enjoy all the surrounding area has to offer. Best wishes to Peter & Julie on their home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great house

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We were very impressed with the house. Went up there for a ski trip with some friends and stayed here. It was very clean and well kept. 3 bathrooms was a big plus. Will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Superb...May 2010

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

This property is better than the photos would suggest. It is extremely roomy, very well equipped, and a joy to spend time at. It really has the feel of "home."

It is situated on what must be a couple of lakefront acres, in an area that is only lightly populated with other dwellings. Overall, an incredible location.

We were delighted to find high quality king sized beds, hand held showers, and numerous other thoughtful touches.

We hope to return often, and will have a very short list of things we must remember to bring along. A Jenn-Air range, a wonderful fireplace, comfortable seating, dual TV's with "DishTV" satellite service; it's all there.

No 'wi-fi' but somehow we got by without it.

Tracfone service and other cell phone service was fine.

An A+++ rating from us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Multi Visits

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

My daughter and I love this house. My dog loves this house as well. We consider it our home away from home. We have been at least 4 times so far and plan on many more visits. My daughter chose this as her place to celebrate her 17th birthday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful getaway for family and friends

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Together with a group of friends, we rented the house for a week in mid-July. It was peaceful and relaxing there -- afternoons were spent floating in the water or reading on the shore while the kids dug in the sand and splashed around. The house was big enough for nine adults, three kids, and a dog. The kitchens are very well stocked with cookware, and we found everything we needed for using the canoe, etc. The house is well-maintained and comfortable. We spent many hours relaxing on the porch, eating, reading, playing cards, and just enjoying the view and the sounds of the loons. We'd recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: ...and next year there will be a paddle boat for our renter's to enjoy! Summer as it was meant to be...relaxing in a comfortable home with friends and family.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Family Reunion!

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

We rented "the lakehouse" for the first week of June, '08. It is truly a magical place! This large, rustic log cabin is perched on a hill overlooking beautiful Lake Eden, with a rustic covered porch high above perrenial gardens and lawn sweeping down to the beach and dock below. The lake is lovely and ever-changing. We watched it, meditated upon it, photographed it, painted it, walked beside it, and played on it all week long. A family of loons sang for us, geese parents toured the lakeshore with their fuzzy goslings, and humming birds put on a great show in the gardens and at the feeder we brought along.
We sat around the fire circle, cooked out on the barbeque, and inside in the ample kitchen. We watched movies in the family room, toured the lake in canoe and rowboat, and slept soundly in the cozy bedrooms. There was plenty of room to sleep everyone - up to ten people some nights!
This house was just perfect for our weeklong family reunion. It felt homey and friendly, well taken care of, and well loved. Our family and friends from near and far (Boston, Iowa, Florida, and Vermont)reunited, caught up, feasted and laughed, celebrated and relaxed together here ~ we all loved this place!

The house and the week we spent there exceeded our expectations...Everyone left saying "same time next year?"

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We've had many repeat renters in our short time of renting our home (2.5 yrs). We hope to see you "same time next year".

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great family getaway spot

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

My first vacation in vermont, with multiple families. We had 4 young children and 5 adults and still had plenty of room. The view is fantastic, the lake and mountains are spectacular and the best spot is the covered porch. You simply could not have a more enjoyable spot to have your coffee in the morning.
I miss the view now that I'm back in the suburbs.
The area is quite rural, so do not expect to have a lot of nightlife activity, unless you make your own. You can drive to Stowe for nice restaurants and small shops.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, a beautiful view and great spot for children, this is the place to go.
The owners provided great communication and follow-up.
Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: When we were in our 20's we went for the nightlife. Now that we are a little older we cherish times with family and friends. Our home provides the perfect opportunity to get to know one another again. It is rural but only a 30 min drive to Stowe, Jay and Smuggs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vermont Vacation!

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: March 21, 2008

This house is wonderful! Plenty of space along with everything you could need.We came from Florida for snow and were not disappointed. If you are looking to get away and relax this is it. We had 8 people (3 families) and were comfortable. The sleeping arrangements are great, the nice living rooms (2) are spacious for socializing, watching tv or playing games. We cooked many meals and the kitchens were nicely stocked. The mudroom near the front door made it nice when coming in from the snow.
It got very cold while we were there but we Floridians were never uncomfortable and stayed warm. Love the fireplace and wood is provided. There were sleds for the kids to play, plenty of yard with snow to play in and all the comforts of home.
If you need anything, the Lake Eden Country Store is the best! Great food and deli, (the best steaks we've ever had)reasonable prices and some of the nicest people we met while in Vermont. You can get just about anything you would need from them!
Would love to return in the winter again and also see it during summer! The owners are very nice and answered any questions we had. You can't go wrong with this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that you Floridians got a taste of Vermont! There was plenty of snow around this year for fun sledding and other outdoor activities. This part of the state sees the most annual snowfall! We come from large families and have many family members and friends up to the house..it's cozy but not overcrowded! There can also be a separation of parents and children on different floors!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

What a great place to stay! There was plenty of room for everyone and plenty of space so that different people could participate in different activities without disturbing those who were doing something else. The house was very nicely furnished and it was very clean and neat. I would reccommend this place to anyone and we plan on coming back year after year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The bottom floor is set up like it's own private apartment. It can easily accommodate 2 families or several couples. We have games, books, movies. Or just spend the time reconnecting with your loved ones! ...no internet on purpose! Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

For those looking for a truly special Vermont experience, this place is hard to beat. Beautiful lakeside view, plenty of space, well appointed kitchen, and a good value on top of it all.

We were 8 adults, all skiers, and there was plenty of room. The cabin was clean, with lots of comfy furniture. Between the two kitchens there was everything you needed to make some fine meals.

The location is very private but still convenient, just off route 100. The drive to Jay peak was about 20 minutes. The road up to the cabin is VERY steep, so if you come in winter, check your tires before the trip!

The heat was well up to the challenge of -20 degrees our first night, and we never were uncomfortable. The hot water was adequate although the pressure was low (to be expected in a lakeside cabin, I imagine). All the linens, mattesses, etc, were in good condition. There was no "musty" smell that sometimes is a problem in this type of property.

The view out of the living room picture window, and the silence at night were worth the trip all by themselves.

We all agreed we would go back in a minute!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Lakefront Home

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Absoutely beautiful. Located in a beautiful area of Vermont on Lake Eden, this house is situated right on the lake overlooking the water with plenty of privacy and quiet to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

The house is large with 3 floors, 4 large bedrooms, 3 baths, and two kitchens. A great space for a few families who would like to take a vacation with kids.

The property was well maintained, clean, and the owners are very friendly. Fireplace and applicances work well. Nothing needed. Everything is there for you to take a break and enjoy.

I would recommend this property to anyone, particularly those with childeren, or those who like the outdoors in the winter. Plenty of skiing, sledding, and snowmobiling. Lots to do. Great place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Every season brings it's own charm. Lot's to do or nothing...your choice that's the beauty of getting away. Thanks for enjoying our home...we do too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic isn't good enough

Review submitted: February 13, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

I had an amazing time at this lake front home. Very cozy, very roomy, very well equiped for a rental home let alone a log cabin. I had absolutley no problems from the second I decided to rent this home untill after my vacation was over. I can't say enough good things about this experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's our home away from home and we want it to be yours too! We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review