reviews for: listing #56541 - Sedona, Arizona Cottage rental

Your Quaint Getaway on Oak Creek
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Page Springs
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $225 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Average cabin a in a great location.

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

First the good: The location and the grounds were fantastic. The property sits on 1/2 mile of Oak Creek and we spent a lot of time along the creek - even caught a few fish one afternoon and saw a couple of otters another day. And the owner, Chris, was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, etc. This location was great for exploring the area. We had only a short drive to Cottonwood and Jerome in one direction and to Sedona and Oak Creek Canyon in the other. In season, the property also had organic fruit, but we were a bit late in the year for that.

The cabin itself was just average overall. We like some things really well and other things were a drawback for us. Although I discovered it on another review after we had already booked the unit, the description on the website doesn't make it clear that both bedrooms are in an open loft that is accessible only by a ladder up to one of the bedrooms. For my wife and I privacy wasn't an issue, but IMO this unit wouldn't really work for two couples since the bedrooms are both open to the kitchen and living area and from the one bedroom the only way to get downstairs is to go through the other bedroom. And it certainly wouldn't be appropriate for young children. Climbing up and down the ladder to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night wasn't a highlight of our trip fro sure.

The two hot plates in the kitchen wouldn't even get hot enough to boil water to cook our pasta so we had to improvise a bit with our dinner one night. The kitchen could also be equipped a bit better, although we made it work. For instance, it would have been nice to have a spatula and tongs for grilling and a clean cookie sheet and things like foil and some basic seasonings.

The unit has its own patio, which consists of a table and chairs across the drive from the unit. And it shares a larger patio with the other cabin on the property - the grill and outdoor fireplace are located on that patio, which is a little further across the driveway. The hot tub is actually behind the owner's house, so it's a pretty good walk from the unit. It is a beautiful custom built hot tub and Chris offered to heat it, but unfortunately there was a problem with the heater while we were there so we didn't get to try it out. Chris was very apologetic several times about that issue.

The unit does have a very comfortable couch and a nice flat screen TV with Dish.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. We enjoy our guests and are very fortunate that many choose to come back a second time and sometimes more. Many times we have large parties rent both cottages and things (like spatulas) occasionally get moved around without our knowledge. Any time there is an issue we do our best to correct it immediately. For instance, if we are made aware there is a problem with a hotplate, we would replace it instantly. The hotplates are there as alternatives to our $5,500 Elmira Canadian Wood Burning Cook Stove. Quaint Getaway is a "loft-style" unit and is very popular with most guests, especially children. We always alert parents of very young children booking the unit, that there is a very comfortable 7 & 12 ft. couch downstairs which has bedding and is very comfortable for sleeping. Our other unit, Piece of Heaven on Oak Creek, is all on one floor and has a more traditional modern kitchen, complete with range style oven/stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker etc. and serves as a nice alternative to our fun and funky dual level unit, Quaint Getaway on Oak Creek.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Witnessed history

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Great little cabin with the loft just can't drink too much before bed as you have to climb down the ladder to the bathroom. This is an area of Arizona that does not get snow and we woke up to 6-8 inches of snow. I have been to Sedona before and to put my snow pictures of the mountains beside the pictures from previous years was amazing. I don't think they have snow brushes or shovels. Thanks for the hospitality Chris & Jacquie.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Quaint Adventure

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

The Quaint Cottage is aptly named, with a 80 degree angled ladder to the two-bedroom loft and a walk through bath located between the kitchen and ladder. We were two 68 year olds’ with our 36 year old daughter, staying five days. Once we discovered we had mountain goat DNA and worked out a schedule for bath privacy, we had a delightful time. The grounds and creek (with an extra parallel channel) are wilderness-like. The quiet evenings in an authentic wood cabin reminded us of fine former forest retreats. The kitchen is fully appointed and cable TV and Internet are as good as any high-priced resort. The shower has ample hot water and good pressure. Aside from Sedona (17-minute panoramic drive away) for shopping and some dining, we used our five days for forays to mining town Jerome, Flagstaff (including N Arizona Museum and Lowell Observatory), and hikes up Mesas for extraordinary views of the Red Rocks. Jacquie and Chris welcomed us like family. At the time they were finishing out unique medieval decor for their own home on the same property, and took us on a tour “back in time.” Our main suggestion was to install a photo cell switch or timer on the exterior front door light to illuminate an unfamiliar stair configuration. We left the Quaint Collage refreshed and relaxed – with extra stories that make a trip memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful Getaway!!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful thing about this GORGEOUS cabin! My family (with 2 kids) and our friends (also with a baby) came for the weekend and didn't want to leave! There was so much to explore just on the property that we really didn't need to go anywhere else. We had it all right in the front yard. We walked down to the creek on a private pathway, fished, swam, watched for beavers (although we never got to see any), had a picnic next to the creek while the kids played in the playhouse and swung, ran around the grassy fields of fruit trees, had a fire at night, then relaxed on the super comfy couch in the cabin at the end of the day. Wow, right?! We did go to Sedona for a day which was a short 10 minute drive from where we were staying. There are vineyards less than a mile away which we went wine tasting at. Chris and Jackie were so helpful and friendly. It was the perfect little vacation and we were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful all of our surroundings were. We will definitely be going back to stay! Thank you Chris and Jackie!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Getaway!!

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful thing about this GORGEOUS cabin! My family (with 2 kids) and our friends (also with a baby) came for the weekend and didn't want to leave! There was so much to explore just on the property that we really didn't need to go anywhere else. We had it all right in the front yard. We walked down to the creek on a private pathway, fished, swam, watched for beavers (although we never got to see any), had a picnic next to the creek while the kids played in the playhouse and swung, ran around the grassy fields of fruit trees, had a fire at night, then relaxed on the super comfy couch in the cabin at the end of the day. Wow, right?! We did go to Sedona for a day which was a short 10 minute drive from where we were staying. There are vineyards less than a mile away which we went wine tasting at. Chris and Jackie were so helpful and friendly. It was the perfect little vacation and we were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful all of our surroundings were. We will definitely be going back to stay! Thank you Chris and Jackie!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nature and Art, Fine Food and Wine, Delightful!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Perfect location, beautiful surroundings, gracious host. We enjoyed the beautiful location next to Oak Creek. When we tired of fishing, we found plenty to do in the nearby areas, Sedona, Jerome, Oak Creek and then there's the delightful organic foods and restaurants in Cornville. (thank you for the recommendations and your hospitality!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your very kind review. We enjoyed having you and please come stay with us again in the future. Chris and Jacquie and Christian Robinson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Never knew such beauty in Cornville, AZ

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

As we turned off the main road to our destination there was a small hideaway Paradise awaiting us.

We loved the Outside area as that is where we hung out the entire time, only to go inside for sleep and bathroom use :)

Thanks to Jacquie & Chris for being such great hosts and your place is incredible!!!!

Hope to come back again some day, thanks bunches!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish We Had Stayed Longer

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

My friends and I left Las Vegas to get away from the hustle and bustle, and I found this wonderful place to rent. When on arrival the ground alone were breathtaking. We were greeted by rows of fruit trees and plants that seem to be perfectly planted for a harmonious feel. Along side the property you have Oak Creek in which my friend found a path that leads you to a secluded area great for reading a book or taking a dip in the creek.
After being pleased with the site of the grounds we were greeted by the son Christian with a warming smile to get us checked into the room. He was wonderfully accomodating to help us on anything that we asked of him.
Once we enter the room, as anticipated, it met the standards of the our first impression. It was as if we stepped back in time to the cabins of our ancestors with an updated decor and living accomadations. The ships lader to the open loft rooms added a fun twist, though I don't recommend taking your luggage upstairs there is a walkin closet in the bathroom for you convience. The kitchen even had a cozy feel with a early 1900's stove attatched. The only thing I would recommend for this place is a journal to write in.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just right for us

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

The cottage was charming, and the grounds were beautiful. The cottage was a little quirky with a ship's ladder up to the loft. But we loved that we could eat some meals in. And we were able to make use of the fruit in the grove to make fruit salads for breakfast, as well as to top ice cream. Our teen aged boys went fishing in the creek, were grateful for the wireless internet, and we enjoyed quiet family time together out on the little patio in the orchard. This option instead of a hotel with two rooms definitely saved us some money on lodging, not to mention meals. Twenty minutes to Sedona and jeep rides was another benefit. The owners were friendly and hospitable. All in all it was a good family vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Quaint Cottage on Oak Creek. It was extremely quiet and a beautiful setting. The cottage was very clean and decorated beautifully. The owners were helpful and nice providing all sorts of ideas and tips on the area. This would be an excellent rental for a couple or family who is comfortable sharing a bathroom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a wonderful, beautiful surprise

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

My family and I have been to Juniper Pines in Oak Creek, and many other 5-star places I won’t go into detail in Sedona and Oak Creek.
One day my family and I found a quaint little hidden spot in Page Springs that will completely take you into a world of natural life and a beautiful world that will completely astound you.

No, there is no room service. You won’t need it, the place is meticulously clean.
You’re on your own to keep it clean.
A cabin with all the latest amenities which includes WiFi, Satellite Direct TV, Wide Screen HDTV, and DVD and the latest kitchen cooking amenities including outdoor grilling and all the clean flexible sleeping quarter options you will ever need.
You have your own private cabin, and the best part is that just 50 yards away is the Lower Oak Creek with beavers, fishing, and out your back door there is one of the most incredible orchids of fruit and trees you will ever see.
If you have children, they will love this place.
In the daytime, they will run up and down the creek looking for beavers or javelina, squirrels and fishing. At night they will see the one of the most incredible views of the stars, and the bullfrogs come out and sit on your porches.
This place is a slice of a natural world perfectly centered for 20-minute trips to Sedona, Jerome, Flagstaff, Verde River, horse-back riding, Indian Ruins, and the list goes on. What a wonderful place to unwind after one of your trips.
If it’s just you and your special person, you will also love it. Many people get married there, and many people have second marriage vows. I can see why.
Wait until you see the art from local artists covering the walls.
We will be back more than once.
This place is definitely a 5-star rating paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sedona Hide-away

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

This is a great place for very good friends or close family members to stay. If you guys aren't real close or you value your privacy, this might not be the best choice.
Why? You have to go through the bathroom to get to the stairs...well, ladder actually.
Then up into the front bedroom and through the front bedroom to the back bedroom. Awkward for folks who aren't close or who expect a normal level of privacy. The bedrooms are lofts (one wall open to the common areas downstairs), so you lose a layer of privacy there, too.
You also need to be rather nimble to make the climb up the ladder and through the trap door...while dragging your luggage up or down.
If there were mirrors in the bedrooms, it would be easier to get ready each day without having to cross privacy lines to get into the bathroom.
It is furnished beautifully and the grounds are just lovely, with numerous fruit trees and the creek nearby.
The owners are very nice and provided a map of the property as well as one of the local area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review