reviews for: listing #5663 - West Molokai, Hawaii House rental

Oceanfront, 6 bedrm 6 bath w/ 3 fabulous living room views.
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Papohaku Ranchlands
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $675 /nt
    $2,362 - $4,253 /wk

sort by:

Perfect beach for long walks

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at this beautiful house. The back yard opens up directly onto one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. We loved taking long walks on it every day and it is the perfect place to sit and watch the sun set each evening. During the day we could see whales spouting and splashing. The house is very large with multiple areas to sit and read or visit or watch TV. I loved falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the waves.
The yard is beautiful with plumerias, coconut trees, lime, banana, and papaya and other fruits. I enjoyed seeing the chickens and we especially enjoyed their fresh eggs for breakfast! (Thank you, Liana!)
It was comforting to know that Tim and Liana were there if we had any questions, and yet we felt like we were in our own private tropical paradise.
Molokai is not your typical "tourist" type destination, which is what made me love it all the more. Didn't miss any of the "pretend" Hawaii that you get on the other islands. I recommend the Friendly grocery store which seems to have the widest selection of foods. We also had an amazing time snorkeling with the Molokai dive shop. HIGHLY recommend that.
I just hope I will be lucky enough to return someday and can't think of any other place on the island I would rather stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible stay in paradise

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

Our son and daughter in law brought us here to celebrate our 56th anniversary. We have already told them we would love to spend the next ten or more anniversaries here. The home is beautifully decorated and well stocked. All we had to do was buy groceries and everything was available to use and enjoy. The people in the closest town were also very kind. The spirit of ALOHA is alive and well in this area!

The managers live right on property and reassured us they were available if we needed anything. They were extremely friendly and very helpful.

We highly recommend this property but hope it doesn't get too popular so that we can't get in. You WILL LOVE IT!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

There may not be Santa Claus, but there sure is PARADISE!!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This is the third Christmas vacation we have shared with family and friends in this wonderful home. The spacious breezy public living spaces, inside and out, and the perfect bedrooms make for a house that can harbor many people. We love to cook and the kitchen becomes the center of activity for all hands on deck. Much of the house has a view of the ocean.
You will love the rooms. The owners have a keen eye for decoration that is artistic and welcoming.
AND of course there is the beach. 3 miles of perfection. Very few other people. Sunrise and sunset and everything in between this is the place to be. Walking to other wonderful beaches, riding up the hills or down to the point are also possible. Or if you dont know what you want to do, just ask the terrific, friendly and always helpful caretakers and they will gladly point you toward something different or fun to do or arrange to take you out on their boat for fishing or whale watching.
This is the place to be. Gather the people you love and go there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surreal Beach Getaway!!!!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

Exactly what you are looking for in a peaceful and tranquil Hawaiian getaway. The grounds are by far some of the most beautiful I have seen.

The house is more than spacious and accommodates a large group/party very easily. The property managers (Tim and Leanna) were some of the kindest most helpful people I have ever met, both went out of their way to make sure our stay was above and beyond, which it was. Beach accessibility was a huge bonus, about fifty feet from the back gate, topped by the most amazing sunsets one could imagine.

All this on top of the laid-back Hawaiin lifestyle with a great assortment of local produce and fish what else could you ask for.

I highly recommend this house to any person looking for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Huge house with beautiful decorations.

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

The property was gorgeous and the lands of Hawaii are absolutely the prettiest I've ever seen. There were a few things I'd like to address about the home and our stay. Go to the grocery store before going to the property; the nearest minimart or grocery store is approximately 25 minutes from the property. The beach is a public beach and is not a swimmers beach. The property is less than 50 feet from the state park which allows camping.
Cons: The managers of this property utilize the main home as well as their home which is less than 50 feet from the main house. The managers came into our home the second day of our stay while we were sight seeing; she was coming out as we were driving up. We feel it is not appropriate for someone to enter a residence which is leased without permission or prior acknowledgement. The property managers have their hen house within 25 feet of the living room of the main house where the guests stay. The hen clucking becomes a disturbance. We believe to move the henhouse back by where the pig pen and far away from the vacationers in the main house would be in the guests best interest The porch light fixtures on the front porch were broken; I learned this when I mentioned it to both property managers. It is so dark upon entering the front door I stumbled twice while here. The patio sliding back glass doors would not lock. The mattresses in all six bedrooms need upgraded as they are hard and uncomfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Papohaku heaven

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

Our stay here at Papohaku was absolutely wonderful. It was large enough to accommodate 12 of us with plenty of room to spend time together or to get away for a little private time. The beach is amazing! All the amenities were awesome, with a large party the kitchen worked perfectly. This was our second time there and we won't ever stay anyplace else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful in all aspects!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

This house is wonderful and the location is excellent. Papohaku beach provides a lovely morning or evening stroll literally for miles right in the backyard. The house is large enough to enjoy both in the rain and sun even with multiple families at the same time. A lovely outdoor hot tub is perfect for star gazing. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the kitchen is well stocked with dishes, appliances, etc. Highly recommended as the place to stay on Molokai!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We wanted remote beaches, powder puff sand, beautiful sunsets, swimming & fishing, snorkeling & marine life, relaxation, family time, night skies snowing stars, astounding scenery & great hosts. We didn't want glitz. We wanted to see some old Hawaii & escape the need to go do something. We got it all. We've been home 2 days & our family is in Molokai withdrawal.

We can't say enough about Papohaku Beach House. It is spectacular. We woke every morning to white sand and the call of the ocean at our back door. We fell asleep to the crashing of the surf. A night or two I had trouble sleeping. What a gift. I sat on our back porch, watching a spectacular night sky filled with stars. It had been years since I had seen the Southern Cross. My son & I watched meteors from the Perseid Meteor Shower streak across the sky. Three Mile Beach is soft white to white/brown sand. We rarely saw folks on the beach at the back door. It was as if this huge swath of paradise was ours alone. Incredible.

Our family of five includes my wife & three children, 17, 12, and 8. We celebrated our 12 yo daughter's birthday on Molokai! There was something for everyone. Our oldest daily explored the coast...walking the limits of Three Mile Beach & Make' Horse just up the coast. Make' Horse was the site for the final scene of the Pirates of the Caribbean III. Stunning. He loved snorkeling with turtles & seals. Props to Capt Tim who runs Molokai Fish & Dive. Great shop. Our younger kids would have stayed on the beach all day. A highlight is time they spent with our hosts Tim & Liana. They are caretakers for the property. Over the years they have developed a sixth sense for how much, if any, assistance guests need. Tim is a rescue diver, boatman, carpenter & jack of all trades. Liana is part veterinarian. She oversees a menagerie that includes their loveable dog, Ilio, 3 cats, a flock of somewhat wild turkeys, chickens & 2 pigs. Liana & our kids immediately hit it off. She included them daily in the farm chores. Our girls were up every AM ready to feed the animals with Liana.

Molokai is small. The Cookhouse is an awesome local eatery. BYOB. Also try Coffees of Hawaii. Interested in fancy restaurants or a table at an expensive bar where you can sip on a $12 umbrella drink & watch the sunset? Bad & good news. Bad is Molokai doesn't have such places. Good news is you can make your favorite umbrella drink, roll out the wooden chaises and watch the show from your backyard. Priceless.

Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Spacious Beachfront Seclusion

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

My husband and I spent a nearly a week at Popahaku Beach House with one other couple. We would have stayed a month if we could! The house is large enough to accomodate three families so, we spread out in the many couches and livingrooms but, could socialize in the Great Room overlooking the beach. We saw whales were seen playing off the coast and spent many afternoons on the beach. The beach is literally steps from the back door. One day we flew a kite, excellent kite flying weather. The view of the stars at night was magical. This is a wonderful house to go and forget your mainland worries and relax into peaceful island life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

spectacular and inviting home and setting

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

For two years we have gathered with family and friends and enjoyed the sublime accommodations here. The house is comfortable and spacious with spectacular outlooks to the ocean. The grounds are well kept and invite games and lounging. But what really makes this house special is that right beyond the grass are the dunes and the beach. This is a very un-populated area of Molokai which makes it practically without people. You will enjoy the sunset on your beach, alone.
The beds are comfortable, the caretakers are helpful and gracious, renting bikes and exploring that end of the island is great fun..... you will be thrilled to have found this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

The best way to experience Hawaii

Review submitted: November 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

I was fortunate enough to spend a week here last spring -- it's truly an amazing place. Sitting on the beach, I felt like I was at the edge of the world.

The house is stunning enough on its own, but the ocean view out the back windows (and there are a lot of them) never gets old. If you open the vents, you get an ocean soundtrack as well, and what's better than that?

The obvious downside to spending a week here is that all your future vacations will inevitably suffer by comparison.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Real Vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

I spent 7 days at Papahoku and loved every one. The house is really spacious, with big windows and vents to let in the ocean breezes. Though we had a big group of 10 adults, there were enough places - sitting rooms, bedrooms, decks and beaches - for everyone to feel they had privacy when they wanted it.

I still can't believe how untouched the area is. We were able to snorkel, spearfish, body board, bike and swim almost everyday. We also played some croquet on the beautifully maintained lawn. There was great hiking on other parts of the island, too. Liana and her husband were always helpful, giving us recommendations about hikes and restaurants. It seemed like the yknew everyone on Molokai!

With all that, it was nice to have some time to sit and read on the long, serene beach. But it was hard to keep my head down in my book, since we saw literally about a dozen humpbacks whales from the shore by the house. Papahoku is a special place, and offered me and my friends a real vacation from it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A whole other (calm, stunningly beautiful) world

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

We spent a week in March at Papohaku Beach House with several friends and were all overwhelmed by the natural beauty, seclusion, utter relaxation, and incredible amenities offered by the owners and their wonderful caretakers. Molokai, and especially the very rural west end, is a unique place - NOT for shopping or resort-style tourism, but for appreciation of nature (whales, seals, great snorkeling and diving), spending time with friends and family in a beautifully equipped house, grilling and cooking your own meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The house is equipped exactly as described. The three living rooms have the MOST COMFORTABLE couches for naps (the hammock under palms on the beach is great for this, too!). My favorite part of the house is all the wood slat shutters that provide fantastic ocean breezes whenever you want them, plus the thoughtful details of clips to hold doors open so said breezes don't slam errant doors shut! The separate bathrooms for each bedroom are a total luxury, great for families or groups of friends traveling together (good privacy for couples). Also, the stargazing at night on the beach is unlike any other place I've ever been. Adventures on Molokai can include hiking, biking, boat trips to the stunning cliffs, fishing, snorkeling... it is an isolated and rugged place. Bring plenty of sunscreen - town is a decent drive away for extra supplies.

Great amenities for a home-away-from-home feel: high quality washer and dryer for those salty clothes after a snorkeling adventure. Excellent pots and pans for true chefs. Nice linens with just the right weight comforters so you can keep the windows open for cool breezes but feel warm and cozy. Dishwasher makes wine glasses sparkle, and garbage disposal makes cleanup easy. Second fridge for maintaining an excellent stock of icy beverages.

We will be coming here again without a doubt. This was the best vacation I've ever had. Papohaku Beach House and Molokai are really special. - Emily

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Incredible Hawaii Experience

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at this house with several friends recently, and the experience was truly unique. I had been to Hawaii before, but never with so much space to myself, and so few other tourists. The house is on the remote edge of Molokai, on with the longest beach in Hawaii with (probably) the fewest people - we rarely saw anyone on the beach right in front of the house.

The house itself is gorgeous - with three large living rooms with dramatic ocean views and plenty of bedrooms to accommodate even a family reunion. It was in excellent condition - completely clean and comfortable, with top-of-the-line entertainment systems and high-end kitchenware.

And Molokai is a gem. We went snorkeling, swimming, rainforest-hiking, and boating on the remote North Shore, seeing parts of Hawaii that most people never do. If you are planning on a Hawaiian vacation with a group, definitely use this house - it's an experience you won't soon forget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Amazing house in old hawaii!

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

This is a one of a kind house situated on a wild and beautiful beach that stretches for miles and is almost always deserted! The house is vast, good for groups or multiple families. Comfy couches, private bathrooms, lots of deck, plasma tv and views of the surf... what more could you ask for? We saw tons of humpback whales breaching and playing in the water from the house and an endangered seal on a nearby beach. The landscaping around the house is also quite beautiful: the lawns are as vast as the house, and perfect for croquet, badminton, etc. Nearby there are more stunning and deserted beaches. Water was extremely clear while we were there and great for snorkeling. Adventures in boating, diving, kayaking, fishing, etc., are all available from the local dive shop. Be sure to rent a car, though, because you'll need it to get to the grocery store and other sites of interest around the island such as the leper colony, the rain forest hikes on the east end, Kaunakakai, etc.
The caretakers were also amazing: they cracked us coconuts, gave us tips about things to see, and made sure our trip went smoothly. All in all, a highly memorable and very relaxing vacation. Molokai is the opposite of Waikiki and Maui: no crowds, no shopping, just the beach. Great for adventurers and kids, and those looking to leave the hubub of the commercial islands behind....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

50th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: January 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

All I can say is Heaven on Earth. This was the most wonderful place we have ever stayed. Liana and her husband were great hosts.

If you want real seclusion, peace and quiet...except for the waves...there is no place like it. No fast food, no traffic, no worries, this is the place to go. However if you want excitement, nightlife, gourmet restaurants, wild parties, and places for children to be kept busy...go somewhere else. This is a place for fabulous relaxation not Disneyland like attractions. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty to do, you just have to be willing to look for it. It won't come and knock on your door.

I love it. I will go back and I will never forget my first trip to Papohaku Beach!

Tim

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review