reviews for: listing #56687 - Mazatlan, Pacific Coast House rental

1 block from beautiful beach - The Great Location House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  golden zone
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $299 - $399 /wk
    $599 - $1,199 /mth

sort by:

Christmas and New Years get away

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

If you have never been to Mazatlan, take advantage of the fantastic deal on this great location property. This home is located in a small colonia in Mazatlan called stadio. The house is situated in a very safe neighborhood, where is safe to walk at any time during the day and night. Moreover, the house is located one block away from the beach. Also, the house is near good restaurants, grocery stores, mall, el centro, night clubs, Caliente casino, Olas altas and only a few minutes away from the golf course. This is a three bathroom- two bedroom clean home. The owners are on top of keeping up with maintance, and small repairs. The house looks very clean and representable. Finally, I recommend this home to anyone because it's in the middle of everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for reviewing your stay. It makes us happy to know
that our guests defenitely enjoyed our house. We wish to make one small comment - the name of the neighbourhood is Flamingos, it is not well known because it only has 2 streets and is secluded yet close to everything. Thank you for checking out this review.

Helpful votes: 21 / 27

 

Good Location, Nice House, Great Price

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the house for three weeks in January 2014. Our first time in Mazatlan, and our first time renting a private home. Chris was very easy to deal with over the phone, and Eduardo met us at the house and took good care of us while we were there.

The house is located in what I would call a suburban neighborhood, surrounded by other family homes. A very safe, quiet neighborhood. There are good services (convenience stores, restaurants, supermarkets, malls) within walking distance. The beach is a couple of blocks away. There is a walkway that runs for several miles along the beach, used by both tourists and locals, a great place to walk or bike or rollerblade. The tourist zone is a short walk to the north; the central historical downtown area is somewhat farther to the south, a long walk, but buses run frequently and there are always lots of taxis.

The house is very large and roomy. My sister and her family joined us for a long weekend during our stay, and there was plenty of room. An older TV but good cable service. Great WiFi service. A well-stocked kitchen. A laundry that was really handy. A secure 2-car garage. It's not a fancy condo or hotel - no pool, no modern furnishings, no exotic gardens, but it is clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the patio off the master bedroom.

And the price is great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best deal in Mexico is accurate

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms, the well stocked kitchen, and the great treatment we had from Chris, Laura, and Eduardo. We booked on short notice and they were very accommodating. We usually stay in resorts, but will definitely keep this property in mind for future trips. It was Carnaval week and we couldn't have had a better location. Our only real complaint was the dogs. All the neighbors seem to have dogs. The dogs bark to each other constantly day and night. At least it seemed constant to us. It was great getting the perspective of living in Mazatlan rather than visiting. I would recommend this house for anyone who likes roomy quarters. The photos do not give you a real feel of the size. The internet worked great and the telephone was handy for local calls. There was even a great selection of reading materials. Close to everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maz House

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Very nice, clean, well equipped, and well maintained house. It is situated in a family oriented neighborhood, very safe-day or night. The house has plenty of room, wireless internet and some English channels. Felt right at home the minute we got there and Eduardo-caretaker- was very helpful in getting us settled in. We enjoyed our almost 4 weeks in the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Mi Casa So Casa

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

A very well-appointed house in an upper class Mexican neighbourhood. Within walking distance to all amenities. Good quality appliances, furniture and dishes. There is even a cooler and icepak for beach days. Our host was kind enough to provide TP, Hand soap in all the bathrooms, water, coffee and a small bag of ice cubes for our first drinks..The water pressure is a little weak but you are in Mexico...and the TV is small for the giant living room. Would definately recommend and would come again if Chris and Laura will have us. Treated as my house and it treated me well too.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Cannot recommend...

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We were very disappointed in several aspects of this accommodation. First, the rent was raised after we had indicated interest in the house. Second, we were advised that the house had internet connected. It did not. Third, it took five days to obtain hot water. Fourth, the upstairs was as hot as a sauna!~ The upstairs air-conditioner was effective on cooler nights, but its loud operating noise was unacceptable. We could not sleep... and moved beds downstairs to escape the heat and noise. A major concern is that if fire ever occurred in this building, escape could be difficult. If you decide to rent this home, secure the front door key to the door knob.

We were so sorry for the individual stationed outside the property to meet tradespeople*, we took him out a beer and left him a six-pack after leaving this accommodation. In 35 years of overseas travel, this was our most disappointing accommodation experience... . * They took many days to show up. Mostly, the issue wasn't immediately resolved, if at all (internet access/hot water).

Owners response: I am very sorry about this disappointment. There are some clarifications to be made:

1) Mr Paul could've always said no about whatever raise was given to him before renting the house.

2) The internet of the house got installed 3 days after Mr. Paul and wife got to our house. The technician went to the house twice to try to get Mr. Paul's computer on. Cesar, the technician explained to mr. Paul that he had a very advance apple computer that the cable internet couldn't connect to it. Mr Paul needed to get an adapter to get the internet to work.

3) The reason it took 5 days to get hot water is that Mr. Paul never called my brother although he had my brother's number and for the first 3 days my brother -manager of the house- was outside waiting for the cable guy to arrive, to let him know about the problem with hot water. The boiler of the house was on when Mr. Paul got to the house and it turned off. The handling was very easy but Mr. Paul never gave a ring to my brother.

4) Mr Paul is complaining about the upstairs being hot. He was in Mazatlan in the hot season!!!!!! All of the air conditionions function very well but yet he is also complaining about the sounds of them.

I don't know what he means regarding the individual stationed outside the property. I live in this house my self on and off and I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYBODY STATIONED outside and if I would see it I would call the police right away.

In the 5 years of us renting the house have never had such difficulties with tenants. My brother sat outside for about 3 days waiting for the internet guy to show up so Mr. Paul would be very well taken care of but not once he opened the door to let my brother know that he had a problem with boiler and air conditioning.

Our intention is to give the best we can give. The other reviews show our commitment.

Laura and Chris Suter

Helpful votes: 18 / 21

 

the place to stay

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

My wife and i spent 2 great months at this property.A very nice large house and very well equiped.Close to shopping and near a bus route.The house was very clean on or arrival.On a nice steet with nice people.We may try to rent this property again.
Ray and Wife

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 17 / 22

 

Mazatlan Rental

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

My wife and I spent 28 days in this beautiful wll appointed house. The house as described is within walking distance of a major mall, Mega SuperMarket, Sam's Club, the Golden Zone (A major tourist area) buses, and of course the beach and Malecon. This was our fourth visit to Mazatlan and we wanted to experience a Mexican neighborhood away from vendors and time share salesmen. This home afforded us the opportunity. The owners were very attentive to our needs and even provided a patio set and BBQ for our oudoor living. We would highly reccommend to other prospective renters.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 17

 

Great Rate, Good Location

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

Our first time in Mazatlan, we were grateful for a place that allowed our small dogs, although there's no place close to let them do their thing (except concrete), but several other dogs living in homes on this street under same conditions. Plenty of room inside, pretty clean for Mexico, no microwave or dishwasher, but life goes on. Everything worked well and the beach is a short walk away, as well as some cafes. The bed was too hard for our liking. The owner was very helpful & obliging. If you are driving yourselves in Mazatlan, be prepared for no street signs most of the time (especially off of highway 15), and get a good map ahead of time (Google). The best route we found to this house is to make your way to "The Malecon" or Del Mar along the water (by any of various large east-west streets), then turn away from the beach at the stop light that has "Insurgentes" in SMALL lettering above the light (regardless of going north or south - get your glasses on). Then turn right at the first light, and an immediate right onto the narrow street Angela Peralta. Enjoyed it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 15 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review