reviews for: listing #56721 - Boston, Massachusetts Condo rental

Charming 1 bed, Sleeps 4 in Historic Charlestown
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,925 /wk
    $3,250 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful anniversay with my wife

Review submitted: November 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed here from 10/22/ to 10/25 and had an amazing 10th Anniversay trip. This condo was in such a great location. Perfect size, comforts and ammenities and was exactly what we were looking for. Looking forward to staying here again in the future and check out a few other Boston attractions we missed this time around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our fabulous location definitely is a bonus (and no longer a secret)! Cheers! N & J

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous condo, superb hopsitality from owners

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

My husband and I wanted a quiet place to stay and be able to access Boston for our baby-moon. Well this was the place. What a charming spot in a really cute neighbourhood (really nice part of Charlestown). Jim and Nicole were so accommodating with arrival, bag storage, keys, late departure, sorting taxis etc and were straight around to help if any quieries.

This place was great for a bit of R 'n R and very handy to the subway for accessing town. The airport was also very close by! Kitchen facilities were great and we cooked a lot in the condo. Shower lovely, linen and bed very comfortable. Also excellent having a coin operated washer and dryer in the basement. For a cheap $1.75 a load we caught up on all the washing!

Plenty of great restaurants in the neighbourhood and also quite near the ferry into town for something different.

We would surely stay here again without hesitation and definitely recommend it to others - Thanks Jim & Nicole & Gabriella!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a visit!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was the perfect weekend getaway for us! Really enjoyed the neighborhood, the food and the proximity to the T/Subway. We walked on over to the Community College stop to connect into the city and to zip over to Harvard Square. It was easy and fast.

We liked the kitchen, bed and just everything was great! Highly recommend! Jon & Nicole

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic property in great location, awesome hosts

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We had the good and bad fortune of arriving in Boston just before Hurricane Sandy hit the northeast. Nicole and Jim brought us extra linens and toiletries, as well as flashlights prior to Sandy's arrival. They were also EXTREMELY ACCOMMODATING in the days following Sandy when we had multiple flight cancellations requiring us to extend our stay.
Aside from this, the condo itself is a nice size and well-appointed, with everything available to eat in, if one so desires. The layout is great and the location is ideal for getting away from the bustle of Boston, but also being able to get into the city easily by walking, ferry, or T. There is some noise from upstairs, but usually not too terribly late in the evening or early in the morning.
Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

H&S

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Lovely, lovely, lovely! This place was perfect for my BFF and I to have a getaway girls weekend. The place was clean and comfortable. And we found everything we needed right where we expected it.

The condo is in a beautiful neighborhood - with lots of great restaurants and spots to grab essentials just blocks away. They had an awesome basket of maps to help us around town and were just a short walk from a convenient T stop.

They warned us about a noisy toddler upstairs - which was true - but also provided noisemakers and earplugs for great restful nights.

And I really can't say enough greatness about the owners - they were very helpful before we even arrived and very understanding when we rolled in late on a Saturday night (and may have been overserved by some very generous flight attendants...) They went out of their way to make our departure smooth and easy - arranging a taxi to the airport and holding our bags beyond the scheduled check out time.

We loved our experience and recommend this place highly. Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CUTE AND CHARMING

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

We felt welcome as soon as we arrived. We arrived early to drop off our luggage, and the lady that cleans the condo was so nice, and we met the owners' daughter as well. The place was clean and accommodating, and it was a great location. Quiet neighborhood. Easy walk to the T and bus. I definitely recommend it! It was just a little difficult sharing one bathroom with 4 of us girls, but that was already expected.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Charlestown condo!

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

My wife and I thought this condo was a perfect stay for our trip to Boston. It was a convenient location in a nice neighborhood. Close to everything you would need or want...restaurants, freedom trail, "T"/subway, grocery store, etc... The condo was very well-kept, and it was nice after a long day of sightseeing to come back and relax in a place that felt a little more like a home...much more comfortable than a hotel. This was our first time using VRBO and it was a great experience from start to finish. The owners were great to work with...very responsive and helpful - thanks!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charlestown condo

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We loved this little condo in Charlestown. The neighborhood was charming, and we were within walking distance of several taverns, restaurants, a grocery store, hardware store, and liquor store. It is close to the Navy Yard and Bunker Hill monument. We highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Short stay in Charlestown

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Being on a longer trip to Boston in the past we were just passing through. Instead of a hotel we wanted to stay in Charlestown.

Location: (5/5) This property was within walking distance (30 feet) to at least 3-4 restaurants and a Cafe/Bakery. Down the block from a gas station and a convenience store. Although it sounds like a lot of people would be bustling around it was fairly calm and not impinging at all. 10 minute walk to the North End and 15 to the T. Great location and also close to Logan. Great historic neighborhood.

Amenities/Property: (4/5)Nice place, decent bed. The beds were clean and the condo in general was clean; although you could tell people were just staying there the night before (garbage/food left in fridge, dust). They fit us in between two other groups of people that were staying for longers stays and they let us check in early, which would make sense to the level of cleanliness as they would have had very little time to prepare. I need to re-iterate that the only reason I don't think it was completely 100% perfectly clean was the lack of time they had to fit us in.

Owners(5/5): Didn't really talk to them too much, other then a call to see if we would like tickets to that nights Sox game, which we already had. It was a very nice gesture and we really appreciated it. So they left us alone which was nice because have had owners stop by more often then we would want in the past at other rentals by owners. And they let us check in early which was a great help to us

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We only leave milk, eggs, bread and condiments we think might be of use to the next guests instead of throwing into the garbage. Some guests find having these items a huge help. We have same day turnovers all the time, and since some guests prefer windows vs a/c it can get dusty... we do our best to keep things sparkling clean, we truly do. We spend on average 2.5 hours cleaning in between every guest who stays at our place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Book It-!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We loved this location and the condo was perfect. Everything you could need was there. Location was great and local restaurants a bonus. We ate, and drank at The Warren Tavern and enjoyed the live music. Figs and Olives were also good. The vanilla dessert at Olives was a never forget experience, AMAZING.Corner store, for milk etc was a minute or so away and Sorelle Bakery was excellent for morning Lattes and Breakfast, again a minute or so away. Orange Line T was also not far if you are wanting to travel a little further. $2.50 per journey so very reasonable but going to Fenway Park for a game was an experience. Crowded-!! We had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend condo and location for a Boston Break.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming place to stay!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

A wonderful place to stay for our first family vacation! I have only positive things to say about our stay. The condo was in a lovely neighbourhood, was within walking distance to downtown and was clean and comfortable.
We look forward to returning one day and will reccommend this condo with out hesitation!
Thank you!

Kelly

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We rented this great condo for 2 weeks while touring Boston. It is located in a charming historic district within walking distance of Boston's waterfront and the downtown city. The condo has all the amenities you would expect plus many more. The owners, Jim and Nicole, are wonderful to deal with and are available to answer any questions you might have. There are several good restaurants in the immediate area, and the North End of Boston with its many excellent Italian restaurants is just a short walk across the bridge. A grocery store, drugstore and subway station are all within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The condo has central air conditioning, is located on the first floor of the building, and is in a very safe area. We walked back to it many nights after dark. We highly recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Woooooow

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 small children) and we absolutly loved the appartment. We had everything that we needed plus more like a welcome pamphlet with all you can imagine in it.
Also maps to go to wherever you can think of. Spacious bed and location, location, location.
We felt safe walking from Downtown to the appartment crossing the bridge at night.
Use the pedibike if you can in the city...
Thanks again to the owner. We wanted to call them and ask question but all the answer were in the email, paper and in the appartment so....next time maybe.
Family from Montreal, Quebec

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice neighborhood!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay. Perfect location in a very quaint neighborhood. Very close to walking the Freedom Trail in reverse. We took advantage of the short walk to the train station to go to Fenway Park to catch a game, to go to Harvard Square and to visit the JFK Library and Museum. The only negative was that because the master bedroom is near the parking area in the back it can be noisy in the morning when everyone is leaving for work. Also, the walls are thin so you can hear everything that's happening, especially in the unit above(crying baby started at 4am), so if you are a light sleeper you might want to use the earplugs provided or bring your own like I did which really helped.

All in all we really enjoyed the place, very clean nice towels provided and had everything we needed! Loved all the reading material we could select from too!

Thank you!

Owners response: We have provided a fan, white noise machine and earplugs for guests who aren't used to noise from neighbors or the sounds of city-living (even though we live in one of the quietest areas of the city). We haven't had any complaints about the parking area before, but since it's gravel, I can see how it might be disruptive if you're not used to any noise. Our walls/ceiling/floor are all fully insulated, but yes, you can still hear loud noises from the other condos. Its unfortunate the little guy above was up so early, I don't think there is anything we can do about that except apologize for any lost sleep. Best- N.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location for a family of three

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at your apartment in Charlestown. Felt right at home immediately. Everything was perfectly appointed as stated by other testimonials. The apartment was quaint and tidy with everything you could possibly need. Liked that we didn't have to buy coffee and there were a few items left behind by other renters which we also found useful. Only downside was the upstairs neighbors were a bit noisy (toddler & dog running around after 10 pm).

TIPS:
Public transport was great! 6 min walk to Metro (Community College). If you plan on using public transport alot, consider buying a Charlie Card at Foodmaster. You'll save $0.30 per ride by doing so.

15 min walk to Boston Harbor Ferry. Just buy a ticket on board $1.70 each way (kids free).

If you like to walk, only 20 minutes to Quincy Market! Just follow the Freedom Trail.

AVOID!!! Boston Cab. We reserved a cab to pick us up on check out date to Boston Logan and they never arrived. Called them when they didn't show up and they had no record of our call and didn't seem to know where Devens Street is. You are better off hailing a cab on the corner (which we did in the end). We still made it to the airport in plenty of time (10-15 minutes).

Thanks again! Would definitely love to return in the future.

Best Wishes,
Jennifer, Steven & Erik from the Netherlands

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring in beautiful Charlestown

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We stayed at this Charlestown condo for two weeks and I could not recommend it highly enough.

The apartment was in a great area and only minutes from a supermarket, liquor store and chemist. It is also only a short walk from the centre of town - we walked to Boston Common and Gardens regularly during our stay.

When we arrived, we were thrilled to see that the apartment was exactly as depicted on HomeAway. It was clean and well maintained. There is nothing better than fresh white towels and a clean bathroom, after a 20+ hour flight! THe bedroom is large and there is enough space to set up a crib/cot if needed.

The owners were fantastic to deal with and responded to all of my many queries which I emailed through prior to travelling over. They were kind enough to lend us a crib/cot and sheets etc for our baby, which saved us carrying it from Australia (!).

We spent some time looking around the area and enjoyed the Warren Tavern which was nearby. We particularly enjoyed spending time in the North End (10-15 min walk away) which is full of ITalian restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this property to friends and have actually done so already! We'll be staying here again next time we are in Boston, for sure!

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed the stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Boston Vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

The apartment was situated within easy walking distance of all major attractions , supermarket & liquor store . There were a number of restaurants , fast food outlets & pub close by . The apartment itself was comfortable & suited us down to the ground . Nicole & Jim (the owners) were most helpful & we would have no hesitation in recommending it to any couple or small family .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Did not want to leave!!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

This place is GREAT!! The listing description is very accurate and leaves nothing out! It was very clean and well maintained and had everything you could possibly need right down to extra shampoo and conditioner and some food in the cabinets. The owner was great to deal with and was very friendly. This condo feels so much like a home, we did not want to leave. The area is absolutely beautiful and its so close to everything. The Warren Tavern is right on the corner and has delicious food. Its within walking distance to the North End of Boston, the Charlestown Navy Yard, Bunker Hill and to the Orange line, which gets you anywhere!! We loved it so much that we want to move there!! My only criticism is that the pillows on the bed were not very comfy, and the owners never returned my call about the internet not working after the first few days. But those things would NOT keep me from renting this condo again and again and again!! Wish I could go back right now!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sorry about not returning your call it wasn't intentional. My voicemail wasn't working last week and I didn't get messages until you'd already left. Thanks for the heads-up on the pillows. We've not heard they were uncomfortable before. I will add some other varieties for people to choose from. Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Hope to see you again, N.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't want to leave...

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

This place is GREAT!! The listing description is very accurate and leaves nothing out! It was very clean and well maintained and had everything you could possibly need right down to extra shampoo and conditioner and some food in the cabinets. The owner was great to deal with and was very friendly. This condo feels so much like a home, we did not want to leave. The area is absolutely beautiful and its so close to everything. The Warren Tavern is right on the corner and has delicious food. Its within walking distance to the North End of Boston, the Charlestown Navy Yard, Bunker Hill and to the Orange line, which gets you anywhere!! We loved it so much that we want to move there!! My only criticism is that the pillows on the bed were not very comfy, and the owners never returned my call about the internet not working after the first few days. But those things would NOT keep me from renting this condo again and again and again!! Wish I could go back right now!! I highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to spend time in Boston!!

Owners response: Sorry about not returning your call it wasn't intentional. My voicemail wasn't working last week and I didn't get messages until you'd already left. Thanks for the heads-up on the pillows. We've not heard they were uncomfortable before. I will add some other varieties for people to choose from. Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Hope to see you again, N.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week-end in BostonMo

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

As indicated, excellent facilities at good value.Certainly worth a revisit.No problem whatsoever.Happy that my daughter and I stayed at the unit.I would recommend it to others.
Don Morrison

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely apartment in a lovely area

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We stayed in Charlestown after 4 days in hectic New York. The apartment was spotless on arrival and had everything we needed for our 4 day break. The furnishings were really comfortable and all appliances easy to use.

We got the ferry to the main town every day and it was a great way to travel when on holiday. We ate breakfast each day at Friendly's in Charlestown and although we spent most of our time in the city centre we had nice meals at the nearby pizza restaurant and pub.

I would definitely recommend Boston to friends and family, we loved it! We would also recommend the apartment which was perfect for our needs and I can't rate Charlestown enough as a lovely place.

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon. All the best- N & J

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location, Hosts and Amenities!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Well the condo lived up to all the great reviews! We were very comfortable and all the little extras made us feel right at home. The new couch was perfect for our 10 year old. We were also able to create a makeshift play area for the 1 year old that kept her "penned" in but able to keep occupied. We saved quite a bit by making full use of the kitchen (not much fun dining out with 1 year old anyway), and the condo was really an excellent location. We had debated between this location, North End and Beacon Hill. We definitely made the right choice! North End... way too crowded and noisy. Beacon Hill... a bit too rich for our blood. Charlestown... just right! We enjoyed our stay so much and would recommend this condo and the hosts Nicole and Jim without hesitation. 

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

We stayed here from 04/21/ to 04/25 and the apartment was just what we wanted. It was clean, comfortable and excellent for chilling out in after long days walking and seeing the sights of Boston plus a free private parking in bonus. Location was great, easy access to everything in Boston. We did enjoy the Warrens Tavern which is just 2 minutes of walking distance from the apartment. We even had the chance to see the Habs playing the Bruins in playoff. Don’t worry Jim, even if the Habs lost, we really enjoyed our trip and thinking of coming back in the fall!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and accomodations!

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Perfect for Marathon weekend. Location was great, easy access to everything in Boston! A great place to relax when not taking it all in! Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient to everything....and space for the mini van

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

I had to drive to Boston to pick up a friend flying in from Japan in late February and was very apprehensive about driving and parking in Boston. We considered several vacation rentals and also some hotels but from the map this seemed to be the most convenient for walking. We took our chances and getting to the condo and parking could not have been easier. We parked the van and left it for the remainder of our trip.

The condo was gorgeous and roomier than we expected. There were 4 of us and we had plenty of room for our luggage. The kitchen was small but well appointed but for the first time in 13 years of VRBO rentals, we did not eat in, except for breakfast. Within 30 minutes of unloading the van we were sitting in Warren Tavern, less than one minute away. Our 9 and 6 year wanted to eat here everyday but we limited ourselves to two visits. After dinner we walked to the grocery store 10 min away. Within a 3 min walk there is a coffee/sandwich shop, another pub and a Morrocan restaurant. 5 minutes away are more choices than we could avail ourselves of in our 4 day visit. A 15 to 20 minute walk and you are in the North End. Boston is truly a food town and we did not have a bad meal.

Here is what separates this from all other Boston rentals: Bunker Hill, 5 min walk, USS Constitution and Museum 10 min walk, Freedom trail, 5 min. The freedom trail is a red brick or red paint line on the sidewalk. When you find it, follow it and it will take you to all the major historic sites in Boston. Boston Science museum is about a 20 min walk. We took the trolley one day from the USS Constitution, a bit expensive but good for getting our bearings, and visited the Children's Museum at the same time (a must if you have kids). Since we had only 4 days we had limited time so we walked everywhere. The College Station T is close so next trip we will take the subway to points further afield.

A quick note on the upstairs. There is a small child and a dog and sometimes kids wake up early, but the noise wasn't any worse than you sometimes get in a hotel. It was quiet at night and the neighbors seemed to get up about when we did. We didn't want to waste our time sleeping in Boston...there is too much to see! The condo is ground floor, great for luggage, but I think there is a unit underneath so be mindful if you have kids so they don't disturb them too early either!

You will not regret your decision to stay here. We can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Boston in the Fall

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

We have recently returned from a very memorable holiday in Boston. We stayed in the condo in Charlestown for 4 nights and only wish it had been longer. Condo was perfect, clean, homely, had everything you could need and was very convenient for shops restaurants, t-train. The owners, Nicole and Jim, were so helpful throughout all the planning of our holiday. If we are ever lucky to enough to return to Boston we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First Boston stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

On our first visit to Boston we wanted to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel. What a find. The apartment was just what we wanted. It was clean, comfortable and excellent for chilling out in after long days walking and seeing the sights of Boston. It is only 10 minutes walk to the ferry to get into the centre of Boston or into the North End. Excellent restaurants nearby, Warrens Tavern, Paolos and very handy for the supermarket if you need one. If you want to be part of a community rather than a sterile hotel, this is the place to be. Would stay here again if we come back to the lovely city of Boston.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! We truly hope you'll come back in the future. Thank you again for choosing to stay at our condo in Charlestown. Happy Travels. N & J

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best Place to Stay in Boston

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

My family and I rented this cute and very clean apartment for 4 nights during our stay in Boston. We had never been to Boston before and knew we wanted to be close to the Freedom Trail, but in a quiet neighborhood. This was truly it.
The owners, Jim and Nicole were so very helpful even before the trip began, by giving us suggestions on what to see and do and how to get around. EVERYTHING is within a few minutes walk, and the neighborhood is safe and very pleasant to travel around in, so even walking to the local grocery store was a nice stroll. You are seconds from the Warren Tavern, minutes from Bunker Hill and the USS Constitution and we walked a couple of times to North End for some amazing Italian food. We couldn't believe how close everything seemed to be and how easy it was to walk around the Charlestown/North End area.
We even took in a Red Sox game one night and had no problems walking to the Community College down the road and hopping on the T (subway). Public Transportation in Boston is safe, clean and there is always someone in the information booth to help you if you get stuck, need directions, etc.
Thank you, Jim and Nicole, for providing such a clean and cozy apartment. It was a wonderful family vacation and Steve and I will be back sometime in the fall to stay at your place again. We really felt like "Townies" in Charlestown. Such a great neighborhood. Thanks!
-Cheryl and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you and your family had a great stay. I do hope you found the best "chowdah"! Looking forward to having you come again in the Fall. Best, N & J

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

We just returned from our stay at this condo and couldn't be more pleased! Everything was as advertised :) A short walk across the bridge to North End or the Community College "T" station and we could get anywhere we wanted to go. Great location and a place to park our car! Unit was neat, clean, and looks newly renovated. Owner was available to answer any questions we had and was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Boston area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our long stay in Charlestown

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

This house was really comfortable and cosy as described, and the hosts were most friendly and helpful. The property is in an accessible, quiet and safe location, close to the Community College Station, North Station, the historic North End and TD garden where the Celtics play. The supermarket was a stone's throw away, as well as a couple of good cafes and restaurants. Our kids loved the playground nearby! A most memorable stay. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed having you and the kids. Please keep in touch and come back if you're ever in town again! All the best, N & J.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a really special place

Review submitted: November 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

this apartment is in the beautiful historic district of charlestown close to the bunker hill monument. a very safe area. nearby is the historic warren tavern and several nice restaurants. its a 5 minute walk to the T and also to a supermarket. to walk into boston is 20 mins.

the apartment itself is absolutely lovely - obviously well looked after. its very clean and comfortable with all amenities including cable & wi-fi. there is also parking out the back overlooked by the balcony from your bedroom.

jim & nicole (the owners - whom you do not meet) we also very helpful ahead of our stay.

highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Choice!!!

Review submitted: November 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

We are so glad we chose this condo for our 4 day vacation. Everything that you have read from the other guests is TRUE. It is extremely clean, very comfortable, is in the perfect location, and has free parking. The neighborhood is wonderful. (Restaurants, coffee, groceries are all within walking distance.) The owners were very easy to deal with also. The T is not too far away or you can walk over the bridge and be in the North End of Boston within about 15- 20 minutes.We did both. My husband and I loved Boston. We recommend this condo highly!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Accommodations

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Great roomy, clean apartment in the suburb, with only a ten minute walk into the city. What a great location, to tour all Boston has to offer.
You could not ask for a better equipped and great location to spent touring this beautiful city.
Will recommend to anyone., wouldn't be dissapointed

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We think the location is great too! Best, N.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved staying here.

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

This aparment is clean and convenient. We loved the Charlestown area and the easy access that we had to so many attractions. We wanted to be close to the north end with all of its great food and culture, and found it to be an easy 10 minute walk over the bridge. The aparment is both clean and comfortable with soft linens on the beds and thick towels in the bath. Our only challenge with this apartment came from the residents in the aparment directly above this one. They moved around quite a bit at all hours of the night so we heard them walking back and forth. They also needed to do a bit of vacuuming around 3 a.m. I would recommend bringing ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway for our 40th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

The description of the place was exactly right. The condo is clean, cozy and close to all that Boston has to offer. We were tourists sometimes but able to feel like locals, walking to get coffee in the AM or dinner within a block or two at night. All the little touches that don't exist in hotels made our stay very special. We will recommend the place to friends and family. Topping off the experience were responsive owners and great customer service, although we were low maintance guests.

The ease of locating a place to stay and arranging the reservation/payment was also appreciated, made easy by Homeaway.

We took full advantage of the local attractions; Bunker Hill, USS Constitution, Freedom Trail, Trolley's, Harbor boat ride, etc., and the restaurants in the North End plus those close to the condo. Try as we might, we could not find a restaurant or attraction that we didn't like.

Thanks for a memorable anniversary. Bruce and Linda

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to hosting your friends and hopefully seeing you for Anniversary 41!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Probably the best!

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We have just returned from an 8 day stay and only 1 word could describe it – perfect. Our 6 year old had the bedroom and my husband and I had the sofa bed, all of us had good sleeps. The place was spotlessly clean and well stocked. Really all we needed to turn up with was out clothes all toiletries were there. We recommend the water T, a lovely 10 minute walk to the Navy yard. However if you need to pick up some groceries the 10 minute walk from the T train takes you right past the 2 stores and the pharmacy. Also very close are some lovely places to eat, we went to Warrens Tavern (2 minutes walk) twice and had a lovely meal both times. Boston has so much to do that there just isn’t enough space to write but if your visiting on a Friday during summer please go to he Hatch Shell for family movies We seen Kung Fu Panda sat on a blanket eating hot dogs and ice cream on a perfect summers evening. Kind of sums up the whole holiday really!!
Neil, Christina and Innis, Aberdeen, Scotland

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! Our condo is a great spot for extended stays, we try to have everything you'd need available at the condo. We aim to please, so if you need something special, please contact us ahead of time and we will do our very best to accommodate you. Happy Travels! N.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

We arrived on Saturday, excited and happy for our first visit to Boston. We were awed and impressed by the numerous sites that we visited and facts that we learned during a trolley tour of the city. We were charmed by beautiful Charlestown and appreciated the comforts of your lovely, spacious condo.
Beyond all of the obvious things to love about Boston, it's possible that what we most enjoyed about it were the people of your city, who were so friendly and courteous and full of civic pride. Of course, that accent only adds to the charm!
We leave today, Wednesday, triumphant as one of us achieved a great, personal goal of running in the Boston Marathon. Your wonderful condo allowed us to maintain all of our usual "pre-marathon" rituals including the important carbo-loading pasta meal on marathon eve.

We will have many wonderful memories of our first trip to Boston. Grazie mille!

David - the marathoner
Shirley and Minerva - family/groupies

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

Thanks for your hospitality. This was a great place to stay while seeing colleges. My wife and daughters loved the local shopping too. We'll certainly recommend this to our friends back in New Jersey. Boston, a great place to visit. If Terri ends up going to college here we may be back often.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 12, 2009

Thanks for everything. It was an amazing weekend in an amazing place.

Too bad it's already over!!

It was so easy to feel like at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

We loved staying here! So cozy and comfortable, well stocked, beautiful, convenient - the perfect home base for visiting colleges, sight seeing and relaxing. Great meals at Figs and the Tavern (burgers and fish & chips were fabulous). Walked to the North End - quick and easy, took the ferry to Faneuil Hall, walked to Bunker Hill and the USS Constitution and explored so much else in Boston. Couldn't have been more convenient to colleges and universities in and out of the city - in four days we managed to tour seven and still had time left over for family time. Thank you, we hope to be back!
Dorel, Stuart, Eli and Ari

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

Great place! Great location. Felt very comfortable and at home here. Frank had workshop in the city and I worked here at home! Perfect! We'll definitely recommend this place and will stay here again too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

Wow, we felt right at home here! From one vacation property owner to another, kudos, well done! Excellent touches, didn't miss a thing. We thank you. My college student daughter enjoyed it so much she stayed over, snuggled with mom and took the T to an 8:30am class!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 22, 2009

You've got a great place here. The short walk to Olive's was sure worth the trip and Sully's was a great stop to grab a Guinness!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2009   Date of arrival: February 18, 2009

Thank you for sharing your charming condo in an authentic neighborhood. The place is so comfortable - love the little amenities. We will definitely recommend this condo to friends and associates. A perfect way to end a business conference!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This was truly a beautiful place. We found a home away from home. It was close to everything and is located in such a beautiful place. We found it to be extremely comfortable, with linens that were nicer than most 4 & 5 star hotels. We all enjoyed our 4 night stay and will definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the comforts of home. You have a great place & we look forward to returning. Central to everything!

Margaret, Anthony & Cathy, too

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 14, 2009

We love the apartment and are taking notes for our future home! Beautiful home and area. Really enjoyed using this as a hub for our ADVENTURES! Plan on coming back again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 10, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delightful neighborhood. We'll definitely be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 27, 2008   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

"Ditto" to ALL of the above!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Dad and I had a great time here in your city. Loved the place, easy walks to the city and landmarks. Thanks for everything. As I said, "great digs!"

Mick and Dan, Christmas '08

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

Ok, maybe a little "rainy", but don't worry I'll be back - I loved it! P.S. keep the champagne glasses for my next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 13, 2008   Date of arrival: December 13, 2008

Extended stay, 5 weeks. Everything was perfect. Great host. Again, everything was PERFECT.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 28, 2008

We'd follow your apartments anywhere! Aesthetically pleasing, stocked with all
the right details, including reading material and umbrella, not to mention
heavenly bedding. Thanks for everything J & N.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 21, 2008

Thank you for such a fantastic place to stay- the condo is beautiful and the
neighborhood incredible. We felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to
Boston.
Jim, all of your directions were perfect, thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

We have had a fantastic time here in Boston.
We walked the Freedom Trail, done theTrolley Tour, and loads of other sites,
and lots of shopping!
Figs is an absolute must- great atmosphere and great food.
Your condo is so comfortable and welcoming- we are so glad we chose to stay
here rather than at a hotel.
We will definitely recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Charlestown(Boston) home

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

Jim and Nicole's home was a great place to stay for a couple visiting Boston. The neighborhood was great, located within a block of several good restaurants and a few blocks from the Boston "T" station which got us everywhere we wanted to go in the area.Each ride is $1.70, but we bought a weekly pass for $15 and used it thoroughly for the 2 days we were there.We had driven so we left our car in the parking lot behind the bldg which was great while we avoided driving in an unknown city by taking public transportation.(Each station has a person there to help you get where you're going and maps, it's so easy)
Their home is very nicely decorated and comfortable.It has everything you need for your stay there,right down to a soap & shampoo dispenser in the tub.The queen size bed and bedding was very comfy.There is a great library of books in their home and board games.We didn't have a chance to read them as we were on the move most of the time, but I'd love to go back and spend a week there and get into some of their library offerings.The kitchen is small but functional, all you need for a vacation stay. Full size fridge & freezer,oven, & microwave.
Jim and Nicole were very nice and helpful. We had trouble with the TV(nice size flat screen with HD)the first evening we were there trying to see our White Sox in their last playoff game. Called Jim and he had it taken care of right away.We would recommend this condo highly to couples visiting the Boston area. The "T" is about 3 blocks away and that will get you anywhere you want to go. Boson's north end (great Italian restaurants) is over the Charlestown bridge. You can probably walk it in about 20 minutes, or it's 2 stops away on the T if you've had a long day and don't feel like walking. You can also take a ferry from the Naval Yard in Charlestown down to the wharf near Fanueil Hall & the Quincy Market for a couple of dollars.
We ate at Figs & Warren's Tavern(a hangout of Paul Revere & George Washington)right around the corner from the condo. From the street you see Bunker Hill. We ate at Legal Seafood in town(good chowder, shrimp, & crab cakes) and Belle Vista for lunch & La Conte for dinner at the North End. Ida's was recommended but is only open Thurs.- Sun. Never had room for the pastries there but sorry we missed them. Modern & Mike's pastries were both recommended.
We loved the Freedom Trail & the JFK library & museum at UMass. This is the place to stay when visiting this historic city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

Nicole and Jim,

Thank you for a wonderful, memorable stay in Boston!
We drove up to Rockport, Salem and explored the Back Bay and Harvard Square.
Your condo is beautiful, immaculately cared for and as comfortable as home.

We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

We have enjoyed your home. Thank you for sharing it with us. It was
convenient to the "T" which is great for getting around the Boston area. We
bought weekly passes and have left them. We used them thoroughly for the
days we were here. Did the Freedom Trail, JFK Library and Museum and other
Boston sights.
Ate at Legal Seafood - good chowder. Excellent crab cakes, salad and fried
shrimp. Friendly atmosphere. Also ate twice in the North End. Lunch at Bella
Vista and dinner at Lo Conte's on Salem Street. Both were excellent. Had
pizza at Figs and though we are from Chicago, where we think the best pizza
is, it was a different and great pizza. Also, hoping to have a burger at Warren
Tavern tomorrow...smelled great while we visited.
Great location here! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

Nicole & Jim. Thank you so much for a wonderful visit, in a beautiful apartment
and a town we could call home. We loved our stay and could have never left 5
blocks of Charlestown w/its great restaurants (Figs!) and homes and history.

Congrats on new baby! We'd love to come back to spend more time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Great place...amazing neighborhood. We all had so much fun in our short stay.
The history is top notch. It was great to walk through history all day and come
back here to relax in your beautiful and extremely comfortable home. Thanks...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Wow! What a special place. We had an action packed 4 days here and it was so nice to start and end here. Thank you so much for making it available. Figs is a must and so are the burgers at the Warren Tavern. Both great places. Thanks again and we hope to stay here again on our next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: September 18, 2008

We enjoyed a great stay here. 3 Devens is lovely - quiet, comfortable and convenient.
In just under a week we: walked the Freedom Trail, visited the Harvard Natural History Museum, Science museum, USS Constitution, Salem, took a Duck Tour (touristy but highly recommended), saw Kooza (fabulous) and got comfortable with the "T".
Figs is a national treasure-the best pizza known to humanity. Warren Tavern combines a friendly neighborhood feeling with very credible food. We were there on trivia night and we had fun second guessing the contestants.
Thanks for providing such a perfect home base.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

Thank you. We loved staying here, loved Boston. Hope to come back some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review