reviews for: listing #56781 - San Francisco, California House rental

Casa Tranquilio
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Noe Valley
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $280 - $350 /nt

sort by:

Great HOME!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

This house is amazing! I didn't want to leave. Both bathroom have heated floors and the rain shower head in the master bath was great after a day of hiking up and down hills! The neighborhood is beautiful and full of friendly people who offer up great tips for getting around and places to eat. The front room gets a ton of sunlight and was a great place to read to and unwind. The three level outside area also has amazing views. Perfect place to stay to enjoy an amazing city!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We had a wonderful week in this home. It is decorated so tastefully and was immaculate. There is plenty of closet space and an abundance of luxury linens. The backyard is lovely we enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night and drinking coffee on the patio in the morning. It's a great location - parking was never a problem and the neighbors were friendly. There were several great eateries within walking distance - we especially enjoyed Barney's for fantastic burgers and amazing salads. The owner was friendly and accommodating, and was easily reachable during our stay to handle any problems (though we didn't have any!!). I would definetly recommend this property to a large or small party visiting San Francisco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Einfach genial/ simply great

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

Tolles Haus, mit viel Platz, super Ausstattung, guter Anbindung zum Zentrum und sehr nettem Vermieter (durften am Abreisetag sogar noch das WM Finale im Haus gucken). Der Wäscheservice ist einmalig. Auf jeden Fall weiter zu empfehlen. Great house, with a lot of place, really equipment, good binding to the centre and very nice owner (might still watch the world championship finale in the house on the departure day). The laundry service is unique. To recommend anyway. We really enjoyed our stay in your house. Michael and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views! Great Home! Great neighborhood!

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

Our family of seven began our 10 day California vacation at this beautiful home. Since we only had one day in San Francisco this was the perfect place for our adult children to experience the flavor of the city by living in this great neighborhood, which was safe, friendly, walking distance to shops, restaurants and transportation. David was a very gracious and attentive host who met us upon our arrival. He provided a great deal of information about SF. The views from all the rooms and terraced backyard were fantastic! The rooms were spacious with lovely décor. Clean and contemporary. No worries about the front stairs as there are landings between flights if one needs to take a break! We found parking on the street immediately in front of the house. We would definitely love to stay again when we return to San Francisco.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big house with a view

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

Casa Tranquilio has everything you need for a great vacation in the city. The house is big, clean and comfortable. It's close to 24th Street where you can find great shopping and restaurants. They also have a wonderful farmers market on Saturday mornings. The bus stops at the end of the street and takes you directly to Muni. The backyard is private with a nice hot tub, barbeque and room for a large group. We were able to park right out front and the street is very quiet. David is great and easy to work with. We will definitely be back for another stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family delight. Perfect for reunions.

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

We've stayed at Casa Tranquillo twice in the last two years for family reunions. Each day and night has been a delight. The house is spotless, the location is excellent (walk to Whole Foods, a superb Italian deli, gourmet restaurants, all the services you could want or need. Street parking is a cinch. The fully equipped kitchen and large dining room are great for celebratory dinners. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The San Francisco Treat

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This house was the prefect accommodation for our trip to San Fran. We looked into getting a hotel and stumbled upon this "treat". Right away we were warmly greeted by David who allowed us to check in early since our flight had landed sooner then thought. He was more then helpful and took us on a quick tour. The house is just as it is shown in pictures.
There were five adults on the trip and there was plenty of room. The beds were also comfortable and the place was very clean.
A major plus was the hot tub. It was so nice to come in after dinner and take a quick soak.
The location off the house is great as well. It is in a quiet neighborhood, perfect for relaxing but you could also walk two blocks over and find restaurants and shops. It's about a 15 minute cab ride to downtown which was very convenient.
Overall I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in San Fran. We had a great trip and would stay here again! Thanks David!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and Spacious in the heart of Noe Valley

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

Incredible beautiful and spacious property in the heart of Noe Valley. Minutes away from downtown and walking distance to one of the finest Thai restaurants in San Francisco. But if you would rather dine in there is a five star kitchen equipped with A-list appliances.
Your host, David, is very attentive and generous offering free same day laundry service! Perfect place if you are looking for a quiet and cozy getaway in San Francisco.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House for 6-8

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

My wife and I were married in San Francisco and rented the house for our families to stay in for the wedding. David (the owner) greeted us when we arrived since he was there to finish cleaning out the hot-tub which the previous renters had trashed. He was very apologetic and had brought us a bottle of wine to make up for not being able to use the hot-tub that night. Both before and during our stay, he was very helpful and friendly.

The house itself was perfect for our group of 8 with three upstairs bedrooms and the downstairs master suite (which is huge and includes a sitting area and desk as well as its own door to the backyard…no view but very light and open feeling). Two of the upstairs rooms look out over the backyard, but the one on the front of the house has the same gorgeous city view as the living room. As advertised, the kitchen is well-appointed and has all the equipment you need. If you’re planning on doing a lot of cooking, think about bringing your own knives as the ones provided are pretty beat up, but otherwise everything is in good shape.

We really appreciated the small details that David has thought about at this property. It was a pleasant surprise to find things like jars of cotton balls and q-tips in the bathrooms and lots of hangers in the closets. However, as some reviewers have noted, there are a few minor maintenance issues. David asked us not to open several windows since not all the hardware was installed and they would fall out if we opened them. However, he said the parts were on order so that should be resolved soon. Other things like dented floor registers and screw holes left in the bathrooms from old toilet roll holders detract a bit from the appearance of the house but don’t really negatively affect your stay. The entire house was impeccably clean.

Having a large living room, TV room, and dining room for our families to spread out across was perfect and we’re so glad we rented this house rather than trying to cram everyone into hotel rooms for five nights. The location was nice, in a quiet area but within a short walk to restaurants, shops, and a Whole Foods as well as a short drive from downtown. Parking on the block is limited to 2 hours during the day without a permit, but non-permitted street parking starts on the next block over and is generally pretty easy to find.

Overall, if you’re looking for a quiet, pleasant place to stay for a group of 6-8 people, I’d highly recommend renting this house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and well appointed home!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Modern design and furnishings throughout the house and fabulous views of the city. It’s hard to believe this property is a vacation rental. We came for a mini family reunion in SF. We used the gas fireplace and it made the living room a cozy place to hang out. Even with the many options in SF to eat out, we opted to use the grill and eat in most nights. Dining room table can seat 12 with the extra chairs in the pantry. The kitchen was well appointed for service for 15 people, it even had a supply of coffee beans (and grinder!). The downstairs master bedroom is huge, and could probably fit three air beds. But with our situation, two families and two adults (11 people) took the three upstairs bedrooms, and it was a tad tight sharing the bathroom upstairs. Other things to note...the laundry service is awesome, we used it once and would have taken advantage of it again if we thought of this ahead of time. The air mattresses could use a cleaning and/or repairs. Also, there are quite a number of stairs up to the property, so it may not be accessible to the elderly or handicapped. That said, my mom (age 76) and my daughter (age 3) were able to get up and down okay...although it did make us a little nervous whenever they approached the unlit portion of the stairs at night. It was great staying in the city, an easy walk to the shops along 24th St. We were concerned that our three cars would not be able to find street parking, but we were able to each time! Also, the owner was super nice and responsive...we hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent family reunion at Casa Tranquilio. The house is beautiful and as the name suggests peaceful. We relaxed in the backyard and in the living spaces in the house. The kitchen is very well equipped, and the beds very comfortable. The location was fantastic, close to public transit, restaurants and stores. You do not need a car when you stay here. David (the owner) was helpful without being intrusive (as one other reviewer suggested). The property was clean but needed some minor maintenance - one faucet dripped and some windows didn't open, but that did not detract from our positive experience. The city views from the windows were beautiful. We recommend staying at this property.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

7 in California.

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

3 couples + 1 rented this house for 3 nights early September.The balance of our payment was taken 11 days early and we were promised a nice bottle of wine as recompense. Needless to say this didn't appear. We had the same problem as in other rentals.1 bathroom en suite and the other 5 people sharing the 1 other. The house was clean (although we had to clean all the oven tins before using) and beds comfortable although furnishings were sparse. No mirrors in the bedrooms, no towel rails or toilet roll holders. The back door lock was broken but David said "it would be OK as he knows the neighbours" !! We had to wedge it closed every night and before going out. The house is well situated with lovely views across the city due to there being 97 steps up to the front door, not good after 36 hours travelling and arriving with 12 pieces of luggage. This should be stated on the house description for people with physical disabilities.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Girls getaway & ended up never leaving the house!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

A group of 10 of us decided to leave our husbands and kids at home to have a girl's getaway night in San Francisco. We intended on heading out on the town but were so happy with Casa Tranquilio that we ended up ordering pizza and never left the house! The house is set up on a hill which provides from amazing views from almost every room. From the spa (which we spent hours in!) you see a view of Twin Peaks. The house has beautiful hardwood floors and classic clean furniture. There is plenty of space and we never felt crowded. There are tons of supplies in the house, from folding chairs to high chair to baby gate to everything you could imagine in the gorgeous gourmet kitchen. The downstairs (of 3 levels) is a large master suite where we set up 3 queen sized fancy eurobed air mattresses (they had about 6 in the closet!) The owner was wonderful to work with and very accommodating. There was plenty of street parking for all of us and the area was extremely quiet. I would recommend this rental to almost anyone and have already sent information on the rental to all of my friends and family for future use. This rental well exceeded all of our expectations and we all had wished we could have extended our stay. The only negative to this house (which we anticipated since we are city locals) is that to access it, you have to climb up the hill which is 5-6 flights of stairs (which is also why you get such amazing views!) we were fine but I wouldn't recommend it to people with accessability needs or health issues that don't allow them to climb stairs (we were a little out of breath walking up!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful, comfortable, clean home in a great location

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

I recently stayed one night at Casa Tranquilio and had a relaxing stay. The neighborhood is lively, the views from the home were beautiful, the bed and linens were clean and comfortable. I wish I had more time so that I could have used the jet tub or hot tub. The gourmet kitchen was well-equipped. I would definitely like to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, great customer service

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

I rented this house for a surprise family reunion with my mother, 2 sisters and their husbands, who all live around the country, with the exception of my Mom who is in SF. I use airbnb, this service and other to find rentals frequently, and this is far and away one of the best experiences I have ever had. The house is HUGE and, if you have any sense of SF rental and hotel prices, a bargain, especially for large groups. The owner and his staff were super helpful, came over to help us figure out how to use the gas grill, and even sent over a free laundry service with wash and fold. They went above and beyond expected service and were available 24/7 to help. Some other nice touches were the chef's kitchen, top of the line appliances, outdoor patio and beautiful lighting. We are planning another reunion again in 2014 and will be back. Can't recommend the place highly enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not Worth the Headache

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Casa Tranquilio is in a nice location with easy street parking. As a whole, it's a nice house, but not without problems. I stayed there over Presidents' Day weekend with 12 other women for a birthday/bachelorette trip, and by the end, we all found the rental owner David's presence to be intrusive and an inconvenience. We are experienced renters and have rented several homes together in the past few years, and this is, by far, the worst experience we've had with a rental manager. We found his behavior to be unprofessional and it negatively affected our experience.

Problems with the house - 1. No Window Dressings in the master bedroom and bathroom!! 2. Dangerous Broken Windows - unlabeled, broken windows in the living room and upper bedroom, so they'd FALL OUT if opened. 3. Broken Toilet - broken master bathroom toilet would not flush at all when we arrived. When we reported it to David, he said "that's just the way toilets flush in San Francisco."

Owner's Unprofessional Behavior - 1. Entered Home When We're Out - David entered the house when we were at dinner (to fix a toilet) and then put coasters under each and every glass that was being used in the house. 2. Moved Things Around When We're Out - David moved each glass and drink bottle from each bedroom's nightstands to the kitchen when we were out to dinner. We were all concerned when we returned to our bedrooms and found things had been moved. We found this to be extremely intrusive behavior, and a privacy violation as guests in a rental home. 3. Rescinded Late Check-Out To Paint Stairs - the day before check-out, David rescinded our previously agreed upon late check-out because he insisted on painting the front stairs the next day. 4. No Rental Binder - David didn't provide us with any written instructions on how to care for the house, or how appliances worked, or how to check out. Instead, he asked us to get a pen and paper and write down his verbal instructions. 5. Unheated Hot Tub - David didn't pre-heat the hot tub, so that we were only able to use it our last night there. He also asked us not to talk in the backyard out of respect to his neighbors, which really defeated the purpose of renting a house with a backyard hot tub. 6. Charged Credit Card - David charged a $30 fee to our credit card 2 weeks after our stay without explanation, despite our request. We were forced to dispute the charge.

Bad experience with David makes the rental not worth it. We won't rent from him again.

Helpful votes: 19 / 20

 

Wonderful oasis in Noe Valley

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Casa Tranquilio is a wonderful home in the Noe Valley neighborhood. Visiting family in and around SF was a breeze, and the house was just as described. Spotless, well furnished and really well situated. Their pet policy made it possible to bring our dog along, and we all enjoyed the yard and the nearby dog parks. Next time, we'll be bringing a larger group. Will be telling our friends and family about this place!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wedding Weekend Family Retreat

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

This home was absolutely perfect for our needs! We planned a destination wedding in San Francisco and had family coming from all over the country, so we needed a place that could fit a lot of people. We managed to fit 15 adults and 1 child in this home comfortably! David, the homeowner met us at the house when we arrived with a bottle of wine and a clothes steamer to remove travel wrinkles from our wedding atire! He was always available to us to answer questions and provide another air mattress if needed. The house was tastefully decorated, and had beautiful views of the city. The manicured backyard made a perfect backdrop for some pre-wedding photos! The house is located within walking distance to some fabulous restaurants and it was very easy to get public transportation for anything further away. There is a great little convenience store up the hill, that provided us with the morning paper, some fresh fruit and very friendly people. There was little to no traffic on this street, so it was surprisingly quiet! There was more than enough towels, blankets and fresh sheets available for all of us, and the complementary laundry service picked up any soiled garments and delivered them back to us cleaned and pressed by days end! We were all very pleased with the Casa Tranquilla and we are already planning a return stay for our 1 year anniversary! Thank you David!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

excellent place!!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Casa Tranquilio. The house works really well for large groups, it's well furnished, very clean and the owner is most helpful! I hope we'll be back! Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

Intended to submit a review last year, but better late than never! My husband, 2 daughters, their boyfriends and I all stayed here last fall. We thought the place was fabulous! The location is great as a base for touring the San Francisco area. The home is very spacious and clean and the laundry service was absolutely wonderful! Our host, David, was a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely recommend this lovely rental to anyone who enjoys having a comfortable 'home' to return to after a day of touring!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic house, great neighborhood, accomodating host

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

I recently completed a week-long stay at this amazing house w/ my family visiting from the east coast. Within seconds of walking up into the house, jaws were dropped at the cinematic views in the front of the house, and for the unique feel of the layered back yard. Pictures don't do this place justice. The house was fully stocked w/ linens, towels, aerobeds, kitchen-ware, and more. Eight of us slept comfortably with plenty of room to spare. The furniture was not only sleek and modern, but extremely comfortable. David, the owner, was also very helpful whenever we had questions, and would even stop by if it made things easier.
Plenty of parking, laundry service, and if you make it down a hilly block, 24th st provides a great vibe of restaurants and shops. Dolores park also a nice stroll away.
We wish we had less events to attend to in SF so that we could take more advantage of the grill and kitchen, but will have to wait til next family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We Didn't Wan't to Leave!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Wow! What an amazing, roomy, well-appointed home! It is in a wonderful location with nearby shops and easy access to transportation. The neighborhood is beautiful and very quiet yet there are restaurants right around the corner. The property itself is very lovely and the six members of my family were very comfortable during our four days. Every bedroom has a lovely view whether of the city or the peaceful backyard. The owner is very friendly and professional and we enjoyed working with him. I will definitely return and am permanently spoiled from ever staying in a hotel room again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We three Florida couples were looking for a nice place, big place, clean place, comfortable place, and great location. Brian's house was perfect. Noe(NO-E) Valley was not known to us. It was delightful. There is a gourmet take out restaurant close by where we brought home great food. We did a lot of riding around the area. GPS is a must. The house was well provisioned with all needed equipment. We picked up our provisions at Whole Foods, reasonably close. Beds were very nice. bathrooms were immaculate. A great place to tour from. We really love the place.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Lovely home in Noe Valley

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Casa Tranquilio is a wonderful! We had to move out of our nearby home during construction and Casa Tranquilio was the perfect place to land. It was well appointed, comfortable and serene. Taking my morning tea in the back garden was such a lovely way to start the day, and my tiny dogs enjoyed romping around in the fresh air. It's in an excellent neighborhood within walking distance of Noe Valley shops, and there is plenty of street parking night and day. Not only that, but David, the owner, was very easy to work with. He responded to my emails quickly and got an A+ in "customer service." I recommend this place 100%!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

I brought 12 teenage girls and another adult with me to Casa T for a school trip. David was responsive to all of our needs and requests (and there were many). Casa T is even better than it looks in the pictures. We had crap weather, so we didn't get to take advantage of the backyard. I would have loved to have grilled out and enjoyed the hot tub more. The location is great if you want a laid back San Francisco feel. The proximity to shops and restaurants on 24th Street in Noe Valley makes eating very simple. I would stay there again without hesitation and I would bring the same size group back as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Home

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

I can't say enough about how great this place is. I had a dinner party and the kitchen was well stocked (pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, wine glasses)! We did not have to bring much except for the ingredients of course. the outdoor bbq, the viking stove and oven, WOW!
as for the bedrooms, they are huge and well maintained. the backyard with the hot tub is magnificent.
it's definitely a home away from home! the neighbors are great as well! would definitely recommend this to those vacationing in sf!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home in a great neighborhood

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

My husband and I rented the house for a few nights last weekend as we were having a wedding with a lot of out of town guests. The highlights were: easy parking, the hot tub, great views and well stocked kitchen. We hosted an app and drink night and were pleasantly surprised to find the kitchen had all we needed - and not just thrown together. Nice wine glasses, champagne buckets. I was really impressed that the needs were met - like a coffee machine with coffee beans and a coffee grinder.

David was nice to work with too - we wanted to make sure that we would have enough space so we had a lot of questions. My husband went to see the place and David was accomodating. We slept 9 quite comfortable - couples in the three rooms upstairs and three in the very large master bedroom downstairs. There was plenty of space in the living area and a nice large dining room with ten chairs for communal dining.

There was a great view, really surprisingly wonderful. The location is great too - two blocks away from dining, nail salons, shops and a Whole Foods.

All of our guests took the business card for the house just in case they had a need. I expect we will use the place again when we have another large event.

I have a very small complaint. That is although the price is reasonable, after a certain number it is an additional $50 a night, so we expected another bed, but it is an air mattress. I think less money should be expected as $50 seemed steep if that person is sleeping on the couch or on the floor of someone else's room. We thought we would be ten originally, so 9 worked out well.

The place is amazing - whoever stays in this lovely place will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a FIND! Awesome Noe Valley Property!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Our family, including a toddler and dogs, stayed at Casa T nearly 2 weeks. Our stay was *outstanding*! I have rented many homes through VRBO, Casa T is undoubtedly one of the BEST both in facility and in service.

The home is constructed with a quality of finishes and fixtures and level of design that is not common in vacation rental homes. The house is super clean and organized and feels like you're staying at five star hotel. All the rooms are furnished impeccably. The cozy living room for example is filled with warm sun in the day and at night has incredible city light views. All of the beds in the house were very comfortable, both the mattress and the linens. Each night everyone got a great night's sleep to have energy to explore the city!

David, the owner, runs the property with the efficiency of a hotel and the concern and attention to detail as an owner. David is always "on call" to you. He helped us with our bags and made sure we were settled in comfortably. Any questions we had or things we needed, he addressed immediately and thoroughly.

The location of the house could not be more convenient. It is very short walk to 24th Street, the main drag of Noe Valley, Whole Foods grocery store, restaurants, shops, dog park and playground.

I consider Casa-T one of those needle in a haystack GEMS and will definitely come back for our next stay in SF.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

30th Birthday - Perfect Location

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Decided to spend my 30th birthday in San Francisco (my favorite city) and found Casa Tranquilio. The place was perfect!

I had my closest friends stay with me and we all had ample space and a cozy yet stunning environment. The house is amazing! Completely up to date with modern amenities and a stunning view. The view alone is worth the place, but the house itself was also incredible. We had an amazing time! And wished it would never end :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not very Tranquill

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

For a place called "Tranquilio", the owner might have mentioned that there is construction going on on the other side of the wall to the master bedroom! We arrived from the east coast where we have a four hour time difference and went to sleep at 6:30am our time or 2:30am PT. I was awakened at 7:15am by cursing construction workers standing outside our bedroom window and could see their silouttes on the wall. Thank god it rained over the weekend so no workers until Monday morning at 7:15 sharp. Jackhammers and all!! Very "Tranquill" indeed, Parking is on the street but you have to move your car every two hours Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 9:00pm. Don't park out front because this is reserved for the construction workers from 7:00am until 1/8/2012... Bring your own soap to shower with and paper towels to wipe with. I hope you are not the modest type as there are only light sheers on the windows facing the street and nieghborhood. Nice inside once you climb the 60 steps to get in. The nieghborhood has great restaurants and a Whole foods with in walking distance.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

This rental was 100x better than we expected - simply AMAZING property & an incredible deal

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

The photos don't do this place justice! Inside is impeccably clean with an incredible sense of (modern) style. So well done that our friends and guests all asked for the contact info to rent out the location, and we were all amazed at the price for what was delivered, the look & feel & location, & everything that the house comes with. Everything in the house works perfectly and the ambiance of the house made us feel right at home. We had everything we needed and more. The owner is VERY quick to respond, incredibly helpful and courteous. The views from the front windows of the house are stunning, and the back yard is beautifully manicured and landscaped (it's huge), along with a hot tub, grill, and different seating areas throughout the yard. Parking was never a problem whatsoever, and in the 4 days we were there we never had a problem parking within feet of the main entrance. The location is extremely quiet, yet just blocks away from several communities, shopping, healthy grocery stores, delicious restaurants & nightlife. Seriously an ideal location in SF. This rental is HIGHLY recommended, and we will definitely send our friends & family to Casa Tranquilio (as long as they are not trying to reserve the same dates as us!). What a lucky find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

What a stunning home! My husband and I stayed here this fall with our 2 teenage sons, my brother, and our parents and there was plenty of room for everyone. The bathrooms are gorgeous and luxurious. The beds are VERY comfortable. The appliances are extremely convenient and thoughtful. (Even a coffee grinder - NICE!) We really had a very nice time and it was a calm retreat from the festivities of an exciting family wedding.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

What a stunning home! My husband and I stayed here this fall with our 2 teenage sons, my brother, and our parents and there was plenty of room for everyone. The bathrooms are gorgeous and luxurious. The beds are VERY comfortable. The appliances are extremely convenient and thoughtful. (Even a coffee grinder - NICE!) We really had a very nice time and it was a calm retreat from the festivities of an exciting family wedding. Thank you David.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the ultimate sfc habitat

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

i have been to sfc many times, most of all staying with friends at their house, this time being a party of three we decided to have our own place...and what a good choice we made, staying in casa tranquillo.
before booking i have read some reviews, some said something about, it would be like having a castle above the city...well, you are so right, but in the same moment it is even more...it is feeling like coming home, you are part of the city with that magnificent view, part of the people, living in that area, having 24th street right next to you.....o.k., for the friends of statistics: this place has been clean and well prepared, with a full equiped kitchen, a wonderfull fireplace, a carefully created garden for the warmer days, a huge hottub in best condition.....well, everything is more, than you would ask for!! we will be back here soon. and if my english sounds funny...sorry, i`m german! ;o))

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

this house is eveything it says and much much more

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

wow this place is awesome.....will be bring my family back every year to the house with the wonderful view and a clean well maintained san francisco feel....thanks again david

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Place for a Birthday Getaway!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Casa Tranquilio is absolutely a stunning property. The house is gorgeous on all accounts. Seven friends and I were there to celebrate my birthday and the house accommodated use very well. The pictures, although accurate, don't do the place justice! We were floored upon arrival. David was extremely hospitable and helpful with all our needs, which were minimal as no detail was spared. I wish the weather was a little bit warmer so we could have used the back area more. So I guess that means, I have to come back in the summer. I would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic House! Five Stars!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

This house is spectacular and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in San Francisco. It is beautifully maintained. The views are gorgeous. David, the owner, went out of his way to be helpful, even had extra towels dropped off for us. And he really has thought of everything to make for a comfortable stay for guests. There are menus from nearby restaurants, spare umbrellas, spices for cooking, even poker chips! The house is very large and gave us lots of space. We had 7 people stay in the house and there was plenty of space. The upstairs bedrooms are quite roomy and the master bedroom is enormous. It was so much better than being in a cramped hotel. But the property was as convenient and well-appointed as any four-star hotel. The back yard with the hot tub is a peaceful retreat. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. Noe Valley is a charming neighborhood. It was an easy bus/cab ride to downtown and Fisherman’s wharf, but it was nicely removed from some of the louder more chaotic parts of the city. We loved being able to visit those parts of the city during the day and then come home to the calm and relaxation of Casa T. A block away from Casa T, there are lots of bars, restaurants, shops and even a Whole Foods, so that anything you need is within walking distance. My 10-year old daughter, who can be a pretty tough critic, even asked me if we could buy Casa T and move it to Chicago with us! I highly recommend this property to families, groups or anyone looking for a luxurious and relaxing place in San Francisco. Many thanks to David for making our stay so enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Castle

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful and the neighborhood is very quiet. The laundry service was great!

My daughter described the house as an "Awesome Castle".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

A large group of us stayed here on a trip to the city, and found the experience delightful. We didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

A few colleauges and I stayed at this house for the weekend for a business trip and we didn't even want to leave to go sight-seeing! This house impressed the heck out of some of my industry's top VPs that I invited over for a Saturday evening BBQ. I will definitely come back, maybe with my family next time!
Thanks so much David for keeping the prices so affordable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This was the perfect place for my husband and I to celebrate our 40th anniversary with our two kids and their spouses. The lay out of the house worked really well. With the master suite on the first floor, the living spaces on the second, and the three bedrooms on the third, we were able to escape when we needed peace and quiet. The kids loved the hot tub. The neighborhood is beautiful. There are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Our favorite meal was take out we ordered from Pasta Gina which is just around the corner. I hope we get a chance to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic house!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We travelled in a group of five, with a 12 year old girl. And we all had a great stay at Casa Tranquilio. The house is beautiful, warm, and inviting. The kitchen is very well equiped and everything was high quality - it was fun to cook here. An organic supermarket is very near - that was perfect for us.

After a nice, busy and exciting day in San Francisco, it was always great to come back "home" to this beautiful and quiet place. Although it was not that warm, we could enjoy the hot tube on the patio in the evenings. That was very relaxing!

Also perfect was the service. The laundry was done without any stress for us. David the owner was very nice, helpful and always reachable. We had such a nice stay, that we tell all our friends to book the Casa Tranquilio if they visit SF. We will do this for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply Excellent House

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

We are a family of 5 from the UK and had a great time at Casa T, superb position, parking no problem right outside, everything in the house worked just as it should and has a very caring and attentive owner. House is very comfortable and user friendly including the now vital internet access for my three teens. House is in a really nice quiet area a short walk from Noe valley hub with all the restaurants and the Wholefoods Store. Fixtures and fittings are all very new and really thoughtfully provided. We could not have asked for more and the views are great and we highly recommend this upscale house. Thanks for a great time, really appreciated it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Oasis

Review submitted: November 25, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

My stay at Casa Tranquilio in San Francisco was amazing! The house is simply beautiful, pristine, full of light, warm and inviting. It is a private retreat just steps away from great shopping, restaurants and an amazing public transportation system. Visitors can visit the city and return to this peaceful oasis. In short, this is the best accommodation and service I have enjoyed in my many trips to San Francisco, as well as elsewhere. I look forward to returning to Casa Tranquilio as soon as I can!

Dianne
Calgary, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Luxurious House!

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

At Casa Tranquilllo you will find luxurious sheets and beds. It is amazingly quiet. Enjoy the hot tub in the morning and you will see a showcase of local birds. The cityscape views are fantastic! The master suite is to die for. The bathrooms are a dream. This is a perfect place for an adult reunion or retreat. The kitchen has all the latest high end appliances. It is conveniently located near trendy Noe Valley shopping, eating and drinking. The wireless network works perfectly. There are even menus for the local restaurants. We had a delightful stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review