reviews for: listing #56893 - Hana, Hawaii House rental

Hana Aloha Hale
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hana
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $350 /nt
    $1,575 - $1,645 /wk
    $6,450 - $7,050 /mth

sort by:

Too many ants!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

This is no longer a luxury accommodation, but has become a dirty, ant infested house. The owner has put out several small ant baits, but the problem is much bigger than that. We first noticed the ants when we drove up and parked by the front door and got out. If we stayed still longer than a few seconds, we had ants crawling on us. We could see the ants crawling up and down the support posts to the second floor. There are ants in every room of the house, especially the kitchen and bathrooms. They were crawling in the dishwasher and in the showers. When we contacted the owner, he didn’t really listen to what we were saying and all he said was that he would have the housekeeper put out more bait traps.
The pictures on his website and on this site are outdated. The vegetation has grown up so much in front of the house that the view of the ocean is mostly blocked. Also, as you can see from the pictures, there are no shades on any windows. So you cannot block out the sun to try to keep a room cooler during the day. There are also no ceiling fans to help the air circulate. So in the summer, it was very hot. The lack of shades also makes the inside of the house a magnet for bugs when it gets dark outside since they come to the light.
The beds in the lanai are futons and are very very hard. Even our young kids complained about how stiff they were.
The dishwasher and the oven only worked sporadically when we were there. The owner kept telling us that we weren’t latching the dishwasher completely shut, but we are certain that we were since we heard the click that he told us to listen for. The oven stove top worked the whole time, but the actual oven would just stop working for periods of time (the light that displayed the time on the oven would turn off and none of the oven buttons would work). We would look again later and it would be back on.
The house cleaning must be minimal, as evident by the gecko skeleton on one of the window sills.
We were booked to stay for four nights, but we only made it to three. We left a night early because of all these issues. The owner did not respond well to our concerns.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Hana Location

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

This home was on a beautiful huge lot right across from the coast. Only 2 miles past Hana. Great owner with attention to detail. Would stay here longer than 2 nights in the future!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hana Best Scenic Drive in the World by P Greenberg

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

I just saw a TV show on The View the Best Scenic Drive: the Road to Hana abc.go.com/watch/the-view/SH559080/VD55215917/the-view-72
The first picture on the View is Makalae Point which is where the House is located. Makalae Point was voted by the Honeymoon magazine as one the most Romantic spot in Hawaii.
section 29:15 to 31:00 Check it out!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace on Earth in the Garden of Eden

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Hi Li keke

I just wanted to express how much we all enjoyed staying in your beautiful house on Hana. It was so peaceful and wonderful, just like you said. I hope to be able to visit again and again.

Thank you also for welcoming us into your home and introducing us to the very tasty fruits you grow. I only wish I had seen the farm in bloom with fruits. Maybe next time. Steve and I both agree that we slept like babies and really had a hard time leaving. Two days was not enough. So next time we'll plan a longer stay. Your grounds keeper was so nice, love the set up they have too!
I took so many pictures. I felt right at home!

I think after all our friends hear about how much we loved staying at your house many of them will want to visit. I hate to give away what I think to be a treasure on the island Hana Aloha Hale!!! Please be sure to include me on your mailing list for availability for future visits. I would love to visit your farmers market spot next time we are on Maui. Would love to meet your wife next time too.

Thank you again for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Mahalo and Aloha!

Francy & Steve

PS: the acoustics in your house are perfect...we loved playing music and singing with such a great acoustic room.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Hi Lee,

I have been meaning to email ever since we came home from Hana. Thank you so much for allowing us to have the beautiful experience of staying in your home. We loved it there, and we can't wait to come back to Hana. Thank you, and hopefully we will be in touch again sooner than later!

Kind regard,
Janine

To: Lee Lopez <olapono@earthlink.net>
Sent: Saturday, March 17, 2012 12:44 PM
Subject: Re: Hana Aloha Hale

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highlight of our Time

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Lee-

All went very well at your home for our Hana visit. We did the walk you recommended on Monday morning and it was spectacular....the highlight of our time there. Also had two great Thai lunches, went to the beach, cultural center and art gallery where we purchased a piece for our home. Thank you again for allowing us to share your lovely and comfortable home. I already miss the birds and the beautiful floral smell coming in the windows. Lynn king
Sent from my iPhone

On Apr 27, 2012, at 11:16 AM,

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Piece of Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Thank you Lee.

Since we&#39;ve been back we have certainly enjoyed remembering our week in Hana! Waianapanapa, the red sand beach, Hamoa, the Venus pool, the hike through the bamboo forest at the state park, the drive around the island in both directions! We were truly blessed by all the beauty and variety! Your home was a good location from which to do everything! Thank you for sharing your home, and for the fruits and the honey! That honey was such a treat on my english muffins each morning!
Take care and God bless,
Kristi &#40;for the whole family&#41;

Date: Tue, 1 May 2012 10:31:32 -1000

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place for families.

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

We enjoyed three wonderful nights here in August 2010. This place was perfect for two couples traveling with children. Plenty of room to spread out and the furnishings weren't SO nice that it wasn't a comfortable place to have the kids running around. Hot tub, hammock, and swings were great! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it! Will go again and tell our friends!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

We stayed at Hana Aloha Hale for our honeymoon and it absolutely lives up to its name, Magic Love House. I can see why Honeymoon Magazine named Makaale’a point which lies right in front of the house as being the most Romantic scenic spot along the Hana Coast. Then we heard Hana was named the most romantic location in the nation this year and realized that we have been blessed to experience the Garden of Eden. It truly is and we will go back again and tell our friends. We’re still breathless with the love and aloha of the beautiful landscape, morning sunrise and natural settings that we came across along the coast. The home is just outside of Hana town and close enough to two awesome beaches and natural swimming pool at the edge of the ocean. What an amazing adventure! We also loved the owners genuine aloha spirit. Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Local Family reunion Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

Beitler wrote:
} Hello Lee,
}
} We had a great time in Hana at your house, Hana ALoha Hale.
}
} We ended up with only 6 of us, and we all loved the black sand beach,,, thanks so much for telling me about it... the rope was sure a work out...
}
} we hope to go back again,,, what a peaceful, beautiful place to spend thanksgiving,,,
}
} aloha, Laurie B
}

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truely the Garden of Eden at Hana Aloha Hale

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

Lee: I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay at the Hana Aloha Hane. Not only was the home beautiful, breezy and comfortable and the grounds private and Edenic (we did enjoy some of the lovely fruit that fell from the trees), but the town and surroundings of Hana were some of our favorite on Maui. We enjoyed the seven pools and Hamoa Beach the most, and though we meant to do the walk to the Venus pools, we never had the chance. I also loved the Dragon's Eye fruit that you gave us... it was so wonderful, and unlike most other things I have tasted!

If we ever return to Maui, we will definitely plan to spend more time in Hana. Thank you again for your hospitality.

Elizabeth Graham and Andrew Person

On Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 12:43 PM, Andrew Person {acperson12@yahoo.com} wrote:

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review