reviews for: listing #56931 - Kapoho, Hawaii House rental

Mele Kai Is Now Our Home, but we have other vacation rentals
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kapoho Vacationland
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $400 /nt

sort by:

paradise

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

This home was Beautiful and Clean and the beds were so Comfortable! We were impressed with how the owners anticipated everything that we could possibly need while staying here... from a well- appointed kitchen and laundry to all the snorkel equipment and beach stuff that we needed. Did I mention how Clean it was? My husband and two teenagers loved to snorkel and I could relax on the balcony with a good book and ocean views and breezes. As they state... it would probably not be a good fit for someone who cannot climb stairs well nor would it probably be for travelers who prefer "bright lights" , noise, and a hopping night life or lots of crowds of tourists around. We would highly recommend this home for those who want to de-stress, unwind, relax, connect with their teenagers and also would probably be great for a romantic getaway!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to have guests "Tell it like it is). We really do our best to give the best Big Island vacation experience possible! The only way of making the visit better is to stay longer and staying at one of our other vacation homes (vacationrentals.com #s 22776 and 30479). Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Mele Kai. My husband went snorkeling every day. We all enjoyed sitting on the deck with its beautiful view. It was nice to go to the volcano, the beach, the botanical gardens and have a wonderful house to come back to in the evening. The house was clean and had everything we needed. We will be sure to come back to Mele Kai on our next Hawaii vacation. Mahalo!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Neither words nor pictures can do this property justice. Breathtaking views of the ocean, gentle waves breaking on the volcanic rock, gorgious sunrises from the lanai, beautifully appointed furnishings... This was a dream vacation!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that this couple enjoyed Mele Kai over the New Years week. Guests like them make hosting a joy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time again!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

We had a wonderful 10 days here again. Next time we come, it will be to close on our house here on the island. Just love it here on the Big Island. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

At home----On vacation

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We felt like we were at home- on vacation. Thanks for sharing your lovely home! Mahalo!

Owner Response- The Carmels came to Mele Kai after staying at our Kona-side vacation home, Hale o Lei (vacationrentals.com #22776) at Kealakekua Bay. We love it when guests stay with us on both sides of the Island because it enhances their ability to truly experience the Big Island’s diversity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Whoo hoo!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Whoo hoo! What a great place and fantastic neighbors. We had a great time. See you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

We knew the minute we set foot in Mele Kai we would enjoy this place. The kids had a great time in the tide pools and rock jumping in the low tide. We even saw a seal snoozing on one of the outer rocks. Our only regret is that we didn’t get a chance to stay longer. I guess there is always a next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo Nui loa!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

Had a great time in Vacationland. Enjoy going to hot pond. Eating at Kaleo’s in Pahoa is a must. Enjoyed staying in a great house, thanks for everything. Hope to be back in the fall. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo Nui loa!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

Had a great time in Vacationland. Enjoy going to hot pond. Eating at Kaleo’s in Pahoa is a must. Enjoyed staying in a great house, thanks for everything. Hope to be back in the fall. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On the Edge of Heaven!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Mele Kai is on the edge of heaven. With 3’ of snow and zero degrees at home, it was a joy to take in the sound of the surf, the sweetness of the sun, the splatter of rain squalls. Inside and out—paradise. We love it here—Thank you—Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

"My husband and I had a fantastic 3 weeks in this beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Situated overlooking the tidepools in Kapoho and the peaceful community of Wai'opae. The weekends did get busy in the tidepools with friendly locals coming to enjoy the amazing snorkeling but that was the ideal time to enjoy the spa.
The property was in immaculate condition and the attention to detail for all our needs and wants outstanding. The owners were accessable, warm and friendly. We couldn't recommend this property more highly and we felt very sorry to have to leave.
The property is located well for reaching Hilo, Volcano and South Point with its green sand beach. The hike out to the ocean flowing lava at Kalapana has been the highlight of all our experiences to date!!
There are also some exceptional places to eat locally, Luquin's and the Pahoa village cafe we can highly recommend. But the best place ever is the Hilo Bay Cafe on highway 11, unforgettable!
Overall if you are lucky enough to find yourself in this corner of the world you may have to agree that you have found your own private paradise. "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha! When Jacqui and her husband rented our home, we hadn't decided whether to make it as a vacation rental, or if we wanted to keep it all to ourselves and move there. We kept telling her that they might be the only vacation renters to ever experience it. After giving it a lot of hard thinking, we have decided to start accepting vacation reservations so others can also enjoy this very special place. We will use it if there is any room once it is discovered!!
Mahalo nui loa! Hart and Marlene

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review