reviews for: listing #56944 - Windham, New York Chalet rental

Morning Star Vacation Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Windham & Hunter Mt,
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $149 - $699 /nt
    $1,995 - $3,995 /wk
    $2,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Comfortable, clean, inviting and well-equipped!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time at this rental property. Approximately 5 minutes after we got settled we were already brainstorming a return trip back. The 6 of us were extremely comfortable throughout our stay. We made use of the kitchen facilities for dinner and breakfast and were pleased to find everything we needed with ease. We would love to come back in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sheer perfection!!!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Looking for a beautiful Ski Chalet with every amenity desirable, close to your skiing destination, and 5 minutes from the heart of the incredible town of Widham?! Look no further! The property owner provides his guests with the utmost of customer service and care. He is responsive, reliable and thorough. From pool tables, to fireplaces, to an ample amount of dishes and glassware, this house has it all. I recommend this property to anyone wanting to have the perfect weekend getaway (or longer if you can!). My stay at Morningstar will be forever remembered as I got engaged this weekend with all of my friends and family to witness at the top of Windham mountain! I will without a doubt book this property in the future...perhaps even this summer! We cannot wait to go back. Thank you again for everything and making this one of the most memorable weekends ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic, Clean, Well-Kept Home

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

The property was in fantastic shape upon our arrival, and the home was spic and span. Our group of 10 twenty- and thirty-somethings were all very comfortable, and thought the house was absolutely perfect. The only thing to watch out for in the winter is the very icy driveway. Not a problem in the summer or when there's no inclement weather, but a few of us took a tumble on the way in.

Delvis was wonderful to work with, and we would absolutely do it again!

Owners response: Thank you very much for leaving another great review. We try very hard to think of how we can make everyone's experience as best as it can be. Yes, inclement weather is ruff on all of us. For this specific purpose we leave sand and salt for our guest to use in a storage container on the front deck, next to the front door. The sand works best on the road bed and the salt is only for the stairs and deck. I'm sorry I did not mention this to you and will remind other guest that it is available if needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Our holiday vacation was great. Our 6 year old was kept busy with all the toys and games in the playroom. The home was clean, cozy, and convenient to all. Delvis was accessible and answered any questions that came up, (only 2). I must say the place is way better than imagined. We cant wait to return..... Thank you for providing us a place to spend over Presidents weekend, when it snowed over 2 feet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Weekend in a Wonderful Home

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

My family absolutely loved staying in this home for the weekend. It was me, my brother, sister, another sister and her husband and three kids, and my parents. We surprised my parents with this trip as their Christmas present. The kids (ages 3 and 4) loved sledding on the hill which was the perfect size for them (although I think the adults enjoyed it even more!!) We all loved the games in the basement including ping pong, fuseball, darts and plenty of kids toys. Sitting around the cozy fireplace was awesome as well as hanging out in the ginormous loft. I would definitely stay in this house again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, plenty of space, great condition.

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Had 9 people go up for a long weekend ski trip. The house was perfect. Very close to the mountain and anything we needed. Plenty of room for everyone and the house was in great condition. The pictures we saw before we arrived did not do it justice. Would recommend to anyone looking to rent in Windham.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

My fiance and I chose Windham, NY to have our wedding weekend for our family and friends to get away and spend a relaxing fall weekend in the mountains. We chose Morningstar Chalet for our home base for the week while we were in Windham. After extensive research on the many homes and condos in the area, Morningstar stood out above the rest. The house is spectacular, in phenominal condition and set up to make you feel immediately at home. The beds are like my own, very comfortable and the house comes equipped with EVERYTHING! I packed basic essentials for the handful of friends we had stay with us like shampoo, hair dryer, soap, paper towels, etc and ALL of this type of stuff was already there. Very impressive. Even the kitchen appliances and cooking ware were items that I would buy for myself which makes cooking a lot more enjoyable. Unlike most other rental properties that fill the home with the cheapest of household items. Not Morningstar. I highly recommend this home for your next vacation. It's perfect for all adults or adults and children. The owner, Delvis, was a pleasure to work with too. I travel extensively all over the world and an enormous amount of experience renting vacation homes and dealing with landlords. Delvis, by far, was the best I've ever worked with. Thank you Delvis for offering us such a great experience, the house truly added to all the special things we experienced while getting married in Windham. We plan to rent again this winter. So does my sister, and brother, and cousin! You may be busy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Warrior Weekends

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

For the past 4 years good friends and I have used the Windham house as our weekend get away and base of operations for a yearly Mud Run that we all participate in close by. On our first visit we found the accommodations to be OUTSTANDING! The house had everything we needed and more. The house is beautifully kept, spacious and has many amenities to make your visit as comfortable as possible. Whether you're looking for a romantic quiet escape for two or a week long retreat for one or more families the house does not disappoint. The process for renting from Javy Holding Corp. is simple, efficient and it is always a pleasure. My friends and I hope that we can continue this annual get together for years to come and we know it wouldn't be possible without the Morning Star Vacation Home. We always discuss how we would all come back every year, even when we're too old and sore to participate in the runs anymore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Weekend

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My family and I just got back from a weekend at the Morning Star Home and we had a fantastic time. We couldn't have been happier with this place. The cabin was gorgeous and was immaculately clean when we arrived. The bedrooms were great, as was the loft. The basement area with the ping pong table and foosball table was perfect and we played hours of ping pong! My 1 year old nephew was with us, and all the toys in the basement kept him occupied! All in all, this was a perfect place for a quiet family getaway and we will definitely be booking here again next year!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great time

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We had a great time at Morning Star. The property is well maintained and they do their best to provide everything. We definitely overpacked. Stayed for three nights 2/21/13 - 2/24/13 and wished we stayed more. Our two families with 5 kids ages 7-12 had a great time and want to go back and stay and ski more. It was an easy rental process, great stay and good memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Details Details

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find the Morning Star still available for a ski weekend for two families with kids. The house was clean, spacious, and comfortable and fun. The adults had their own bedrooms, the 2 girls shared a bedroom, and the 5 boys used the loft as their "man pad". The basement had toys and a foosball table. The kids had a blast and were not even interested in what we adults were doing.

We travel frequently and are often surprised at the lack of attention to the details, but not at the Morning Star. We literally needed nothing but our clothes to wear and food to eat. From towels to soap to shampoo to firewood to drip trays for our boots, it was all ready for us upon arrival. Things were easy to find and clearly labeled. Check out was a breeze. There was not a long list of protocol to follow, we just loaded up our trash and luggage and departed. The owner was very easy to work with and could tell that customer satisfaction was of utmost importance to him. Definitely a place we will stay again if we have the opportunity.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Beautiful home! Very clean & comfortable. Owner was a pleasure to deal with, very accessible. Would definiely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Our family found this vacation home to be even more than expected. Not only is the home lovely and inviting but the setting is so beautiful as the leaves peaked. The owner was extremely accomodating and the property was turn key - all we had to bring was our clothing and food. We especially enjoyed the family/game room and our two granddaughters had a ball with the 3 Barbie Houses while we enjoyed pingpong and foozball. The Octoberfest in nearby Hunter Mount-ain and the skyride to the mountain top was added fun. Our family met for the first family vacation since our children have married and moved to distant locations and this was the perfect place to relax and enjoy each other away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We certainly recommend it to others and hopefully can return sometime in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply beautiful

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We stayed here at the Memorial day weekend. The ambience and condition of the cottage far exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect on our stay. All accommodations were complete and comfortable. Quiet, relaxing, peaceful. Beautiful scenery.

Plenty of trails nearby. Kaaterskill falls is within 15 miles.
Our nights were booked for ping pong & foosball in the basement. They have kept a lot of board games, poker table & some nice barbie doll house for kids. The deck was really cool with the barbecue overlooking the woods. There are also some swings.

Overall our stay was great. I would absolutely stay again. A true value for money. A great place for a weekend get-a-way!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great family fun!

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We really enjoyed the house. Alot of space and perfect for outdoor fun. Very clean and comfortable! The owner was also supper easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review