reviews for: listing #56955 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Lake Anna Pleasant View Lake Front & Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $600 /nt
    $2,000 - $2,500 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time. Kids had fun fishing too!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

We had a great time down there and enjoyed your place. The kids had fun fishing off the dock, and there was plenty to catch :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beware! Avoid this property!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

My family and I have rented numerous properties at different areas in the country.

This property was the first, and MOST NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE we have ever encountered.

First, the property is NOT CLEAN. Every surface of the kitchen is coated in a sticky residue. The couch is dirty and clearly has white dog hair on it (even though the owner refuses to have pets at the property?). Furthermore, this home has a serious ANT INFESTATION. At any time there are >100 ANTS on the countertop! The vibrations from the dishwasher bring out even more from the woodwork! Upon returning to our own home, WE FOUND THE ANTS HAD INFILTRATED OUR OWN BELONGINGS! There is no doubt that this requires the employment of a professional exterminator.

Secondly, The owner didn't live up to his end of the bargain. We paid him extra for towels for the week. Were there towels when we arrived? No. He then denied that we had even paid him for the towels! Make sure to have your contract with you! Also, The OWNER CONTROLS THE THERMOSTAT from home. The WIFI is weak/nonexistant - you will give up on trying to access the internet within 2 days.

Finally, the properly is very POORLY MAINTAINED. It was obvious the owner did nothing to prepare the home for this season. Upon arrival the lawn had clearly not been mowed in >3 weeks, if at all since winter. EVERYTHING IN THIS HOME IS ON THER VERGE OF COLLAPSE. For example, all of the furniture is extremely flimsy (I watched as one chair gave way under my sibling while eating dinner). All of the fire alarms had exhausted their batteries - THUS ALL THE ALARMS WERE GOING OFF WHILE WE WERE THERE! A worn door handle cracked off while we were using an outside door. Ordinarily, this would necessitate a simple repair. THAT DIDN'T STOP THE OWNER FROM KEEPING OUR ENTIRE SECURITY DEPOSIT! I cannot understate this: THIS PLACE IS IN COMPLETE DISREPAIR!

AVOID THIS PROPERTY!

Owners response: Unfortunately, this renter yanked the handle off of the sliding door and is retaliating with this review. I've been renting this property for over 3 years and nobody has managed to yank off a handle from the sliding door. I explained to the renter that I was going to have it repaired and will only charge them for the repair and parts. They were adamant about saying that they were not responsible.
Towels were not mentioned in the linen rental however, I quickly delivered fresh one's the morning after they arrived (I guess they did not mention that in the review) At this point, nobody mentioned anything about sticky residue in the kitchen nor ants. At this time of the year with the change in weather, ants do appear but not to the extent the renter has described. I did not want to have it professionally sprayed when I have renters coming in. I will have it done if I have at least a week before anybody comes.
I just changed all the batteries of the fire alarm and they didn't mention anything about it while I was there for at least 4 hours mowing the grass! Internet runs at 12 MB and is the highest you can have in that area. I have nor any renters have not had any problems with the internet. Again, they did not mention anything when I was there. The airconditioner as well as heat is controlled in the house and the system is brand new installed Fall of 2013! I'm sorry that some people like to exaggerate but like I said, all I wanted is to repair what they admitted they damaged.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Lake House

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

If your looking for a get-a-way house this is it. The house is beautiful lake house and there are a lot of accommodations near by. The house comes equip with everything you will need if your planning to stay just for the whole week or weekend. Overall, my group and I enjoyed our stay here and will always cherish the time that we were here. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lake House Vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

If your looking for a get-a-way house this is it. The house is beautiful lake house and there are a lot of accommodations near by. The house comes equip with everything you will need if your planning to stay just for the whole week or Overall, my group and I enjoyed our stay here and will always cherish the time that we were here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Came here with 8 other people for a relaxing weekend and had a great time. The house was large and very comfortable for 9 people. The basement that opens up to the huge backyard was also a great feature.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not what we expected.....

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This was my third year staying at this particular home at Lake Anna. I reserve this home each January for an annual girls getaway weekend for 10 of us. I really appreciate the ease of making the reservation with this particular home. However, this year was disappointing. While we arrived earlier than our 4pm check in time, we were permitted in to the house-big plus. But, the code on the front door was not set to the code provided in my contract. I had to call and get a different code. The house appeared tidy at first glance, but once into the bathrooms and the basement we learned otherwise. The house appeared as though we may have been the first ones there in a while. There was dried toothpaste in the bathroom sinks, the basement floor was very dirty, too dirty for an area advertised as sleeping quarters, the toilet paper holder fell off of the wall in the master bath and the hot tub had a ring of slime, terrible odor and no chemicals available had we even wanted to clean it. The grass was not awfully tall, but could have used a trim which would have made our walk down to the dock, pulling coolers, a little easier. There were ants in the kitchen, not as many as we have seen on past stays. My group has unfortunately asked that we no longer book this home for our annual girls getaway. We love the dock and the space in the home, but cannot get past the condition of the hot tub. Not only is it just unacceptable, but is also a potential health hazard.

Owners response: The check in time was at 4pm and I the group arrived at noon. As the group requested to check in earlier, I relented and gave them another code so that they can check in earlier. I am flabergasted at this comment as I actually gave them a favor by giving them the code earlier than what we contracted.

I asked the group leader about the cleanliness and condition of the house as I had a professional cleaning service to clean it last Monday. She said that she found it to be nice and clean. She did not call me back to let me know if there were any issues. If there were, I would have immediately called the cleaning service for them to come back and do a better job cleaning.

I cut the grass last two weeks ago, unfortunately, because of the rain, it grew faster than normal. Again, I asked the group leader if it was overly tall, and she said it was higher but acceptable.

I checked the hot tub and it was fine.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful and relaxing lake weekend

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Our families had a lovely long weekend at Lake Anna. The home was well equipped and furnished with all the amenties necessary for a family. We enjoyed the dock tremendously and had a chance to fish, ski, kneeboard, and swim almost every day. We also spent an afternoon at the winery which was easy to get to. We highly recommend this house to others; John (the owner) was very responsive to our questions and needs. We look forward to our next visit to Lake Anna!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home was the perfect size

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to rent your lovely lake house. We had a wonderful weekend full of boating, skiing, tubing, swimming, floating, fishing and relaxing.

Your home was the perfect size for our two families and you had everything we needed. We really enjoyed ourselves tremendously.

Thank you,

The gladieux's and the Smith's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dock was where spent all our time!

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Thanks for a great weekend at Lake Anna! The dock is where we spend all of our time we are here. The weather was good with the exception of a couple of strorms.
See you in June 2012 when the Lake Anna girls return!

The Crocketts
The Shelbby's
The Bartlett's
And the Rauscher's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great week!

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

my family thoroughly enjoyed our week here at Lake Anna. Weather was great. Will definitely return!

The Hurdles, Hamels, Barnes and Bitterr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly enjoyed Lake Anna!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week here at Lake Anna. The weather was great. Will definitely return!

The Hurdles, Hamels, Barnes & Bilters

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great times!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Great times! Thank you very much!

My family loved it!

The Schaller family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you from Hopkins family

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your wonderful home and allowing us a great vacation with my family while I was on leave.

See you soon - would love to come back this summer.

The Hopkins family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect picture taking area!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Thank you very much for sharing your lake house with us. We had a wonderful and relaxing time. We got out a few days and toured Virginia! We will share our pictures & video with family and friends & hope to return one day!

Thank you so much!

The Rains family (Ohio)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We really had a great week here at your beautiful house. The weather was perfect. This was our second visit to Lake Anna and this house was much nicer than our last. We would definitely come back here to this house.
We jet ski, shopped (Potomac Mills) & went to the winery. Great location!
I hope the next family enjoys as much as we did.

The Bissell and Ross Families (Cleveland, OH)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Triathlon Paradise

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Thank you for letting us stay. 5 out of 6 of us completed the Giant Acorn Olympic Triathlon. We were able to walk over to the event and on Sunday, watched the sprint from your porch. :)

Margaret & friends

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First step at the Lake House!

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at your beautiful lake house. It was wonderful to have a relaxing week with family. Our oldest daughter loved the lake. She swam & fished till her heart was content. Our youngest daughter though not a lake fan had a great time and even took her first steps in your living room!
We look forward to coming back!
The Morrison Family
Eric, Sarah, Kaitlyn & Alexa
Cindy & Kenny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Need to stay longer!

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

We had a wonderful time and hope for longer stay next time. Beautiful home...great location..great weather and family and friends..what more could you ask for?

Lorna, Bruce, Cameron & Trina

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fishing Paradise!

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

There were 5 of us here for the week, 2 adults and 5 children. It was a very peaceful and the weather beautiful. My children loved fishing off the dock and all the fish they caught! Lots of Catfish! :) Water warm, skies lovely.
Thank you for sharing your home.

John, Ali, Jacob, Zachary & Gabriella

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th of July Wonder

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We had a wonderful 4th of July week here at the Lake Anna Pleasant View! We couldn't have asked for a better weather or a more perfect place to stay. Your house is beautiful and welcoming. We look forward to future stays at amazing Lake Anna!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review