reviews for: listing #57016 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Breezy "V"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Point San Luis
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $500 /nt
    $1,125 - $2,350 /wk
    $2,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome time

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

Had an awesome time here. The house is awesome on the inside, and the two decks are perfect. The downstairs area is also very cool. Right next to private beach, really couldn't have asked for more!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Perfect get away for any event and any age. The owner was such a great help and very pleasant. The beach house was everything I asked for and needed. I'm was a very satisfied customer and I would definitely recommend this stay for you!

Owners response: HAPPY UEST- HAPPYOWNER!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Perfect get away for any event and any age. The owner was such a great help and very pleasant. The beach house was everything I asked for and needed. I'm was a very satisfied customer and I would definitely recommend this stay for you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We had a great stay at the Breezy V house.
It was everything we hoped for. Varchia was kind and helped us with all the questions we had.
I was there with my son ( 17 years) and my parents and they also enjoyed themselves.

We all sure hope to get back someday.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

ALMOST PERFECT can't wait to go back!!!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Mrs Varchia's house was great. We absolutely loved the view. Every amenity we could have ever wanted, beautiful home, well maintained. Unfortunately, we felt that the price was a little high for our one night stay and the hot tub on the back deck did not work. But above all we had a great weekend and we understand that things happen. We will definately recommend this property to our friends and relatives. Mrs Varchia was very accomidating and we plan on visiting again. Next time we will definately stay longer.

Thank you so much for opening your home to us!!

Owners response: Your response is kind.

The jets NOT turning ON was definitely a bummer, and again I apolgize.

The good news is it was only the pump...bad news it had to be ordered & will be here Friday
I just hope that's NOT island time!!!

I do hope you return.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Renter BEWARE

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

LOTS of mosquitoes! My 4 year old got bitten 20-30 times when we stepped out of the car! So bad that the house has a "mosquito magnet" contraption on the back porch. Stay on the beach side instead! We could not sit outside at ALL---so sad. The community pool was full of tiny bugs--not sure what they were! Contacted the owner and her reply was "the HOA cleans the pool regularly." The WORST thing was the owner charged us for "breaking the porch rail" which we did not--we weren't outside but for seconds at a time getting in and out of the car (literally running with my kids to keep them from getting bitten by mosquitoes). This owner WILL charge you for something extra so beware. Signs are posted through the house that have fees for taking towels ect. I could have predicted from emails prior to the stay that this would be the case. She would say, "You will get your damage deposit back IF EVERYTHING is as it should be." I was so scared of being charged for something that we didn't even get into the hot tub (and couldn't because of the mosquitoes). Don't stay here! Find a condo, resort, or beach side house!!

Owners response: I did tell this renter, I have no control over mosquitoes!!!!!!

Of course I have a mosquito magnet...I try to make a guest as comfortable within my power.
I also treat my yard to repel.....

The mosquitoes are not any less offensive 100 yards away.

The city does spray for mosquitoes & not sure if that is what was in community pool because when I went (3days) later the pool was clean as a whistle.

Again I have NO control over subdivision pool!!!!

I find it very disappointing that I open up my home & take pride in making it comfortable for guest to feel comfortable & then get bashed on a review because MOTHER NATURE & a Higher supreme made mosquitoes to annoy only this guest!!!

Yes, this guest was charged $20 dollars because his children stood on bottom railing bouncing & broke the bottom wood railing & then he laid it against the front door for me to repair.... told to me from my neighbor.

The mosquitoes are not any different 100 yds away.
When it rains we get mosquitoes.
I don't like them any more than the next person.

As for signs in my home , YES, there are signs that are placed appropriately.

1) No smoking
2) Please do not wash house linen/ placed inside wash closet
3) Please rinse off before entering hot tub/ placed outside beside hot tub.

The signs are for guest of the renter who have NOT read the guest agreement and because of past experience, obviously needed.

My home is clean & comfortable & sometimes we get mosquitoes just like every place else.

Varchia

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Breezy V

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights. We love the location because it is not crowded with other houses, like so many of the locations in Galveston. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the back deck, drinking coffee and watching the birds. My husband is an avid bird watcher. The hot tub on the back deck is a definate plus, and so is the privacy. The house was very comfortable and had everything we wanted.

Owners response: We did get a little relief from the drought & fortunately there was a tad of water for the birds.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fun in Galveston

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

I met my mom, sister and her kids at the Breezy V along with my grandson! The house was as it appeared in photos. The owner was very helpful in answering any questions. The kids loved the Rain Forest Cafe in town. The food and service were lacking but the experience of being in "the jungle" was nice. Tortugas had great mexican food and great service. We spent most of our time on the beach and in the beach house. (Access road 31 was a good place as far as parking goes and still close to the beach house.) For people with small children the beach was too far to walk. Some adult friends came to visit and were able to walk to the beach. The neighborhood pool was also nice.

I knew that there would be only enough "supplies" to start out the week. But with 6 adults and a few kids, we ran out of toilet paper on the first day. Be sure to take some with you as it is several miles to go into town.

The contract said that the deposit would be refunded within 30 days. I am happy to say that I checked out on Saturday and it hit my account on Tuesday. That is always a great thing.

Thank you Varchia for sharing your home with us for a week we will never forget!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This house was exactly what I was looking for to have a relaxing getaway with family and friends. After researching 30 or so properties on the internet and personally visiting 10 properties, this was my favorite. Even though it was 100 degrees or so in Houston, it was comfortable on the porch of this house because of the gentle gulf breeze. It's away from the crowds without being so remote that safety was a concern. It's on a cul-de-sac, and the back deck faces a marsh that provided beautiful sunrise and sunset views. We ate supper on the back deck several nights to enjoy the view and stayed out to watch stars. (I saw 3 falling stars.)
I actually like that this house isn't directly on the beach because that meant we didn't have to deal with sand in everything. The beach is a very short distance, which we walked everyday, but there's grass in the yard so you get the view, the sound of waves and the breeze but you COULD get away from the sand. It's also a plus that the highway you cross to get to the beach isn't very busy and is only 2-lanes.
The house nicer than the pictures on the internet--maybe it's because a camera can't properly show a background view. It's in a more modern subdivision than some beach houses and my girlfriends enjoyed the style. It also has access to a pool so you could enjoy the beach but swim in the pool.
The owner was very accomodating and responsive and gave me insider tips on where to buy shrimp and what to do in Galveston.
The beds were very comfortable--the master was nicer than I expected. The futon or couch in the living room, while very comfortable, might be a double bed instead of a queen. Two small people could easily sleep on it, but large people might have a hard time.
I'd rented a house before so I knew what to expect as far as bringing a few extra things - papergoods, spices, linens, etc. most of which I didn't need but it was nice to be prepared. I found some ants but that's just a part of living on the Gulf Coast and after I sprayed and used Amdro they didn't come back.
I would definitely recommend this house to others. I loved the walks on the beach and conversations on the porch with girlfriends, eating at Gaidos and enjoying the soda fountain shakes and candy at LaKings on the Strand. Hint: If a man is "shopping" with you start at LaKings so he'll be happy with the ice cream and candy while you shop.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This house was exactly what I was looking for to have a relaxing getaway with family and friends. After researching 30 or so properties on the internet and personally visiting 10 properties, this was my favorite. Even though it was 100 degrees or so in Houston, it was comfortable on the porch of this house because of the gentle gulf breeze. It's away from the crowds without being so remote that safety was a concern. It's on a cul-de-sac, and the back deck faces a marsh that provided beautiful sunrise and sunset views. We ate supper on the back deck several nights to enjoy the view and stayed out to watch stars. (I saw 3 falling stars.)
I actually like that this house isn't directly on the beach because that meant we didn't have to deal with sand in everything. The beach is a very short distance, which we walked everyday, but there's grass in the yard so you get the view, the sound of waves and the breeze but you COULD get away from the sand. It's also a plus that the highway you cross to get to the beach isn't very busy and is only 2-lanes.
The house nicer than the pictures on the internet--maybe it's because a camera can't properly show a background view. It's in a more modern subdivision than some beach houses and my girlfriends enjoyed the style. It also has access to a pool so you could enjoy the beach but swim in the pool.
The owner was very accomodating and responsive and gave me insider tips on where to buy shrimp and what to do in Galveston.
The beds were very comfortable--the master was nicer than I expected. The futon or couch in the living room, while very comfortable, might be a double bed instead of a queen. Two small people could easily sleep on it, but large people might have a hard time.
I'd rented a house before so I knew what to expect as far as bringing a few extra things - papergoods, spices, linens, etc. most of which I didn't need but it was nice to be prepared. I found some ants but that's just a part of living on the Gulf Coast and after I sprayed and used Amdro they didn't come back.
I would definitely recommend this house to others. I loved the walks on the beach and conversations on the porch with girlfriends, eating at Gaidos and enjoying the soda fountain shakes and candy at LaKings on the Strand. Hint: If a man is "shopping" with you start at LaKings so he'll be happy with the ice cream and candy while you shop.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breezy V has potential - needs maintenance.

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

The listing was accurate as to location and amenities but the house is not well maintained and was not up to our standard for cleanliness. The AC needed charged, the sleep sofa was broken and not usable, and the kitchen had not been cleaned and organised at all. The outside shower head was broken and there is really no place to hang your clothing because the owner uses the closets for personal items. Make sure you bring your own toilet tissue and paper towels. The qwner states that all repairs were accomplished after we left and she does try hard. She credited back some of our money in order to make it right. I do not know whether I will be back next year or not. It will depend on the reviews of those who followed us to the Breezy V. The beach is very nice and the house is just the right distance from Galveston, about 30 miles. Make sure you see ths Bishops (or Parsons) house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The AC did not need to be charged, the recipricator went out on the AC; which is normal with salt air constantly.
I as a rental owner place toilet paper and paper towels to start you out, which most rentals do not do at all.
The renter was told when renting.
This particular renter wanted me to supply ALL paper supplies for their stay/ (8) days.
The shower head was not not broken in the cabana outside...the previous renter had unscrewed it. Probably so their children would not play in shower since handles are very low.....
Yes (1) spring holding the mattress inside the sofa was broken/ Not sure when or who broke it since there was never a complaint and I replaced with new sofa sleeper.
There is an armoire closet in master and a closet in second bedroom to hang clothes.
I do apologize for no closet in Master....I never thiught someone needed a closet to hang a sun hat or bathing suit except bathroom....I will work on that one.
The kitchen is cleaned after every renter as well as the entire house.
I think visitors who come from cold weather ( Illinois ) to ocean front dampness is a big change in environment and surroundings.
Breezy"V"

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy "v'

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

This is a very nice house and we had an awesom time.
The house seemed to pull you in to tranquility.
Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy "V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

I love this house, I hate to leave.
We had a graduation gathering with close friends and the house was awesomly perfect.
I love It.
Thx

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy "V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

We shared our first night as man and wife here.
The house was awesom,romantic and exactly as described on website.
Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy "V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

I rented this hme for wedding guestand they were very happywith their stay.
This house was reccommended and now I am reccommending to anyone that wants a very nice, clean and close to the beach vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We chose this home for part of our "Honeymoon"
A very lovely home.
Extremly clean.
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Caught a last minute cancelation at the Breezy V and it was AMAZING.
A really comfortable house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Had a great Memorial Week end.
Great house, Great views.
Will be back again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We had a great time, had my grand kids at beach for the first time and also had private shared moments with my loved one.
Thx.
The Breezy"V was everything we hoped for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Great House,owner very accommodating.The beach was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

We had a great time at this awsom house.
Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Great house, great outside decks for viewing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breezy"V"

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Great getaway for a romantic weekend/ house is very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

mgr.

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

It was a great place to stay; especially watching sunrises in hot tub on back deck and sunsets on front deck with a great breeze & mojito's!!!
Thx.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review