reviews for: listing #57025 - Harstine Island, Washington Cabin rental

Secluded Beachside Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harstine Island
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $175 /nt
    $950 - $1,100 /wk
    $3,800 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Family adventure

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

We meet our adult kids here and totally enjoyed this location. It's a little remote being at the end of the island, but the house is equipped with everything you might need. Even boots for clam digging!
We enjoyed the rock crab we caught, exploring the island in the many kayaks that steve let us use, and the outdoor grill and patio area with views of the beautiful sunsets.
Steve pays attention to details in this well furnished and decorated cabin. We weren't disappointed and would chose this cabin again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Heaven

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Return visitor and it was better than the last time. We decided this time to get supplies on the first day and not leave for the entire stay. What a taste of Heaven. The solitude was unimaginable and we miss it already. Making plans for next year and extending the stay for two weeks. Thanks Steve for sharing your cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far Exceeds Expectations

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had an amazing stay on Harstine Island. Huge thank you to Steve for sharing with us. A lot of love has gone into this cabin. Pictures do not do the cabin or the location justice. We felt away from it all with all the comforts of home. The cabin is well finished from top to bottom, inside and out. The views are nothing short of stunning and the property is designed to soak them in. The giant windows along the entire length of the cabin and huge wrap around deck show off all that Puget Sound has to offer.
There were plenty of activities to keep us busy in the cabin, out on the beach and around the area. We took full advantage of the kayaks/canoe, telescope, hiking opportunities, clamming, games, videos and stereo. For those that feel the need to stay connected, the wi-fi is there for you too.
The cabin was well stocked with all the necessities. All the appliances, cookware, condiments and spices you need are there. Steve was prompt with responses and left clear instructions from beginning to end. The action log showed his attentiveness to guest requests and needs of the cabin.
Our stay exceeded all expectations! We could not have made a better decision for our vacation this summer.
Jeremy and Carolyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect seclusion on a beautiful island

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

I live in Wyoming and to say there is a lack of vegetation, water, and people would be an understatement. When my family (wife, two kids ages 3 and 10) flew into Seattle, it felt like stepping into an alien world of wondrous trees, beautiful landscapes, and vast oceanic views. The drive to the cabin was amazing and, perhaps, a bit claustrophobic with trees on both sides of the road within inches of one another. Upon arrival to the cabin by 10:00 pm, we were surprised to see how heavily forested the road was. Word of warning, the drive to the actual cabin is VERY steep and can be difficult getting your car back up the driveway (but we managed just fine in a rented Chevy Malibu). By the next morning and throughout our week long stay, we were blown away with the beauty of the forest, the awe inspiring views of the Puget Sound, and the quiet solitude of the cabin. The cabin has everything you would ever need for a week long vacation and is within a half hour from major grocery stores and restaurants. The private beach is filled with clams, oysters, sea dollars, and crabs for beach combing on low tide, but bring hard soled shoes as the beach is all rock and barnacles. There is a lovely hammock right by the cabin and thousands of blackberries growing wildly right in front of the cabin! There is also a firepit, canoes, a barbeque, and a community pool (the two times we went no one else was there) just a short walk up the driveway. The best times we had on this vacation were looking at the sunsets from the cabin and spending time with loved ones in this secluded location. We would love to go back and cannot speak highly enough about our vacation and the amenities provided. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get-Away Cabin

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We chose this property for its proximity to the water and beautiful views and it exceeded our expectations! The cabin was comfortably furnished with well-stocked cooking supplies, towels & linens, film library, and outstanding, ever-changing views. We had the best fun wading in knee-deep water at low tide and seeing starfish, all kinds of crabs and other critters, beach combing, and watching clam water spouts as the tide went out! Wear water shoes or old sneakers to walk on the beach or to wade. If you use the kayaks or canoe, be wary of the very strong tidal currents.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderfully remote setting - dog lovers paradise

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

One of the things we loved about this cabin is the cleanliness of it and no funky smells! I was worried about smells as it is a dog property and we have stayed before in places and it smelled. Here there is laminate/hardwood throughout the home, including the bedrooms (great!!) and I think that makes a huge difference. As well as it being clean, because of the new kitchen it was a lovely environment inside, with board games to keep us occupied when we were tired. The setting of this cabin is amazing, but what you can't see is how far back you are set back from the road, it's like a mini forest - my dog loved it. We never saw another person on the immediate beach (one when we walked in the distance with his boat) for the 4 days we were there, so my dog had a blast. I have videos where it's so quiet all you can hear is tap tap of my dogs nails on the pebbles.

I recommend stocking up from the yellow looking ranch home from the outside on the right side of the main road leading to the island 20-25 mins away from cabin) they sell milk, fresh veg, very upmarket lovely - opened about a year. There is a nice deli/bakery for sandwiches further up on the left side. We only left the island once to get grocieries.


The pool is right across the road from the property. There was a canoe and 2 individual kayaks on property. The island is unusual as it still is largely undeveloped with a working forest taking up most of the room.

We will be going back as we live less than a couple of hours away and it's so peaceful - truly a getaway from it all, and the space for the dog both on and off the beach is so rare.

Worth noting (although didn't cause us any major problems) that the driveway is gravel and steep if you have a lot of stuff in the back, it does have concrete paths at the immediate steep bit at the house. To get onto the beach you walk along a 2 foot wide retaining wall to get to the steps. It is very peebly, and some parts quite sharp with barnicles etc, my medium size english cocker spaniel was fine, but maybe booties for small dogs?

Although anyone can walk along the beach, to get onto it, it seems there is no public access nearby which is good if you rent as it cuts down on the people. No one seemed to be in the adjoining properties when we were there (great)

As it's south to south/east facing the sunsets were amazing and the sun streams into the deck and living area, there is glare blinds to cut down on the heat in the room.

LOVED IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Week at the Beach

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful summer week at this beautiful cabin on the south end of Harstine Island. We relaxed, barbecued, kayaked, went beachcombing, swam at the community pool, and kept ourselves perfectly content at the cabin. In fact, we only left the island once in the middle of the week to restock our groceries. In addition to having a stunning view and huge deck, the cabin is clean, well-maintained, and stocked with all sorts of essential equipment and supplies.

Traveling for an entire week with small kids, running into minor challenges was inevitable. However, Steve, the owner, was extremely helpful. From start to finish, he was friendly, responsive, professional, and organized. All of the information we might ever need during our stay was at our fingertips. We were extremely well supported.

Ultimately, we had a great experience and can't wait to visit again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic family vacation!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

We just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay in this cabin! The photos and description here just don't do it justice - it has to be enjoyed in person to be believed! As we pulled up to the cabin, the kids shrieked and the adults gasped at the incredible natural beauty of the setting, and we knew we'd picked a winner. It is incredibly well-stocked, clean, and comfortable! The deck is more spacious than is evident in these photos, and the views of the water and mountains are truly spectacular. We could really sense the owners' genuine interest in ensuring a relaxing, fuss-and-worry-free vacation for those who stay here. Everything was organized and made as easy as possible, from the use of the kayaks, canoe, and barbecue to the provision of binoculars, lifejackets in all sizes, and even a supply of "dog towels"! Our 6-year-old was downright angry at us for "making her leave"...always the sign of a successful family vacation. : )

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet and Tranquil

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

The cabin was better than it is explained. We stayed in a couple cabins that were described as "clean" and "modern" and turned out to fall short of description and our expectations, not this one. This cabin is VERY clean, has been remodeled and kept immaculate, love the kitchen area and large windows in front. We seen wildlife like Bald Eagles and Deer. Unbelievable how quiet and relaxing, thank you so much for sharing your cabin and already looking forward to next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heavenly!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

I can't rave enough about our experience.

We just returned from a three week stay at the cabin; it was perfect. We're two writers and we appreciated the quiet. The cabin feels completely private, even though there are houses within a (very powerful) stone's throw.

Everything we could have wanted was provided (e.g. directions on the ice box for how to steam clams and crack crabs).

The cabin is comfortable, elegant, warm and inviting. And you'll be right on the water! I loved watching the sea otters (and my dog) swimming around at high tide.

It's just a wonderful place. The owners clearly love the cabin and you feel that care and attention in each detail.

The island itself is really neat. I'd never been to Harstine. It's pretty close to Seattle but also feels remote and calm.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing weekend

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My family and my parents from Michigan had a wonderful relaxing weekend getaway. We loved using the canoe, walking on the beach and seeing sanddollars. It was stress-free and perfect for the 5 of us. The hardest part was finding it, but next time we will start before dark.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin!

Review submitted: December 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

Our family of 4 spent the 3 night Thanksgiving weekend at this lovely cabin. All my years living in the Seattle area and had never heard of this beautiful secluded island. It really did feel totally away from it all. The cabin is private, spacious, very clean and comfortable and has the most amazing views. It had all the amenities we needed and everything was in great shape. Loved the large deck overlooking the water. The beach was so nice to explore during low tide. Our dealings with the owner by email were promt, friendly and professional and we would totally recommend renting this cabin for a nice waterfront get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Place!!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

This was a wonderful vacation spot and the views are spectacular! We relaxed the minute we arrived, the house and beach felt so private even though we had a large group of people. Everything and I do mean everything was supplied, except for your food and beverages (didn't even need coffee). The home was charming and the owners did a "bang" up job of thinking of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. My grandson (almost 3)absolutely loved the beach and we even caught our limit of "Red Rock" crab (smaller, but sweeter than Dungeness) on the beach in front of the house. That made for a tasty treat to add to our dinner that evening. The owners thought of all the details when telling us ahead of time what to expect and bring. Everything was clean and the renter's needs were well thought out. It rained a lot throughout the time we were there, but we had so much fun and got our "outdoor" fix hanging out on the huge wraparound deck we never felt cramped for room or "cabin fever". We saw a lot of spectacular wildlife; including otters, blue heron, various sea creatures and on the last day saw a spectacular rainbow over the water in front of the house. I can say we were more than sad to leave and can't wait to go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights this past July and it was great. It was the first time we had rented online so weren't sure what to expect. It ended up being a great experience. Steve was extremely helpful with everything from directions to the cabin to all the little details one might need to know while staying there. The pictures are 100% accurate, but what might not be obvious is how private it is ... trees and a bit of distance from the neighbours provide for complete privacy and make you feel like you have the beach to yourself. There is also a public swimming pool which we took advantage of on two occasions - there wasn't another person there so it was just like our own private pool.

All in all, a great time and highly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unspoiled Quiet

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

We very much enjoyed the cabin and would come back in the future without hesitation.

The peaceful and quiet setting was the perfect place to relax, though there were plenty of activies too, includng finding shells and shellfish. All the amenties one would need are provided at a great price. This part of the country is still unspoiled - which is what we appreciated the most. Lots of wildlife - deer, otters, birds, starfish.

If you've never had a geoduck spit on you, you should check out this place at low tide. It's perfect for anyone who enjoys quiet, breezes on a remote lake, or pitch black when you're going to bed.

Thanks Steve - loved your cabin! (and your galoshes)

The only thing we would address would be the windows, which while they provide a great view, in the mid day it gets VERY hot and when you can't open the sliding door it was a little uncomfortable (though we'd still come back!). Black out curtains or shutters might help with the heat and the glare on the TV.

Tracy & Choun (Tampa - Seattle)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great cabin with wonderful attention to detail!

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

The high quality of your cabin and the upgrades, combined with your amazing attention to detail, made our weekend an absolute blast. We are foodie kind of people, and usually bring our own implements (a nice chef's knife, nice baking sheets, a huge soup pot, etc.) in order to cook all the things we love to eat. But your cabin had everything we needed and more!! You might as well keep my deposit because I can guarantee we will want to stay there more in the future. :) We are all looking at our calendars to see if we could squeeze another trip in this fall.

The location is perfect for launching our kayaks, and visiting all of our favorite places, from Hope Island to Anderson Island to a circumnavigation of Harstine. The waterfront view is amazing, and we spent many hours sitting on the little bench on the covered deck enjoying it.

We spent last Saturday heading out into the wild wind and whitecaps, and ended up doing a 5 hour paddling trip to Hope Island and back, against a headwind and a cross current most of the way. Needless to say, we were tuckered out afterward and ended up resting up inside on Sunday. We collected clams and made handmade fettuccine noodles with a yummy alfredo sauce on Saturday night. On Monday we made a beautiful pot of clam chowder, actually seafood chowder because we added salmon and scallops, and enjoyed games and movies and wine all afternoon. Tuesday we got started early and paddled all the way to the north tip of Squaxin, looking at real estate and houses along the Harstine shore the whole way. Beautiful calm paddle with a few sunbeams finding their way to our boats. No wind and a lovely day. We ended the trip with a lasagna with handmade spinach noodles and a bolognese that cooks for 6 hours. It was our only non-seafood meal of the trip. :)

We SO appreciated your precise instructions and details about everything in the cabin. Plus, the amenities were really top notch. My husband and I usually bring our own sheets because we are so picky, but we actually slept on yours! They were the best! The coziness and great condition of everything really added to our enjoyment. And the combination of new things with old beautiful things (like your mom's handmade quilts, Kristin) really was exquisite.

Thanks again for a lovely vacation spot with a b. And our next stay will be easier because now we know we only need to bring food, kayaks and friends. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review