reviews for: listing #57114 - New Braunfels, Texas House rental

"Life is Gruene" on the Guadalupe River - Historic Gruene
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gruene
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,400 /nt
    $4,200 - $8,400 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

"Best Family Vacation Ever"

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful experience staying in your house. We are all inspired to go home and decorate our own house. Thank you so much for your hospitality, it was the best family vacation ever!

Brian, Rhonda, Carmen, Cayla, Leah, Aaron, Brian, Jeromy, Seth, Jared, Hannah, Easton, Alley, John, Diadre

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family River Trip

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

We enjoyed this house very much, all of us. The river was great but our asses got tore up!!! The beds were great, the coffee bar was awesome, and we enjoyed the fuse ball table. The cat was fun to play with. We named her Guadalupe!!!

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Todd & Debbie

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Amazing home, quiet and relaxing. We had a great time on the river. Just what we needed.
NO STRESS :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What happened at the RIVER stays at the River"

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We enjoyed Life is Gruene tremendously! Our goal was to "escape" our realities for awhile - it was achieved... Our new moto "What happened at the RIVER stays at the RIVER..." We are also proud to be able to say - "We swam the Guadalupe!"
Laurie, Sharon, LuLu, Anita, Karen, Jeanette, Kimberly, Kay, Julie, Susan, Tamara, Christy

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous House!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Fabulous house, great place to relax with friends or family. Fun for everyone.
Jeanette

Thank you for sharing your fabulous yet quaint home with us. You have thought of every little detail to make your place a home to those who visit. This is such a beautiful place to come and relax. The water is refreshing and the tube ride fun!
Tammy

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved your home!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Loved your home! We will definitely be back, enjoyed every minute with our friends and family!
Brad & Kim
Mike & Lori

Awesome place to watch "Da Mavs" win their first championship!! Thanks for everything!
Dwayne & Lynn

What a beautiful place - Hate leaving-
Chad & Cristie

Always love coming down to "God's Country" and your home added another memory
Shane & Jenn

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Susan & Tim's Wedding

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Between the river, the owls and a beautiful wedding surrounded by our friends, we had a lovely trip!

Thank you, Kelly

** Owners Note - The wedding was held next door and part of the wedding party rented our house as well as the property next door.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

30th Birthday Party

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I had my 30th B-Day! Had a blast man! Be back in no time, it's awesome down here! Thanks ya'll!

Mark & Jacki (Had a blast! Nice Place!)
Jessi & Phil (Thank you!)
Karen & Konrad (We love this place!)
Nick & Marian (Awesome place & time!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

UTSA CAMPUS REC STAFF RETREAT

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Laura, Tony, Carlos, Heather, Riley, Mark, Mario, Rob, Steve, Mandy, Matur (sp), Megan, Richard, Eliot

Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Family Fun!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Fabulous Family Fun!
Thanks for thinking of everything to make our stay perfect.

Dennis, Janice, Brayden, Madyson, Andrew, Landon, Andrew, Crissy, Adam, Lauren

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Woodell and Friends

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

The house was wonderful! We had a great time!

Shay & Austin

Thank you so much for letting us rent this beautiful home. We had a wonderful weekend!

Stephanie & Jason

This house is not only beautiful but amazing!! Spent the weekend w/ great friends and had a wonderful, amazing time.

Mariel & Jason

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Had a great time, loved the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us use this magnificent place. We had a wonderful time. I'm so impressed with how well it's kept up. Happy Mother's Day!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Pilkingtons

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Thank you guys again for allowing our family to share this house. It's all about time these days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter Weekend

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Happy Easter weekend with all the family before all our graduating seniors take off for their new lives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Women's Relaxation Weekend

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us rent your beautiful house. We had such a great time at our "Women's Relaxation Weekend". The house was perfect and the kitchen was well equipped for the chef we had brought in for our client dinner. We can't wait to come back again next year. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bachelorette Party

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Thanks for a great weekend. I had a great Bachelorette Party with all of my pals! The house was perfect for it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bachelorette Group

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Thank you for a great weekend! We couldn't have asked for a better place for a relaxing girls getaway! This place is amazing and we hope to visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Meinke / McMahon Clan

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Thank you for letting 18 sometimes sweaty always loud Germans cram into your lovely riverside treehouse! We had a great time watching football, exploring the area, fishing, finding lizards, being chased by the neighbor dogs, and enjoying "quality time" with our cousins and grandparents. Good times, good times...

Happy New Year 2011 woo!!

Wis(TX), Darrel(WA), Lance, Lisa, Rachel (NE), Russm Soni, Amber, Kayla (WA), Troy, Julie, Katie, Kyle (MN), Tom, Doreen, Adam, Amy, Kellie (MT)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Seiver Family and Friends

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Can't compliment the house enough. Our family LOVED our trip here and now Grandpa either wants to buy it or build our own! :o) We also want to take all the Pottery Barn items :o) Thanks for building this house and allowing us to stay. Beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Site

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Dear Phil, Lisa and Pets!

You have a magical site and home here. There really are no words that come to me (poet that I pretend to be).

Our reunion was unusually fabulous as both the New Orleans Saints and the University of Oregon won.

Your beds are wonderful, we are a family of action and almost all over 60 are damaged from our enthusiasm for adventure.

You are very thoughtfully supplied. Nature has taken care of the rest.

No pets were allowed inside as stipulated but they collected a fair share of affection - which runs in the family,

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Camp Stupid

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2010

The Life is Gruene House has provided the best of Camp Stupid weekends ever. All 13 of us enjoyed this beautiful home inside and out. Camp Stupid hopes to see you next year.

Marianna, Christine, Sharon (aka Chewbacca), Nelda, Jaton, Pam, Tedi, Molly, Kelly, Mia (sp)

P.S. By the way, we always clean up our own vomit! :o)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Party

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Fantastic place for our family to gather to celebrate the wedding of our Granddaughter and "new" Grandson soon to be deployed to Afghanistan and great family time. Won't soon forget!

Robert & Joyce (Tomball, TX)

Thanks for letting my family the opportunity to use y'alls place. It has been a great time. It has been an awesome experience.

Todd (Gainsville, TX)

You have a fantastic place that provided a great relaxing place for our family to spend a great weekend. Thank you so much!

P.S. Loved the lightening bugs!

Dwayne, Alisha, Hanneh & Chloe (Poulsbo, WA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Childs Family Wedding Party

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Thank you for such an awesome place to stay and enjoy a great time with our family as we celebrated our daughters wedding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about this place!! We loved the location right on the river, the house alone is well worth the price. The homeowners are accessible and went out of their way to accommodate us. The outdoor grill stopped working, we called the owners and literally 15 minutes later they brought their personal grill over for us to use. The next day they went out and bought a new one (and delivered it) to make sure we were good to go. You will enjoy your stay here, I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer of Sean

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Phil and Lisa
Thank you for the time of my life, your place is truly the most spectacular place on the river. And looking forward to coming back and we will be BACK that how we roll LOL.
I highly recommend your place, again thank yall every much for making some of my best memories on the river at a spectacular place..

Thank you,
Ken Jorgensen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bachelor Party

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

Had a great time all weekend. Can't wait to come back this summer.

Ryan Raminez & Bachelor Party

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Connie & Jeff's Wedding!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We loved the house, loved the kitchen, loved the fire pit and the views!

Great place, great time
Thanks for the weekend

Connie, Jeff, Lee, Andy, Liz, Steve, Mark, Britni, James, Patricia, Dan, Jim, Eden, Sean, and Cullen.

*note from owner
(because we are zoned as a Bed & Breakfast, we are not allowed to hold weddings and special events. Connie & Jeff rented our home and the house next door to us and because they have a different zoning, were able to hold the wedding next door and have plenty of room for both families.)

Helpful votes: 6 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bachelorette Party

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Amazing time in an amazing house.

Thanks for everything,
Lindsey Cox & Bachelorette Party

Helpful votes: 1 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simmons Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

We had a great time! Beautiful house! Couldn't be better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Ever Weekend

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

Thanks so much for the beautiful house. What can we say? BEST EVER WEEKEND in 12 years of trips. Bachelorparty next door was a great bonus... 23 guys - wow. Had a great wheather trip as well! Beautiful! Hope to be back next year!

Roni

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friends & Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

These walls and that river hold some precious family memories! Thanks for making your creative genius into a reality that families and friends can share!

Rose Gray

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mills Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Lost:
Sunglasses
Pale Skin
Cares & Worries
Sobriety

Found:
Sunglasses
Catfish
Good Fishing Spot
Fun Family Time
Beautiful Home
Interesting Insects
Next Year's Vacation Spot

We loved our time here!

Ann & Gary Mills
Ashley Mills & Wade Barkman
Liz & Stephen Swan & boys
James, Stacie, Zachary, Rebekah & Sarah

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Cobb Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

Phil! You are the greatest! We had a fabulous time staying here. You and Lisa have created a wonderful environment for relaxing and entertaining. Our entire family had a blast and we look forward to making this an annual family trip.

The Cobb Family
Houston, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Broken Bow Group

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

Our group has been in search of a new vacation spot since we all sold away our boats and jet ski's. We went to Broken Bow, Okla for 20 years. Since then we have tried various other places with varying degrees of success. Our group includes folks who have gotten together since high school in the 70's & the kids born since then. We believe we have now found our new vacation home in your lovely place. All ages were happy & the house is so well appointed. We will be back.

Lignevls (Virgin Is)
Crosslands (Dallas)
Cutrers (Leander)
Fiorellis (Coppell)
Smiths (Dallas)
another Crossland (Dallas)
Graves (Carrollton)

Phil & Lisa-

Broken Bow's new yearly tradition is "Life is Gruene"! Thanks for keeping alive a tradition that was a highlight and very memorable part of my childhood! Broken Bow has gone Gruene!!

Rose
p.s. This place is breathtakingly gorgeous. It was decorated with such great taste!

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Dear Lisa & Phil-

What a wonderful place you have here. We loved everything about it! With 13 women that says alot. With all the memories we made this weekend, we can't wait to come back next year. The river was perfect and the weather was awsome. Thank you for being such great hosts. Wish you the best of luck and we will be in touch.

Sincerely,
Rockwall Princesses

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Cryns

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Lisa & Phil-

We love your home, thank you for letting us stay here. It is really a pretty house and the location is perfect for floating the river. Phil, it was a pleasure meeting you. We will return next summer.

Thanks again,
The Cryns
The Loves
The Briscoes

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Phil & Lisa-

Our 3 daughters rented this awsome place for our 50th year of marriage (wow!) This place really rocks. Amazing workmanship, ol Phil knows his business!! Today, we sail back to the real world but hope to be back in the future. Thanks Phil & Lisa for a great week.

The Scotts
Morgans
Heaths
Steve & Crystal & all the kids

Phil & Lisa-

In celebration of our parents 50th wedding anniversary, my sisters and I couldn't have found a more beautiful place. The house is amazing! Our week long stay was awsome and we all (four generations) had an incredible time.

Thanks again,
Cynthia Collins

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stephens Clan

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Exodus 20:17 "Thou shalt not covet thy neighbors house". I can't keep this commandment, all I want is a beautiful house just like this one.
God-Father of Stephens Clan

Wow!! What a wonderful week! The house was so comfortable. We didn't even mind the little rain we received. Thanks for everything!
Cindy Stephens

Thank you for opening up your phenomenal river home for vacationers. This house and the gorgeous natural surroundings provided us with an unforgettable trip.
God Bless!
Amanda Curtis

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Schultz & Friends

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Phil & Lisa-

What an AWSOME place! We all had such a great time relaxing in the river. The kids stayed very busy exploring the woods and river with their nets and make-shift cages. It was a wonderful area for all ages. Thank you for getting it picked up so quickly from the flood. Hope to see you again next year!

Thanks,
Lana, Amy, Madison, Carson, & Colson Schultz

Phil & Lisa-

We love your house! Thank you, thank you for sharing such a wonderful place. We stayed with 3 other families and had a blast. The kids floated in front of the house & caught fish in the river with dip nets. It was so very relaxing. Everything is set up with comfort and convenience in mind.

Thanks again!
Chad & Deanna Nesvadba

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Taylor Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Phil & Lisa-

We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The house is beautiful and very well stocked- you have thought of everything! Our annual family vacation was a hit!

Thanks,
The Taylor Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovoi Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Thank you so much for being a part of our annual family trip to New Braunfels! Your house is truly amazing and you are wonderful hosts. We look forward to coming again next year.

Thanks Again!
Lovoi's

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Woodall Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We enjoyed our time in your beautiful house on the river! We had a great time floating down the river in front of the house. Who knew we would have a night full of lightening and thunder to cause such a flood!! We hope things get back to normal for your community! See you soon!

Thanks again,
Scott & Colleen
Golden, Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Smith Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Phil & Lisa-

We had a wonderful time! Thanks so much for all the extras you put into this vacation house. We came to celebrate my daughter's high school graduation with several of her friends. It was so much fun! They loved the fire pit and coffee bar. Thanks again for everything.

God bless you,
Mike & Tina Smith

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Regan Family

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Lisa & Phil-

Thanks for the awsome house. Our family really enjoyed it and everyone got to spend more time together. My 4 yr. old son said it best, "this house sure is a fun place to stay". It is a great location to enjoy the river, Austin, & San Antonio. We will recommend it to everyone we know who wants a relaxing, yet fun vacation in this part of Texas...

Stacy, Josh, Sean & Izzy Regan

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Staff Retreat

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Phil & Lisa-

Thanks for everything! We had a great staff retreat in your peaceful oasis - very memorable. You both have made the house/surrounding area welcoming - and so have "The Maggies". (Our kittens)

All the best,
Jamie

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Great time, great location

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

I recently stayed at the house with 15 of my friends. There was plenty of space, places to sit, appliances, linens, warm water - you name it! The backyard is directly on the river which is great if you float because you can actually get out and go to the house to relax for a while, refill your beverages, etc. What is also great is the deal they worked out with Pinky's tube provider - they literally pick everyone up at the front door, take you down to the river and take you right back to the house when you're finished. I would definitely rent this house again and recommend it to my friends. Oh - and I can't forget about the industrial ice machine which is so convenient not to have to buy bags of ice!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Braunfels River House

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

We can't say enough good things about our stay at "Life is Gruene". The home is so beautifully built and furnished. All of the extra things that were supplied made us feel very welcome. We had three generations of family with us and everyone had a relaxing and fun weekend. We floated the river, fished, cooked and spent time outdoors. The kids loved the basketball area and all of the games and videos in the house. They spent hours in the river rapids. What a fantastic location for them! The adults appreciated the gourmet kitchen, wine cooler, coffee bar, flat screen TVs and ice maker. And "Pinky's" the river outfitter was the best. We will surely come back next summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Pilkington Family

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We were so excited to get three reviews from one family visit:

Phil & Lisa,

Without a doubt, we will be vack. This was more than we expected. Thank you for all the little extras you have put into the house, it makes for a wonderful experience. Because of the atmosphere you have created, our family was able to relax and enjoy time together in a way that we have never been able to do.

Thank you!
Amy Pilkington

Hi Phil & Lisa,

We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cabin our daughter and son-in-law gave this weekend to us as a family to have time together. We have a mixed family and we all don't get together with step-sisters and other in-laws to just sit and relax and really learn more about each one. We had a family of three generations with grandparents, kids and grandchildren, and we all had a good time.

Thank you,
Sandra Seay and Brown Seay
1 set of grandparents

This is one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weekends that I have had in a l-o-n-g time. The family get-away was wonderful! The workmanship in the house was awsome! The service... pampering. All-in-all a most wonderful weekend.

Janet Klatt

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Squyres Family

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

Lisa & Phil,

THANK YOU! Our family had the perfect X-mas and brought 2010 in.... in style.

You obviously put alot of love and attention to detail in your beautiful property on the river.

The Squyres Family
Kurtis & Cindy

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Baker Family

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

Lisa & Phil,

The family came up to celebrate our son't 40th birthday and it was a great party. We love the Guadalupe and Gruene and have been in this area several times - but these were definitely the best accomodations. The house and scenery are so nice and relaxing. We brought our canoes and gave the grandkids "boat rides".

Thank you for opening up your home and furnishing it so great. My grandson said, "Can we come back in the summer"? - we hope we can!

Janice Baker & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Swonke Family

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Phil & Lisa,

We had the most amazing time... Catch Phrase around the fire pit with a roaring flame... watching football games while eating chili... and fishing in the river. The house is beautiful, and we love the coffee bar. Thanks again for your hospitality.

The Swonke Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review