reviews for: listing #57136 - Plymouth, Massachusetts Cottage rental

Oceanfront Cottage with Breathtaking Views of Cape Cod Bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great view, quiet and convenient place

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We are a couple from Montréal Canada who rent that house for the past 3 summers. The view is really breathtaking. The house is clean and confortable. Everything mentionned on the site is there. Nothing to complain and the owners are easily available by phone or email if you have questions before or during your stay.

All our guests who came were very pleased. The view is changing every day. We were lucky each year, the weather was perfect. It is easy from there to spend a day in Boston or Martha's Vineyard.

The only frustration : no direct access by walk to the splendid beach. Hopefully there is the Scusset beach at about 5 minute car ride.

We will return for sure.

Diane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family Vacation Spot

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

My husband and I brought our three small children (10 mon. - 4 years) here to stay for a week the end of June. Jana and Jerry's house has a view of the bay from every room . . . So beautiful! Our kids enjoyed playing with toys upstairs, roasting marshmellows over the fire pit , as well as, all our trips around the Boston and Cape Cod area. One of our favorite spots was Mayflower Beach in Dennis, MA. The kids loved exploring and catching hermit crabs at low tide. Mom was very grateful for the fully functioning kitchen with dishwasher and as for the washer and dryer. It made things much easier to clean up after three little ones. We had a great time and would love to visit again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rental with a view

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. The ocean view was more than we could ask for. Having coffee on the 2nd fl balcony in the morning sun and watching the fishing boats was breath taking. There was plenty of outdoor seating for our family cookout. We took a ride to the Plymouth waterfront & took a tour of one of the historical homes, went shopping at the new Mall off of Cherry St. Plymouth. The grocery store, CVS pharmacy, coffee shops are just down the street. We felt at home during our stay and would not hesitate to rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Views

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

The place was awesome and it had everything we needed. The view was absolutely spectacular. Location is very convenient. Shaw's was less than 2 minute drive as well as Dunkin Donuts. We will definitely rent it again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome view & good location for touring EastCoast

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The house was clean, well stocked, and beautifully decorated. The view was breathtaking. My 4 year old appreciated all the children's books and games provided to use, and we loved the hammock and fire pit. The location was great if you want to do some day trips to Boston, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine as it was pretty centrally located. There was a grocery store about 1/2 mile from the house which was also very convenient (and has delicious cannolis). The beaches around Plymouth were disappointing to us, but I'm not sure if that was because we came after Labor Day and a lot of stuff was shut down for the season. The pay beaches were free but had no running water, amenities, etc. A lot of the beaches had more rocks than sand. Not sure if typical or not, but we did manage to find some sand for our 4 year old to play in for a bit. Lastly traffic-If you're not from the New England area or a large metropolitan city be prepared that the traffic is crazy no matter the time of day. When the GPS gives you an estimated arrival time you should probably add 1/2 hour to an an hour to that time. Also if you want to go into Boston I recommend going to one of the T (subway) stations just south of Boston, partking there and riding the T into the city. It is pretty easy to navigate around on, and not that expensive considering the headache of trying to park in Boston, plus the fact that it wouldn't be free at most places.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

....we had a wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Although the weather did not always cooperate, we had a wonderful stay. The cottage was "perfect" and a really great way to travel with our little ones (2 and 4mo). We appreciated the kid things and smores supplies :) Could never get sick of looking at the view @sitting on the swing - and the location is fantastic.
Thank you so much for opening your home like this, we hope to return one day!
Tracy, Vincent, Emma & Jack - NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay here was the highlight of our work travel

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Our stay here was the highlight of our work travels. Again I want to say thank you for our stay in your beautiful, soothing, well appointed home. I couldn't wait to get back there each day after work! If you want to try lobster either live or cooked. I would recommend "The Lobster Pound Seafood Mkt." in White Horse Beach. They also offer awesome seafood or clam chowder! I hope we get to do this again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathe taking view

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Our family needed a break and this cottage had it all. We looked for peaceful and quiet locations with an ocean view,easy access to highways for sight-seeing and a friendly small town atmosphere. The cottage is well-maintained with all the comforts of home, completely furnished with a killer ocean view. I have recommended this cottage to friends and family. Our vacation photos posted online were a hit, awaited eagerly by friends and family. Thank You for providing us with fabulous R&R.

Tim, Dagmar, Nick and Josh, Grove City, Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely home!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

What a lovely home! Thanks for sharing it with us. We particularly enjoyed the view from the patio and evenings around the fire pit.
Hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great vacation

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

Had a great vacation. Loved the house, fed the cat, lighted a fire one night. visited Boston, then down to Sandwich which was the best. Loved the glass museum and ate at the oldest Inn; then off to Chatham. If you visit during the off season, plan your day due to most/all stores closing at 5pm. Drove to Plymouth to see the "Rock". It is just a rock. Thanks Carl & Valorie

Oh by the way the sunrises were beautiful, even on the rainy day. It is well worth getting up early.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, relaxing vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

After years on "The Cape", our week at this cottage was just perfect. No traffic, crowds, or noise. Beautiful views up and down the coast. Para-gliders overhead. Listening to the waves while you sleep. Close to biking on the canal. Only 10 minutes to White Horse Beach.

The cottage had everything we needed to enjoy our week. Clean, comfortable.

We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

beautiful water views,neat, comfortable cottage

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We had a great time at the waterfront cottage with gorgeous sunrises!Whalewatching from Plymouth was awesome.Plymouth just minutes away has lots to offer don`t miss Ziggys for homemade ice cream and cabbyshack for great seafood and funky atmosphere.The capecod canal for running&biking.And the whole Cape a short hop on weekday trips to avoid the weekend rush.A nice,quiet,clean place yet close to so much.Ray,Millie,Brigid,Maeve,And Aunt Peg

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice and clean cottage with great views

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We visited the house with our three children (6, 3 and 1). Our two older kids shared one of the bedrooms, and we shared the other bedroom with our baby. There were also a bed in the "loft" hallway area between the bedrooms and a pull-out couch in the living room.

The house was very clean and well-maintained. The ocean could be seen from every room in the house, and it was wonderful to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds & smells of the ocean. The street is quiet. There is plenty of room in the yard for kids to play, and a fence to keep the kids off the bluff. There's a lovely sitting area facing the ocean with a fire pit to relax at the end of the day as well as a small balcony off the 2nd floor facing the water.

The house is close to tourist attractions like Plimoth Plantation and the Mayflower (15 mins away), and only about an hour from Boston. The beach at the house was not accessible when we were there (the house is up on a bluff), but there is a very nice public beach about 5 miles away. There are several good restaurants, including the very good Boston Beer Company, and a grocery store within walking distance.

I'm a serious neat freak, and was extremely nervous about staying in a house without seeing it first, but I had nothing to worry about. If we lived closer and were going to visit regularly, we'd rent this place every time and we'd recommend it to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice & clean cottage with wonderful views

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We visited the house with our three children (6, 3 and 1). Our two older kids shared one of the bedrooms, and we shared the other bedroom with our baby. There were also a bed in the "loft" hallway area between the bedrooms and a pull-out couch in the living room.

The house was very clean and well-maintained. The ocean could be seen from every room in the house, and it was wonderful to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds & smells of the ocean. The street is quiet. There is plenty of room in the yard for kids to play, and a fence to keep the kids off the bluff. There's a lovely sitting area facing the ocean with a fire pit to relax at the end of the day as well as a small balcony off the 2nd floor facing the water.

The house is close to tourist attractions like Plimoth Plantation and the Mayflower (15 mins away), and only about an hour from Boston. The beach at the house was not accessible when we were there (the house is up on a bluff), but there is a very nice public beach about 5 miles away. There are several good restaurants, including the very good Boston Beer Company, and a grocery store within walking distance.

I'm a serious neat freak, and was extremely nervous about staying in a house without seeing it first, but I had nothing to worry about. If we lived closer and were going to visit regularly, we'd rent this place every time and we'd recommend it to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oceanfront cottage

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Property was just like advertised. Clean, comfortable, with a great view.Quiet and peacefull.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beatiful view, clean house...

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We were up visiting for a wedding, the house was a much more pleasant stay vs. a hotel room.
Enjoyed the porch swing in the morning while sipping coffee & sitting by the fire pit on a cold evening.
Beautiful view, clean house, overall great place to stay while in the Plymouth area.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we just relax ...

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We were supposed to visit the places around... but we just relax and sun bath for the whole stay. Your house is great and the pine and sea smell remind us the south of France.
Beatrice

The cat was very friendly.
Alex

Warm house and nice view!!!
Great rest with a great sunshine in April. Really enjoyed the place.
T.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful sunrise every day!

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Oct. 9th-13th, 2009
Hector, Jackie, Claire, Jack, and Daniella; East Haddam, CT

Beautiful sunrise every day! The view just takes your breath away. Enjoyed the patio & fire pit; trips to the Cranberry boys & all the sites of Plymouth. We enjoyed the cottage very much and hope to stay again sometime. Te 2 friendly cats are lovely – Pls. pet them for us!!

This place is awesome! It was so beautiful. The City lights along the shore at night were breathtaking. We saw the sunrise every morning and watched it set at night. It wasn’t far away from Plymouth, which was spectacular. The Wampanoag Village was amazing! Or zoo-aquarium and Edaville. The restaurants had great food. The Mayflower was fantastic! We ate with the pilgrims (the food was delicious!) We had fire and listened to the ocean. We really loved the friendly cats, an orange one (we called him Noodle) and Stevie, a gray and black striped cat. I had a really great birthday here, turning 11.
Claire

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We came with two goals in mind:

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Aug.22-29, 2009
Sebestian, Theresa, Ryland, Marissa & Easton; Madison, WI

We came with two goals in mind: drop off our oldest to play hockey and have a fun and relaxing vacation for the rest. This beautiful home allowed us to accomplish both! Our youngest spent hours on the beach and “surfed” down the sand rather than use the stairs. Up to P-town for a messy lobster dinner and to Hyannis for a few nice souvenirs. Boston was reserved for a short shopping trip as we preferred the ocean.
Highlights: 1) finding gluten free menu at British Beer Company
2) OCEAN! & all of the Cape
3) the friendly cat – we missed ours
Every night so wonderful to come back “home”

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House was perfect for the 5 of us

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Aug. 1-7, 2009
Kristi, Mike, Caine, Myah, Ruby; Cedar Rapids, Iowa

House was perfect for the 5 of us. We loved the view, the use of the kayaks, the proximity to the Cape, Plymouth, and Boston. Felt very relaxed and at home. Enjoyed the short walk to British Beer Company and its Tuesday 2-for-1 pizzas and Wednesday family night specials. Enjoyed the Cape & Harbor cruise in Hyannis, a couple of days in Boston, and the tourist sites in Plymouth. Scusset Beach was a big hit with the kids. Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed the private location,

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

July 28-Aug. 1, 2009
Barbara, Steven, Michael & Thomas, Clarence Center, NY (Red Sox Fans!)

We enjoyed the private location, quiet & tranquil on the bluff. We journeyed from Plymouth to P-Town. Whale Watch in Plymouth was a success, swam in ocean – Bay , beaches very easy access. Quick drive from Boston. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the place.

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

July 17-25, 2009
Pat, Barb, Kimberly & Angela, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

We loved the place. So clean & comfortable. A great place to relax & easy access to all the coastal towns & attractions along the “Pilgrims Way”. We would recommend this cottage to anyone coming this way. Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review