reviews for: listing #57148 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Front Row Unit w/ Great Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Gulfview
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $175 /nt
    $299 - $999 /wk
    $849 - $849 /mth

sort by:

Fourth of July Vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

It was awesome place to rent while on vacation I love this place so much. The pictures online really give you an idea of how the place will look. I love the design it is simple and it makes you feel like your at home. It is even more amazing that it has cooking utensils, pots, plates, and cups. If you love to grill it is right in front door it is really good and your food taste amazing. Then the beach 5 minutes away and it is private with white sand and really clear water it is a nice family beach. The laundry room right outside door so that makes it convenient. I would advise that you bring a lot quarters for your laundry as well. But other than that I love this property it is a nice family area and a lot people who live here are really friendly. I look forward to coming back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Planning our Third Visit to this Condo!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

We are planning our third visit to this wonderful condo!
We came with kids and we wanted someplace safe, clean and near the beach. This condo exceeded all of our expectations. The ocean is across a quiet road, and the vehicle traffic is light and the drivers are respectful of people crossing the road.
There is a partial view of the beach across the street, and the condo is on a quiet corner of the building. The laundry facility is just outside the door, as is one of the 2 pools. There is also a heated pool and hot tub about 30 steps away. The parking is not far from the door and it is free. Maintenance staff on the property are prompt and unobtrusive.
The beach is gorgeous and well-cared-for. We wanted a quiet visit, and that is just what we got. Had we wanted more nightlife, there are plenty of places a short drive down the beach, but this condo is on a quiet stretch of road, more than a mile from most of the hotels and restaurants.
Seth, the owner, is extremely professional and responsive to any concerns or questions. We have been to this condo during busy season (June) and quiet season (Thanksgiving week) and we found the condo clean and ready for us both times.
We are looking forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Gulf Shores! The view was amazing! The owner of this unit was so nice and helpful! We would highly recommend this condo and look forward to going back sometime soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We enjoyed this condo in a great location. The beach is the nicest we have ever stayed at and we appreciated the chairs that were set out for us each day. We wanted to ride our bikes and the wide sidewalk/path right in front of the building provided a 9 mile round-trip casual ride, even though caution and courtesy was required as it could get a little congested in places.

As it was cool and cloudy in the middle of the week we visited the Navel Air Museum in Pensacola and the Destin Fishing Museum, both worthwhile if you are interested in that sort of thing. We also stopped at the Destin Worship Center for a solid and enjoyable Sunday service, just 2 miles down the street.

The unit was as described. My wife uses a manual wheelchair and we found the doorways to the bath and bedroom tight. (I need to ask more questions next time.) A few minor things needed attention such as the dishwasher door coming apart and the towel ring loose on the wall, making us feel right at home. The bed mattress was old, and topped with foam but comfortable over all.

The pools were beautiful and well maintained, but with temperatures in the 50's and 60's we did not try them out.

Seth was very good to work with and answered my emails quickly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo and Great Location!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

This is a great condo with a great location (just a short little walk across Scenic 98 to the beach)! We would definitely recommend this condo to anyone and Seth is great to work with! We were able to run and get some food and drinks at the beginning of the week to eat breakfast and lunch in the condo and then go out for dinner each night, so that made it very nice. Other than going out for dinner each night (a few places we went to: Bubba Gump Shrimp, Floyd's Shrimp in Fort Walton Beach, Olive Garden, Chili's, etc...) we pretty much hung out on the beach during the day and at the condo at night, and wouldn't want it any other way!

Nothing really negative to say, except I might advise you to bring a couple of power strips or extension cords with you, as a few of the power outlets didn't work (not a big deal, but when you've got a couple of iPhones, iPads, camera, MacBook, and other electronics to charge at night an power strip would come in handy). You will also most likely need to bring your own paper products (toilet paper and paper towels, and if you don't wanna wash dishes bring paper plates and paper cups).

We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay again! There's no place like Destin, we can't stop going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place and location!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with this condo. It's very
nice and clean. Good size for a small family, super close to the
beach and pool. Will difinetly stay here again. It's close to stores and restautant. Will recommend!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Value

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this unit. The ocean was much closer than we expected for the cost. The complex had all the things you need to make a great vacation; 2 pools, bbq areas and its own private beach. What else could you ask for. The location is great too. We walked to Pompano Joe's several times for dinner and drinks. It's a great place to relax and eat by the ocean.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place!!!!!

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

The condo is great. We were there during the scare of Issac. We didnt get to enjoy the beach as much as we would have liked,they were closed due to the high wind and waves. Thank goodness for the 2 pools and the hot tub. Seth even called to check on us during the storm.It was unbeleavable to stand on the patio and watch the waves from across the street. We hope to return next year, hopefully no tropical storm next time.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not what i expected

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This vacation rental was definitely not what i expected. From all of the other reviews it seemed it would be very nice for my boyfriend and I. I do not normally complain but i feel that i spent enough for the week and it was NOT worth it. I dont even know where to begin. When we first arrived after driving 12 hours i was exhausted and just wanted to go to bed. Well that couldn't happen because when i pulled the sheets down there was a big blood stain on the sheet as well as a ton of sand in the bed. When i went into the closet to try and find more linen, all of it was rumpled in balls and seemed not to be clean. There was an extra mattress cover and bottom sheet that were still inside of eachother, like someone just took them off the bed and threw them in the closet. The comforter looked and smelled like it hadnt been washed in months. I ended up putting blankets that i had brought with me on top of the bed because i couldnt use there linens. There were burn holes on the pillow cases as well. I turned on the tv and there was a pornographic video playing in the DVD player. (completely rediculous!) There were cigarette buds on the floor in the bedroom along with hair balls and candy wrappers. The middle post in the bed is broken. Makes loud sounds every time one of us turned over. I woke up the next morning to make coffee. Opened the coffee maker and there was an old coffee filter along with old coffee grounds in it.(Gross!) I washed it and made coffee. The coffee maker leaked all over the counter and ruined my brand new purse. Started putting groceries away and pulled the drawers out of the refrigerator and there was sticky stuff all underneath the drawers, it was obvious something big had spilled and no one cleaned it up. It rained hard one of the last days and the window in the living room leaked water all over the floor. There was a HUGE puddle in the middle of the floor and got our bags and stuff all wet. There is no carpet( 2 door mats and a small rug in bathroom)in the entire condo so make sure you bring house shoes or you will feel like your walking on a locker room floor all week. There was no kitchen towels so make sure you bring your own. There were only 4 bath towels for the entire week so make sure you take your own as well. Yes the location is nice but if it rains alot like it did our week, the condo is the last place you want to be. I have stayed in far better places for the same amount of money. I was extremely dissatisfied with this place

Owners response: Hi Lauren, I'm so sorry about your bad experience. I wish I had known about it sooner. We actually just changed cleaning companies last month and have had multiple complaints since then. We're in the process of hiring a new cleaning company as a result. I hope you'll consider us again in the future.

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Great Condo! Will Definitely Consider Returning!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We rented this condo as our place to stay while we got married/honeymooned in Miramar Beach and we COULDN'T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER! The wedding was beautiful and we loved our stay at Gulfview. The description of the condo was very accurate, and the room was in a great spot with one of the pools right outside the door. You would think that with the pool right there that there would be a lot of noise, but we didn't hear a thing. Property was very clean and well-maintained with the exception of the dishwasher leaking some. The beach was not too far away either, being right across the street. The owner, Seth, was VERY VERY nice and accommodating and we will definitely try to rent with him again! I would HIGHLY recommend this property and this owner!!!! We personally stayed in most of the time, but we did go to McGuirre's for our wedding night and it was a blast! Definitely recommend going there—their food's pretty good and their service is awesome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice clean condo, great for family

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We will be back

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT location!

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Destin and thoroughly enjoyed the condo - especially its location!!! Have my Mom with me who couldn't do stairs well - so being on the ground level was perfect! Then to walk out the door and be right at the pool with very each beach access ... what more could we ask for!!! Also with 3 teenage girls - they could be at the pool and I could physically see them without having to sit out there with them the entire time. Great spot!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most enjoyable for the price!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

My husband and I had a great time...took our bicycles...weather was great...close to everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo and Beautiful Vacation! Thanks! :)

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at this condo and it was perfect for our family! :) We are on a budget being teachers and the owners worked with us to negotiate a very good rate to make our vacation possible. We definitely want to come back for our next vacation to Destin and Gulfview. I have been visiting Destin since I was a little girl and now our daughter gets to enjoy the beach and the gorgeous fun-in-the-sun experience. This condo at Gulfview was our favorite and the best for us. This unit is in the very front and close to the pool, grill, laundry and it is very clean and fully stocked with everything you need. It was absolutely wonderful! Thanks again and God Bless! :)

The Davidson Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Really close to the beach, great location!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

The best three things about this condo is proximity to the beach,(less than 75 yards), pool outside the door and great galley kitchen. The bike and walking path outside the complex is super and we walked or rode our bikes every day. The patio out front is shady almost constantly and had cool ocean breezes. You do need to take several things with you as it was not as well furnished as others we have stayed in. Here are a few musts- rug for shoes by back door, washcloths (there were only 2 furnished and we stayed a week), toiletries, paper towels, non-stick skillet, dish towel and cloth. Also, a couple of cleaning rags and a cleaning solution for the tub.
This is an older condo, has a great updated kitchen, but rest of condo needs some updating. We had a few issues; the closet door was very hard to open, and we couldnt use that space (which we needed), the bath/shower was dark and slow to drain, the sofa bed mattress needs replaced.
Even though we had these issues, overall, the pluses of the condo allowed us to overlook the minuses. IMPORTANT: Read the manual in condo, you need a code for the beach gate, and I was locked out on patio the first evening.
Don't miss some of our favorite bars and restarants- Red Bar in Grayton Beach, Royal Orchard Thai, McGuires Irish Pub, and by taking a left out of the parking lot-go to Busters-not great on decor-but great food and drinks. Oysters on the half shell M-F 5-6pm $1.99. Key lime pie is yummy too!
If you haven't been to the emerald coast beaches you are in for a treat. Soft, white, cool sand. Blue-green stunning water. You won't want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review Teresa. I just went down there this weekend and made the following enhancements:

- Added 2 floor mats near the front and back doors.
- Stocked up on towels and washcloths.
- Fixed the bedroom closet door.
- Cleared the bathtub drain.
- Added a memory foam topper to the sofa bed.
- Replaced all of the inside door knobs.

Hopefully, these will make your next stay more enjoyable.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Deal for the Price!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Hard to tell your location by the pictures on this site. However, You are about 75 yds from the PVT Beach Gate. This is close & VERY easy beach access. Some of the most beautiful beach area you will find. The view of the ocean is from the outside patio facing the beach side. You are not directly on the beach, as a small road separates you from the beach access. Their are condos directly across the street & you cannot see the ocean directly from there. You can see the ocean while standing on the patio back to the left, as seen in the picture. There is also a great bike/jogging/walking trail that runs along this small road. With the Bike rental shop about 3/4 of a mile down the road, this was perfect.

The non-heated pool is directly in front of your front door. There is a heated pool & jacuzzi close by too. The two charcoal grills are 10 ft to the left of your front door. The PAY washer & dryer is right next to the grill. There were lots of Spring Breakers around & we never heard a peep out of them (inside the condo). You are in the most secluded condo that I saw.

There are restaurants/convenience/gift shops within walking distance. We drove to a place called Busters for $1.99 Oysters per dozen (served every weekday between 5-6)almost daily. Their Gumbo was AWESOME too! about a 3 mile drive.

The beds & TVs could be better. However, the kitchen is stocked with great HARDWARE supplies.

Overall it is a GREAT value for the price. We recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Love it!

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We absolutely loved our time at this condo! It really felt like a home away from home. We took full advantage of having a stocked kitchen on vacation and the grills being right outside the door. And it was so easy to walk right across the street and lay on the beach all day, never having to move the car! We will absolutely be staying at your condo again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply wonderful

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

We absolutely loved staying at this condo. It was like a home away from home. We ended up staying an extra day! The location is wonderful with the beach even closer than I had imagined. It was very clean and comfortable. We loved the pool and laundry facility being right outside the door. I also recommend eating at Pompano Joe's which is right down the road on the beach.
This is a very family friendly place so if you have kids, it's perfect. Just a side note, we went parasailing at Just Chute Me and had a fantastic experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfy Place

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at your place. We found it to be very comfy. We would love to stay there again for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Everything was great and your place is Beautiful.. Thanks again and I will be renting your place again sometime.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review