reviews for: listing #57149 - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina House rental

Upscale 6 Br/6 Ba oceanfront beach house with private pool
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Long Bay Estates
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $341 - $895 /nt
    $2,390 - $6,270 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We had the best family vacation at this home on the beach. We have 4 grown children, their companions and three grandkids. we loved the short walk to the beach, the balconies, the ocean view all day - the pool, it was very clean, very well kept and we had an awesome time. Planning to do again next year - same time. you do not need to bring anything for the kitchen, it is all there.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Doctor's Rx

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

The house was wonderful. It was comfortable and clean. I would rent there again, however, not in the really early spring. It was cold, rainy, and very windy. We had to wear a jacket when we went out. It would be a great place for teenagers and either a ladies' or guy's get away, especially in you play golf. I would not recommend it for anyone who cannot climb stairs. I would also not recommend sleeping on the sleep sofa unless you are short. Otherwise, it's very, very nice.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guys Get Away

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Drs. Orders was well equipped and served us well. Being on the beach gave us the oppurtunity to enjoy the water, sunrises and walks on the beach. Having the pool also gave us the chance to relax in a quiet setting. I would recommend this unit to my friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great for Large Families

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The house has a great layout and was perfect for our family of 7. Bedrooms are not large or fancy, but the en suite baths in 5 of the 6 bedrooms are a huge plus. The water is so close to the house that we did not have to haul anything to the beach. We made quick trips back to the house to eat, visit the facilities, rinse off in the outdoor shower, or rest a bit. The covered double decks were spectacular and the deck furniture was abundant. The beaches are so clean and private, and fun family activities are just a short drive away. The pool is also a very nice size, but you do share it with the adjacent family. Not a problem for us, since they were very nice. Some minor issues that didn't really impact us, but should be addressed: master bedroom linens should be replaced, the main refrigerator stopped working (fortunately, there is a second one in the house, so that wasn't a problem for us), the dishwasher needs to be fixed/replaced, and the living room sofas are a bit lumpy and should be updated. The linens are not included in the price (sheets and towels). Even if you purchase the linen package, which is pricey, I would recommend bringing an extra set of towels for each person, and a waterproof mattress pad for young kids. All in all, we would definitely come back again. This is a wonderful property, and we will consider renting the other side of the divided house next time to accommodate extended family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Our onsite maintenance man Henry answers all repair issues promptly. When renter stated one of the two refrigerators as well as the dishwasher were not working properly Henry answered the call and tried making the repairs but both needed to be replaced. So we bought a new refrigerator and dishwasher. Our goal is to keep our properties well maintained at all times. Regarding the linen service we could automatically include the towels and linens in the price but oftentimes we give renters the option of bringing their own in order to lower the rental price for them.

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Doctor's Orders has direct ocean access and a large pool. Although it is half of a duplex, we hardly were aware of our neighbors, except to see them at the beach. The house is not fancy, but it's comfortable. Bedrooms/bathrooms are not large, but well appointed with plenty of storage and great mattresses - good sleeping. Only one living area, which is not any bigger than what you see in the online pictures, but the main deck is nice with plenty of seating for everyone and a picnic table. There is an upstairs deck off the master bedrooms, too, but we hardly used that.
There is a frig (in the dining room area) which we used for drinks, watermelon, etc. The kitchen frig was large and held plenty of groceries. Kitchen was stocked appropriately for groups of 10 - 16.
Our grandkids loved riding their bikes to the State Park pier and exploring the area. They only left the beach to eat, and even though the pool is nice, it didn't get used much this trip. Lots of tweens and teens from the neighboring campground walking the beach every day as we had two good looking 12-yr olds with us. Of course our boys were delighted with the attention.
The owners are very nice to deal with and I loved the lock box entry instead of visiting a real estate office to pick up keys!
Best feature is definetly the location. When you leave the development, you are literally 2 minutes from lots of grocery stores, liquor stores, restaurants, entertainment and retail shopping. Only problem is finding the Long Bay entrance the first time - it's hard to see when driving south on 17. Just proves how private the location is! We certainly plan to return to this location in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You will be so happy you rented here!!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This house was PERFECT for our group of high school golfers and parents/grandparents in town for the state golf tournament at Coastal Carolina! We rented both sides of the duplex, and just opened up the door on the porch between houses to visit with our friends on the other side. The design of the house is perfect~4 bedrooms upstairs all with private bath (2 of the bedrooms walk out to the oceanfront balcony), and 2 bedrooms on the main level~one with private bath and an oceanview, and one with a hall bath. The beds and bedding are very comfortable. The pool was much bigger than most beachfront property pools, and there are plenty of chairs and room to sit around the pool as well. The beach is VERY private and uncrowded because it is in a private community. Both ends of the oceanfront street in the community are a dead end, so the only traffic you get is people who live/rent there. You would never know you're in Myrtle Beach, but just a 1 minute drive out of the neighborhood puts you on Business 17 and you can get to just about anything in just a few minutes. We had Mother's Day brunch at the Sea Captain's House (oceanfront restaurant a few miles north of the house). It was a wonderful experience~I highly recommend it for a special meal~and it's not at all expensive. We took a couple of the siblings to Ripley's Aquarium at Broadway at the Beach (just a few miles away), and we had dinner one night at King Street Grill in Market Commons (Market Commons is only a couple of miles away and is a wonderful, new shopping/dining area~great place to park and walk around~also, there's a wonderful Piggly Wiggly there for groceries). Maureen (the owner) was wonderful. She is the one who recommended the restaurants, and she also called while we were there to make sure everything was OK. Our team has already decided we want to rent the house again next year, so we're hoping our boys make it to states again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful house that made a memorable trip!

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Everyone had a great time and loved our accommodations. Great locations, clean, and very spacious. Our teenagers had a great time being ocean front. I will definitely keep you all in mind for next year. I love, love, love the duplex in Long Bay Estates. So peaceful. Wouldn't mind having a place there myself. Thanks again for all your help in making the Lady Panthers Myrtle Beach trip a huge success!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guys Get Away

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Overall, the house was great for the 8 gentlemen that stayed. There is plenty of room and it is in a fabulous area. The WIFI problems were taken care of quickly. The maintenance man was very cordial and helpful. Understandably, we had seen and caught several cockroaches. Okay for guys, but i am sure women may have a problem. We did notice by weeks end that a circuit breaker tends to trip when using the lights outside the main floor bathrooms and bedrooms. I would definetley consider renting this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Wonderful stay and great views. House was clean and owner called during our stay to make sure all is well. Thanks for sharing your house with us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

wonderful beach house

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Overall the house was great, lots of parking, the pool was cleaned and or checked on every day. Everything in the house, especially in the kitchens worked as they should have, all the lights and fans etc. The AC units worked great.dishwasher leaked, called mx man, had excellent response, fast service and very friendly. The back decks were the best, they were extra deep for eating outside and giving all the kids a meeting place prior to coming into the house after being on the beach. We rented the entire house and had a blast. The only issue was the back decks and walkway to beach have shrunk over the years and the nail heads are protruding upward. I would recommend this house. Maureen, (manager) was great to work with and very helpful and Henry was great as well.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Nice location but needs new cleaning service

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The location was great & the layout of the house was nice. Having 6 bedrooms (2 of them w/ a queen & twin each) allowed my family of 14 to all stay in the same house which was great. The house is right on the beach so the view was spectacular and having a pool on the property was nice when you were tired of being on the sandy beach. We did not have linens when we first arrived as promised but a call to the owner & rental agency quickly took care of that, they apoligized & explained a problem they were having and they were promptly delivered. My only complaint with the house was that it was not cleaned as well as we would have hoped. For the amount we spent we were all expecting the house to be a little tidier. The people staying on the other side of the house had the same compliant also so perhaps they need to find a new cleaning service. They other family there said they have stayed their numerous times & this was the first year they had any issues like that. There are many things to do in the area that are just a short drive away. Broadway at the Beach, The Skywheel, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, just to name a few and LOTS of yummy places to eat! I would definitley recommend Kono Japanese Steakhouse (where your own hibatchi chef cooks at your table), it was delicious and a really fun time! I would recommend this place to a friend with the hope that the cleaning of the house is improved.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Unfortunately, we used a different cleaning service this week because our regular cleaners had an emergency arise in which they were unable to clean this particular Saturday. Our regular cleaners are awesome and have been working for us for over 5 years, but because they weren't able to work this one Saturday, we had to respond quickly in getting someone else to clean. As it turns out, these cleaners didn't do the job to the renter's satisfaction, which I'm sorry about. We did apologize to these renters explaining the situation to them letting them know we are no longer using this cleaning service. We resolved the matter to their satisfaction. Hopefully, this review doesn't effect future renters decision in staying here. When trying to get quality workers in Myrtle Beach, it is sometimes difficult, especially when it is a last minute situation. Our regular cleaners will continue to clean for us, but it's unfortunate that this one incidence has become a permanent record.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Nice location but needs new cleaning service

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The location was great & the layout of the house was nice. Having 6 bedrooms (2 of them w/ a queen & twin each) allowed my family of 14 to all stay in the same house which was great. The house is right on the beach so the view was spectacular and having a pool on the property was nice when you were tired of being on the sandy beach. We did not have linens when we first arrived as promised but a call to the owner & rental agency quickly took care of that, they apoligized & explained a problem they were having and they were promptly delivered. My only complaint with the house was that it was not cleaned as well as we would have hoped. For the amount we spent we were all expecting the house to be a little tidier. The people staying on the other side of the house had the same compliant also so perhaps they need to find a new cleaning service. They other family there said they have stayed their numerous times & this was the first year they had any issues like that. There are many things to do in the area that are just a short drive away. Broadway at the Beach, The Skywheel, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, just to name a few and LOTS of yummy places to eat! I would definitley recommend Kono Japanese Steakhouse (where your own hibatchi chef cooks at your table), it was delicious and a really fun time! I would recommend this place to a friend with the hope that the cleaning of the house is improved.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Unfortunately, we used a different cleaning service this week because our regular cleaners had an emergency arise in which they were unable to clean this particular Saturday. Our regular cleaners are awesome and have been working for us for over 5 years, but because they weren't able to work this one Saturday, we had to respond quickly in getting someone else to clean. As it turns out, these cleaners didn't do the job to the renter's satisfaction, which I'm sorry about. We did apologize to these renters explaining the situation to them letting them know we are no longer using this cleaning service. Hopefully, this review doesn't effect future renters decision in staying here. When trying to get quality workers in Myrtle Beach, it is sometimes difficult. Our regular cleaners will continue to clean for us, but it's unfortunate that this one incidence has become a permanent record.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Vacation House

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

The house is a wonderful place for a family vacation. It is in a very nice neighborhood away from all the traffic, but close enough to get to everything. The beach is very private with no high rise condos around. It was very comfortable with each bedroom having its own bathroom and some rooms with two beds vs the bunks that some houses have. The wide beach and swimming pool are just a few steps away and the morning sunrises from the decks are beautiful. The kitchen is stocked with plenty of pots and pans to be able to cook at home with several grocery stores very nearby. We had two families one on each side and it was great to just open up the doors on the decks and feel close but still have privacy. There are tennis courts, golf, putt putt and any other activity you could want very closeby. Would definitely return!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First time and Loved it!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Typically my family stays at a resort when in MB, but decided to see what condos were available on vrbo.com and we found Dr.'s Rx. The condo was beautiful! Nicely decorated, everything provided, each bedroom with it's own bathroom, excellant -would reccomend to anyone! Rochester, NY

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review