reviews for: listing #57156 - Neskowin, Oregon House rental

Oregon Coast Luxury Home-Ocean Views Every Window; Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $160 - $495 /nt

sort by:

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, the view was spectacular, and the hottub and sauna were a wonderful way to relax. It was a great weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed the home and its amenities. Thanks for posting your review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend getaway!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Rating: 5/5
It was an amazing weekend!
We had a wonderful time, would definitely go back. The only thing is that I would warn people about the steepness of the driveway. I recommend telling people to drive to the top of the hill, turn around and then head up the driveway because we tried to make that left sharp turn to head up the driveway and got our van stuck. We had to unload our stuff at the bottom of the driveway and walk it up to the house. It looks as though the same thing has happened to others, as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Great views, hot tub and sauna were great.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house, great amenities

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Really enjoyed the house & all it had to offer. We had a group of 8, so 1 couple stayed on the pull out couch. The bedrooms were nice, only complaints were that our bedroom did not have any kind of window furnishings, so sleeping in wasn't possible & we always had to go into the bathroom to change clothes. Some in our group didn't think the beds were very comfortable, but I though they were fine.

The view was one of the best I've seen in a rental - pictures windows of the ocean & great views of the rolling forrest as well. Sauna & hot tub were very enjoyable, kitchen was well stocked in terms of dishes, pots & pans, etc. Kitchen was large enough that a couple people could be prepping food at the same time. 2 ovens, which was nice for the group meals. Kitchen table only had 6 chairs, but we were able to pull a couple desk chairs in & it was fine.

Short 10 min walk to the beach (down & back up a very steep hill, but a good workout :) An upscale market with take & bake pizza and a growler fill station right down the hill. Good selection of movies & boardgames. Cascasde Head hike is close by & a great workout and view. Pacific City (Pelican Brewery-always crowded but a solid spot) is a short drive. Overall great house, I'd definitely go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us. We are glad that the home met your expectations and worked out so well for your group. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the beds and window furnishings. We will try to add some blinds soon. In terms of the beds its always hard to assess as you mentioned some people liked them and others didn't. Nonetheless, we appreciate your valuable feedback and will take a look at the beds and see if any changes are necessary. Thank you again and we can't wait to see you next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summit View in Neskowin Oregon

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

The house was amazing. Very clean and lots of unexpected amenities. The views were beautiful and we were lucky enough to have beautiful weather the whole time we were there. The hot tub, fireplace and jacuzzi tub worked great and were well maintained, but our favorite was the sauna. Once we figured out its quirks...have to have the timer in the right position.. we all were in it daily. The kitchen was a big hit with 2 ovens and well layed out counter tops. We were a party of 7 adults and felt that the house was not really set up for more than 6. There were only 6 chairs for the dining table and the fourth bed was a couch pull out sleeper that was not comfortable and located in the main living room so had no privacy. All in all the house was very comfortable and I would recommend it to friends. The hill it is on makes for a wonderful view of the Oregon coast and beautiful sunsets but not an easy walk up the hill from the beach .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Great Beach Home if you don't mind not being on the beach or within an easy walk
The views from within this home and from the deck are outstanding! The home is totally equipped with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. Nice beds & furnishings. Great wood burning firplace (with plenty of wood), hot tub and sauna.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful get-away!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The three of us had a great time. We had been through so much the last couple years, it was just what we needed! We look forward to coming back! Sue, Derek & Karalee

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Almost Perfect!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

This home was beautiful, very clean and well equipped.
When we decided to vacation at the coast, we searched for a property that included a hot tub and fireplace….the only two amenities important to us. This property had both, but upon arrival we discovered that we could not use the fireplace because it had been damaged. Had we known that before we arrived, we probably would have considered another property. (I will need to remember to ask in the future.) Other than that glitch, the home was comfortable and very clean. The hot tub and sauna were amazing and so were the views. We were a party of 4 and had plenty of room. I am not sure how 8 would manage. The master bedroom has a full size bed, which we found too small for 2 after being accustom to a king. Luckily we were able to spread out in the 3 bedrooms. The 4 bathrooms were all very spacious and sparkling clean.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to turn your near perfect review into a perfect one on your next visit. We do sincerely apologize that the fireplace was out of order during your stay. We thank you for your understanding in the matter and hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2 couples

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Beautiful home with everything you might need. Enjoyed grilling, the fire in the fireplace, the hot tub and the sauna. Great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely family vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The Summit Views is immaculate and very comfortable. We appreciate how clean this home is! All of the extras are very appreciated as well. The kitchen is a dream! with a stocked pantry and coffee to boot.The only thing that made this home "difficult" was deciding whether to Sauna or hot tub :)))) Our family had plenty of room to enjoy our weekend vacation. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury home with fabulous views!!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This home is absolutely gorgeous! The views are phenomenal! During our stay, a family of deer approached the home as we watched behind the huge glass windows. Great experience overall. If your planning a trip to Neskowin, you might want to consider staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Experience!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

This house and it's views are amazing! The place is very well stocked down to band-aids and hair gel! It's very spacious and the huge kitchen made cooking fun. Couldn't have found a speck of dust if I tried. They even thought of flip flops for heading out to the hot tub. We will definitely be going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot for an Oregon Sojourn!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in Neskowin. This house is neat and clean and well stocked. It very adequately slept the four of us. Hot tubbing each evening was a highlight as was walking the beach.
The view from all windows is fabulous.

Since we flew into Portland, we took the scenic route up the Columbia River to Astoria and then down 101.
We enjoyed lunch in Lincoln City at the Wildflower.
The purpose of our trip was to see the University of Colorado play the University of Oregon in Eugene.
The men showed their loyalty to the team while the ladies shopped and lunched at the 5th Street Market. The game was lousy form a Colorado fan's perspective, but 5th Street Market did not disappoint!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week, with 4 us total in the house. The location is excellent as you can walk into Neskowin, or its a 2 minute drive, but you're up on a hill overlooking the town. (The roads are a little steep up to the house, but any car should make it fine.) Amazing views of the ocean from the patio, hot tub, living room, and all the bedrooms. The hot tub, sauna, and whirlpool tub made for a lot of relaxing choices. Kitchen was well-stocked with spices and cooking utensils, and there were tons of towels and robes. The TV is a little small, but stocked with a great selection of movies. Wireless internet worked great, and I made use of the very nice office with printer to do some work while there. We all just felt right at home and didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Neskowin Beach Get Away

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

This home is comfortable, clean, warm & inviting. Beautiful views, hot tub on a private deck & indoor sauna in one of the master baths. Only drawback would be the 1 and only small TV in the living room,
not meant for movie watching that is for sure! I would say this home is more for adults that know how to appreciate peace & quite and relaxation. Neskowin is a nice little town with a beautiful beach. Hawk Creek Cafe had good pizza too! We had a wonderful time and I would definitly go back again :)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

THE SIXPAC

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The 6 Pack stayed here
All full of good cheer!
With the views of the Pacific
Being really terrific
We've stayed many places
Seen lots of faces
But this super plot
Really beats the lot!
Florida, Vancouver, Durango
Any place we can go
In Ashville and Wales
Just everything pales
To the Beauty and Setting
That we all are getting
The very best of the best
Here in Eagles House Nest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The "6 Pack" is the term three couples who vacation together every year use to describe themselves. This is the poem that one of the guys wrote about their stay. He and his wife live in Great Britain, and the other two couples live in the U.S. They spent a week at Eagles House in May.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A wonderful time (with one caveat)

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The pictures do not do the eagle house justice. The views were stunning and proposal rock on Neskowin beach was breathtaking. We got fresh crab in Newport and went for a delightful kayak in the Siletz river. It was the perfect location for our special gathering.
However, to the pet owner there is a caveat: don't expect your pet deposit back...we took the extra mile to be careful, cut our dogs nails to protect the hardwood floor, had her sleep on a blanket instead of directly on the floor, and still the owner didn't even contact us about our refund. When we contacted her, she said she was surprised we expected it back at all. Apparently the idea of a pet "deposit" is not what she had in mind. More like a pet fee...a warning to the pet owner upon considering this cabin.

Owners response: Well, there is another side to the story. The woman who helps me with the cleaning called me the night she cleaned after this rental and advised me NOT to return the pet deposit. She said the dog was shedding so badly that there was dog hair everywhere. She reported that it looked like the dog had been given a bath in one of the bathtubs since there was an excessive amount of hair in the tub and grime. Of course, she spent extra time on the cleaning. When I arrived at the house, I noticed that even after her cleaning, there was still lingering dog hairs--even a few in the kitchen cupboards.

This has convinced me that some people who live with dogs must not realize that their loved one can actually leave a horrible mess for others to clean up. Therefore, beginning in September,I am going to limit rentals to those who do not plan to bring a dog. I regret that responsible pet families will need to make arrangements for their dog to vacation elsewhere if they want to rent the house. I can recommend a very good retreat for your dog in a nearby town. My neighbor tells me that his dog has a great time there while he is taking a vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home and a wonderful place to visit

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

My husband and I rented the home with five teenagers and had the best time ever! When we arrived, the homeowner gave us a tour, showed us how to use the hot tub, sauna and jet tub and made us feel right at home. The kitchen was stocked with every appliance and spice needed. We were amazed at the beautiful scenic views from every window! We enjoyed climbing the sand dunes at Pacific City, shopping at Lincoln City and playing board games while sitting at the large kitchen table and enjoying the view. Every bedroom had its own bathroom which was a huge plus with so many teens. Our stay could not have been more perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Read between the lines

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

Listing has been corrected to say 3 bedrooms. It said 4 when we rented it and we were disappointed in the lack of room. It said beach access is close but it was not in walking distance. You need to drive a mile down to the highway, go across 101 and then drive through a public beach access parking lot and then walk. Not convenient to the beach. The house was clean and the view is exquisite. We would not recommend the property as a near to beach property and we would not return. The owner does correspond but will not returned our pet deposit despite our immaculate care of her property.

Owners response: The complaint about the error on the listing as stating 4 bedrooms is accurate. I goofed, but didn't realize the error until later. When I thought I was merely checking the type and number of beds, the check on "sofa bed" made the listing indicate 4 bedrooms--rather than 4 beds as I had thought. I should have checked the ad as a renter would see it, but that error should now be corrected.

Regarding the distance to be beach, it is exactly 1/2 mile according to my car's odometer from the garage to the village of Neskowin and beach access. Most people are amazed that you can get such spectacular ocean views while being only 1/2 mile up from the beach. Several of the photos on the website show that the house is not located directly on the beach.

If you have any concerns about my integrity in returning pet deposits, I would like for you to know that two of the 5-star reviews below were from families with pets. The $100 deposit mentioned as not refunded by this reviewer is rather small in comparison to the potential expense for repairs that were estimated at approximately $450. These reviews should not be used as a forum for debate, so please contact me for further information if you have concerns, and I will provide written documentation.
Chris

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Neskowin Beach house

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

My husband and I and another couple just returned from a stay at Chris's Neskowin Beach house. What can I say - fabulous! The house is located on a hilltop with beautiful views of the ocean and the mountains both from the outside deck and from every room inside the house. It's in a very quiet neighborhood, beautifully landscaped, and you can walk to the beach if you don't mind the uphill climb to get back to the house. The kitchen is well stocked with nice dishes and glasses, pots and pans, plenty of silverware, utensils, spices and cookbooks. Every bedroom has its own very nice linens and towels. The house is spotlessly clean; even the window frames are clean which is important if you like to open windows. I walked from the house to the beach every day. Quiet, peaceful and clean beach. We bought seafood from a vendor on Highway 101 near Shalishan, right side of road as you are driving south, and cooked at the house. The house and the setting was just so comfortable that we didn't want to leave. Thank you Chris.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Neskowin Eagles House is AWESOME!

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Even better in person....what a fantastic house you have. The view from every window was absolutely spectacular! Ocean to the north/west, ocean to the south/west, and the beautiful canyon to the east! We love that the little town of Neskowin is so quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Lincoln City, but close enough to get there in a few minutes to shop till we dropped at the outlet mall :) The hot tub was definitely enjoyed by those looking to soak their bones after a full and fun day of beach walking, and shopping. The sauna will have to wait till our next stay, not enough time this trip. The kitchen was perfect for meal making, and well stocked with every kitchen tool you'll ever need. As if the 3 spacious bathrooms in the house weren't enough, OMgoodness, there is a 4th bathroom/shower off the garage! Great for rinsing off after a hot tub soak. We absolutely, positively and definitely recommend the Neskowin Eagles House and would not hesitate to stay here again, and again, and again.
Mahalo Chris!

Joyce

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A secluded retreat.

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We have been staying at Eagle House for a week and we will miss the wonderful peace and the stunning views of the coast. The house is well kept and the kitchen well stocked. We enjoyed breakfast watching the deer and hummingbirds around the house. After long days out on the beach or exploring the area, the sheltered hot tub with its view of the coast has been a highlight both at sunset and in the swirling mist! We have rented several properties before and have never met such a helpful owner. Chris went out of her way to provide us with information and gave us an orientation to the house on arrival.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Definitely will be coming back!!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

I was a little nervous at first. Seeing this was the first time I had ever rented a house like this. But surely I was brought at ease once we made arrival. Myself, my boyfriend and our three kids our English Bulldog and his parents stayed for a weekend. LOVED every minute of it. The house was PACKED to the brim with everything you could ever need. The kitchen was fully loaded. All four of the bathrooms fully stocked. The hot tub was fabulous! The sauna was amazing and the jazuzzi tub... WONDERFUL and the view from the window... Not to mention being able to hear the ocean. Was great to fall asleep to. The beach was amazing. Town was 10 minutes away. Little store across the street but very minimal on things there. We all slept comfortable. It was peaceful and was just what we needed. DEFINITELY will be coming back again! Thanks Chris!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review