reviews for: listing #57252 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Very Private Oceanfront Traditional Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $460 /nt
    $1,645 - $3,220 /wk
    $6,580 - $12,880 /mth

sort by:

Nine days of heaven

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

We were 3 couples- elderly parents, 2 daughters and husbands. The house was a perfect size, and a beautiful setting. The empty lots on both sides gave much privacy, and made us feel as if we had a private beach. Our weather was a little of everything, including shorts and ocean wading the end of February! We would suggest TV's for all bedrooms, and table lamps for reading in the livingroom, but other than that, we had everything we could have wanted. The drive to St. Augustine is a snap, and the new Publix in Vilano Beach is very handy!
We had a problem with the kitchen ceiling light, and the owner himself came and got it working for us the same day.
Our stay went by much too fast, but we brought home many great memories and some beautiful beach treasures! We would love to stay at Seaside Escape again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Mediocre

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

Hello Emilee,

Needless to say, we found our stay with this property to be mediocre. This property is "tired" and was not ready to be rented out in our opinion. We actually felt that we were being used to work the "bugs out" for the owners as we chose to visit prior to the start of the tourist season. There were sewage odors, mold and mildew issues, insect issues, ferral cat issues, equipment issues....just too much. The location was okay as far as the proximity to the Jax/St. Augustine communities...and the beach was beautiful and peaceful. And there were certainly more than enough kitchen accessories to utilize. As this property stands, we would not recommend it to be used by any of our family or friends...the owners need to put some money into dealing with some issues...we left a very detailed note for whomever came in after we left and cleaned. And of course, we did have a great visit with our son and his fiancee, for that we are grateful. As we are in the business of providing lodging for tourists ourselves, we may be over-critical...but this property was not truly "ready" to be rented out in our opinion...we felt that it was left, by us, in better condition that what we found it in....the owners need to put sometime towards love and care into the property...it was obvious to us that it was just "old, tired, and sad"....

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This home has never had a rating below 4 Stars (out of 5)Recently the owner spent thousands of $$ improving this fun beach house. All of the windows and glass doors were replaced with 1st class Pella windows and Hardy Board siding.

This home has a very private location; with vacant natural beach lots on either side. It is possible that a feral cat was spotted near the house. We certainly would be happy to call the animal control, if it was reported.

This home is on city sewage and private water. The water comes from an artesian well, this is free flowing water from the Florida Aquifer. If not treated, people not accustomed to natural Florida water, may notice a slight smell. BUT, the owner installed an expensive water treatment system and aerator that not only removes the odor but also makes the water become soft water.

As for the alleged mold and mildew; my wife and I have personally stayed at this home for several days and we love it! I recommended it to my brother and his family and they all loved it too! Phone and internet service is provided yet, with all of these alleged problems NO PHONE CALL and NO EMAIL; THESE PEOPLE STAYED FOR A FULL WEEK!

This home has monthly pest control service with Orkin. If any pests are reported, Orkin is called and immediately re-treats.

I rarely look up people on the internet, but because this review was so different than all of the others and my personal knowledge, I did this time. All that I will say is that sometimes people have issues and we simply must just consider the source and realize there is more to the story that is better not said.

In my opinion, VacationRentals.com should simply pull this review; other than being slanderous it serves no purpose. Future guests need to have true and honest reviews to help in their decision making and that is NOT the case here.

This home is a classic beach house. The owner spends a great deal of money constantly upgrading and updating. It is NOT a new home! If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, then you probably will not be happy here.

What you get for the price, is more than fair. It is a fun beach house that is clean, professionally decorated, with lots of new windows with beautiful panoramic views of the beach and ocean, a nice deck to enjoy the out of doors in comfort all at a very fair price. In our opinion that is exactly what you should expect and that is exactly what you will get at Seaside Escape.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sea Side and Rest -

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

The description and pictures were just as the house was found. The house was in perfect order, and spotless. The decorations and linens and dishes and kitchen things were wonderful. The location was PERFECT. We were on a private beach, only a walk down the private board walk to sand and ocean. The neighbors we saw while walking on the beach were friendly. We loved doing lots of cooking in the kitchen that was well stocked with everything we needed for meals for our big family. Walks along the beach were the favorite part of our stay. Our family is very busy - from college students to the seven year old. Here, we connected as a family. Publix was right down the road. Beautiful Town Center was close by for a day of incredible shopping. We loved cooking our favorite meals and watching movies in the living/kitchen area. We watched the sun rise, and collected amazing shells. We took tons of amazing family photos that will be treasures. This week was nothing short of a blessing for our family. The house lived bigger than it was; the beds were incredibly soft; every upstairs room has a beautiful view. In the downstairs room, windows were opened so the ocean waves could be heard. At night, the little ones played ball in the garage while the older ones sat on the deck or talked around the table. To be so close to the ocean on such a beautiful and private beach was a blessing that I never dreamed my family could ever have. This was a vacation we will always remember. We cooked our favorite meals, watched favorite movies, were constantly walking or playing on the beach, and generally just loved every minute of being together. And - thanks for the great washer and dryer! I kept them going every day so coming home from the beach I had very little laundry. The customer service from the owner was super friendly and quickly resolved a little problem. We were checked on in a very friendly and welcoming way. Directions for care of the house were simple and clear. We were greeted with fresh fruit, coffee and cookies ! This was the vacation I have always dreamed of, and I pray that we can do this again, in this same house, next year. I would highly recommend this house to my friends. I pray that we can come back, year after year. Thank you for the reduced pricing in winter - we had a lovely time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review of our property. We apprecaite you chosing us and hope to have you return in the future, soon. So glad to know everything went great for your family vacation and we are blessed to be a part of it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Seaside Escape!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Loved “Seaside Escape”! I loved waking up and being able to walk right out the bedroom door to the deck with 180° view of the beach. One morning the porpoises were jump out of the water in the waves and the whole family went out to see. Who needs Sea World when you can have the real thing. The house was perfect, exactly what a beach house should be. If you want a recommendation, have them call me..
Thanks Again,
L.S., Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Seaside Escape was fantastic!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Thank you so much, “Seaside Escape” was fantastic! It felt so “private”; it was like having our very own private beach island. The house was perfect, not only was it nice but it had everything that we needed. One last thing that I think is extremely important is that it was so clean! We look forward to returning next year.
Thanks,
JP and Family, Dallas

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best family vacation ever!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Best family vacation ever! “Seaside Escape” is well named, it was the perfect escape for my husband and the boys loved fishing and finding shark’s teeth and shells. One morning we went for a walk and we must have walked for 5 miles. We enjoyed St. Augustine and the boy’s loved Adventure Landing. We miss it already!
The Johnson’s, Atlanta

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review