reviews for: listing #57258 - Savannah, Georgia Cottage rental

Savannah Dream Vacations
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $159 - $249 /nt
    $700 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved having a home away from home! The carriage house was so quaint and we enjoyed our visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Drayton Carriage House

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Super location if you want to be near Forsyth Park. Love the SCAD Sidewalk Chalk Contest and the Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings. This carriage house is perfect for a weekend in beautiful Savannah.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place and Location

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in this Carriage House. The place was a perfect size for two people, in the best of location.
We had access to a pleasant patio area and it is directly across the street from the biggest park in Savannah.
The place was well equipped and we wanted for nothing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to stay!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed four nights at this rental and everything was literally perfect until the last night when the house got very cold due to a heat malfunction. Other than that, we absolutely loved the place. It was the perfect size for a romantic getaway and placed in a great location. We felt safe and secure in the home and especially enjoyed the modern amenities!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The shower is in the kitchen! I don't consider that romantic.

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

Let's start with the positives: we loved Savannah! This was our first time to visit. We also really liked being next to the park. The management company was very responsive to anything we needed, questions, etc., but we did not like the house at all. It had charming character, which we loved, and frankly that is all we noticed in the photos. The 1/2 bath (the only bathroom) was off of the living room. The only way to get to the kitchen was to go through the bedroom. The washer/dryer is in the kitchen. There wasn't a closet in the house, although that probably isn't unusual for old houses like this. There is a rolling coat rack, which is in the kitchen. The biggest issue though, is that the shower is in the kitchen, and totally isolated from the rest of the bathroom. The one thing that isn't in the kitchen? Kitchen chairs for more than 2. This house says it is for 2-4 people, but the kitchen table only has 2 chairs. It is obvious they carved this "house" out of a little tiny space, perhaps from a larger house, and they really could have/should have spent a little more money to do it correctly. I would not stay at this house again.

Owners response: Thank you for your response.
Indeed, we at Savannah Dream Vacations are well known for our customer care and service.
We are pleased to hear that you loved the charming character of this property and its fantastic location, but are a little surprised at your subsequent comments.
This turn of the century apartment was "carved out", as you put it, 115 years ago when they did a lot of funny stuff around town. Did you mention this was your first visit to Savannah? Many of Savannah's old historic homes have quirky layouts, that's part of the fun, but don't blame us!
Our many guests over the years have been completely charmed and amused by this unusual and unique hideaway.
Yes, the shower and toilet are in separate areas...the shower being in the hallway before the kitchen.
The closet is the beautiful antique armour which you didn't notice? We also have a rolling coat rack tucked away in the kitchen should guests need it. (The kitchen is quite large).
The washer and dryer are in the kitchen. Yes, I even know a lot of modern houses with the washer/dryer in the kitchen. Afterall, the kitchen is quite large. If you have a better suggestion, please let us know.
The kitchen table only has two chairs because it is overwhelmingly rented to 2 people ( which was also the case with you, not even sure why you needed 4 chairs, you never mentioned anything when you talked to us) The office is right next door, so not sure why you would post that in a comment, rather than just ask us, as you said we are very friendly and helpful.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lov2trvl

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were very happy with the house. We enjoyed our time there. Didn't get to spend much time at the house, but sleep. Bed was very comfortable. Lay out was different. But that is what made it unique. Great location if you love to walk, view of the park was wonderful. Mannerly was very helpful and very pleasent to work with. Would stay again if we every need to!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, lovely couple's retreat

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 7, 2014

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved the location of this cute and quirky cottage house. The bed sags and the couch is uncomfortable but the place is very clean and well equipped with coffee and all the amenities you might need (except I couldn't find a cutting board). Will definitely use Dream Vacations again on our next trip to Savannah.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We can't wait to come back

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall a great experience. This location works for a couple but may not work for more because of the shower/bathroom being in different rooms. A couple issues; two bathroom lights burnt out, bedroom doors wouldn't latch to stay closed, Wi-Fi only worked one day out of our 11 days, no one checked on bathroom supplies during the entire stay, kitchen dishes, especially glassware, needed washed before we could use them. Loved having laundry, lots of space, full kitchen, backyard/courtyard, coffee house and restaurants, grocery store all within walking distance and private parking.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing staycation!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A perfect place to stay for a local and a tourist! Very quick jaunt or pedicab into the heart of the historic district. I look forward to many more stays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Cute Little Rental

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time. We were able to walk to River Street. We were next to Forsyth Park which had a farmers market Saturday morning. Everything was clean and the prices were reasonable. I would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Drayton Carriage House

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Uncomfortable for us. No hot water in bathroom. Heat wouldn't go up past 64 after running all day and night. Very loud traffic noise. Savannah is great but this carriage house needs work.

Owners response: Dear Taylor

It is unfortunate that you mention these points after leaving Savannah.
They were both quick fixes that could have been dealt with at the beginning of your stay!
The hot water tank is located at the opposite end of the building to the bathroom....all you had to do was let the water run for a minute.
It is such a shame you didn't tell us about the heating. The Carriage House is so cozy and warm and charming in chilly weather
We found that the gas pilot light had simply gone out in the heater. This can happen sometimes at the change of seasons when systems are used again for the first time. It takes but a minute to re-light it, if only you had mentioned it to us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice people

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Got a hug good by from the manager. The two miner issues I had were salved promptly. A lovely visit to a beautiful city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

COZY GETAWAY

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Staying at the Carriage House felt like we were part of Savanna history. The dark wood, comfy bed, fresh linens and every conceivable necessity added to its cozy charm. A coffee out in the zen courtyard is a nice way to start the day. Being right on the park kept us engaged in all the city's activities. A ten minute walk through the middle of this beautiful park takes you to the center of the historic district - a tiny bit of exercise to justify eating the delicious food you'll find there. Manderly was a gracious host and made herself available at all times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming place near Forthy park

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property is lovely, best suited for two people, but could accommodate 3. Has full kitchen, and off it very nice little garden. Would be nice for those who like older architecture and unconventional layout (kitchen and shower location are through the bedroom). Perfect if you like to jog or walk in the morning in the park. Overall good hosts and nice place

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this place

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved every second of our stay here. It was a great location. Appreciate that there's private parking off the street. We'd recommend this to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carriage House

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This property was perfect for 2 adults. Great location across from Forsyth Park.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, clean Savannah Apartment right across ...

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great, clean Savannah Apartment right across from Forsyth Park

My husband and I just stayed here last weekend and we loved it. Its in a really good location, we thought it might be a little far out, but then we realized that as you get closer to downtown, it gets louder. The apartment is perfect for a couple. You enter into the family room with a bathroom in the corner, then you have to walk through the bedroom to get to the kitchen, so for a couple, this layout is great. It was very clean, the reviews are true for the couch- not comfy at all but we werent on it that much anyways. There is a bit of light that pours into the bedroom, but its a soft light. The grocery store is right around the corner and you really have all you would need in this apartment. We would definitely stay here again!
Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Honeymoon at The Carriage House

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really love our stay, and tried to stay longer but the house was booked! We will vacation here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet home Georgia

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a wonderful, restful and beautiful vacation trip that was made even more perfect by the Carriage House. To be able to stay in the historic area and so close the the incredibly beautiful Forsyth Park...there are no words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mixed Review

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My reviews of this property are mixed. Savannah Dream Vacations/Manderly was easy to work with during the stay. The location is excellent if you want to be close to Forsyth Park. The patio area is beautiful.

As I said, my reviews are mixed as there were several things that bothered me about this rental: (1) The couch is terrible. It is almost unbearable to sit on while watching tv. I actually left a day early because it was predicted to rain and we did not want to be stuck in the house. (2) The floors need a good cleaning. My white socks were black by the end of my stay. (3) Since the location is near Forsyth Park, you hear everything from conversations of passerbys to noises from the cars. This is important to note if you have a pet who gets startled or annoyed by noises. (4) The light from the neighbors house shines directly into the bedroom which illuminates the room while dark.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great location, lovley Home

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

What a charming cottage. Loved the location, right in the middle of the historic district. Home was super clean and owners very friendly, especially Manderly. Walked to Paula Deen`s and Paula was there !!!! Will never forget meeting her.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Location, super clean

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

Loved the Home, very conveniently located in the middle of the historic district. House was very clean, owners are really friendly. Walked to Paula Deen`s and she was there !!!!! Will never forget meeting her.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romance is in the air

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Spent our 10 anniversary in this romantic cottage. We loved it. It was full moon and we could see the moon thru the skylight while laying in bed. It was wonderful The garden feels like a enchanted forest . Owners are very friendly and helpful.

Owners response: Hi Claudia

Glad you enjoyed the Carriage House. It`s one of the most romantic vacation rentals in Savannah.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic Gem

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

we spent our 25th wedding Anniversary in this romantic Cottage. We LOVED the garden. Even so the cottage is in the middle of the downtown it feels like you`re in a jungle. We`ll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

romantic hideaway

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

we spent our 25th wedding anniversary in this romantic cottage. It`s right in the middle of the historic district, but when you sit in the garden you can feel like you`re in the middle of a jungle. We loved it, so glad we found this.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful cottage, great location

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

loved every minute in this wonderful cottage. location is awesome in the middle of the historic district and right on the park. we walked everywhere. sentient bean is a must if you like coffee and brighter day has some of the most delicous home baked goods. hopefully we`ll be back someday. thank you manderly for making our stay special !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most unique Home we ever stayed in

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We travel all over the world and stayed in many Hotels and Inns, but lately we started staying in vacation rentals. They`re just nicer than and offer a lot more space. This was the most unique and charming Home we have stayed to date. The Home has skylights and built in window seats !! My husband loved sitting there and reading the newspaper, while keeping an eye on the activities in the park across the road. The park was wonderful, we walked around it every morning, it reminded us of Central park back home. Stop by at Sentien bean coffee shop for their wonderful coffees from all over the world . The vibe there was great. We felt like locals. We will be back and next time we`ll stay for a week to explore it all. Thank you Manderly for being such a great hostess.

Roslyn & Ted

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most unique Home we ver stayed in

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We travel all over the world and stayed in many Hotels and Inns, but lately we started staying in vacation rentals. They`re just nicer than and offer a lot more space. This was the most unique and charming Home we have stayed to date. The Home has skylights and built in window seats !! My husband loved sitting there and reading the newspaper, while keeping an eye on the activities in the park across the road. The park was wonderful, we walked around it every morning, it reminded us of Central park back home. Stop by at Sentien bean coffee shop for their wonderful coffees from all over the world . The vibe there was great. We felt like locals. We will be back and next time we`ll stay for a week to explore it all. Thank you Manderly for being such a great hostess.

Roslyn & Ted

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most unique Home we ever stayed in

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We travel all over the world and stayed in many Hotels and Inns, but lately we started staying in vacation rentals. They`re just nicer than and offer a lot more space. This was the most unique and charming Home we have stayed to date. The Home has skylights and built in window seats !! My husband loved sitting there and reading the newspaper, while keeping an eye on the activities in the park across the road. The park was wonderful, we walked around it every morning, it reminded us of Central park back home. Stop by at Sentien bean coffee shop for their wonderful coffees from all over the world . The vibe there was great. We felt like locals. We will be back and next time we`ll stay for a week to explore it all. Thank you Manderly for being such a great hostess.

Roslyn & Ted

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

It was great to arrive in Savannah after a long drive and settle into
the cozy Carriage House..... full of old world charm but with all the
modern amenities. Lovely!
Savannah didn't disappoint either! City Market and River Street were
fun to walk around. Don't miss Tybee Island...... the lighthouse, ice
cream on the pier etc. Also loved doing the walk you suggested on your
website.... a walk back in time! Fascinating. Hope to be back someday.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved the Carriage House.

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

What a cozy place this is, and right next to the park!
We have really enjoyed staying here and love walking around the park
and Historic Squares.
Savannah is beautiful and unique. Loved having coffee and croissants
every morning across the road.
Also City Market and River Street.... lots of goodies to eat and buy!
We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

What a cozy place this is, and right next to the park!
We have really enjoyed staying here and love walking around the park
and Historic Squares.
Savannah is beautiful and unique. Loved having coffee and croissants
every morning across the road.
Also City Market and River Street.... lots of goodies to eat and buy!
We'll be back!

Miriam Snyder

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful and cozzy

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

You have a great place, location, location, location!!! Easy parking. Great for a 2 mile run every morning around the Park. Loved the TV with all the channels. Weather was good – cold and crisp, but sunny and clear! Sure beats the 30? of snow back in U.P. of Michigan! Great shopping, eating, drinking and fun!! Tom and Sue Scanlan, Copper Falls, Michigan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

This is the most lovely little carriage house and at a fabulous location right across the street from Forsythe Park. WE had a wonderful time at the cottage and in Savannah. We would highly recommend staying at Jeanne Marie's carriage house. Don't forget to eat key lime pie at Firefly Cafe, eat a Huey's on the River, and also make the short trek out to Sweet Peas for fabulous food! Would visit again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review