reviews for: listing #57315 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Beautiful, Spacious 3/3 Condo plus BEST location in Kona!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Surf and Racquet
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $199 /nt
    $3,780 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Family Fun

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Our family of five began our Hawaiian vacation here last week. We have two teenage boys and a pre-teen girl. The condo was in a great location for our active family. We did beach activities for two of the four days we were there and the equipment provided helped us make that time worry free. We were able to find great boogie boarding action about 30 minutes north and great snorkeling about 30 minutes south. Additional access to shopping at the top of the hill was very convenient.

The condo was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. When I booked this in November, I was a little worried about no a/c. My worries were unfounded. The design of the condo provides for plenty of air flow and the condo stayed very comfortable. The dealings with the owners was top notch and very timely. We would stay here again if we are fortunate enough to return to the big island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

McNultys

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

This was our 2nd year at this great place! We had a great time in Feb 2013 and just had to come back with family this year. There is so much to see and do on the big Island. We still have more to see, so we will be back again! Bob and Judy provide a lot of gear, so you do not have to come with much. Beach umbrellas, shoes and towels, snorkel equipment, boogie boards, coolers, and fishing gear is there at the condo. This condo is very well equipped. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need. The king size beds are very comfortable and everything in the condo is kept immaculate. The location is so accessible to beaches, shopping and highways to visit other parts of the island. We gathered a lot on the large Lanai. The pool area is nice and large also. The property is beautiful for sunset watching and very quiet; except for waking up to the birds; a piece of paradise for sure! It was hard to come home to Minnesota this year.
We will be back soon! Thank you Bob and Judy!
Terrie,Kevin and Ally McNulty; Davies and Patersons also!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent home away from home!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

Our family of 3 spent a blissful week at this beautiful unit. Very well stocked in every way, all conveniences of home were provided. Excellent and trouble free WIFI, in a quiet , gated and safe complex, great pool, this place has it all. The gracious owners were very quick to respond to my questions. It is within easy and safe walking distance of an excellent snorkeling bay to the north, and also near a supermarket and Longs Drugstore in the shopping center up the hill. Amazingly comfortable beds, and my husband and I are very picky! The unit was very clean and the beach chairs and snorkeling equipment saved us time and money. Enjoy your stay, this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best condo experience ever!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

The cleanliness and quality of this condo are accurately represented here, yet photos cannot do it justice any more than photos of a beach are as satisfying as being there. The seven of us--three grandparents, two parents, a teen and a preteen--never felt crowded together. Plenty of seating for meals and lounging, three bedrooms, three king beds with plenty of linens and a chair bed that was perfect for the grandson kept us comfortable throughout. A large washer and dryer in one of the three bathrooms made it easy to keep clothing fresh while traveling light. We spent a lot of time on the spacious lanai, especially early mornings and late evenings.

We especially enjoyed the use of snorkeling gear, boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas, the assortment of reef shoes and plenty of beach towels. We are an active bunch and used all those items plus the tennis rackets and ample supply of tennis balls, all stored for our use on the lanai. I think the only thing we didn't use was the fishing equipment. Maybe next time. We probably saved the equivalent of one night's condo rental on excess baggage fees, not having to bring all our own stuff. There was even a good quality hair dryer in each bathroom, music cd's, video tapes and dvd's and quite a number of books to read.

The kitchen was well equipped for serious cooking with quality implements and appliances and, again, we used most of them. With plenty of cookware and table service, running the large capacity dishwasher once daily easily handled what the seven of us used.

The owners were a pleasure to deal with and the resort staff were friendly and accommodating. We will make every effort to secure this condo on all future trips to the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wow! We could not have asked for a better place to stay! This a real gem.

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

King's Condo was really a wonderful place to stay on our first trip to Hawaii. The condo was easy to find, very comfortable, clean and the owner's were easy to contact and work with. The location was perfect, close to shopping, beaches, snorkeling, fishing and sight seeing. The listing is exactly what it says it is. I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anybody. No A/C was no problem, even on the third floor; there are plenty of ceiling fans. We had five adults and two children (16 and 12) and there was plenty of room. The beds were very inviting and comfortable. Many of the furnishings were new, everything was in good shape. The shoreline out front is rocky (lava), but one can easily walk south about two blocks to a great snorkeling beach. There are also close swimming beaches. If the ocean doesn't interest you, the swimming pool is very nice. I have NO negative things to say about this unit, the grounds or the owners, it was just great! if you find a better place I would be surprised, this was a great place if you wanted to do and see a wide variety of things.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Family reunion!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

It was beyond great! The condo is a 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit on the 3rd floor of the complex. Each bedroom had a California king bed and wonderful amenities.

We hosted our two sons, daughter-in-laws and Henry Pepper our 20 month old grandson.

Each of us raved about the condo, the extras, the furnishings, the small things, like maps, guides, reviews of local places. The lanai was perfect for sunsets, cocktails, relaxing.

Check out the closets on the lanai. Our grandson played with everything, both on the lanai and the beach. The sons and wives used the boards, as well as all of the coolers and beach towels for daily excursions around the island.

We could not be more pleased. It exceeded our expectations.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Love Kings Condo!!

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Our family has stayed at Kings Condo twice, and we will be back!

The location is awesome, not too busy or hectic, yet a short drive from so many beautiful sites and activities. The grounds of this private complex are wonderfully kept and include a beautiful pool and tennis courts. We loved our nightly ritual of a cocktail stroll to the picnic table on the water (or on the golf course) to watch the sunset.

The unit itself is unreal...beautifully furnished, decorated and equipped - there is nothing missing! Towels, tennis rackets, beach chairs, Hawaiian CDs, coolers, kitchen items...thank you! The garden lanai is another favorite spot; we ate most of our meals out there. The layout of 3 king bedrooms and 3 baths makes this unit great for 3 couples, a group of friends, or a family or extended family.

I will also say that Judy was great about answering questions and helping us make our arrangements in a timely manner. Thank you Judy!

You will not be disappointed with your stay at Kings Condo. The only downside is that it is getting more and more booked, so plan ahead...and ALOHA!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic in EVERY way!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

Kings Condo is amazing! It is beautifully furnished, amazingly stocked with a full kitchen and everything you'd need for the beach. It is immaculate and well taken care of. We had a great time on Big Island fishing, snorkeling, going to the beach and relaxing in a fantastic home. The pictures don't lie - in fact they don't do the condo justice.
The owners were easy to correspond with and offered lots of advice and tips for our stay. So nice!
I'd definitely put Kings Condo on the top of my list for a place to stay if we get the opportunity to return. For 6 people it is very affordable and worth it. We were all comfortable and slept well, perhaps out of exhaustion, but the beds were comfy! Loved the fact that we could sleep with the screen doors/windows wide open to let in the sweet, warm Hawaiian air and not be awoken by loud parties or ruckus outside.
The kitchen had everything we needed - even a rice cooker! Yay! Utensils for the BBQ, pans, pots, everything!
The property grounds are beautiful and well manicured. Even the complex manager was available to help me plan our drive around the island. Located within walking distance to a small shopping center, it was convenient to run up to Long's for random items. I miss Long's! So nice to still see the name in Hawaii!
This home is amazing and I can't imagine anyone being disappointed staying here. Loved it in EVERY way!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

paradise

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

what a wonderful condo, more like a home than just a place to stay! so well equipped it made our first days much easier without having to go out and purchase many items. the grounds were wonderful, close to so many acitivities and our Thanksgiving was more than awesome. Judy and Bob are such great hosts and were so helpful and courteous. definately want to come back next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kings Condo Paradise

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We have been to Kona numerous times but this is our first stay at Kings Condo and we loved it! Kings condo is spacious, beautifully furnished and decorated. The owners have thought of everything from the kitchen to the beach. We used the beach towels, mats, cooler, and even some snorkel gear for our beach excursions. Located on Alii drive, it's easy to find and is a convenient base for all west side activities. Comfy beds, super clean. The complex offers tennis, swimming and bbq area, which we used nearly every night. Breakfast on the lanai in the morning, cocktails on the lanai in the evening. Prompt communication with the owners, they are super easy to work with and provide a first class experience. Kings Condo is the best. Hana hou, we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be Back!!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Been to King's condo two years in a row now and simply love it. Each time for a longer stay. Great location, easy to find, everything you could possibly need is available and never at a loss for something to do. Your morning cup of coffee on the lanai overlooking the golf course is so relaxing you will not want to leave. The owners are "number one" and always ready to answer your questions. We will be back again!! MLP - Ontario Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven exists at Kings-Condo

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

My husband, I, and 6 other members of our family just spent over a week at Kings-Condo. What an absolutely beautiful property. We felt more like we were in a second home rather than in a rental. It is immaculate plus gorgeously furnished and decorated. The owners are fantastic about staying in touch and making sure all your t's are crossed and i's are dotted. And the community is amazing as well with manicured grounds, a fantastic pool, tennis courts, and a barbecue area that we used twice during our stay. It is located right on Ali'i Drive where you can catch a trolley that runs all the way into town a few miles away. A shopping center is a short walk away and includes a grocery store, drug store, and restaurants. You MUST experience the aloha spirit of Kings-Condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and well worth every penny!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This condo was beautiful and very nicely decorated. Everything that you might have forgotten at home she has provided. Perfect location to everything. At first when we walked in, we didn't expect to have no central air. But with the windows and slide door open, it was very comfortable. I would recommend this condo to anyone. And if you come back one day, we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great space, great location, excellent hosts!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

The Kona Surf and Racquet Club is a great place with a tranquil environment. Whether you plan on spending a lot of time in the condo itself or would like to come back to a nice relaxing environment after a busy day of sight-seeing, this is the place for it. We simply loved sitting in the outdoor balcony area for meals and the kitchen was fully equipped for us to prepare meals when we did not feel like eating out.

The rooms are large and spacious with ample light and for a couple the upstairs suite is great. The beds are also very comfortable. The location of the condo is great for hitting up the sights on the west side of the island with easy access to both highways 11 and 19.

I highly recommend this place! The owners were also great to deal with--very prompt in their replies and helpful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent, just as pictured, and AMAZING.

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

We found this condo on vacationrentals.com and booked it almost a year in advance. We stayed for two weeks and I can tell you that it was the most adventurous two weeks of our lives! We arrived to a beautifully decorated, spotless, well-equipped condo. We traveled with our three children and this condo could not have been more perfect. There are even fold up mattresses that we used for our 2 year-old so she could sleep on the floor next to us. There were an abundance of blankets, pillows, and other necessary linens. There are electric screens on the linai that helped keep the condo cool during the day. Fans in every room kept the air moving and cool, and there were also electric fans that you could use too.
There wasn't anything in the condo that we found lacking! There was always plenty of hot water (even with two boys who loved to just stand there), and plenty of towels. The condo is also equipped with beach bags, coolers, beach towels, and all sorts of beach fun equipment! We also loved using the beach umbrella to keep our daughter in the shade.
Judy is an amazingly friendly person to rent from and helped us find good kid-friendly beaches that were very close.
Also, we had to make several visits to Long's Drugs, which was conveniently located about 1/2 mile up the road, right next to a great Hawaiian BBQ place as well as a grocery store...and the Urgent Care (watch out for sea urchins!). This condo is not just well equipped, but located near everything! A short drive from the grocery, from the downtown Kona shops, from pretty much anything you need. Close enough, but far enough away to not hear noise at night. Perfect...wish we could go back tomorrow! Thank you, Judy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Felt like staying at home, and central to everything we needed

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Our stay at this condo in Keauhou exceeded all of our expectations. Beyond the fact that it has tennis courts and the beach is steps away, we frequently relied on the grocery stores in the mall just 1/2 mile up Alii Drive, and the other owners who live in this development were very welcoming and offered all kinds of hints and tips to us during our whole stay. All of the conveniences we wanted were a walk or short drive - Kona/Kailua where there were restaurants, large dept stores, and more than enough beach gear and souvenirs shops - easy access to the belt highway which we used quite a bit to get to various beaches and the volcano. The condo itself was clean and made us feel at home, which was important because we had small children. The Japanese styling was a nice touch as it reflects the true spirit of the Islands which has a lot of Asian influence. The 3 full bathrooms was a very nice benefit as well, as you need to take a lot of showers when you're always at the beach and swimming pool and tennis court! We also found the washer/drier handy to keep our swimwear and towels ready to go the next day, and there were a lot of handy gear at our fingertips - snorkel gear, water shoes, boogie boards, towels, coolers and beach chairs, flashlights for the evenings, even vinegar! Nearby attractions that we enjoyed were a free Friday night hula show at the mall (you can walk there); the Firenesia luau is just a couple of minutes by car, Kahaluu Beach Park is 1/2 mile away which we went to 4 times since the snorkelling is incredible there, coffee plantations are close, Kealakekua and the Place of Refuge are a short drive to the south, with all the typical tourist trap offerings to the north. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay on the Big Island for a week or more, but especially to families who can just chill out after a long day at the beach or sightseeing. Our Big Island experience was so special we are planning to return at our earliest chance and we'll book this condo once again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nicely appointed

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

We really enjoyed spending time in this condo. We were in the heart of everything on the big island and felt the condo was reasonably priced and nicely appointed. The bed was comfy and the geckos friendly.
As long as the fans were on and the sliding doors open air circulated fine. If we ever make it back to the Big Island, we would consider staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review