reviews for: listing #57334 - North Topsail Beach, North Carolina House rental

12 Bdrm Oceanfrt. Priv bch. Nov/Dec avail- good bch time. FP
  • bedrooms  12
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  11½
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  30
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $718 - $2,198 /nt
    $3,590 - $12,990 /wk

sort by:

Especially nice large house for big group

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We have rented adjoining houses 5 times previously just north of Surf city for our extended family group, consisting of 7 married couples and older children ( currently most of the kids are in their 20s!). We loved this duplex because we had plenty of room to spread out with all the bedrooms - everyone had their own bed and every couple had their own bedroom with a private bath. Being a duplex, the convenience of easily getting to the other side was a big plus- much easier than traveling from 2 adjacent houses. Moving from one duplex to the other was possible on the 1st floor ( bedroom floor) at the foyer and also on the 2nd floor ( main living area/kitchen) through a doorway on ocean deck. The walls were well insulated not only between the duplexes, but within each one, making sleeping great. We were very pleased to find that the beds were all made up when we arrived. Previous houses required that we sort the linens and make our own beds. The kitchens were well thought out and well appointed. Almost any tool or pan necessary to cook with was available. We usually have gone out to dinner on previous visits to the island. Cooking was so pleasant and easy, we had dinner at the house every night. The owners provided all that they promised and the house was in very good condition - clean and well maintained. The owners were easy to contact and they spent time carefully explaining details. The views were amazing from the decks. Since the house is north of the north bridge, the beaches were not at all crowded and during the weekdays, we almost had the beach to ourselves. As an aside, there is good shopping just over the north bridge - you don't have to fight the drawbridge traffic on the south side of the island!

This was our first time renting a home from a HomeAway listing. We were nervous at first, but this was a good experience. We plan on coming back to this rental in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pictures don't do this House Justice...

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We were looking for a house with 6 bedrooms for friends/family to come to for a week of fun. After a LOT of research, we decided on the Sunrise side of this property. Upon initial contact with Paulette, she was wonderful to work with. She was prompt and organized with the details and the information that she forwarded to us. After initially planning the trip for a total of 15 guests at the house, Jack and I decided it would be the perfect time to get married. I immediately called and spoke with Paulette about this. She approved the use of the house for the wedding. Paulette responded to each email/phone call/question promptly and we had all documentation in the time frame that she stated to us. We only live 1 1/2 hours away from Topsail and I wanted to look at the house, before-hand, and Paulette and Jim were kind enough to give me a tour on a weekend when they were visiting. On April 11 we finally arrived at the house. When Jack walked into the house, his exact words were, "The pictures on the web don't do this house justice!" and he was REALLY right!! This house has EVERY thing you could ever want! It was like being at home, except BETTER!! The best thing was that linens were included for all 6 bedrooms! Then there is the VIEW of the ocean from the main floor!! It is truly breathtaking!! The kitchen is designed for entertaining, but homey enough to just pad around to whip something up for the family! These owners go the extra mile to make their property special for those staying in it. Each bedroom is roomy, beautifully decorated and makes you want to snuggle down and sleep a little longer. The living room/dining room is cozy with that panoramic view of the Atlantic, with access to decks and walkway to the beach. The "penthouse" bedroom has it's own private deck, with a view of the ocean and the ICW. Two of the bedrooms have private decks with ocean/ICW views also. The last two have access to the lower deck and walkway to the beach. Our beach wedding and reception at this house was PERFECT! Paulette sent out pre-arrival information with interesting things to do in the area, as well as restaraunts. These owners really care about their property AND their guests! I would (and WILL) recommend this house to friends who are looking for a place in N. Topsail. And we will look to return to celebrate our anniversary! Thank you Paulette and Jim for sharing your beautiful home with us! Our wedding was outstanding because it was held in this spectacular house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend In Topsail NC

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Dear Paulette,

I want to take a few minutes to tell you about our experience at your beach house last weekend. The house is very beautiful and the view is absolutely outstanding. My daughter actually commented several times that she felt we had our own private beach....and we did. The rooms were quite spacious and we took advantage of everything in the house. It was specially wonderful to have everyone sit at the same table for dinner at night. And it was equally wonderful to wake up to fresh coffee and be able to enjoy it sitting in the deck out-looking the ocean in the morning.

But the real value of spending the weekend in your place went much further than your home: I met my partner Kristina in January of this year. Without question, she is the love of my life. The real value was the gathering of two families and our kids being able to meet each other. As I mentioned to you prior to our stay, our kids are all in their 20s. Before we left the house Sunday morning, each one of them was exchanging contact information with the other. To tell you that they all got along extremely well with each other is a huge understatement. It was as if they knew each other all their lives. It was absolutely wonderful.

I had a goal and purpose for renting your house and you provided the perfect setting for the beginning of a new family.

On behalf of Kristina and myself, thank you very, very much!

With kind regards,

Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chums Retreat

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

Our social group met at this fabulous home for a three day retreat to celebrate, bond, and do a bit of planning for our upcoming year. From our arrival Thursday until our departure on Sunday, our entire stay absolutely exceeded our expectations. I was worried if we would be able to meet at all as everyone was excited there was so much we could do. From walking the beach, fishing, tennis, jumping rope, we could do as little or as much as we wanted. We rented both sides of the home, and designated one as our eating/social side and the other as our meeting/quieter/movie side. This worked out perfectly as it allowed all 19 members to indulge in whatever fancied them at the time.
The home is absolutely beautiful, well-stocked and everyone was pleased with their rooms and views. We had a number of meal functions that we enjoyed, but our most special was the final night when the men sequestered us to the meeting side so they could prepare a very special dinner for all the ladies....ahhhhh.
When we heard the husbands say they wanted to return, we knew we picked the perfect place to do all we wanted and would leave with special memories.
The home is perfect for couples/friends, social groups, families, in short anyone wanting to have a tremendous experience..and I will say at an extremely reasonable cost.
It was the BEST--- We are already planning 2013!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Week Ever

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had our family reunion this past week at this wonderful beach home. We rented both sides of the house and used every square inch of it. We had 20 adults and 10 children 5 and under and it worked out wonderful. The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed a full week of great weather. If you need a place this large this is the place to be. There was wonderful space in the common areas and the bedrooms and baths were just right. All the decor is lovely and it made for a relaxing fun filled week. The listing is spot on. We found the location easy to get to with good shopping nearby for food and trinkets. We also went to the turtle hospital and enjoyed that as well. Working with the owner was great and they were very helpful, attentive, and accomodating. I would recommend this home to anyone and would eagerly return. The beach access was the best possible and we enjoyed fishing, wading, shelling, boogie boarding, suntanning and watching the porpoises swim past. I don't believe it could get any better. We never ate out as no one really wanted to leave. We prepared all our meals in the wonderfully stocked kitchen. Plenty of space to prepare big meals and spread out and enjoy them together. I wouldn't be able to complain about a thing so don't hesitate to book this wonderful beach house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our beach house. Yes, it is fun to watch the porpoises playing in the back yard, as they put on a pretty good show. Come back for another visit in the near future. Paulette

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pop's 90th celebration

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Paulette,
WOW!!! The entire family (28 of us stayed at the house) all said the same thing: I couldn't have picked a better location or house for our family reunion to celebrate my father's 90th birthday. Your house is beautifully decorated with the most wonderful 360 view. And the kitchen and living area was just perfect for entertaining. Other cousins who came on Saturday to wish Dad a happy birthday agreed. We had a great long weekend and much of that was due to your great vacation home with plenty of room. Thank you so much!! We hope we can come back another time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such complimentary words about your fathers 90th birthday celebration at our beach house. We were happy and honored you would select our place for such a memorable family reunion.

Hope to see you become one of our many repeat guests.

Paulette

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paulette,I can’t tell you how wonderful your home

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

It was so accommodating, warm and homey. The pictures on the website just doesn’t do it justice.

It is easy to see that this house was built with love and thoughtfulness. The kitchen was well used this weekend as we cooked lots of Cajun food.

I loved all of the upgraded appliances and can’t just say enough about the granite bar and countertops.

We made amazing memories there this weekend. Thank you for making this sad time a little easier with a home that felt like “home”.We hope to be able to rent again when my son returns from Afghanistan.

God Bless and Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a truly wonderful house.

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

5 out of 5

Suzanne Sullivan Pinehurst, NC

Review Submitted: June 22, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009

Some of the things I loved: beautiful solidly built house and very quiet inside, plenty of hot water, fabulous gas grill near kitchen, comfortable beds, large functional kitchen, outdoor hot/cold shower right outside of bedrooms, dumb waiter, views, oceanfront, location near park with basketball hoops, volleyball, play area for children, etc., etc.

There were many luxury touches in the house.

I can't thank Paulette enough for her help in making this week a truly memorable one. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family of 10 had one of the best weeks of our

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

When we walked into your beautiful family room, WOW, our breath was taken away by the beautiful view of the ocean and sky. Specatular!

Paulette and Jim, seeing your BEAUTIFUL HOME on the internet and seeing it for ourselves was EVERY THING WE WANTED IT TO BE AND MORE!

Being able to have the beach right outside your door how great is that. We enjoyed the sand, surf, and sun and shells. The outside shower was great. We all enjoyed it.

We cooked in every night and everyone took turns. We just didn't want to leave your wonderful kitchen....

Paulette you have accomplished creating awonderful atmostphere for so many families and friends to enjoy your very comfortable home.

OUR FAMILY HAD AN AWESOME TIME TOGETHER...Thank you Paulette, Jim and Paulee!!!! Joyce and Ed and Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family & Friend Get Together

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Kevlar Dayton, OH


Review Submitted: August 3, 2008 Date of Stay: March 2008


We had a great time, even with the sometimes cool, windy and rainy April weather.

There always seemed to be enough time each day to play on the beach, and for the adults to exercise by running and kayaking . Everyone enjoyed spending the rainy time in the Great Room of the house playing board games and relaxing by the fireplace.

The kids loved the bunk bed room and spent hours playing in there when it was raining.

Also, our house guests thought your home decorating skills were outstanding. The picture in the downstairs hallway was a favorite.

Thanks again, we had a wonderful time. My son took pictures of the beach and the house to his class for show-and-tell.


Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can We Come Back PLEASE!!!!!??!?!?!?!?

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Antoinette Fairfield, Ct, USA

Review Submitted: June 30, 2010 Date of Stay: April 2010

This house is GORGEOUS. We were so pleasantly surprised at how clean and well kept the house and all of the supplies were.

Each bedroom was beautifully decorated in a unique fashion. The kitchen was amazing. The living room was unbelievable. We visited local restaurants and local stores, we went sight seeing and fishing off the pier, AND YET after all of those things, all we really wanted to do was get back to the beach house.

The views of the ocean and beach are so satisfying that we found ourselves enjoying "staying home" more than "going out". WE ALL LOVED IT SO MUCH!!


Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfection!!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Jill and Doug Michigan

Review Submitted: September 11, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010


What a FABULOUS week in your beautiful home. Everything....the kitchen (that included everything we needed) the bedrooms, the comfort of the beds, the views, the sunrises and sunsets, the beach...we couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a perfect spot for our family get together.

It was an easy drive to both the airport and Camp LeJeune to pick up our sons. Even Hurricane Earl didn't spoil a thing!

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us-I hope we have the chance to go back again.

If we could rate it 6 stars we would!

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Beach Vacation Ever

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Review Submitted: October 30, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2010


Having never rented a home before for vacationing I wasn't sure what to expect. Well the house was more amazing than we could ever imagine. We stayed on the Sunrise side.

It was so cozy, warm, inviting, and the views so spectacular that we only left the house once to eat out and get supplies. (Plan on cooking in so you won't have to leave. The kitchen is fantastic and well equipped.)

While we were out our 3.5 year old said,'When are we going back to our house on the beach? I like our house.'

Our entire family had such a wonderful restful time, from the 70+ member to the 9month old and all ages in between.

The beach location was awesome. It was clean, and nice and quiet. We got to watch the dolphins from the main balcony as our 3.5 year old squealed in complete and utter delight.

Really, I can't say enough about the house, it's layout, the thoughtful touches, beautiful decor, warm atmosphere, and location location location. We hope to be back next year or sooner.


Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish everyday was as perfect as a day spent here!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Maureen Garrettsville, OH USA

Review Submitted: December 1, 2010 Date of Stay: November 2010


This was a spectular vacation on the beach. A truly wonderful way to spend Thanksgiving. The view from the Sunrise Greatroom and main balcony is always enchanting as the ocean reflects the sun, the moon and stars, the changing tides, weather changes, etc. Fabulous accommadations: Beautiful and wellkept rooms. Luxury beds and bedding. Spacious baths. Views from every window. The calming sounds of ocean waves breaking on the shore. Fully-equiped kitchen for cooking w/bar stools for visiting as we cooked. Grilling on the deck is easy. Comfortable furniture. Wonderful fireplace as the weather cooled at night in Nov. It warms the whole living space. We were a small party but I can't wait to come again with other friends. Plenty of room and deck areas for a full house.
We enjoyed walking/running on the beach. Picking up shells and sea glass. The men fished right at ocean's edge. We walked to the pier. The neighbor's flew kites. We watched dolphins and seagulls playing. Fishing boats putting out nets. I made sure to rise early to see the most fantastic sunrises. Coffee in hand, camera by my side it became a favorite part of my day. I sat until I could see the dolphins each morning.
We came to see a couple at Camp Leguene before he ships out to Afghanistan. We were very close to the base. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Officer's Club, but returned to Sunrise to cook a mini-dinner for leftovers the next day. We dined at Surf City, best southern seafood we've had anywhere. We did a little after-Thanksgiving shopping in nearby areas (but I wanted to be back at the beach after an hour!!!)
We definitely will try to book a time to return next year. The owner was easy to work with. They promptly returned phone calls. Although we did have to call during our stay. Everything was perfect. Thanks for a relaxing get-away after a hectic year.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The McGrath's home in North Topsail is the ideal place for a large family to vacation. We rented both the Sunrise and Sunset sides of the duplex, and we were very happy with the way everything worked out. The deck on the second floor has a door that opens between the two sides, so we were able to go back and forth and all hang out together with no problem.
The house itself is gorgeous. Everything was clean and well-kept. The photos on the website are very accurate ( if anything, the reality is even better than the pictures), and we had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. The ocean, of course, is the main attraction, and you get a panoramic view from every floor. The private beach at the house was perfect, and obviously, we spent lots of time on it! The ocean was great for all ages - pretty warm water and waves that were fun, but didn't smash you into the ground. Our group ranged from 11 months to 70 years old, and we all loved going into the surf.
Paulette and Jim were in contact with us before and during our stay, and sent helpful information about things to do in the area. We were able to call them if we had any questions, and they either answered the phone directly or got back to us very soon.
This was our third family vacation - and the Sunrise/Sunset duplex was by far our favorite home. Thanks Paulette and Jim - we'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunrise -- Sunset

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We have our family reunions every 3-4 years. For our 2009 reunion, we decided on a beach vacation. We were lucky enough to get both sides [Sunrise and Sunset] of this beautiful beach home. We wanted to focus on getting re-acquainted with each other rather than the go-go-go of previous family reunions. This beach house was a perfect way to accomplish this goal. While there was enough activity via side-trips to the Crystal Coast, Wilmington, Jacksonville & Myrtle Beach to satisfy some ‘tourist-y’ excursions, it was nice that the house was located on a quiet beach. It was like having a private beach due to the way the other houses in the area are either far away or set back so not to obstruct the view. What a beautiful place for strolling the beach, building sand castles, constructing a ‘homemade’ kiddies’ pool in the sand under a large colorful beach umbrella & even ocean kayaking for one member of the family.

We were a little concerned that it was a duplex rather than one large home; however, we quickly got used to getting about the two places. It even became a benefit that there were two sides as the Sunset side unofficially became our ‘quiet side’ used by family members who wanted to ‘escape’ to a place where they could have some quiet reading, working or computer time … away from the hustle-bustle of the Sunrise side where family games/conversations were held, meals prepared, babies played & was frequently filled with insane laughter! On one night, each side had a different DVD movie showing so each family member could choose a ‘theatre’ to attend.

The views from the house are wonderful. The decks off the main living spaces are interconnected by a large gate that we kept open as one of two ways to move back-n-forth between the two sides. 10 of the 12 bedrooms have their own balcony/deck. I was able to quickly/quietly go to our balcony off the 3rd floor Sunrise Queen Suite to enjoy the sunrise each morning. There is nothing as beautiful as a sunrise at the beach! A sunrise brings the excitement of a new beginning while a sunset brings on a reflection of days past … both beautiful in their own way. And, a family reunion is a time for looking to the future with the new generation and for remembering the past. How appropriate that our reunion site was the Sunrise/Sunset home!

All in all, this beautiful beach home is a place that our family would be very willing to consider as a family reunion location when we are ready to plan our next one.

Owners response: Thank you Marsha for your kind words about our beautiful beach house. It was designed with family reunions like yours in mind. We are happy to hear that yours was such a success. We look forward to your return.
Jim and Paulette

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: August 28, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

This is a great house for large family vacations. We and our four children and their children do a beach vacation every year. Our week together is always special, but this year it was outstanding. I know Jim and Paulette didn't have anything to do with the great weather or the dolphin pod right in front of the house, but they had everything to with what went on in the house. The outside showers and hoses were great - the kids and we used them religiously, and it made 'our house' such a snap to keep clean and comfortable. I also loved the kitchen and gas grill for meal preparation and the dining area and decks for eating. (The kids loved eating outside). It was also wonderful that there was plenty of room for everybody - adults and children. We never felt cramped.

We were met by the property manager who showed us all the nooks and crannies and wonderful features and who was on call if we needed him. (We didn't: the house is in excellent condition, and it was sparkling clean). A really personal touch was Jim's calling us twice to make sure we had everything we needed. It is obvious that Jim and Paulette take reat pride in their home and want everything to be perfect for those who rent it.

The boogie boarding was fantastic, and there is a public boat ramp less than a mile away where we put in the boat and took the kids tubing and fishing. There is a park with playground equipment and tennis courts with a short walk from the house. There was also a gazebo there where the younger children caught and released loads of little fish.

Sunrise to sunset - this is a great home for beach people.

We plan on coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Anne

Thank you so much for your kind words.

It is nice to know that our efforts to make the house a memorable place to stay have been met.

We look forward to having you and your family as one of our repeat guests in 2009 and the years to come.

Jim and Paulette

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

What a beautiful location and home in North Topsail! Step out onto the many available porches and admire the ocean waves, clean sand, quiet beach and sunrise on your next vacation. This home was very well maintained and we will definitely be back.

Those looking for a relaxing beach vacation need look no further. In the morning, watch the dolphins and admire the sunrise. Swim in the clean and warm ocean water. Relax in the sand.

Great place for fishermen. We caught keeper shrimp, fluke, oysters, clams, black fish and even an octopus and never set foot on a boat.

Wilmington is a short 1hour drive away for a historic or Hollywood back lot tour. "One Tree Hill" is currently filmed there and Chad Michael M-----, the actor, dined at the same restaurant we did. Luckily we were also able to get pictures with him.

Owners and staff were terrific- very helpful and conscientious about caring for the property without being intrusive.

Love it, love it, love it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review