reviews for: listing #57399 - San Diego, California Condo rental

Imperial Beach Chic-OnThe Sand-3 Bdrm Oceanfront Pool Condo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Imperial Beach Club
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,650 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,500 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Relaxing Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Location, Location, Location! Thank you for sharing your Beach Front location with us Nancy!
Our family was so lucky to have stayed over the 4th of July holiday-we had the BEST seats by far & the convenience of not leaving the private patio was such a HUGE bonus! We really enjoyed walking EVERYWHERE-we never got in the car ALL week :)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Gina,
I was so glad that the City started doing fireworks off the pier again for your July 4th week stay. My patio is by far the best place I have ever experienced fireworks. I'm glad that your family got to share in it.
Beach Blessings.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hope to be back someday

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

This was one of the best vacations we have had as a family. The condo had everything we needed to cook meals some nights if we wanted. We also had breakfast in the morning on the patio area to watch the waves and hear the beautiful ocean. My kids loved the sand toys and the boogie boards. Thanks for providing these Nancy. The condo is not far from Coronado where we had dinner one night. We went to the San Diego Zoo and the USS Midway while we were there which was not a far drive either. We took advantage of the pool many days after the beach. Nancy even called us because there had been an issue w the microwave and before we knew it there was a new one there for us to use. This condo has a great location to the pier and view. I would for sure be back in a heartbeat and recommend this condo to my friends and family. Thank you Nancy for sharing your condo with us and hope to be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Dear Heather,
I'm so glad that your precious family vacation was everything you hoped it would be!
Beach Blessings,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

We met our daughter and her family for a weeks vacation. Accommodations were excellent and the owner extremely helpful in getting us settled in. Our grandsons had a wonderful time on the beach and in the pool. The condo is close to all San Diego tourist spots so getting around was very easy. Our 8 year old grandson summed up his vacation by saying this was the best one ever.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review!
I'm so glad your Grandson Loved It!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family winter holidays

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We - the family of 5 including two kids and Grand Mather - have stayed in the Condo for a couple of days during our US holidays. The place is perfect. Everything was prepared as agreed. We enjoyed the time and the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything promised - and more!

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We rented this lovely condo right on the beach for a week. We had a great time! It was beautifully maintained and was 100% of what was promised. The owner (Nancy) was awesome all the way through the rental process. I would definitely recommend this condo to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway location

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying five nights and it is exactly like described in the add. Condo was very clean and well maintained. The location is great. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and relax. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone. Awesome value for your money!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for spending your holiday at my beach home! I'm so glad you had a great time.
Beach Blessings,
Nancy
????????

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All our Expectations Exceeded

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

I cannot express adequately in words the peace and serenity I experienced sitting on the beach-level patio in the morning, listening to the rhythmic pounding surf, gazing toward the I.B. pier with pelicans and seagulls flying over head, and surfers in the water catching wave after wave in the foreground. I felt like I had found a piece of heaven knowing that all these elements have been here long before I was born and will continue to be there long after I am gone. Yes, the ocean, the warm off-shore breeze, the pelicans, even the surfers will always be there. I cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can't wait to have you return. It warms my heart to hear that my guests have had such a wonderful time here. Beach Blessings!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Talk about Location - Location - Location!!!!"

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This condo is the Perfect!!! spot on the beach, not to mention the amazing view from the private balcony. We had a few minor technical issues upon check-in but the owner (Nancy) was very accommodating. The unit could use a little updating. Overall our stay in Imperial Beach was FANTASTIC!!! Walking distance to restaurants, corner market, beach shop, the pier and a nice family park for the kids is right next door. My entire family fully enjoyed themselves. We have already recommended this property to family and friends. We truly look forward to returning for another relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: This guest was very helpful when she called to report an outlet not working properly behind the bed. Her family helped her move the bed to plug the power strip into another outlet. The ocean air does takes its toll right there on the beach. A misplaced TV remote caused a TV to have a picture of just "snow" and she figured out the issue and put the remote back in it's place.
I truly appreciate guests who let me know when things aren't working properly so that I can get someone out to fix an issue quickly.
***** I have updated the TVs to 32" flat screens and Sony Blu Ray players in the front room and master bedroom. I put the old 20" TV in the second bedroom with the VCR/DVD player. I also bought new mattresses for all the beds in Oct. 2013. *******

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little slice of heaven

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

I could happily live on Nancy's patio. What a delight to wake up and take my coffee outside, breath the fresh sea air and watch the waves crash. The patio is spacious, private, and absolutely sublime. Imperial Beach is everything one could hope for -- remarkably clean, great for walking, jogging, and swimming. Tijuana Estuary is just blocks away, which offers an amazing set of trails through a beautiful bird sanctuary. The town pedestrian friendly, so there was no need to drive. There is a great farmers' market on Friday, which offered the best fish tacos we've ever had.

Thanks, Nancy, for the opportunity to experience this lovely area in your charming condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Experience!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My husband and I took our 4 young adult daughters on a surprise family vacation, a time designed for bonding together and celebration of one daughter's soon departure for her enlistment in the US Navy. Our time at "Serenity by the Sea" was all we had hoped for and more!
Every day began with a walk on the beautiful beach. We alternated our days between soaking up the sun on the private patio or the beach and heading out for adventures including bike riding on Coronado Island, a trip to the USS Midway and a relaxed walk through the rose gardens and the art enclave at Balboa Park. Each evening we walked together again along the beach, taking in the magnificent sunsets over the water.
We found the condo well equipped to meet all of our needs. The view of the beach and the ocean was amazing! We found the locals and fellow beach go-ers to be friendly and very family oriented. A large supermarket (Vons) was just a short drive away for us to load up on the staple items. Local cafes and restaurants were just a short walk away.
Be sure to check out "Groupons" for many deals on activities and adventures nearby.
Thank you Nancy for opening up your lovely vacation home to us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo with Amazing Ocean View

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Our family booked this beautiful condo for a special family vacation. This condo has everything a family needs and more. It is equipped with all of the amenities of your home and is located in the best location of the complex with the most amazing views of the beach, the pier, and if you are as lucky as we were, a school of dolphins frolicking in the ocean.
It was so nice to be able to wake up in the morning and walk out onto the deck and to see the ocean and hear the waves beating against the shore. We went to bed each night hearing the ocean as well.
You have the option of swimming in the ocean, or in the swimming pool in the complex, or you can spend time in the hot tub that is located near the pool.
The Imperial Beach area has a lot to offer and was to our pleasant surprise a very dog friendly area. (Though we did not take our dog with us.) It was just nice to see so many people walking so many dogs.
If we take another trip to the San Diego area, we would definitely stay in this condo again. I would recommend it to anyone.
The owner was great to work with and was kind enough to call to check on us after we arrived to make sure we we had found everything in the condo and we didn't need anything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when families celebrate special events at my beach home away from home. The guest books there are full of stories about engagements, baby's first steps on the sand, the first kite flown as a family, graduations and even memorial healing trips to celebrate a loved ones passing. One story I loved was from a darling woman who took her Mother who suffers from dementia. The Mother imagined herself on a beach from her youth and loved sitting on my patio, watching the waves roll in, remembering happy times.
Thank you all for the kind words about your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Choice

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We must of looked at literally 100 different places on line to stay at for our week of vacation. We found a lot of places that looked tempting but you never really know until you actually get to a rental. That's where reviews really come in handy. Because even pictures can be taken at certain angles or exaggerated, but a review from a previous renter is sincere and informative.
That is exactly what pushed us to pick this unit, nothing but great reviews. After staying in Nancy's beach dream for a week, I can tell you that the reviews stood up to our expectations! We can agree on everything that all of the reviews have mentioned. The beach unit is literally right on the beach! Nancy was wonderful and has everything that you could possibly need. We visited Sea World and parts of San Diego and it was quick and easy to get to and from. Nancy has this giant patio that is perfect for watching sun rises, sun sets, surfers, or just enjoying the awe of the ocean. There are tons of pizza places around the area. There is one in particular that looks very nice. You can't miss it. Go in and get the cheese bread!! Without a doubt we will rent this condo again. Put this place on your list! You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It warms my heart to hear that my home is treasured by so many.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Property was just as described. We loved being right on the beach and there is a park next door. The owner was great to work with. Very friendly and wanted to make sure everything was great for us. It was great to have on site parking for 2 cars.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

This was the first time we have booked a vacation rental property as opposed to staying in a hotel, and the experience could not have been better. Nancy was fantastic throughout the process, and really strove to ensure our stay was a perfect one. The condo itself was right on the beach, with unbelievable views, and the accommodations were more than we could ask for. Probably the best endorsement that we could provide would be the fact that we will definitely stay here again on our next extended trip to San Diego!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Clark was such a delight to deal with! If any owners get a rental request from him rest assures he is a great guest and he made the communication process entertaining.
Beach Blessings,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Trip to San Diego area

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Serenity. We had a great time there. The kids played on the beach, and it was easy to get to San Diego. We found it very comfortable to have the space, fully equipped kitchen and a house (towels, cleaning supply, condiments, anything you can think of).

Many thanks to Nancy for renting out a great condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sisters Trip to Serenity by the Sea

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

we took a sisters trip with my 5 sisters and my mother to this beautiful condo on the ocean. It was perfect! We absolutely loved the view and the big patio where we would lounge in the sun and watch the waves. The complimentary boogie boards and beach chairs were an added plus as we loved playing in the ocean and o the beach. We are addicted - we can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Girl Power!! Thanks for the review. This really is perfect for a girls getaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sisters Trip at Serenity by the Sea

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

We took a Sisters Trip with my 5 sisters and my mother to this beautiful condo on the ocean. It was perfect! The view was outstanding and the large patio a favorite place to relax and list to the ocean waves. Boogie boards and beach chairs were an added plus as we played on the beach together. We loved our stay - we are addicted and can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My family enjoys beach vacations, so I'm always looking for the perfect rental to make everyone's dream a reality. We have rented condos along all three US coast lines and I believe Nancy has her rental stocked with the most items to make your family feel right at home. I was pleasantly surprised with the unit and the owners touch when she called soon after we arrived, to make sure we knew where everything was. There was an abundant supply of towels, pillows, cooking supplies for a family of six. The outdoor patio with dining and lounge chairs kept everyone enjoying the beach, without stepping far. My teens enjoy surfing and could rent everything needed at the rental shop downstairs. Which is a very nice convenience for out of state guests like ourselves. Seeing dolphins swim by as we enjoyed the patio was another treat. We ate at several local restaurants and found the drive to attractions within the San Diego area a breeze from this unit. We did not encounter bad traffic at all. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone and plan to return ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when my guests have a great time. Reading this makes me feel like I took a vacation there too!! Perfect description!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Little Relaxation

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This was kind of a last minute last family summer vacation. It was great to get out of the Phoenix heat. This was a spectacular location and condo. It was loaded with everything that we needed. Our kids, ages 17,15,12,and 12, loved it and can't wait to come back. We didn't want to leave! It was great to be so close to the beach and be able to enjoy the sounds of the ocean so close to us. That is very relaxing. Thanks, Nancy, for allowing us to enjoy your home! We will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Serenity By The Sea...my summer sanctuary

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Every year, for the past 13 years, I have been fortunate enough to spend 5 days at Serenity By the Sea. As most vacations do, time has a way of slipping by too fast, yet I never feel rushed, hurried, stressed or anxious. Just happy. Nancy's "home away of home" just has that affect on you.
From the comfy, cozy beds to the thick bath towels, the fully-loaded kitchen to the amazing patio (outrageous sunsets included), the overall ambiance to the thoughtful, little touches throughout, I truly feel pampered and relaxed in this extraordinary rental property.
With a multitude of local and regional attractions/activities to choose from, Serenity By The Sea serves as a perfect home base for those who want to fill their days with adventure and fun. For people like me, the condominium serves as a much needed sanctuary and escape from a busy life. I spend my days with those I love most, lounging in the sun, reading, playing Scrabble, eating good food (both in and at the local establishments), catching up on sleep, early morning walks on the beach, soaking in the hot spa and venturing down to Ye Olde Plank for a dose of local culture, a refreshing beverage and just good fun with great people.
For those searching for something more than the standard hotel room or stark generic rental unit, Serenity By The Sea will not disappoint. It is far more than a typical "rental property," it is an overall experience - as Nancy goes to great lengths to make sure everyone feels at home, comfortable and most importantly, satisfied.
Thanks Nancy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Awww! Love this. What beautiful prose. I'm honored. Come again soon!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

God is good and so is Nancy

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Absolutely perfect is the best way to describe our stay. Mom who is 82 almost lived on the back deck overlooking the ocean with the pier clearly in sight. Beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Did not want to leave and hope to come back. Thanks Nancy. Did I mention Mermaids live there? :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Celeste,
Thank you for the lovely review. It is always my intention to provide a "perfect beach vacation". My guest book at the condo is bursting with heartfelt messages about family vacations of a lifetime. Documentations of baby's first steps on the sand,the child's first swim in the ocean ,the family's first time flying a kite, read like a Hallmark card. Graduations celebrated, marriage proposals given and accepted, birthdays and anniversaries honored daily as the sun sets into the Pacific. The stories written in my guestbook are truly one of my most favorite things in life.
Won't you come and add your special story to my guestbook?

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review