reviews for: listing #57404 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Cozy cottage by the Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $295 /nt
    $1,350 - $2,000 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Loved it!!!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We loved the house. It was wonderful and the beach was so close!!! Everything was clean and the house was darling!!! The neighbors were so kind and friendly. We will definitely be back!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

It was a Special stay. Thank You Mark and Alex

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

I had a great experience dealing with Alex during the process. Mark greeted us at the home and handed us the keys. Mark even offered to help with the luggage. We had a fabulous time at their home. I am so thankful that this experience was more than we had imagine. It was our first time renting a home and I will never go back to hotels thanks to this beach house. Awesome home away from home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

This house is amazing! SOOO nice! Owners are great and helpful and the location is perfect. The house is super comfortable and spacious and it is perfect for anyone. I cannot wait to come back and stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

This is the place to be near everything

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

We're so happy to have experienced this "beach house" as our kids affectionatey refer to it. It's so close to everything...the beach (of course), but also playgrounds, restaurants, bars, Pavilions, and a short drive away from the Big Belly Deli which ended up being our favorite pizza place. You just have to eat there once and you'll be addicted to their take-out pizza forever! And don't forget the Crab Cooker for your favorite fresh seafood. Alex and Mark were gracious hosts who have a knack for the fine details most other beach rentals lack. Everything was so comfy and DirecTV was there, just like @ home! Even the neighbors were welcoming and fun...like Aloha in Newport Beach. We had such an amazing time; sunny skies and temps in the 60's and 70's in November and December! Thanks guys...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Beach Vacation

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We just returned from an awesome time at this beach house. We were originally supposed to check out on Sunday, but we were having such a blast that we decided to stay one more night and check out on Monday.

As stated, the kitchen is fully stocked and this beach house has everything you need. The two car parking space and the washer/dryer came in handy. We made use of the bbq grill and patio every day.

The location is prime. I have two children under the age of 5 and am currently 6 months pregnant, and we were able to walk everywhere. Pavilions is an easy 10 minute walk and the walk to the beach is a minute or less.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and plan on making this a yearly trip. I would definitely recommend this beach house to my friends and family.

If you are traveling with little ones, I would suggest bringing a pressure child gate to block the patio off. The patio is safe, but there is no gate, so your little ones might be tempted to run out onto the sidewalk.

Unfortunately I was unable to meet the owners of the property, but Alex's father met us at check in and check out and was very kind and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review! We love having families enjouy themselves at our beach house and its always great to get such a nice feedback! And my dad loves being there to help! There is usually a pressure gate at the patio and the last tenants put it on the side of the house. I'm sorry he didn't notice when he was checking you in...you guys were fantastic and we hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Beach Vacation

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We had an amazing time at this beach house. We initially intended to stay until Sunday, but we enjoyed our stay there so much, that we added another night and checked out on Monday.

The beach house is as described and the location is perfect. I have two kids under five and am currently six months pregnant and we were able to walk everywhere! Pavilions is an easy 10 min walk and the beach is so close!

The kitchen really is fully stocked with everything you need. We had a blast and intend to come every year from now on.

I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

My recommendation for parents traveling with little ones is to bring a portable gate to block off the patio area. It is really safe, but there is no gate, so your little ones might attempt to run out onto the sidewalk.

Unfortunately I was unable to meet the property owners, but they were easily reachable via phone and Alex's father met us at the property for check in and check out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Spring Break Heaven!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

This was our first time ever renting a beach house.. so, of course we were a little leary of what we were getting into. After speaking with Alex via phone and text, I felt very at ease in renting this property. She was very kind, informative and helpful throughout the whole process. Upon arrival, we were so excited about the house. It was PERFECT for our family of 5 and 2 dogs! The pictures of the house were exact and all the amenities were as mentioned. The property was clean, with nice furniture and appliances.. all the comforts of home. We especially enjoyed the patio area with the propane bbq and nice patio furniture. Because the house is on a corner, it was fun to sit out there and enjoy the view while chatting with people walking by. It was also nice to have use of the garage to park our car and a washer and dryer to use.

We used the beach cruisers one day and rode down to "The Wedge" to show the kids where the big waves come in. The ride along the boardwalk was so enjoyable and we stopped at one of the shops on the way back for some yummy Gelato ice cream. We also had a couple of friends stop by during the week to join us for the day and for a nice dinner on the patio. Everyone loved the beach house and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice getaway. The only thing that was not comfortable for us were the beds. A little too firm for us. Of course, we are used to our own mattresses at home so maybe next time I would bring my own foam mattress pads for more comfort.

And of course, our dogs really enjoyed their stay as well. The proximity of the dog parks were very convenient and always a nice walk. The patio was large enough for our 6yr old boxer and 1yr old Shih Tzu. Overall, we had a great week at the beach house and look forward to renting it again in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful Christmas

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

We were very excited to book our week long stay in Newport, as it's one of our favorite places to be. When we arrived, we were pleased to see that the house was clean, well stocked, and nicely appointed. The Christmas decorations were a lovely, homey touch. The beds were comfortable... we're very particular about beds, even my bad back did not protest.
They accepted our dogs without making us feel like we were imposing, so we actually brought our own Dyson vacuum from home to prevent hair from overwhelming our house. The dogs had to be walked to the beach and to a nearby park, as we had discussed with them ahead of time, so there were no surprises.
Our family came in for a couple of days, so we had plenty of kitchenware to cook anything we needed for all of us.
There are places to eat within walking distance, the funzone and kayak/boat rental only a few short blocks away. Don't hesitate to rent here, just remember that if you have more than one car, or an over sized car/camper, you will need to look around for more parking .
This place is Newport at it's best... thank you for everything!
Thank you so much, for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Getaway

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We rented this house for a long weekend and brought our son and his family with us. This house is very family friendly. The kitchen has every thing you would need to cook meals and plenty of paper goods. The house was spotless which I always appreciate. It is located close to the beach, and has a nice patio with a large barbeque and table/chair set in the front of the house. There is no place with grass for a dog to relieve itself so you have to walk to a dog park which is 3 short blocks away. But, I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a beach retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun...a great $value$...and ridiculously nice!

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Our family had a fabulous time even though it rained and rained and rained. For a "beach rental" to be outstanding when the weather doesn't cooperate means it's "hotel quality"...definitely NOT your average beach rental. The inside is totally renovated and cozy and everything you could possibly need isn't only there, but usually the first place you'd look for it. We especially appreciated the owners' personal touches they arranged for us pre-arrival (it was Christmastime), along with their insider tips on areas to explore, where to watch the boat show, take-out tacos and sushi, etc. This is a fun and first class, yet laid back, reasonably priced way to enjoy Newport just a block from the beach...a killer getaway, even if home isn't that far away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had an excellent time

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

We had the place for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. My boyfriend, his son and I had a very lovely time. It gave us everything we needed to have a successful vacation by the beach. We highly recommended this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely stay in Newport Beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a excellent time

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

We had the place for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. My boyfriend, his son and I had a very lovely time. It gave us everything we needed to have a successful vacation by the beach. I highly recommended this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely stay in Newport Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A treasure in the pile of beach rentals!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

I rented this unit to for 3 nights in September, to host a small dinner party in celebration of my 50th birthday. The unit is very, very, very clean. The furniture is modern and in excellent condition, kitchen well stocked with cooking/baking pans, pots, cups, knives, wine glasses, bowls, etc.......I have been renting different houses in Newport Beach since 2007 and this is the only unit that feels like a home and not an over-priced, over used, under stocked beach rental.

The landlords were very accommodating, friendly and professional. I was greeted at the unit personally by the owner. A very nice friendly touch. I highly recommend this unit. Great space to host a dinner social, fun bikes to ride and comfortable! Truly enjoyed my stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A treasure in the pile of beach rentals!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

I rented this unit to for 3 nights in September, to host a small dinner party in celebration of my 50th birthday. The unit is very, very, very clean. The furniture is modern and in excellent condition, kitchen well stocked with cooking/baking pans, pots, cups, knives, wine glasses, bowls, etc.......I have been renting a house in Newport since 2007 and this is the only unit that feels like a home and not an over-priced beach rental.

The landlords were very accommodating, friendly and professional, I was greeted at the unit personally by the owner. A very nice friendly touch. I highly recommend this unit. Great space to host a dinner social, fun bikes to ride and comfortable! Truly enjoyed my stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review