reviews for: listing #57414 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Lodge rental

Sassafras Lodge
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Lodge
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $107 - $150 /nt
    $750 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a great cabin...

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This is a great cabin to stay in. A great place to relax. Very pretty up here. Plan on coming back with friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you...

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to stay in mountain comfort while viewing the miracle of the synchronous spectacle of fireflies!

So wonderful to find such a nice place that also welcomed dogs! We had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great Cabin!

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

What a great cabin! Thank you for sharing. We were here to enjoy the natural beauty and especially the synchronized fireflies- so amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful ca

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time. The cabin was very nice and the location was quiet, away from the busy highway and traffic, (and all the noises) except for the sounds of nature. We enjoyed the shops, and spent one day just enjoying relaxing at the cabin. The cabin was spacious and clean and well equipped. Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful cabin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's a great place to stay when you are "snowed in

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

What a great time we had. Blizzards in Tenn! We love Sassafras Lodge! It's a great place to get "snowed in"! We had six inches of snow on Friday and we actually enjoyed it. The fridge was full, the fireplace was roaring, no electrical outage Sat TV was fine but were were stuck in and around the lodge for 1 1/2 days.

We didn't lack for anything in the Sassafras Lodge....everything we could wish for was there for us

We're coming back to take in the sights we missed. See you later Sassafras Lodge!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You So Much....

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with our family! This was our first time in Tennessee and we loved it. The kids really enjoyed going up and down the mountain to get to the cabin. Thanks again!
We can't wait to come back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful Cabin!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

What a beautiful cabin! My family & I enjoyed our visit very much. The walks were amazing, the hot tub was great & the views amazing!

I personally love to cook, so the fully equipped kitchen was a huige plus. We also enjoyed the "British Pub" & cute stores just down the road.

We look forward to our next visit!

Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Early winter in the smokies!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

We didn't expect an early winter in the smokies, but we made the most of it! There was enough snow to make a snow man and cold enough for Mom to stay by the fireplace!

The cabin was great and had everything we ever needed.

Thanks for letting us keep the birdfeeders full. We enjoyed the little feathered creatures as much as they enjoyed the sunflower seeds!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Thanksgiving in a Wonderful Cabin

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving in a wonderful cabin. We never dreamed that our Thanksgiving in the Smokey Mountains would be a "white one".

Despite the snow we still were able to enjoy Gatlinburg, Cades Cove and saw the Titanic exhibit.

Sassafras Lodge was lovely! It had all the atmosphere of the traditional logcabins but had all the modern comforts too. We can't wait to return, perhaps in a warmer time of year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxed country living

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

This cabin is spacious, comfortable, immaculate, well stocked and convenient to many local attractions.
Surrounded by beautiful trees, it offers a serene setting with a yard the dogs loved. It is close to the Smokey Mountains, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and the Arts and Crafts Area but remains remote enough to have a complete sense of nature and privacy. We certainly recommend a stay here and hope to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a truly wonderful visit.

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Thank you for a truly wonderful visit. Weather was perfect and the cabin ideal for the two of us and Savannah.

In addition to the mountains we highly recommend Douglas Lake which has incredibly spectacular views!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! Explored Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge. Dollywood was fun. Unfortunately, the Park was closed during our visit, but we still had a blast. Hope to come back in the future for hiking!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Experience...

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We had a great visit in Sassafras Lodge! There was eight of us and there was plenty of room for all even on rainy days. (We loved the ground floor with its own entrance. pool table , big TV and the spa outside the door because we just sent the kids down there...right out of our hair!)

The lodge is obviously the owner's second home. That's reflected by the interior decor with antique furnishings, art work, large library and collections of "Americana" thru-out!. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped and the huge covered porches were just perfect for reading/relaxing.

This week was truly a great experience and we certainly plan to return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks soooo much!

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Thanks sooo much for a wonderful vacation and intro to the Smoky Mountains!

Sassafras Lodge is exactly as advertised....private, secluded, quiet, comfortable with a historic feel to it. Plenty of room for everyone and everything we needed to make our vacation so lovely!

We WILL be back! There is so much more to see and do in the Smoky Mountains.....Thanks again

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing time!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

What an amazing time! Sassafras Lodge is just minutes away from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge but it is in such a private and quiet location that we thought we were a hundreds miles from anyone.

We did most of our hiking on the trails around the cabin and all our relaxing on the rocking chairs on the three porches. The kid loved the pool table too!
We can't wait until we come back.

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW What an amazing cabin.

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Wow. What an amazing cabin. Way better than I thought it would be. We just love it being hidden. I love getting up early, fixing coffee and sitting on the porch in the rocking chair watching the squirrels eat from the feeder. The hot tub is a bonus and pool table is also great for those rainey days. We thank you so very much and we do plan on coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Every time we needed anything Bill Walker came to our rescue. We are nall sad to leave. Hope to come back again.

Thanks to Martin for his great vacation home

/I LOVE THIS HOUSE...THIS IS ASOM..THERE ARE LOTS OF STAIRS. I LOVE IT!!!!/ by Margot..8 years old

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice and roomy.

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. A very nice and roomy place. So relaxing and peaceful. Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge are interesting places.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

such a lovely home!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Sassafras Lodge is such a lovely home! We have thoroughly enjoyed stayong here with all the comforts of home. Thank you for opening your home to others so they can have a relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely mountain hideaway!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We spent this memorable week in your Sassafras Lodge. What a lovely mountain hideaway! The cabin itself is as comfortable as it is distinctive.
Once we learned our way around we realized how central it was to all the "tourist doings" but remote enough to allow us to sit back and relax.

The storm on Friday was scary! But, fortunately we were able to get on the road Saturday.

We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Hi Mr. Fairley - I just wanted to thank you for making Sassafras available for others to enjoy. We had a wonderful time at the cabin this past weekend. It was so relaxing and tranquil, that we were not looking forward to leaving! The best part was being able to have the whole family in one house, yet not feel cramped. It was so nice to sleep in and make our own breakfast and relax on the wrap around porch before and after the day's activities! I have to admit, the drive up the backside of the mountain was a little scary the first time but we met your property manager when we arrived and he gave us directions to hop on Birds Creek, which was a lot less nerve-racking for me :)

This was the first time we've visited the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. We had a great time and will definitely visit the area again. Sassafras made the trip that much better! Of course, I'll contact you if we do! I signed your guestbook, but just in case you don't have the opportunity see it soon, I wanted to send you a more personal note. I'll also be sure to let others know how great your home is.

Thanks again and take care!
Crystal

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time..

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Had a great time at the Sassafras Lodge. A little hard to find at 2 AM tho'.
Made wonderful memories with our family. Thank you for providing such a nice, comfortable place for us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved staying at the cabin!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We loved staying at the cabin! We had a great mini family reunion with plenty of room for everyone. The drive was a little scary but the view was well worth it. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a special place to be on TAX DAY!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

What a special place to be on TAX DAY! Seriously, we loved your Sassafras Lodge.....the warmth, ambiance, architecture of the cabin itself is only surpassed by the incredible location! No wonder you plan to retire here!

The Smokies are special anytime of year but Spring is something else. You can see nature's rebirth in font of your own eyes! Dog woods & Red buds flowering against the winter's browns and the Evergreen's own colors....

We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much fun....

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Mr. Fairley,

I have been meaning to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at Sassafras Lodge. It was beautiful, and we had so much fun. The snow was beautiful too! Thanks for sharing.

Mary Lou

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our time...

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We loved our time in your cozy cabin. LOVED the porches and we were fortunate the weather allowed us to "sit-a-spell" out there. Thank you for allowing us to stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dog lover

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We planned a last minute trip to Gatlinburg and stayed at Sassafras. The cabin exceeded our expectations. It is exactly as the pictures show. It was secluded but within 10 minutes to Gatlinburg. The cabin was clean and well maintained. The library in the loft area was great. We made use of the pool table and hot tub. The covered wrap porch was awsome. We brought my son's dog and the gates on the porch let her be outside without us having to keep an eye on her. The owner was extremely helpful, we had the cabin booked within an hour of inquiring. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone. I will not look at cabins again, as this will be where we will stay from now on. We sat on the porch and the only sound was the wind in the trees! We wanted a peaceful weekend getaway, but there are tons of activities, attractions and restaurants nearby. We even found a covered bridge nearby that I didn't know existed. The road to the cabin is curvy in places and the driveway is steep the last leg, but we did fine in a V6 Acura. The directions were very good as were came in after dark. I have stayed in many cabins in the area, but this cabin is my favorite so far!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to visit!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Sassafras Lodge is a great place to visit!.We arrived in a snow storm...now that's an a adventure in itself for Bama folks! The lodge was cozy, warm and equipped for everything. The snow melted and touring the Gatlinburg area without the summer time crowds was fun and easy.

We'll be back to Sassafras Lodge..

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SMOKY MOUNTAINS IN JANUARY WAS GREAT AT SASSAFRAS LODGE

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Sassafras Lodge is located in a very secluded area which gives a feeling of privacy, yet is convenient to stores and shopping. We found everything just as shown in the pictures - clean & comfortable. It was obvious that the owners, Martin & Deborah Fairley were committed to doing everything possible to make our stay most enjoyable.

It is rare to find accommodations as nice as Sassafras that allows pets and our standard poodle, Zoe, enjoyed our get-a-way as much as the rest of the family

The cabin was well designed and decorated as if this was home (and I think the owners must spend a large part of the year here). The collection of antique tools etc. used as wall hangings inside as well as on the exterior of the cabin was very interesting and gave opportunity for my wife, having grown up a north Georgia farm girl, to explain to the grandkids what some of the items were and how they worked. Our grandkids were fascinated! The multi-level design of the cabin allowed for some of us to enjoy the ballgame in the great room while the rest of the family played pool and watched cartoons on the lower level. With a low temperature of 18 degrees in the mountains, the cabin was warm and cozy with gas logs burning as the whole family enjoyed an evening movie on TV. Our Verizon smart phones got excellent reception allowing us to search the internet for things to do in planning our activities for our next day’s outing.

Some of our friends questioned our choice of taking the grandkids to the Smokies in January, but the trip more than met our expectations. The lingering snow along the side of the road and in the shaded areas of the mountain gave background for great pictures.
Fun memories were created for the grandkids this last week that will be remembered a lifetime. The grandparents had a great time, too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is another great guest who will get a 10% discount when they return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..great time..

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We left the lodge this morning following all the instructions, we had a very nice stay in your cabin, thanks to let us have a great time, I hope we can be able to come back soon, was a pleasure to made business we u

Thanks again

I.....a and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for letting us enjoy your cabin!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

Thank you for letting us enjoy your cabin! It was a wonderful experience for the whole family including our two puppies.

Gatlinburg was fun but very busy, Cades Cove is a magic place we want to see again...

Best times were just sitting on your porch looking a the smokies!

Thanks again...we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it.........

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

We came up on 10-11-12 with part of our bridal party. We were married on Oct 13th 2012 and our reception was here at the cabin. We loved it, the reception the very intimate cabin and its very authentic decor. We danced, we cut our wedding cake here and I'm so happy to say, we started our new married life here, with our closest friends and family and our dog Diego, of course.
The kids loved the hottub and pool table. I hope everyone who stays here in the future has as much fun as we did.
We spent most of our time on the beutiful porches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This cabin has everything!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This cabin has everything! It's very new. We have stayed here three years in a row. We love it because its located on a large property, its pet friendly, and its overall a perfect place to stay! Many rental cabins are piled on top of each other, which doesn't give you a genuine experience of staying in a cabin in the mountains. This one is truly a beautiful cabin in the woods with gorgeous mountain views. We love all the trees and the dogs love the land. The house is gorgeous with a wrap around porch, gas fireplace, beautifully decorated, modern appliances, and all the comforts of home. We will stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to hide away from hurricanes!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

We loved Sassafras Lodge! Your location is a tad remote but it didn't take long to find our way around your local road system. In fact, it was a relief to come back to the peace and quiet after a couple of hours at DollyWood!

The cabin was so rustic but with all the conviences. Thanks for the use of your large library during our two rainey days!

We hope to come back next year and Sassafras cabin will be our first choice...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WONDERFUL!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

WONDERFUL!! 2 sets of Grandparents, 1 set of parents & 2 college kids. Highly suggest Dixie Stampeed & Cirque de Chine!

Great Cabin & scenery for relaxation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...this house is perfect for my family...

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Hi, my name is Mallory and this house is perfect for my family of 6! We got hit by tropical storm DEBBY and got throwed out of Florida! So we came here and we all love it! So poopoo on Florida and we went to Gatlinburg! haha
We ended going white water rafting, Dollywood, and shopping downtown. I hope you have as much fun as we did!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Cabin, Great Area...."

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

By email:

"Hi Martin....I feel so bad I haven't gotten with you to tell you how much our family enjoyed the cabin.I have been SO busy this month! We had such a wonderful time. Great cabin, great area and we hope to do it again next year! Sincerely, Dawn Be.........

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"thoroughly enjoyed our stay...."

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

"Martin,
We are on our way home. We wanted to thank you for accommodating us on such short notice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sassafras Lodge.

Warm Regards,
Joeli Hum......

Sent from Joeli's iPhone."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"....Lovely home in a wonderful setting!"

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

" You must be very proud of your lovely home in a wonderful setting! Your interior decor certainly complements your sense of Americana history.

We had good weather for sightseeing but we picked the wrong day to go to DollyWorld! It was 95+ in the shade (if you could find ant)! Cades Cove was fascinating!

Seeing the bear in your driveway was a surprise! Too bad she (he?) wouldn't wait for our camera.....

We hope to be back to Sassafras Lodge in the near future..

Thanks again!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"This place is beautiful!"

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

"This place is beautiful! Could not have asked for more in a cabin. The roads coming up here, though, are something else! Wow! I really cant believe the stat of TN would call these roads 2-way roads! I cannot imagine what the locals do when it snows

We would have loved to stay longer. There is still much more we would like to explore.

Take care
Thank you"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This cabin was perfect for my wife and the 4 kids we had with us. Plenty of room where everyone could have their own space, yet close enough for quality family time! The views were awesome and the night skies were great. Would definitely recommend this to any family, and we will be returning very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Debbie & I are delighted that your family had a good Smoky Mountain vacation at Sassafras Lodge!

Remember that returning guests get a 10% discount! Hurry back......

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"..beautiful and peaceful"

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Hi Martin,

I wanted to thank you again for letting us stay at the cabin this past weekend. My family and I had such a great time. I can’t tell you how much we needed that break!!!!

Your property is so beautiful and peaceful. We will definitely be returning soon!!!!!

Thanks - Rob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Where's the snow?"

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

"Where's the snow? Actually only the kids missed it! We loved your cabin. It was really a great place to come back to after our hiking and exploring. We're sorry we can't spend more time but, we'll be back to Sassafras Lodge!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Times in the Cabin!"

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

"No snow but the area has a lot of attractions...
The cabin was great and warm.
Thanks a lot!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Hola"

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

"Hola! Gracis mil por su hermosa cabana, fur maravilloso el tiempo que pasamos agui; somos las familias Castillo, Olivar, Zapata, y Loto-Portilla venimos de Columbia a pasar vacaciones y esta opcion fue perfecta! Dios les bendiga y les protejy Feliz Ano 2112!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We will definitly visit your cabin again!!!"

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

"We are the P.... family from Decatur, AL. We came with our two daughters and their husbands. Our experience at your cabin was wonderful. We loved how secluded the cabin was, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We were a little unsure of the windy road at the beginning of the trip but we got more comfortable as the trip went on. Thanks for the beautiful flowers left for us. It made us feel at home. We will definitely visit you cabin again!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...everything was great!"

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

"Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. We had a wonderful time everything was great! Thanks Denise"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The cabin is beautiful!"

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

" < children's' freehand drawing of "mountain climbing?"..


We had a wonderful time! The cabin is beautiful!!!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We found it at Trillium Lodge!"

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

"We are the Barg..Family. We were looking for a special place to celebrate our 40th anniversary. We FOUND it at Trillium Lodge!

We were joined by our three sons, our three daughters-in-law and our three granddaughters. We enjoyed walks around the "loop" The wrap around porch and the pool table. Sunday our kids kids returned to their homes....

Jim and I visited Gatlinburg Sunday afternoon. Monday we visited artisan shops on Rt 321, traveled the Cades Cove Loop and walked to Laurel Falls. Our only disappointment was that our beloved Buckeyes LOST Saturday!

Thank you for opening Trillium Lodge for us. We are truely grateful for the opportunity!

P.S. Baxter, our son Mike's schnodle enjoyed his stay too.

Thanks again......"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We'll have to come back!"

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

"We had a great time at the cabin. The cabin was really nice, the kids really enjoyed it. Lots to do, so little time. We squeezed in as much in as possible. Splash Country, Dolly World, Dixie Stampede, Zip Line, hiking, shopping, National Forest, etc.

Thanks for letting us stay here and a wonderful time. We'll have to come back!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved Trillium Lodge."

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

"Our family had a wonderful time in the Smoky Mountains. Having been to the Tetons, Rockies and Arcadia mountain areas we were thoroughly impressed with the southern hospitality everywhere we went.

We loved Trillium Lodge and so happy our dog Hope was able to be with us. The ride was fantastic going up and around the curves. We did as much hiking and visiting areas in the Park from Grotto Falls, Laurel Falls, Motor Fork Loop, Clingman's Dome, Appalachia Trail (2 miles worth), Cades Cove SAW A BABY BEAR!, and stopping at the many beautiful streams, rivers, and "hidden" spots...loved the covered bridges... We stopped and made any acquaintances at the artist studios (We even found out some artists have relatives that live a few miles from our home.

Thanks for a beautiful time. Hope to come again and view fall foliage.

Love & Blessings"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"home away from home.."

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

"Thanks for sharing a wonderful week in this "home away from home"! Lots to do either here or in the area--especially the Greenbriar area for hiking and Cades Cove in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. I will go home and recommend Trillium Lodge to one and all and hope my 5 star produces results.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The cabin was a great time!"

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We loved the cabin and had a great visit! We visited the Park on a daily basis and really got to know the area. We love it!

The cabin was a great time and very relaxing, we spent many a morning on the porch and did get a couple of visits from the dog mentioned in other entries.

The weather was exceptional, as it is 100+ back home in Tulsa, OK

Thanks much!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Views from The Deck are Beautiful!"

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

"Our family had a great visit! The views from the deck are beautiful. (esp. during the fall) The home is SO lovely & so much thought into making others feel welcome is SO evident throughout the home.
Thank you SO much for the gift of sharing this home with others. Hopefully we can come back again!

p.s. The views around the covered bridge & river are gorgeous!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wish we had another week to spend here!"

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

"Time to leave (frown) Wish we had another week to spend here! We highly recommend the ribs at "Hungry Bear Bar-B-Q" the best we ever had! We also recommend brunch at the Wild Plum. We loved staying here & would (will!)love to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Great views couldn't ask for more,cabin was nice. One thing they could use is a couple of fans in the bathrooms to remove some of the steam from the showers. Its really close to the park so you don't wast alot of time driving.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you folks had a good time! Sorry you missed the exhaust fan switches next to the light switch. (The exhaust fans, in all three bathrooms, are located in the ceiling over the tub/shower>)

Come back next year and get a 10% discount!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Family Had A Wonderful Time....

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time in the Smoky Mountains. Having been to the Tetons, Rockies and Cascades Mountain areas we were thoroughly impressed with the Southern Hospitality every where we went!

We loved Trillium Lodge and so happy our dog was able to be with us. The ride was fantastic going up and around the curves.

We did as much hiking and visiting areas in the Park from Grotto Falls, Laurel Falls, Motor Fork Loop, Clingman's Dome, Appalachia Trial (2 miles), Cades Cove (saw a baby bear!) and stopping at the many beautiful streams, rivers and "hidden" spots....loved the Covered bridges... We stopped and made many acquaintances at the artists studios (We even found some artists have relatives that live a few miles from our home)

Thanks for a beautiful time! Hope to come again and view fall foliage!

Love & Blessings....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved your cabin!"

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

"We loved your cabin! It is beautiful! The location is superb! We had a great time. Mornings on the porch with coffee are great! Thank you for your hospitality! We'll be back!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

&quot;We enjoyed our stay here at Sassafras!!!&quot;

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

"It was our first time staying in a cabin and it was wonderful. A little scary coming up the hills at night, but we loved it! We shopped and toured everyday and ate 'til we couldn't eat anymore.

My family came during my 2 weeks R&R from Talil, IRAQ. We were very nervous I wasn't gonna make it. I kept getting delayed in Kuwait! But, I made it just in time. And it was a well needed vacation!

All the fresh air and beautiful greenery reminded me of what we're over there fighting for, the freedom & well being of others.

Thanks for allowing us our stay in your lovely home!
We wish you many blessings! A happy family..........."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

&quot;We Loved Our Stay Here At the Sassafras!!&quot;

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

"One whole week of relaxation and enjoying the time with family. We looked for a long time to find a cabin that would allow large breed dogs and we're so thankful to find this place!

During our stay here with Son, daughter-in-law and 1 year old grandson (he turned one while we were here!) we visited the shops in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We highly recommend eating/visiting the Applewood Barn and going to the Dixie Stampede, you'll be glad you did. We took a day trip to Cades Cove and saw some black bears! Great Time!

The cabin was beautiful, comfortable and had all the supplies we needed to cook whatever we wanted to bring in from the store.

If we ever return to Gatlinburg, THIS is where we want to stay again!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

&quot;Thanks For Sharing This Beautiful Escape!&quot;

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

"We had never been to TN & the Great Smokey Mountains. What a wonderful vacation we had. The cabins is wonderful with lots of amenities! It is so peaceful & quiet up here. We could just move right in. Our daughters have enjoyed catching the moths & grasshoppers and just playing in the yard. We hiked, went rafting, visited downtown and did some shopping. We enjoyed touring the National Park & even spotted bears, turkeys, deer, squirrels & lots of birds.

Our friend, who was with us from Mexico also thoroughly enjoyed herself. We will definitely be back!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

&quot;YALLS CABIN IS SO BEAUTIFUL....&quot;

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

" Yalls cabin is so beautiful....I really liked all the antiques...made us feel at home. We had a lot of fun but we did pick a bad week to come. It stormed just about every day and lost electricity about every day. Really wished we could stay longer! Everything was wonderful. Thank you so much for letting us stay!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the S...ter Family, Ontario, Canada

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

"Thank you, Thank You, Thank You!!!

This was perfect. One of the things we hated most about vacations was not eating home cooked meals. With this house we could, BBQ's for dinner...what a great way to end our evening.

Everything is close at hand with not a lot of travel. This was quite a nice location, we love the serenity of the house! We could have been the only people for miles.

Thank You for sharing your house with us."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Message: Just wanted to thank you for letting us rent your beautiful log
cabin - Trillium during our visit from 7/3/11-7/10/11. Your cabin was
beautiful, we spent many hours sitting on the covered porch -the picnic
table was perfect for our family meals and card games. Loved the rockers
also. The location was great - just far enough from the craziness of
Gatilinburg and Pigeon Forge but still close enough to enjoy if we
wanted. Enjoyed the 4th fireworks over Gatlinburg, hiking in the park,
whitewater rafting, ziplining. Had many games of pool in the lower
level. We ended up not bringing our own dog but got a dog "fix" from a
visit from the neighborhood very well behaved dog. Really had everything
we needed to make it a great vacation. Thanks so much. Would definitely
highly recommend!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your cabin this week! We enjoyed everything from relaxing by the fireplace, watching movies and TV's, playing cards and pool, building snowmen (we had 6-9 inches of snow the day we arrived), walked the roads and explored our surroundings, enjoyed the views, grilled and cooked, shopped in town and spent quality time just being together! We had a blast! We had everything we needed right here at our fingertips!! You have a beautiful home! It's very comfortable and relaxing! I hope we can visit here again here again soon!
God Bless you,
The J......... and the G.........s
Savannah, TN

P.S. We watched the Sam Elliot movies and he died three times! We left you a western "Shiloh Falls" to add to your collection!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

"ODE TO SASSAFRAS

Gatlinburg is always so much fun
From Park Waterfalls to Ripleys, its run, run,run, run!
Take the Ober Tram for a ride
And then go fast on the Alpine Slide!
Nothing is more beautiful than all the trees,
In October, they showed all colors of leaves.
But the BEST part of this trip has acreage & grass,
Its a beautiful cabin called SASSAFRAS!
At the end of the driveway we saw a small bear,
We were in the car so it wasn't a scare.
The cabin is so perfect in every single way
That we're booking our next visit without delay!"

"Thank you for letting us stay at your amazing property!
We loved every minute of it

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

The T----- family from West Monroe, La loved staying here at Sassafras Lodge! The late evenings we spent on the porch on rocking chairs will always be remembered.

We loved the covered bridge and the stream by the old cemetery. Your place, although tough to find at first, was well worth it!

Thanks for letting us enjoy your place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

"Such a great cabin-our family was very comfortable here. We came to TN for a family reunion and made a week of it! Your cabin was the perfect home away from home. My children enjoyed the movies & books and their own bedrooms!

You've thought of everything here & we felt we were staying with family. These city folks loved our time in the mountains, totally different lifestyle, but so peaceful and comfy. Thank you for allowing us the priviledge of staying here!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

"It is very beautiful here! I was reading some past entries and laughed at people complaining about bugs. This is the woods, not a city so expect some bugs. Went to Dollywood, Splash Country and spent a day in the National Park. Looking forward to another vacation here!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

"We had a great stay here at Sassafras Lodge. Very peaceful. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

P.S. Loved the pig by the fireplace! and the rest of the decor, very fitting!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

"Our family has been visiting the Smokies since the late 1950's. This holiday weekend four generations made memories at your cozy cabin!

Saturday we went to Ober Gatlinburg and Big Pap Paw rode the Alpine sleds twice! We loved the Maze there. Dan broke or tied the day's record for longest time in the maze....20 minutes!

Sunday morning we sat together on the deck and had a mini Bible study & prayer. Sunshine and birds singing was the perfect setting. In the afternoon we had a cookout at Chimney Rock. Grant rode his tube down the stream.

Each evening we played board games and pool. Breakfast each morning at Pancake Pantry.....Thom's favorite restaurant. It's a "must" if you've never been there! "

P.S. Loved all your personal touches. You thought of everything!"

from W. Harrison, Indiana

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

We enjoyed our time here! Every moment here was a blast! Very Comfortable stay here. The view was beautiful and the scenic drive here was great. We will come back here again...hopefully soon!

Thank you again for the opportunity to allow us to saty here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"What a great week, notable highlights include;
-fly fishing w/guide (shop in Winery Square- across from the Salt & Pepper Skier Museum- highly recommend even tho' I can't remember their name)

-Hiking to Ramsey's Cascade in the Greenbrier section of the Park and seeing two bear cubs, fortunately mama bear didn't see us!

-Dinner and Beer at the Ship's Pub in the Arts & Craft Loop.

-A delicious trout dinner in the cabin--catching the fish ourselves made it yummer!

The cabin is great! All the comforts of home and a cute dog next door the seemed to stop by every night around dinner...we didn't feed her, but she sure tried......Thanks."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"We had fun - too much to do - so little time! We saw two bears- not here on the property but in the Nat'l Park and the other at a breakfast place. The hot tub felt great. Our dog had a good time too.
Everything we needed was right here. It was tricky finding the cabin but we did it! Thank you for making this special week superb!
Sights we saw-
Aquarium, Dixie Stampede, NASCAR Speedway, Outlet Mall, Dollywood, 8 mile Arts & Craft Stores, Smokies Game, played golf.."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"WE ENJOYED THE BEAUTIFUL CABIN! THE ONLY THING WE DIDN'T ENJOY WAS THE DRIVE! HOT TUB WAS GREAT AND WE LOVED THE POOL TABLE! THANKYOU SOOO MUCH!!"

PS

"This was a awesome family experience. It was great to "bond" for this whole week. Everything we needed to cook, entertain & relax was at our fingertips. Thanks!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"We enjoyed a wonderful "Spring Break" at Sassafras! The cabin is great-very comfy. We went on several hikes in the Smokies. We experienced several weather extremes- 70s one day, snow the next! Thank You..."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"We enjoyed our stay here in your beautiful cabin. It is very conveniently located to all our favorite spots, while still being far enough away to enjoy nature right from the porch.
We were able to see a little snow before we left. We look forward to coming back here for our next annual trip!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"We had such a wonderful 1st family vacation with our new son here at your cabin. We were able to see a lot of snow (6 inches!!)and enjoy the town as well. What a wonderful time & lots of fantastic memories!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"A great Log cabin experience for all our family. You have a great place here in the mountains. It snowed the day before we left What fun!
Thanks for a great time!!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"We shopped, explored & dined in the mountains for a wonderful week. We will never forget the "cabin". The whole family was spoiled by this haven. The views were spectacular- we even saw the Milky Way while in the hot tub! Very serene.

Thanks for providing us with such a great escape. I even read one of your books!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book.

"We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cabin. Its so peaceful here. We really enjoyed the fireplace, especially when we lost electricity on Christmas eve due to a storm. We still had a fire! It was really neat to see all the birds every day and one morning I even saw 3 deer. Thanks for providing all the comforts of home. We had a wonderful time!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 13, 2008   Date of arrival: December 13, 2008

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book.

"All the comforts of home! We had a great stay and even got to see snow! Only wish we could stay longer. Thank you so much for your hospitality. We really had a comfortable safe stay. We hope to be back soon. Great location- nice and secluded as promised. Thanks again for opening up your home to us."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book.

"What a lovely place! Out stay was fantastic. We all enjoyed it. We had a hard time finding it because it was dark when we arrived. What a beautiful surprise when the sun came up! Housekeeping was really great! Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 24, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

Transcribed directly from the Sassafras Lodge Guest Book.

"Our stay at Sassafras Lodge was everything we dreamed it would be....and more! Your place outshines the others we saw and is so appropriately decorated & well appointed. We spent a day at Dollywood and couldn't wait to get back here. How can anyone want to leave this place? Our timing was perfect to view the changing colors of the fall leaves, something we don't get to see in Louisiana. We hope to stay here again someday. Many Thanks,"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

Transcribed directly from Sassafras Guest Book.

"Thanks so much for the use of this beautiful home. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thanks also for the help in getting the PVT game

We hope to stay again soon."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

Transcribed directly from Sassafras Lodge Guest book

"Nice cabin..We could easily spend another week or two here. Loved the peace and quiet. Made for a very restful experience. Thank you for sharing your home with our family."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

Transcribed directly from Sassafras Lodge Guest Book

"Great Time, beautiful cabin...really would like to stay longer. Thank you for letting us stay at your cabin. We will stay here again."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review