reviews for: listing #57463 - Kailua, Hawaii Studio rental

Cozy Studio Suite
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $74 - $79 /nt
    $515 - $550 /wk
    $2,150 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Great value and location

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

The room was pretty much as advertised. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There were a few times when you could hear the neighbors (attached rooms) but we just turned on the AC to drown out the sound. The location is perfect and an easy stroll to the beach or downtown. They even provided beach chairs, umbrellas and mats. Best of all, we were able to use the old beach bicycles and enjoyed riding down to the beach. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The washer and dryer are right outside of the room but they were nice to have and again, it was easy to drown out the noise with the AC.

Keep in mind, we went to Kailua to enjoy the beaches (not stay in the rom). This was the perfect location and a tremendous value compared to anywhere in Hawaii. One day, it rained, so we got in the car and drove over to Waikiki in about 20 minutes.

When you factor in the free parking and free use of umbrellas, bicycle and coolers, it is a real bargain. We most definitely plan on returning.

We have been to Hawaii a dozen times and this is the best value that I have found.

Ron is a very nice guy and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cozy studio. Friendly owner. Enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

We had such a great time. It was a comfortable queen bed. Small hotel refrig, just right for our beverages. We stayed in Waikiki last year, and this is much better for a much smaller price! Kailua is much slower pace. We really enjoyed walking and biking around the neighborhood and seeing all the shops. Bought several gifts at Island Treasures and some small stained glass at Hawaii Stained Glass. Owners recommended the Food Company. We ate there 5 times!! We walked to the Farmers market and bought local fruits, pineapples and papayas and some tropical flowers. We walked to the beach each day and went to the public pools twice. It was heated. The owners let us use some tennis racquets and we had so much fun!!! It was so relaxing.We were only in our room to sleep.
Thank you Ron for all the hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We return every year, it's so nice and convenient.

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We return every year, it's so nice and convenient. And every year, we're happy to see they make improvements, altho, we're already so satisfied. This year, they installed double pane windows which we liked. This nice, cozy studio is perfect for our needs. It is halfway between the town and shopping and the beach. We walk to the beach everyday. We just love it here. Ron, the owner is so helpful and friendly. It's nice to see him each year. We walk to the Farmers market on Thursday to buy our pineapple, papayas, avocados and tropical flowers. We usually use the bikes once or twice in our visits and pedal around the neighborhood. Sometimes, we meet other visitors and enjoy sharing things to see and do. It's Great! Thank you very much. We'll see you soon., thanks, Ron. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Know before you go!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We did not meet Sue, but she was easy to work with and Ron was friendly. Their philosophy is to be mellow and to be happy, but I could not be that mellow about this disappointing room. Here are some facts.

This room is on a major thoroughfare and you will share the road to the beach (.6 miles) with big trucks. If you open the windows there is a lot of road noise.

If you open the windows passersby can see in (esp. the bathroom). The slat windows in the photo have been replaced with clear glass. The washing machine and dryer are right under your window outside your door. Other guests must pass you to go to their room.

The space is 10' x 10'. The door by the head of the bed (with the mirror on it) sounds like it connects to the owner's kitchen. Every footstep, fork on plate or washing in the sink is clearly audible. You can hear everything that happens in the Ginger room because of the poorly constructed door (not shown) between the two rooms. When they pee, shower, cough or talk. All of it. All of the time. The A/C is noisy, but we kept it on to drown out other stuff. Light comes in through the cracks around this door.

The electrical is on one fuse and you can only use one appliance at a time. For example, the A/C must be off before using the microwave, hair dryer, hot plate, etc. The cord for these appliances gets very hot. The refrigerator is mostly broken with one makeshift shelf out of plywood.

We were without hot water a couple of mornings when others took a long shower or did laundry.

Finally, points for creative use of green duct tape for the headboard - look closely at the photo of the bed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: We are very sad to hear your comments, esp. since there are some inaccuracies. While we are on the road to the beach and Lanikai, because there are only a few small shops past our home, there are no big trucks 99% of the time. We're sad that you make it sound constant. There are garbage trucks that pick up our trash each week, but every street has them, even the back streets. According to google maps, we are .4 miles to the entrance of Kailua Beach Pake, another .2 miles and you will be well into the water. The bottom of the bathroom window is 6 feet above the ground, so someone must be quite tall to see right in. The studio itself is 11'X12, we ask that you please look at the photos carefully to check the space -- this does not include the closet, the kitchenette area and the bathroom. If you stay in the unit all day long and are very sensitive, this is not for you. Most of the time, the people in the next unit are not there all day. Normally, most people are on vacation with regular hours, but granted once in a long while, there is someone who came to Hawaii for work and get ready earlier. I'm sorry, this was your case. We have a 120 gal. Hot water tank, so it is very rare to run out of hot water, we apologize that there was the odd chance that occurred that it was cloudy all week and a short power hit, reset the timer. But if we are notified immediately, hot water is restore in 5-10 minutes. Thank you for the comment about the light, we will remedy that situation. And that is not duct tape but decorative trim, but we are getting a new headboard anyway as we are always trying to make improvements. Please remember the golden rule, we try to live by that too. God bless.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful experience

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks in the Ginger Suite! We walked everywhere - to the beach, to town - and didn't spend a lot of time in the room - which is the reason it was such a great deal. Ron was so helpful and friendly, and the property was clean and well maintained. The photo did not accurately reflect the appearance of the room, but it really didn't matter. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to any of our friends or relatives who would not expect to be staying at a posh resort. When we come to the Islands we like to come to Kailua for its laid-back, small-town feel and the beautiful beach. We will absolutely come back to the Ginger Suite (hopefully Ron and Sue will have this property for years to come)!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much. We certainly enjoyed having you as our welcomed guests. We put forth our best efforts to make everyone's experience an enjoyable one. You may recall however, that this original unit you inquired about was not available so we referred you to homeaway.com 320339. I believe you will agree that the unit you actually stayed in matches this listing and not the original one, which was booked. Thanks again. Aloha, Sue and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We have a lot of privacy and everything we needed. We walked to the beach and town. On Thirsday we walked to a Farmers Market, it was a lot of fun seeing the local produce and flowers. We bought a nice orchid for $10 for our room, a pineapple, bananas, papaya. And an avocado. Yummy! I highly recommend this place, it was a very good value, ESP. After going to Italy in December where the rooms are much smaller and the cost 2x more with no frills. There was a refrig and small appliances for light cooking. We mare coffee 3 days and walked down to the beach 4 days and bought coffee and scones at the market there! It was a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet and Private living in Kailua, HI

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

I'm originally from Hawaii and I had no intention of staying in Waikiki where most of the hotels are located. I found this cozy studio listing online and it was perfect for what I was looking for. The studio is located in Kailua and I loved the quietness and privacy. The studio was perfectly sized and had all the essentials that we needed.

I would highly recommend this studio if you're familiar with the area and if you want some peace and quiet.

Owners response: Thank you very much Stephanie, for your kind words. We sincerely appreciate it since we try our best to have a comfortable, clean and pleasant experience for our guest. You were so nice!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review