reviews for: listing #5753 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Studio rental

Ocean Front Condado Beach Apartment
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Juan
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $80 - $89 /nt
    $500 - $600 /wk
    $1,600 - $1,900 /mth

sort by:

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

I rented this unit for one week and it was just as described. The location was awesome. You are literally in walking distance to restaraunts, stores, casinos, and best of all your right on the beach. Tom the owner, was a joy to deal with. He provided good detailed information which helped me enjoy my stay. I look forward to using this rental in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review is enormously rewarding to both Susan and me

Helpful votes: 42 / 43

 

DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

Since my girlfriend and I were coming from NYC we were looking for an apartment located right on the beach. The view from our apartment was awesome! Literally we were right on Condado beach AND the beach was perfect. Clear blue, warm, and a little wavey. The apartment has everything an apartment should have. We had a stove, microwave, fridge, couch, tv, comfortable bed, walk in closet etc... The location was pretty awesome too. You are surrounded by restaurants of all sorts and they were pretty good. PLUS Marriott really helped us out for the two weeks we were there. We rented a car for three days and drove about 300 miles. The concierge helped us reserve our tours to the Catamaran, Camuy caves, Ecoquest ziplining/atv, El Yunque, Bacardi. The prices were also decent. We also went to the beach every single day. Seriously, I did not want to leave this place. I wished I booked the entire Summer to stay here.

Owners response: Our guest went on more tours than normal and this information may be of interest to other guests staying with us. Thanks very much for taking time to provide this information!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I'm hesitant to post a review ! Why ??? Read on ,,,,,,

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Why ? Because I don't want anyone else to rent this little gem in the heart of Condado !! We just returned today after a weeks stay in this lovely studio. The building is secure and you really can't get closer to the beach without getting wet. The apartment is beach front with the most amazing view of the ocean ! The location is prime, you walk to all restaurants,bars within a minute. There were plenty of clean towels,two beach chairs,umbrella. Lots of cutlery,pots pans. All you really need. Just walk outside and boom ,,your on the beach. We just loved the place. The manager on site is friendly and Vilma is a joy to deal with. We had no issues during our stay at all. Internet was great, we didn't watch much TV but did rent a movie at Walgreens through red box and watched it one night. The windows open the width of the whole apartment and the ocean is all yours. The owner is professional and lovely to deal with. We booked for January immediately on our second day. Two of us stayed in the apartment and had plenty of space to enjoy. Just book it and enjoy. This is a beach front apartment and offers relaxed vacationers an opportunity to enjoy a perfect view and location. The other vacationers and residents in the building were friendly and nice too. Having been going to PR for 30 years I've found my new home. We loved it !!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible view from a tidy and comfortable condo for a great price

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

My fifteen year old son and I stayed for four nights.

This little condo was pretty fantastic. It was tidy, the beds and linens were comfortable, the floor was easy to sweep clean each night. The bathroom was tiled, immaculate, and there were plenty of towels.

Also, the owners were responsive and really thoughtful. When I reserved the condo, they sent along a great little guide they put together themselves - including information about all the local restaurants (so helpful). Such a delightful experience.

AND I can't convey enough how spectacular the view is from this condo! The windows slide wide open for a great breeze and the lulling sound of the waves. Lots of great memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a perfect situation for a mother and son to take in a tropical vacation. The apartment is on the beach, secure and restaurants, hotels and car rental agencies are conveniently within 2 blocks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Right on beach...can't get any better then that!!!

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay in Puerto Rico. The first week over New Years was in Old San Juan and we really enjoyed the city life. Our second week at the beach was perfect also. We were in 7A which is the one bedroom and right on the beach. We never used the air conditioner altho it was very warm out....we left the slider open and kitchen window and had a wonderful breeze. The condo is 40 years old and a rental so it has seen a lot of use by non owners and it does show a bit but it is easy enough to over look with the beautiful view. It was very clean and the owners and property managers are very helpful and I appreciated them responding, especially because it was a holiday week. Our cable tv box went out and was replaced as soon as I notified them. The condo is very secure with all the keys to get in. The area felt very safe. George, the on site maintenance man was also very helpful. He was in the process of updating the laundry room....painting and new machines. I would advise any one wanting to rent a car to do it on line. There are 4 car rental agency within walking distance we rented one for the day and returned it same day at Avis. They do have an after hours drop off. We did check a parking lot and could park for 24 hours for $8.50 which wasn't bad. There are a few parking spots by building but most of the street is reserved for Taxi. There is a bus stop near by and 75 cents exact change will take you into Old San Juan. There are many restaurant and casino near by, all within walking distance. Perfect location.

OWNER'S COMMENT:
I want to thank Kay for trying to post this and for all the information that she provided!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing location for a great price!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

My friends and I were renting for a weekend competition in Old San Juan and we couldn't have been happier with it. It is an ideal location in the heart of the Condado with access directly to the beach and plenty of restaurants, bars, stores, and casinos within a few blocks that are very safe to walk. The studio was very neat and clean and the kitchen very useful for all of those meals that you just wanted to do quickly (and cheaply!).

On top of all of that, Tom and Susan were VERY nice to work with as we set up the rental...all in all, this was a very positive experience!

Owners response: Its wonderful when travellers read our description of our apartments and they set expectations from these descriptions that are in line with what they experienced!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We loved staying here! We traveled as a group of 3 girlfriends and the set-up was very comfortable for us. Very clean and comfortable and so secure. Friendly residents and other visitors in the building. The view is amazing, and management was always prompt, professional, honest, and kind in all interactions. Renting a car from a neighborhood agency and parking with the Marriott across the street were both super-easy. The Walgreens across the street is delightfully convenient. A wonderful price for what you get!

FYI: a hair dryer, iron, 2 beach chairs, 2 boogie boards, and a beach umbrella are available. The condo's ad doesn't emphasize this and they're nice features! Also, cabs are always easy to get because the cab stand for the Marriott is right across the street.

Suggestion: A notepad where guests can leave reviews of local places for future guests might be fun.

We loved the Turkish food at Ali Baba nearby.

We would definitely recommend staying here to friends and relatives. You will be pleased.

Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful that three young women found a place that met their budgetary needs yet was secure, convenient and right on the beach!. Thanks to Vilma and Manuel for all their hard work that they do in San Juan to prepare our apartments and to ensure our guests' needs are met.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

In the heart of Condado, close to every thing, restaurants, bars, cafe, malls, amazing place, great view from the apartment, in front of the condado beach. You have all what you need, full kitchen staff, nice bed, air cond works very fine, internet is Hight speed, nice fridge, microwave etc...... The aprtment will be more attractive after the construction will finish (in a few days), so if you plan to go to Puerto Rico, this apartment is the perfect place.
With the rate we paid, we could afford a rental car and traveled to Arecibo, the observatory, Ponce, Fajardo (catamaran), seven seas, Aguadila, Caguas, Cabo Rojo, the famous Old San Juan (San Cristóbal Fort and El Morro), Carolina. Eat Puertorican nice food : the Mofongo (in different way cooking : spider, with sea food etc...). El Yunkee is amazing (small amazon forest).
Thanks to the owners for giving us a great rate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is rewarding to have guests who are appreciative of the same things that Susan and I love about the apartment and its location. We can only offer this rate for we do not draw any money from the rent for personal use. This way we can keep the condition of the apartment up to the standard of a 'home-away-from-home.'

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our trip to Condado, Puerto Rico

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

This stay in Puerto Rico, for us, was ideal. The condo was perfectly located with all the amenities you would need for general living! It was right ON the beach, with many stores all within walking distance. The bus stops are a few blocks away, with destinations to almost anywhere you would want to go on this great island nation. The people of Puerto Rico are wonderful, so warm and hospitable. The caretakers of the condo are very accommodating and helpful. The beach is fabulous! The air and water temperatures are perfect for beach going people like my husband and me. We stayed in this condo building last year in May, and we enjoyed ourselves so much, we came back this January and stayed in a condo a bit larger. This was a GREAT deal for the price! Thank you Tom and Susan!

Owners response: We are not the Marriott Hotel nor the Club Med. We are not a professional vacation rental agency. We attempt to offer a genuine Puerto Rican beachfront experience at a budget rate. Our beach, Condado Beach, is famous on the Island establishing itself in the early 1960's and our guests can sense the history of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico during their stay with us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Short stay after cruise

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Location, location, location. Amazing views, walking distance to town. For the price, you can't beat it. Kitchen and bath worked fine. I was notified via email BEFORE my stay that there would be construction during our visit. Fortunately it never affected our ocean view. If you're on a budget this is the place to stay. Owner and property management were a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Its great to be able to offer such a great location for people who are cost-conscious like we are. Our building is 60 feet from the ocean surf and so every 5 years or so we have to restore the exterior and repaint it. We are delighted that guests can still enjoy the apartment and the beach when the exterior of the building is being repainted.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property in Need of Upkeep

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Owners are very nice people and provide good service. The property is in a great location. However, the condo is in desperate need of a deep cleaning. We travel frequently and use many different types of properties. We do not expect new and beautiful. Older is fine, but not dirty. It appears that this rental has had its routine cleaning after each rental and not a good thorough cleaning in some time. Small appliances in the kitchen were filthy. We spent time cleaning in the kitchen before we felt comfortable to use it. The bedding itself was clean, but the bed skirt was filthy. The bathroom, was once again clean, but very run down and can use some TLC. The bath linens are close to being rags. It became obvious to us that there is a reason why this property rents for less than others in the building.

Owners response: This is a disappointing review! The worst we have had to date since 1998. I know that apartment is great and recently we replaced linen, painted the walls, replaced the air conditioner, and replaced different appliances in the kitchen. But the standard of cleaning was this guest's greatest concern.

We were not aware that the cleaners were not keeping up our standard of cleaning between guests.

Susan and I intend to offer clean and functional apartments to our guests and we obviously failed to achieve this goal.

Based upon this review, we initiated a regular 'deep cleaning' process for each apartment and re-trained our cleaning staff.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great location at a bargain.

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

There were some great parts about this condo, and some disappointing parts. I'll start with the good. Internet speed was great, the a/c worked well, the view is amazing, and it is centrally located to a bunch of restaurants and nightlife. The Marriott is right next door, which is nice because you can use their concierge and go on their tours. I felt very safe here, it is gated and you go through four locks to get to your room (gate, front door, elevator, room door). The owner responds quickly to emails and so does the condo manager. It is right on the beach, which is very convenient. So, now to the disappointing parts...We woke up the first morning to very loud construction and our view blocked by tons of ropes. The construction workers were on the hanging scaffolding, and constantly pulling up buckets of concrete. It really put a damper on our whole trip, because there was only one day of our whole stay when the ropes weren't up, and only 3-4 days they weren't working. I was not told beforehand that this was going to be going on, so I emailed the owner. He quickly responded and let me know that he wasn't aware the construction would still be happening, but he didn't offer any type of discount or reimbursement so we could go elsewhere. For months we had been looking forward to spending time relaxing by the big windows, eating meals and reading, but this construction ruined any day time relaxation. Moving past that we had some other issues. We called Manuel (the maintenance man who checked us in and said to call him if we needed anything) when we ran out of toilet paper and dish soap. He told us that he only puts one roll in the room and if we need more to go to Walgreen's and buy it. I found that really surprising considering we had rented the room for 8 nights and it is supposed to sleep 4 people. Four people, 8 days, one roll of toilet paper...YEAH RIGHT! We ended up buying our own toilet paper and soap to was the dishes. The condo rules are really strict about bringing sand into the apartment, which is totally understandable, but there is no foot wash to be found. We asked 5-6 people throughout our stay if they knew where we could find the foot wash and no one knew where one would be. Overall the room was clean and nice, but my personal experience was just average.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Restoration Work: Our guest was right about the restoration .. and having exterior wall repairs going on above them must have been disconcerting. We alerted guests about it in advance. However, we didn't alert this guest for we thought the work was completed. As owners, we patch and re-paint the exterior of the building every 5-7 years to keep it in excellent condition and we try to warn renters when the work is about to commence.
Toiletries: I will check to make sure this point is on our dugrene.com website when we describe our apartments. When guests rent a hotel room, they can expect it to be cleaned and toiletries re-supplied daily. However, when renting a private condo, guests can be expected to have enough on hand for a day and then supply their own toiletries. In a private condo daily cleaning is not available. And Manuel was right, there is a Walgreens four buildings down the street from our building, a 5 minute walk, where toiletries can be acquired with convenience.
Discount: Our rates are the lowest on the beachfront as we simply charge enough to cover the operating costs of the condo. We do not draw money for personal use. Susan and I discussed offering a discounted rate but never acted upon it as we thought the problem of the rope in front of the window was resolved and the guest did not email back. In fact, their daily rate was was already discounted at $72.50 .
Washing Sand from Feet: The sandy beach comes right up to the building. Normally, guests use a hose that is at the back of the building to remove sand, but since the back of the building, that faces the ocean, was being restored, the Building Maintenance Man provided a bucket of water near the laundry room so guests could dip their feet into it. Perhaps the bucket was misplaced or not placed in a conspicuous location. Vilma and Manuel tried to ensure that a bucket was available for guests when we have guests there.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

My friends and I rented this apartment for 4days before we left for our cruise and it was just what we needed. It was in the perfect location, 15mins from the airport and 15mins from the pier.

The view was stunning and we slept each night to the sound of the wind and ocean waves, not once did we use the AC. On the days we were there it rained quite a bit but that did not stop us from enjoying the beach with a glass of margaritas or wine.

Renting the condo was a great choice as it had a fully equipped kitchen of which we enjoyed most of our meals in. We went to SuperMax Grocery Store which was about a 15min walk/ 3min cab ride and spent $67 which feed us four for 4days (great deal). And there is a Walgreens right at the corner of the street. There is also a long strip of restaurants and bars so you can enjoy the night life.

The thing I appreciated the most in renting this apartment was the service that we received. The owner responds to emails very quickly and answered all our questions promptly. My friends and I asked if there was a blender in the apartment because we like to pre-game, there was one but unfortunately it was not working. I contacted the Owner who contacted the manager of the property and we had our blender in a matter of hours. The apartment came with everything you need and you will feel right at home. We added a boggy board to their collection of things for the guest to enjoy. I highly recommend this place, with all the amenities its better than a hotel and at a price you cannot beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our place is not in a new building but we try to provide a functional and clean venue for people who want to enjoy the Island and its beaches.It's wonderful when we match what we have with people who want just that!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous gem in the heart of Condado

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I did extensive research on the areas of San Juan when planning our girls trip to celebrate our birthdays over Memorial Day weekend - I had very specific criteria - as close to the beach as possible, close to everything that we would need, clean, comfortable, affordable, someplace that we would not need a car for pretty much anything - and I came across this studio and it fit all my criteria and then some. We stayed for 5 nights and I couldn't have asked for anything more, We stayed in apt 7b and loved it - the views are breathtaking. Absolutely loved being able to see the sunrise and the sunset from our windows which span the entire apartment, The location could not have been better. A trip down the elevator and out the the door and we are on the beach. Every day there were also men there who rented chairs and umbrellas - we got a deal for 2 chairs and an umbrella for $10, chair rentals were $3. Walgreens is literally a minute walk and if you needed a cab all you had to do was walk right out the door and they were everywhere. We were so close to everything that we did not rent a car and found that taking cabs at night when we wanted to go out or to Old San Juan was the easiest and cheap enough being that we would be splitting it multiple ways. As soon as we arrived we met the guys staying in the room next to us also owned by the same people (apt 7A) and we made new friends and did alot of things together during our stay. Also we got a very good look at 7A which is also very nice and has a balcony. Tom & Susan were very helpful from the time that I first contacted them with any questions that I had asked. Susan responded to my inquiry extremely quick, faster than most others and we decided to book with them before I had even heard back from most other people. They did upon confirmation email us a packet which included some very beneficial information about Puerto Rico and some personal references on where to dine. I had a made a request to have a specific bottle of liquor in the room and a mixer since we were celebrating some bdays and I wanted our girls vaca to start off with a bang and the property manager Manuel went out of his way to get it and have it in the room for us and ice was also already made. He was extremely helpful the entire time. On day of checkout our flight didnt leave until 4:45 and he had no problem allowing us to check out later. I cannot recommend styaing here enough and I am already planning to come back for Labor Day weekend!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the perfect description of a great time! Thanks to Manuel and Vilma for setting up this time for your stay and Susan for being on the spot with responses, you were able to meet good people during your visit and have a great time on the beach!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beachfront Getaway

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

I decided to take a last minute escape from NYC to stick my toes in the sand and listen to the ocean. I was fortunate to find this fantastic, relaxing beachfront apartment that is more affordable than any surrounding hotels I researched and I'd guess any other rentals in this location (in Condado and directly on the beach).

One of the owners, Tom, responded to my inquiry quickly from abroad (explaining they are not in the habit of doing last minute rentals), and connected me to the cleaning woman who I phoned early in the morning from the airport en route to PR. The place was clean and ready when I arrived and Vilma was friendly and available to answer any questions I had.

I had a lovely three days, enjoying the ocean breeze and view from the terrace. This place is clean, safe, and the neighbors are very friendly. My only hesitation to write this review is I fear the apartment (I stayed in the one bedroom, 7A) will not be available when I return. And I will return. Thanks for accommodating me.

Owners response: Our property manager certainly earned this review! It is difficult to quickly ready an apartment at the last minute and she certainly went out of her way to make this 3 day dash to the sun, surf and sand enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I want to go back

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

What a fantastic location! We stayed the week of January 15 to 22, 2012. We loved being right on the beach. The crash of the waves......can't beat that!! We were lucky, we were booked in one of the efficiency's but Tom asked if we would mind switching to the one bedroom with a balcony. We ate breakfast every morning watching people walking the beach and every evening for that last glass of wine! What a way to start and end the day. The security system is wonderful. The elevator, we could not believe how efficient it was! The place is withered as it is older but that just gives it more charm.
Listen to Tom about car rental, that is the one thing we would have done differently.....we would have rented the car as needed and not for the whole week. We loved that we could just walk up to the corner and get on a bus to go to Old San Juan. LOVED it there and wish we were there right now!!

A note to you Tom. You are wonderful. Any time I emailed you with a question and we all know sometimes we have some pretty dumb questions!! You were right there with the answers and we should have listened a bit more with the car situation. Thank you for a week we will never forget!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The old saying is location - location - location .. and it is true that we have that! We owners work hard to keep our building in top shape and our apartments clean and functional so people can enjoy the beach even if they are not on it just by looking outside ...we appreciate this feedback

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location RIGHT on the beach!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2011. We had a great time! The location was great, we used the concierge at the Marriott (right next door) all the time but what really makes this place awesome if that it is right ON the beach. Oceanfront. There were lots of restaurants within walking distance and Old San Juan was only a short 50 cent bus ride away. Also, there was a rental car company directly across the street which was also very convenient. The apartment was stocked with towels, sand toys, shampoo, even sunblock (we added some, too!) which was great. Our ONLY complaint was that although the huge windows give way to an amazing view, there were no curtains so we woke up when the sun was up! No sleeping in. Would definitely stay here again. Also, would highly recommend checking out puertoricodaytrips.com which was a great resource as we were planning our trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The beach and oceanfront location makes the stay worthwhile. We figure our guests can have a million dollar view for $80 a night!

We tried curtains in the past but people complain about them often as flapping in the breeze and blocking the view. So we just have the ocean and the early sun to enjoy each day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great tiime on the beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

The 2nd floor unit was perfect for my husband, mother & me. We cooked most of our meals and enjoyed them overlooking the beach. The building security was excellent. Great TV & WiFi. You can walk, bus or taxi anywhere. We did have a car so drove to El Yunque raiforest. It was beautiful. Took a taxi to Old San Juan & and a bus on the return trip. The owner & his agents in San Juan were very nice, helpful & easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It gives me a real sense of satisfaction to contribute to a couple's vacation ... thanks for taking the time to give this feedback.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise !!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October 2010 and June 2011. We love this apartment you will not find a better location. Tom and Susan are great to rent from and Velma and Tito are such an asset and always available and have a wealth of knowledge of the area. This is a "must experience" because honestly words cannot express how awesome it is to have the breaking waves lull you to sleep each night. The location is convenient to everything; no rental car needed unless you just want one, we walked all over Condado and took the city bus to Old San Juan and enjoyed every minute of it!!! Can't wait to return :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I hope you are able to come back often to enjoy Puerto Rico!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

La Dolce Vita

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

First and for most THANK YOU Tom, Susan, Tito, and the rest of you all that helped arranged this.

From the beginning Tom and Susan had been very communicative and prompt with their responses. They made sure I was adequate with all the information I needed before my departure. For example, I emailed Tom 4:00 am on my way to the airport because I had forgotten some details and he responded right away. Would you receive that kind of response 4:00 am at a Hotel?. . . NO WAY!

As soon as I arrived Tito was there to help. He manages the apartment, and he allowed me an early check-in at 11:00 am as opposed to 1:00 pm. He gave me a tour of the apartment, showed me where I can find things, etc. He was sweet and very helpful.

The apartment was absolutely beautiful. As soon as I walked through the door way I was overwhelmed by the view and began to cry. The view was spectacular; felt like it was my own private beach. The apartment is adorable, I feel in love with it because it's very beachy, not posh at all, you automatically feel comfortable and want to take your shoes off and enjoy the way of life in San Juan. Everything is in walking distance: shops, restaurants, Walgreens, bars, Starbucks, etc. And if you want to leave Condado beach then you just take a taxi, there were always taxis outside the apartment because the Marriott was right across the street.

Being in San Juan and staying at Toms and Susan's lovely apartment opened my eyes to a different way of life. I love the city, but you sure appreciate the simple things in life when you don’t have all those distracting things around you.

Thank you so much for the incredible memories and life changing experience, it was priceless.

I will be back soon and will definitely love the opportunity to stay at your lovely home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: For 14 years we have rented our oceanfront apartments to guests when we are not there .. and we've had many wonderful guests who want to feel like they are really in San Juan Puerto Rico ... people who want this seem to be attracted to our site and they meet their expectations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

We stayed for a week in Apt. 7A. It was perfect, exactly what we wanted. The view of the beach and the ocean from the enormous windows is unbeatable. The building was quiet, and the balcony is great to sit on and enjoy the wind and the surf. It takes just a couple minutes to walk to the beach, and it is only a block to restaurants and shops. The owners were very nice, and Tito was very helpful. There was no parking included, but the people at the Marriott were great when we rented a car and parked it there. I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Over the years I learned how important it is to describe our apartments clearly and honestly. We try to advertise honestly, ensuring guests don't have higher expectations than we can meet. We try to offer clean and functional apartments.

They are older, but they are not the Marriott which is next door. And we don't charge an arm and a leg for them! Of course, our apartments are right on the beach .. the location is a "$350-a-night location" which our guests rent for 1/4 of that! And Vilma and Tito are the most helpful people you can find for they really care about you when you are with us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ein wahrer TRAUM

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

TOP LAGE, sauber, einfach perfekt und der Preis ist auch unschlagbar gut. Wem es nicht stört dass die Einrichtung etwas älter ist, der ist hier bestens aufgehoben!!!! Das Appartment ist am schönsten Strandabschnitt, die Aussicht vom 7. Stock einfach herrlich, wie im TRAUM! Man kann gut essen gehen, aber sich auch gut selbstversorgen, ein paar Schritte und der Supermarkt ist da und hat 24 Stunden geöffnet.
Vom buchen bis zur Schlüsselrückgabe einfach TOP!!! Wenn es möglich ist werden wir sicher wieder kommen, aber leider ist die Anreise so lange!!!! Vielen DANK nochmal für ALLES!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: ONLINE Translator - German to English -
TOP LOCATION, clean, just perfect and the price is unquestionably good. Those who do not mind that the setup is a little older, which is in good hands here!! The apartment is on the finest stretch of beach, the view from the 7th Floor beautifully simple, as in the DREAM! You can eat well, but there is also a supermarket a few steps away open 24 hours. From first booking to our return it was simply the TOP experience! If it is possible we will be back, but unfortunately we have to wait so long!! Thanks again for EVERYTHING !!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice with a great view

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

This is our 3 stay . We were there for 2 months this time. Its a great place to stay. Everything is near bye. Theres a lot of real nice restaraunts within 2 blocks. Everyboby there will help you. Everything is nice and clean.Will go back Great view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is heartening when people check into our oceanfront apts and find exactly what they were hoping for .. when looking for a place to stay, remember to consider all the information given beside the rate ... for when you find a match to your perfect place .. it is a five star experience like this!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place!!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We were very delighted and satisfied with this place... Excellent Location in the heart of Condado, 10 minutes from the airport and right in front of the Ocean!!! Very clean, great service, great price and Would definitely stay again!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to make our three oceanfront apartments affordable and it is our credo to provide clean, functional and secure accommodation for travellers to San Juan ... it feels great to offer people a place they can go and not disappoint them!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice - centrally accessible to a lot of thing

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

The location of the property was great! Easy walk to the bus stop, beach, grocery store, and local hangout spots. We enjoyed staying in the studio very much. Thank you so much for the ride to and from the airport which created a fantastic final service to our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to make our three oceanfront apartments affordable and it is our credo to provide clean, functional and secure accommodation for travellers to San Juan ... we are definitely not a 5 star hotel,, but we definitely are a 5 star value for people wanting to enjoy themselves in the midst of one of the most loved beaches in Puerto Rico.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Tom's apartment recently. The location is excellent, close to shops, markets, restaurants. Bus stop on the corner, easy access to OSJ. The apartment is not luxurious but it has all the necessities, it's clean and everything is in working order. I miss those ocean breezes, the view and the sound of the waves. My gratitude to Vilma and Tito for offering to drive us to be "big" supermarket. Tom, I have already recommended your apartment to several people and be assured that we'll stay at the Stella Maris condo upon our return to Puerto Rico, which I hope will be in a not too distant future. Thank you, again, for a great experience in San Juan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It makes my day to read this .. we love our place on the beach and to share it with people who love it too is what it's all about!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding view

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Studio: We are wrapping up a wonderful week in apartment 2C. The accommodations are as described and pictured. The apartment is older but comfortable, clean enough, safe, and conveniently located. The ocean view is outstanding, and the sound of the waves is amazing. Though an HGTV-style low-cost renovation would really make this place shine, we have been satisfied with our stay and appreciate that the owners keep the rent affordable. Adding some high director chairs that allow you to take in the amazing ocean view while eating, reading, etc. would be an excellent addition. We hope to have the opportunity to stay here again and would recommend others rent from Tom.

Food and Drink: Overall, we were disappointed in the restaurants in the area. Though they are plentiful, they mostly seem to be tourist traps. Latin Star was the best value. We were happy to have a kitchen in which to cook up yummy, cheap meals. There is a large supermarket about a 10 minute walk away, a small grocers (Eros) a few blocks past the Marriott, and a Walgreens w/ a grocery section a block away. There are great happy hours in the area, but you do have to ask--they are not clearly advertised and bartenders do dot tell you the deals unless you ask them directly if there is a happy hour. The Marriott has a Bacardi happy hour at the beach bar from 4-6. Our favorite place to lounge was the fancy, mid-century modern La Concha resort. The terrace at La Concha is a wonderful place to sit; the food is on the pricier side but fresh, and the ambiance is great. They also have a decent happy hour from 6-8 at the inside bar--$3 angus sliders, $2 fries, $8 mixed drinks. We heard good things about the La Perla restaurant at the resort, but it was out of our price range. Miro, across from the Marriott, has a 2 for 1 happy hour. In Old San Juan, we enjoyed a pretty good fish lunch at AquaViva--thanks for the suggestion, Tom.

Overall, this has been a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Some great suggestions here .. "HGTV-style low-cost renovation would really make this place shine, we have been satisfied with our stay and appreciate that the owners keep the rent affordable. Adding some high director chairs ..." We'll do this when we save the money. We've kept the rents at our 1998 rates all these years so people can find great happy hours to spend the money they save!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great experience. Fabulous view and value.

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

The Stella Maris condo complex is located in the HEART of Condado within walking distance to everything in Condado. This is the first time I can remember NOT renting a car on vacation, but to do so would have been a complete waste of money,( unless you plan to drive around the island...and there are rental companies located in the Marriott next door which you can rent for just a day if you decide to, a FAR better alternative than renting at the airport once you arrive in San Juan.) The unit is so close to the ocean that the roar of the surf is deafening if the windows are open ( a real PLUS for us landlocked midwesterners ) but is barely audible when the windows are closed. And the breeze coming through the unit with open windows allowed me not to have the air conditioning on at all during my entire stay. There is no pool on the property but having one would be a waste of good water with the Atlantic Ocean just steps away. The owner, Tom, is unquestionably one of the very best landlords I have ever dealt with. He goes way beyond what is necessary to insure that you have all of your questions answered and have a great time too. After I made my initial reservation I had a scheduling conflict, (for which many landlords might quip "Sorry Carlie....you're outta luck") but Tom EASILY and without a second thought, allowed me to re-schedule with NO problem nor penalty. I can't say ENOUGH about his courtesy and professionalism ! The property manager, Vilma, as well as Tito and George who work at the complex, will make you feel right at home from the minute you meet them. If you want the 24 hour non-stop action of being in the middle of one of the large overpriced casino hotels like Marriott or La Concha (yes they are gorgeous and expensive hotels that cater to your every whim), this unit may not be your style. But if you are looking for a quiet, secure, friendly place to stay in an unbeatable location then I would certainly recommend Tom's condo without question.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: These three apartments are my favorite places and to share them with people who are a fit with them and what they offer is awesome!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay for the price

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We visited Puerto Rico in the summer of 2009 and rented this apartment for a duration of 5 days. I must admit my first impression was a little off, cause I was expecting something a little hmm, updated, with a balcony maybe? But as the days passed I really came to like the place a lot. The location is wonderful, very close to shopping, eating joints - though the Indian place opposite Marriot was just not worth the price, note - a lady comes by everyday in her car in the street next to the building with authentic local food that she serves out of the back of the car, try it, even the Marriot employees eat there. We spent some time at the Marriot as well, trying out their slot machines. Oh, you can rent cars from the Marriot or this small place opposite Marriot. Marriot can also help with trips etc (though we made our own arrangements). Back to the apartment - we had to be extra careful about not bringing in sand from the beach and not leaving food out due to the sugar ants and my husband was like a drill master making sure we followed the rules to a T, so there's a little extra cleaning up involved here, keep that in mind. The windows have no drapes, so it gets pretty bright very early in the morning, which is actually quite nice, unless you had a heavy night and are hoping to sleep in. The contact lady is very nice and helpful and even found some to drive us to the local grocery stores, since we needed to stock up on some essentials for our daughter. Overall, after the initial tiny disappointment, purely on aesthetic reasons (shallow, I know), it turned out to be a nice place to hang out in and enjoy the views (a balcony would still have been wonderful).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks to this guest for providing extra details for others to appreciate. When we send a contract to guests, we include a list of "do's and don'ts" ... i.e., how to keep the drains from plugging up with sand from bathining suits; and since tiny sugar ants are everywhere in the tropics, how to keep them from taking up home in the apartments by storing everything in the fridge and wiping the counters down with soapy water.

We love the beach and the awesome views ... and since the apartment faces north toward the Atlantic ocean, the sun does not directly shine through the windows into the apartment ... and it is cooler and shaded every day.

We have a balcony in one apartment but the other two apartments were smaller so we built windows out onto their balconies to give more space. The windows slide open and enable people to have the entire wall open to the ocean. The railings from the original balcony are still there, so people can walk up to the railings to enjoy the view.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

My boyfriend and I arrived on July 6th at 1pm. When we arrived, we thought the unit was cute and in a perfect location. We went out to lunch. After arriving back at the unit around 4pm or so, we realized that we did not have any running water. We called the contact, who explained to us that the water had been turned off that day by the water company. She told us she was working with the water company to get the situation fixed, but it wouldn't be for another day. We rented the unit due to the good price per night. She told us that we could get other accommodations, but did not offer to help us pay for the other accommodations (considering the price was going to be significantly higher). We ended up getting the unit for $40/night but were without water for over 24 hours.

I was disappointed in the way the situation. If the unit was without water, we should have been informed of that upon arrival. Instead of costing us $40/night, I think that we should have been provided other accommodations at no additional cost to us. I also think that we should not have been charged a $50 cleaning fee. Overall, the location was great, but we were unable to utilize the beach for a day and a half because we had no running water in the unit to take a shower.

Owners response: What a difficult time that was for us all. Our guests, who were staying two nights just arrived around 1:00 pm and went to the beach for a swim. When they returned the water was off. Our apartment, along with several others had their water shut off without warning. When our guests phoned the property manager and told her there was no water, we started phoning the water company and it wasn't until 4:00 pm when we were told that they wanted $601.00 before they could turn it on again. Water bills are about $30 a month, and we have three apartments that we pay for each month, so we could not understand how we owed that much. However, we wanted to get the water reconnected immediately and paid them the money. They told us that we could ask for an investigation and get our money back later.

The property manager, who was in constant touch with our guests, found out that the water company would not turn the water on until the next day. So she told them the news and said that they could look for another apartment if they wanted and we would pay up to the rent they paid with us, for both our other apartments were currently booked. They decided to stay the night and told her that they would be out on the town all day the next day. So the property manager brought extra pails of water to the apartment so they could at least flush the toilet.

The water was turned back on the next day and we offered to not charge them for the day without water. After they returned home, they asked for an additional refund of the $50 cleaning fee, to which I made this dubious decision to hold the line. I did not agree with refunding this money for the cleaning company contracted to clean after each guest checks out was already paid the $50, and I did not feel we were being fairly treated.

We have been renting these apartments successfully since 1998 and never had anything like this occur before. Oh, we've had hurricanes, electricity out and elevators not working and during these times we offered guests a percentage off or a refund of part of their rent. We want them to experience getting a great deal when they are with us. If guests cancel for hurricanes or personal illness we always refund any deposit without question, But we have never had a guest contact us after they got home to ask for an additional refund.

If I could do it over again, I would refund the whole amount for a bad review is the last thing we work for. We are steadfastly committed to providing the best deal in town.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Enjoyable Place to stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

My parents and I spend a week in the apartment 7A. It is perfect for a family of 3. A quiet place, an overview of the Atlantic ocean are those special things that you want to enjoy over and over again. A very cozy apartment and a safe area made our first trip to San Juan extremely enjoyable. The owner and his assistant were very nice and easy to communicate with. They were always available to reach at any moment. The apartment was clean and well-maintained. I would definitely go back and recommend it to my friends. This is perfect for those who like to fell like home away from home.
A huge plus is that this condominium property is located withing a walking distance from a supermarket, museums (for people who appreciate art and support a creativity of thought, an art museum is a-must-see), a local market with fresh produce (for those who love and crave ripen fruit and vegetables. A night life of Ashford Avenue will help you to relax and meet new people after a long day of exploring San Juan or lazy lounging on the beach next to the warm and inviting ocean.
Overall, all of us had a good time. Thanks to the owner and all his team.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We appreciate knowing that our guests enjoy themselves in our beachfront locations. It is especially rewarding when guests take the time to describe their experiences for others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

4 person stay

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 3, 2008

We had a group of 4 stay in 7B for five days and everyone agreed it was great. The apartment was clean and nicely furnished and the location was unbeatable. All the staff we spoke with were very helpful and friendly and the building itself was secure. Our only complaint was the lack of elevator because of it being refurbished at the time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Location, and Friendly

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

I stayed on the property from May 23, 2008 - June 1, 2008. I booked the propery thru Tom, the owner. He was very honest. No problems booking the condo at all. They except credit cards. Location and price are major factors when considering a rental. This place located at Stella Maris has both. The condo was prepared and waiting upon my arrival. Vilma, the property manager, was very friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. The condo has no pool, however, you are literally on the beach. Everything is located close by. There is a Wal-greens one block up, and they sell some food staples there. Shops and eatries are all around. Located right next door to the Marriot. We walked next door a few times and hung out at the pool bar listening to the live entertainment. I stayed in two different apartments at this location. The first was a studio, 2C. It was pleasant, and it has a queen bed and a futon that makes into another bed. It does not have a balcony, however the whole wall is glass and opens up. The television set went out during our stay in this condo. Vilma had a brand new LCD TV the very next day. Cable in both units. The other condo that I stayed in was 7A. The view of the city and beach / ocean are awesome from the balcony. Both units had brand new A/C units in them. 7A has a full size bed in the bedroom. There was a mattress brought up for the other member in my party. The condo is very quite at night. If you are looking for a nice place with a good location and not all the bells and whistles then this is the place. I would stay here again and again. I have already recommended this rental to my friend. They only negative aspect was the fact the elevator is being revamped. Tom told me way ahead of time that this was taking place. 2C was not an issue at all at two flights. 7A is quite a climb, but if your healthy and in good shape you will have no problems. I stayed for a total of nine nights. The reason for my move was the fact that 2C was not available the whole nine nights. That is where 7A came into play. I give this two thumbs up. Great job Tom and Vilma!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

I stayed at this condo for a week and I found it very convenient. Right on the beach, it was nice to listen to the ocean while you were in. Everything was in walking distance, and if you wanted to go farther from the condo it was easy to rent a car or take the bus. I would stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We try to guarantee comfort, cleanliness and functionality. This reviewer focused on the location, which we think is awesome!

Helpful votes: 28 / 29

 

Awesome views

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

One of the best vacation spots in PR......

I spent 10 wonderful days here and the sounds of the waves just lulled me to sleep, Owners provided excellent customer service very safe, clean. Very friendly neighbors great locale, local area being revamped great shops, casinos, I watched cruise ship arriving. Beach is awesome Great waves for water sports. would stay here again and again, no more hotels for me.

Will

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We agree .. makes my day when others feel the excitement of the incredible location!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Right on Beach

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This property was in walking distance to everything we needed! Clean condo with excellent access to beach! Management was very helpful with providing towels when needed and local information. Looking forward to returning very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to returning guests for they become old friends.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

A Cute Condo on Condado Beach

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This property was perfect for our vacation. We stayed a total of five nights, and each night got better than the last. We could open up our window and hear the ocean roaring outside--it was wonderful. This condo is located right on the beach, so we literately took stairs down two flights and were on the beautiful beach. There are taxis located right near by, so you can get around anywhere on the island. If you want adventures, you can go next door to the Marriott and work with a booking company. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, a WalGreens across the street, and a wonderful nightclub about a block away. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking to get away for a week or so.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan and I appreciate our guest taking time to write this review. Each year we try to update our oceanfront apartments and this review makes our efforts worthwhile.

Helpful votes: 21 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review