reviews for: listing #5766 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Luxurious Log Home, 7 rooms w/ beds,5 baths, game rm & more
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Christmas Valley
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $625 - $1,200 /nt

sort by:

Beautiful, spacious and comfortable!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

This home is beautiful and very comfortable. Perfect for our large family vacation. My parents are in their 80's and my grandson is only a few weeks old and everyone was comfortable and happy. The large dining table made dinners fun and the porch with the spa was enjoyed on a few of the rainy afternoons. We played our family golf tournament at Tahoe Paradise and enjoyed a few days at nearby Pope Beach. Great fun was had by everyone. Consuelo and very nice to work with and very accomodating!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

The property was exactly as advertised and was very clean upon our arrival. The many different room configurations and layout of the house is ideal for a large family looking for privacy.

Amenities: The house is very well stocked with every dish and gadget you would ever need while on vacation. Everything from plenty of knifes, forks, spoons and utensils to blenders, coffee grinders and plenty of pots and pans. The game room also is well stocked with everything you would ever need for cocktails. The bathrooms are very large and clean!

The property manager stayed in contact with us during our booking process and provided all home guidelines and expectations well in advance of our arrival. The check out process was painless with clear directions posted throughout the home.

The only minor feedback I will provide is the noise level within the home. You can hear every footstep while people walk, especially on the 1st and 2nd floor. We found ourselves tip toeing while the children were sleeping and you could still hear the footsteps on the two bottoms floors. This is NOT a deal breaker for the home just a heads up to anybody with young children who are sensitive to noise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect trip

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

Everything was excellent. Loved the dining room area and kitchen especially and of course the game room down stairs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT place to stay!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

My friends and I decided to do a group trip to Tahoe during Christmas/New years time and saw multiple listings, but most of them required a minimum of 7 days. However, we were able to book this property for our 4 day stay. The place is great for a big group (16 people). There were plenty of space and beds. For those who did not get a bed, there were futons or mats for us to use. We all love the open area on the top floor for the living room and kitchen, where we spent most of the time as a group. The property was very clean and very well maintained. Not only was the property a very nice place, but the property manager, Consuelo, was awesome. She was very helpful and was very responsive to any questions/concerns we had. She was easy to work with in booking the place. Overall, I highly recommend this property.

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious and convieient

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

After researching many places, we settled on this one to celebrate a birthday with some friends. Consuelo was always helpful and very responsive to emails. The place was as described (we did have some issues of exactly how many beds were available because there was a discrepancy in the listing, but Consuelo confirmed with us quickly after an email was sent). The house is in a nice quiet neighborhood, quick drive to the supermarket, some restaurants, and the ski resorts (Sierra, Heavenly). It was nice to go back and forth from the steam room to the sauna after long days of snowboarding (snow conditions were terrible, but this trip was planned in advance). We even met the neighbors dog and they were very friendly! Overall the trip was a success and the cabin was a perfect fit.

For the reason of not giving full 5 stars. I was charged a $95 due to a foul smell in the master bedroom and pet hair. I did mention prior to us going to the cabin that I would possibly bring two dogs and got them approved but last minute we decided to not bring them, so I was confused as to what pet hair they were discussing about. Also the foul odor in the master bedroom. I was furious that they would charge me for that as my party and I had left the house spotless. How can one prove of the foul odor? I spoke to Consuelo and she mentioned that the house keeper did confirm we left the house in a very clean state (even washing all the dishes and running all loads of laundry!) so she said she will pay half of the fee. Her customer service was still exceptional but I was not satisfied with the answer that they had to charge for the foul odor smell. (How can one prove that there was no foul odor before they left? Too bad we don't have smell-o-gram pictures). Overall, the stay was nice and the place fit us well. I'd just be cautious when you check out to make sure you note everything and to ensure when the cleaning is taking place after your departure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your positive review. I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay and the house was such a perfect fit for your group. It’s unfortunate that there was a misunderstanding between us regarding the final cleaning. As you know, as a good faith gesture, we accommodated your group with a very late checkout without charging additional fees and only charged for half of the additional cleaning fee. I hope to have you back in the future and earn your extra star.
Consuelo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent for a multi family group

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We rented this property for the long weekend. It was exactly as described. It was clean and nicely furnished. It is perfect for multiple couples as each bedroom had either a queen or king size bed. Plenty of bathrooms. Kitchen was well stocked, even better than my own kitchen. The bottom floor was perfect for the kids (sometime forgot they were there). I would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

This was my first HomeAway rental experience, and I must say the experience has been "thumbs up" the whole way.

Consuelo improved on the experience by always being quick to respond to any concerns and heeding any needs (although we had none). The house in itself is just as you see it AMAZING, yet better once you are there. You get a cozy feel with a massive backyard (base of the mountain) yet can easily get lost in its nook and kranies.

Our group was more interested in spending quality time in a beautiful place than many of the other South Lake attractions (except for skiing which was a short drive) and this home provided all of was we needed and then some.

May your experience equal or improve upon ours.

THANKS COUNSUELO!!!!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. My staff and I work diligently to make sure that everyone who stays at my homes will be able to share what you and your group have experienced. I will be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure they will appreciate it as much as I do. We look forward to having you as a customer for many more years to come.
Sincerely,
Consuelo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Rental With All The Necessary Amenities

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful house; it felt like home- completely peaceful. The layout, amenities, and location met our needs-- the sauna, hot tub, and game room. Really appreciated the friendly customer service received, making our experience even more enjoyable.

Tany
Stockton

Owners response: Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Setup!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

My brothers and I rented this house for a family reunion in Tahoe. We had 3 families plus my mom and it never even felt the least bit crowded. It's just a few miles from South Shore, but in a great area. Close to Echo Lake too.
We would have been hard pressed to find a nicer place that was big enough to accomodate all of us. A great jumping off point too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

very relaxing and luxurious large home

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

extremely spacious and very comfortable cabin. the game room and all the fireplaces are fantastic.

i highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent choice for South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

This property is a nice and large house and is in excellent shape and beutifully located.
- The kitchen is large and well stocked.
- The master bedroom is fantastic, with a fireplace between bedroom and bathroom of the masterbedroom
- The game room, located in the basement has a pool table and poker table as well as another kitchen
- There is free internet WLAN

The only downside to the property, is that it is located at some distance from South Lake Tahoe and Heavenly (about 20 min by car)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Excellent Vacation Rental for Multiple Families

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: March 21, 2008

Just stayed in this property in March 2008. I have rented many homes in the Tahoe area and have to say this is one of the best. It is very well kept, well supplied with the house needs and was a pleasure to stay in. The game room, which is on the bottom floor, is absolutely wonderful for children too! There is a lot of stairs, so just keep that in mind for those with babies / not as good walkers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review