reviews for: listing #57688 - New Paltz, New York Cottage rental

Sweet Cottages in the Woods
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Esopus
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $170 /nt
    $900 - $1,000 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Sweet retro cottages, very comfortable

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Wee enjoyed our stay at these refurbished cottages on a grassy hillside.
While retaining the fifties character the owners have updated the cottages to be comfortable and usable. Wifi is spotty but there are books and games. When we requested an extra blanket, we got a nice down quilt.
It was too cool to swim but the pool looked very clean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: We enjoyed meeting you - come back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely family weekend

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The cottage was small but cozy and clean. Great for a family weekend and the owners, Marge and Reeni, made us feel right at home. The pool was clean and steps from our cottage and we were able to park the car right by the door. Very convenient. Had a great time and even went Hot Air Ballooning from nearby Randalls Airport (about 3/4 hour drive). We highly recommend the cottages for an affordable family vacation. Maria

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: We loved hosting you and hope you'll come back for the beautiful fall foliage.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A terrific find --Perfectly wonderful cottages!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

What a delight to have found this wonderful get-a-way! The cottage was lovely and clean, including a kitchen well stocked with utensils and cookware. Clearly the owners/hosts, Reeni and Marge, have put a lot of work and pride into their property. The ambience was warm and inviting, and Reeni and Marge were friendly and accommodating. There is access to WiFi and, and it was a pleasure to sit in a comfortable chair overlooking the woods and forget the rapid pace of the big city. This is a perfect place to relax and to enjoy the quiet and beautiful surroundings, including a wonderful swimming pool. There are a couple of small towns nearby which were fun to visit, and we got great recommendations from Reeni for good places to eat. All in all it was a perfect weekend. Families are welcome, as are well-behaved dogs.

I would very highly recommend these cottages for a vacation. The price was extremely reasonable and I look forward to coming back again later in the summer. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't ask for a better summer rental

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

The cottage was simple but fit our needs perfectly for a restful and restorative month with its tasteful color scheme, full kitchen, firm beds and screened in porch. The cottages sit on a grassy hill. Loved seeing the white tail deer in the morning and hummingbird in the afternoon. Lovely, clean pool was very refreshing. Reeni is a great hostess and everyone else we met was also interesting and engaging. We enjoyed the people,the view, and the pool!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having you with us for the month and look forward to a repeat next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We had a lovely time at our cottage in the woods. Clean, comfortable cottage, beautiful wooded grounds (literally with deer and bunnies running around), a nice-sized pool surrounded by trees and flowers - it was perfect for a weekend getaway. Our two 8 year olds had a fabulous time, swimming, finding salamanders, and running in the grass. I would definitely recommend this and come back again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful seeing the girls enjoy the country. Come back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Get Away

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

We travel to this part of New York each summer to visit relatives and were so happy to find the cottages. They were clean, comfortable, safe, and quiet. The setting was lovely and the pool was a great bonus. We were visiting family but still found time for some walks down the country roads near the cottages and went swimming almost every day. Having Wifi was also very convenient. The owners were friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your family stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

New Paltz Get-a-Way at Sweet Cottage in the Woods

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Rachel's Sky Top Cottages in New Paltz is a relaxing get-a-way just 2 hours from NYC.

Three little cottages on a hill overlooking a beautiful pool and surrounded by woods is the perfect place to kick back and relax. The cottage was immaculate, and just the perfect size for us. The kitchen allowed us to cook and barbecue from the local, seasonal foods that we purchased at the New Paltz farmers market.

Reeni was the perfect hostess, friendly and informative. They have created the perfect little oasis that all New Yorkers should enjoy! We will definitely be back! Martha, David and Lucca

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great, peacegul cabin

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

This is a great cabin in a very peaceful setting. If you're looking to get away to someplace quiet and mellow, this is it. The only sound is the wind gently blwoing through the trees and the hum of the crickets at night. The good-sized pool is sparkling and even has a slide. Of course, you're in the country so you mnight get the occasional cute little frog or salamander who also wants to go for a swim. :)

The cabin I stayed we stayed in is a 2 bedroom, it's not a big house but a small cabin, but very clean and recently refurbished. Great kitchen and nice porch.

Reeni and Margie are delightful and very friendly and accomodating.

And if you're looking for more action, you can always drive the short and scenic 15 minutes to New Paltz and its many restarants, bars and other attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Cute Country Cottage

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

If your looking for a cute bungalow in a country setting,set back from the road, Rachel's Cottages is a great choice. The historic bungalows have been updated, refurbished and are very clean. Bring a good book, sit in your vintage motel chair and read in the sun while taking in the beauty of the area . Take a walk on the hiking trails. The bungalows are about 8 miles from New Paltz- a 15 minute ride down winding country roads, or about 8 minutes from Rosendale. The owners Reeni and Marge were just lovely and helpful, but also gave my wife and I plenty of privacy. If your expecting the Marriot this is not the place for you. if your looking for a country bungalow that brings you back to your childhood summer camp then book a weekend stay. Yes there are birds chirping and fireflies at night. Make yourself a tall glass of iced tea, take your book and sit on the porch with some Van Morrision playing in the background. Maybe play a board game with the kids. It doesn't get much better than this if your looking for some downtime. Its also very close to the town of Rosendale which has a couple of very cute restaurants- One of them is the Red Brick Tavern- great place to eat. Very cute little town. Its not a big downtown area- if you blink your eyes you will drive right past it. Overall we had a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Country Get-a-way

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

If you are looking for a vacation that brings you back to nature or just a weekend getaway than you must take a trip to Rachaels Cottages. Nestled back from the main road with nothing but woods in the backyard, sit back enjoy a lemonade and listen to the sweet sound of crickets, you will love the peace and serenity. There is lots to do outside this country retreat, it all depends on what your looking for...My husband and I found this place on the VacationRentals.com because we were bringing our son up to SUNY New Paltz for orientation. We were very pleased with the proximity to the college because we went back and forth several times through out our stay. Our hosts Reeni and Marge could not have been more pleasant or accommodating, there were there to greet us and saw to it that our cottage was ready and clean upon our arrival. The layout of the cottage was perfect and well equipped if there was anything we needed Reeni was there to see to your needs, all you did was have to ask....yes one of our screens had a tear in it and we mentioned it to Reeni and within the hour Reeni and Marge were on a ladder replacing it. If you want to relax, read a book on your porch, or even write a book this is the place for you. My teenage daughter LOVED the pool which was sparkling clean, my dogs were well behaved therefore welcome and we really enjoyed our afternoon hiking in the woods right behind our cottage . The breeze that came through our cottage was wonderful, if your looking for air-conditioning, video games or Flat screen TV's, this is not the place for you... If you like antiquing, shopping, barbeques and long walks in the woods and just down time with your family you really have to pay a visit... We cannot wait to go back!!! We have already planned a trip for the Fall...cannot wait to see the changing of the leaves!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful & charming cottage!!! Perfect, serene,

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We recently had the pleasure of spending three nights at Rachel's Skytop Cottages. The cottage that we stayed in was absolutely perfect: beautiful, clean, relaxing, and comfortable. It is obvious upon arrival that the owners take pride in keeping the cottages lovely and clean. The Audre Lorde cottage is beautifully remodeled on the inside with a wonderful kitchen and spotless bathroom. The living room is a good size, and has a working TV and DVD player. The owners of the property are friendly and helpful. The space is perfect: small enough to be cozy & romantic, but not crowded. There are plenty of nearby attractions, but the cottage is so lovely that we didn't really feel the need to go anywhere. The price was more than reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rachel's Skytop Cottages and look forward to spending another wonderful vacation there in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Broken screens on the windows/wasps at the pool

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Rachel's Skytop Cabins was not exactly what we expected, nor was it as close to either the town of New Paltz as we had expected. The cabins are located up a long windy road from town--not one I would want to drive in winter. The property is pretty shabby and the exterior of the cabins--although they were in the process of being painted--left a lot to be desired. The inside was not exactly clean--there was an awful lot of paint peeled off of the interior of the windows--enough that I was worried about staying there with my two year old, and many of the interior screens were ripped so that bugs were definately a problem. The DVD/TV combo was not working, and was so small and mounted in such a way that it wouldn't have been comfortable to watch anyway. On the plus side, the kitchen was very neat and well stocked with a new fridge and working gas stove. The bathroom, although very small, was also newly remodeled and cute. The one truly disappointing thing about the property was the pool. Not only was it very shabby looking and not well kept, there was a wasp's nest in one corner right by the slide that made it scarry to even approach that side of the pool. This was truly unfortunate since there is, as advertised, no a/c in the cabins and despite what anyone might tell you, it gets VERY HOT in the catskills in July. We would definately not go back.

Owners response: I was shocked and dismayed at reading this review. It is the total opposite of all the other feedback we have received from our other guests. Last year we had a family rent a cottage for 9 weekends and this year they rented the cottage for the whole season. We were unaware of most of this reviewer's complaints and had he mentioned them they would have been addressed immediately, as has been the one torn screen. Our prices reflect that we are a charmingly renovated bungalow colony, not a 5 star hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review