reviews for: listing #57698 - Providence, Rhode Island Houseboat rental

Aquarius Houseboat with free WiFi, walk to Downtown!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $325 /nt

sort by:

December on the water!

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

I stayed in the White Elephant following a conference I attended. Temps were in the 30s but the boat was plenty warm! I stayed by myself but now have ideas of inviting a group of friends since the boat was so roomy. The area seemed really safe with a locked gate leading to the dock. Public transportation was great--the subway only a 5 min. walk. I took the water taxi to the airport--maybe quicker than a taxi! I'd definitely stay there again--esp. in December since it was lots cheaper! Thanks for a great opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pure Relaxation Very Hospitable Area

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

The boat was clean and roomy. Parking is a bit of a pain but manageable. The area is very inviting. We met and talked to so many people. Our dogs were no problem. We took the water taxi over to the downtown area of Boston, but we drove everywhere else. I will look for the availability of a houseboat when we travel from now on.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Aquarius

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Nice place to come home to after the freedom trail and the hustle and bustle of downtown Boston. Laid back and the AC was welcoming after a hot day of sightseeing. You can walk the pier to the left of the gate (when leaving boat) to the Tavern on the water, good place to eat and close by, the next pier down is the Iron side and Constitution, from there you can purchase tickets for bus tours at the museum and jump off at specific stops and wait for the next bus and continue on. The Houseboat is in a good location, I was surprised how close everything was and in walking distance. Yes the boat rocked, but you are on the water, Once you get use to it you don't notice it as much, slept great maybe because of the rocking..lol I would definitely stay on a sleep a float boat again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

I just ended a 3 night stay on the Cuckoo's Nest II with my teenage son and nephew. We all loved our stay! I love visiting cities but being from a more relaxing lifestyle the city tends to stress me out after a day of exploring. We were able to escape the crowds, head to the rooftop deck of our home away from home and watch the sunset from a peaceful place. The surroundings were quiet and the people who live at the Yard were friendly. The gentle swaying of the boat was very peaceful and easy to adjust to. We had problems on arrival with a sticky door and a shower drain but JJ was right on it, super helpful, and made sure we knew he was available at any time.
If you're looking for a luxury stay, this is not the rental for you. If you're looking for a place you can call your own then you've found it. There are no subway stops near the Pier but there is a free shuttle bus and a water taxi that is convenient to the area. We will definately look for Sleep Afloats on our next vacation(s).
The only negative I found was the kitchen. I was excited about the kitchen with the stove and packed food to cook for the kids. When we arrived, there were cups, plates, silverware, etc., but no pots or pans to cook with. If you want to cook while you're there be sure to bring some with you. The Cuckoo's Nest II is billed as able to sleep 6 however, the free floor space is limited and I can't imagine blowing up the two twin mattresses and finding a comfortable place to put them. I'd max this boat out at 4.
One side note, if you're heading into Boston for several days of sightseeing, look into the GoCard. We saved a lot of money and enjoyed really great attractions throughout the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sleepafloat house boat rentals

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

I used sleepafloat and stayed on their Lacerta houseboat with my 3 kids. The experience was fantastic and I loved the location, accommodation and especially the rocking!! You really do not need a car as getting Downtown is effortless, the harbour itself is stunning, especially at night and you can walk along the harbour to North station.

The boat was very clean, well equipped on the whole & has plenty of space.However, I did have a few problems which caused unnecessary hassle:

After initial meet to be given keys, I could not get hold of our contact for the rest of our stay. I would usually not need to, but there were issues I wanted him to advise on/deal with.

Wifi didn't work at all.

There was little to no information on local area/transport etc on board.

There is nothing at all in kitchen in way of condiments etc.

No bedding for additional pillows etc.

I would definitely stay in this location again & loved the boat experience, but would be reluctant to encounter the kind of hassles again that I experienced with Sleepafloat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fran├žoise

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

wouahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
merveilleux séjour
tout est pensé pour un confort extrème
situation géographique géniale
on revient quand ?????

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Many more pluses than minuses -- a good overall experience

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights here over the 4th with another couple. We enjoyed it and all agreed we'd prefer this to hotel rooms.
A few tips/caveats if you're thinking of this:
>The boat rocks a lot. If you are unsteady on your feet or susceptible to motion sickness this may not be for you. We found ourselves laughing about it -- this is my first "moving shower".
> The description indicated there'd be condiments. There were NONE -- no salt, pepper, ice in the freezer... no soap or shampoo in the shower. Bring everything you need -- cooking oil, ice (there's none for sale at the marina -- it's a half-mile walk to Tedesci's). No problem -- if you know it! (I didn't)
>If there's more than 2 in your party -- bring folding chairs. There's only 2 chairs on the upper deck -- and you don't want to lug the steel chairs up there. A couple cheap Coleman chairs-in-a-bag would be a nice addition to the place.
>There is a water taxi available. Keep in mind, though, it's $15/person plus tip. To go the short distance over to the North End and back would set the 4 of us back $140-ish. It's about a 20 minute walk.
>Check for sheets on arrival. Time for bed and there were none for the pull out (Ryan got 'em there promptly when we called the next day).
>You can't see the Esplanade fireworks from here. You can hear them --- and see lots of other great fireworks all around the harbor.
Good a/c in the boat (important because it was blazing hot), easy walk to Old Ironsides. Interesting to observe the marina culture -- fun for us to watch the boat traffic (right up to big tankers 100ft distant). If you're looking for different, here it is.
Some details could use attention -- but we liked this enough that we're thinking of trying other houseboats in other locations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Even with the bad weather we had during our visit, the houseboat was one of the highlights of our trip. Very clean, all the comforts of home, and lots of extras. Easy access and directions to all the places we wanted to go. Next time will know there is no need to pack hairdryer, shampoos, etc. It is all there!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Great stay at the sleepafloathouse boat in Charlestown Navy yard in Sept 09. The boat was clean, had a good TV/stereo system, enough space for a small family. It rocks a bit but its quite fun and you get used to it. Ryan was very helpful and the location is great. The Boston water taxis will drop you right at the boat! We'd certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

Great accomodations! The kids loved having their own space. The free MGH shuttle bus to the T station or the ferry to the aquarium makes getting around Boston a breeze. The bed is very comfortable! Thanks Ryan!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

What a great week-end! The houseboat accommodations were perfect...better than a hotel. The location was amazing! It was really fun watching all the ships come through the harbor accompanied by tugboats. The marina was quiet and other boaters were very friendly. Looking forward to another stay. And by the way...the bed was more comfortable than my own!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

What a way to experience Boston! Ryan, thank you so much for allowing my dog and I the chance to truly explore Boston like a local! The boats are beautiful, the bed was sooo comfortable (loved the memory foam!) After figuring out how to use the coffee maker, I loved making a different cup each time, and enjoying it up in the lounge chair on the roof deck.

We will definitely be back, look forward to exploring your boats in the other cities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Thank you for your interest in our houseboat in Boston. Our listing and boat are brand new so we haven't had the chance for guests to comment on them yet. However, we have boat loads (pun fully intended!) of comments from our guests that have stayed with us on our other boats in the marina here in Boston. Staying on the houseboat is a truly unique experience, but don't just take my word for it, check out the other comments!
Our other listings on VRBO are:
#65033, #175876, #199238

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review